CLOSED

celciuz
post Apr 21 2011, 09:09 AM

14,033 posts

Thinking to grab the U2311H since its an IPS which is good for me to use when editing photos, but then when I read around it the quality seems quite bad?
celciuz
post Apr 21 2011, 09:20 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ Apr 21 2011, 09:12 AM)
bad?
from page 1 to this current page, everyone have been recommending it!
I mean, people getting bad copy? Dead pixels for example =(
celciuz
post May 13 2011, 01:49 PM

14,033 posts

I think it would be fair if all 3 monitors were calibrated then we can see the real differences in terms of panel capability.
celciuz
post May 17 2011, 05:25 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 17 2011, 03:57 PM)
lichyetan, ur colour over saturation is going which primary colour?
Putting 2 x 2 monitor is not a good idea, u get a big cross in front of yourself, which is kind of frustrating
btw, having 3 u2311 in portrait would give u something like this
[attachmentid=2219265]
Oh my, that setup is nice! Man... if only I had the budget for that sad.gif.
celciuz
post Jul 24 2011, 10:20 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 24 2011, 06:22 AM)
Wahhh gonna buy it biggrin.gif

Thought it's 1680x1050 but it's 1920x1200 biggrin.gif
1920 x 1200! More work space for me to do photoshop biggrin.gif. Gonna wait for some review then grab if it's ok.
celciuz
post Jul 24 2011, 04:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 24 2011, 03:14 PM)
I'm grabbing it now! Been waiting since the U2311H haha biggrin.gif
I don't like you >( LOL. I was thinking to grab this then use my existing as secondary... but problem now is I'm using Spyder3Express only T_T. Need to sell that for a Spyder3Pro >_<

Just checking U2412M says it is 82% (CIE 1976). What does this mean? Does this mean 100% sRGB?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 24 2011, 04:31 PM
celciuz
post Jul 25 2011, 06:11 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 24 2011, 07:16 PM)
A H-IPS is a premium IPS panel and it's used in monitors that are meant for professional photography editing and similar stuff that require accurate colors. An e-IPS panel isn't exactly as good as the higher-end IPS panels but it works fine for most users.
So I would assume e-IPS would be better than any TN out there?
celciuz
post Jul 25 2011, 07:48 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Jul 25 2011, 07:37 PM)
if you.re in a hurry then i would recommend the DellU2311h that is sold for rm609.if you.re not in a hurry i suggest waiting for the u2312hm which is the successor for the u2311h

viewing angles are much better compared to tn.colour reproduction is similar or better when compared to a good tn panel.the same can be said forcontrast too
So basically on specification, like the U2412M it says 82% (CIE 1976). How about for TN? How do I know what is the gamut? Example if I talk about the Samsung 2233SW (old model).

It only states 16.7M color the same as the U2412M.
celciuz
post Jul 27 2011, 04:32 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 25 2011, 07:48 PM)
So basically on specification, like the U2412M it says 82% (CIE 1976). How about for TN? How do I know what is the gamut? Example if I talk about the Samsung 2233SW (old model).

It only states 16.7M color the same as the U2412M.
Any sifu can clear my doubt here?
celciuz
post Jul 28 2011, 07:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(olcheong @ Jul 28 2011, 06:05 PM)
spec didn't write means UTT (untested) which can be good or bad, u find it out
almost all flat panel nowadays write 16.7M color laugh.gif
if dell say got sRGB mode, then yes. otherwise no

since you have been using 2233 for some time without problem, i guess this dell will be better in term of size, view angle and screen ratio 16:10
2412 spec doesnt write anti glare coating rclxms.gif more clear than old model
good luck on purchase & have fun icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, cause I was comparing my calibrated 2233SW versus my calibrated iPad 2 via SpyderGallery and found the color differences sad.gif The iPad's color was nicer.. so was thinking to invest in a IPS, but just wondering if this IPS would be better than my TN or not.. as in noticeable differences?
celciuz
post Aug 5 2011, 08:42 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Aug 5 2011, 05:43 PM)
I think so too, quite an upgrade as well smile.gif
Thanks, yeah I adjusted the settings on the Acer last time, but not yet on the Dell smile.gif
I'm thinking to grab one now! Only issue is afraid of defective unit as Dell only have postage sad.gif. How does the warranty for ultrasharp works? I read for the 23" IPS one, it seems kinda bad as in one person had dead pixel but not covered under warranty?
celciuz
post Aug 5 2011, 10:15 PM

14,033 posts

Q What pixel defects are covered?
A Dell’s Premium Panel Guarantee applies to UltraSharp, Professional and Alienware monitors with bright pixel defects only. The Premium Panel Guarantee does not cover monitors with dark/ black type of dead pixels.

Found this on Dell's website... oh great sad.gif
celciuz
post Aug 6 2011, 08:53 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Aug 6 2011, 12:00 AM)
How much is the cheapest Spyder calibrator now? Does it really work?
Works... my Samsung 2233SW white balance was out and also after calibrated can view more highlights details and shadows :S.

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 6 2011, 06:58 AM)
lol ipad, good luck plug in and run calibration software on ipad  tongue.gif

heres some review
http://www.trustedreviews.com/Datacolor-Sp...-express_Page-1

i wondered how much self-calibrate monitor gonna cost  hmm.gif
There is SpyderGallary designed specially for iPad which uses the Spyder puck for it. I'm using on my iPad 2 and there are differences.
celciuz
post Aug 6 2011, 05:39 PM

14,033 posts

Ahh that's it, gonna place an order for the Dell U2412M today >_< hopefully by end of next week can get :S.
celciuz
post Aug 6 2011, 09:57 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 6 2011, 08:10 PM)
Yeah, another ratz... whistling.gif
Please do some review and of course, your calibrated result  notworthy.gif
Lets see if I can somehow get my Spyder to work on both my monitors. Cause I'm using express only now kinda regret. I do not have another IPS to compare unfortunately. Only have the samsung 2233SW which is a TN.

Added on August 6, 2011, 9:59 pmOh I just recalled, can compare against my iPad. It's an IPS panel right? =D

This post has been edited by celciuz: Aug 6 2011, 09:59 PM
celciuz
post Aug 7 2011, 10:28 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 7 2011, 07:39 AM)
Oh yeah, Apple also uses IPS on almost all of its LCD products, might be able to compare but iPad2's IPS but unsure the panel uses by iPad2, worth a try! notworthy.gif
Almost all LCD monitor come with 3 years right now I believe, only Dell can up its warranty to 5 years with a little $ upgrade. wink.gif
http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/02/ipad-2-display-leaked/

Seems to be using H-IPS, worth to compare I guess ;-). E-IPS (U2412M) vs H-IPS (iPad).
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 07:21 AM

14,033 posts

My first time buying from Dell online, so would like to ask how does the status works? Do Dell usually commit later date but deliver earlier?

Earlier my confirmation email says by 11/8 will deliver, then today when I checked the online status it says 18/8 yawn.gif.

But for the status it is already 'in transit'? Point is, does Dell usually deliver earlier than committed date?
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 09:29 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 07:36 AM)
ETA is estimated date only. Previously they took 10 working days to deliver my S2409W altho ETA is 7 working days. My house is just located about 30mins from Dell. For sure will hire courier company like SkyNet for delivery, so there might be a delay in the process.
Just received SMS, it will delivered tomorrow! Wow, much faster than I expected. I guess Dell usually deliver earlier than committed date? or I'm just being lucky lol.
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM)
Haha you trying to confuse people. H & E IPS.

Does the milliseconds play a roll in the ghosting and other factor? U2412M is 8ms. Relatively high.
I called DELL and request for a quote, verbally can give me RM855 from RM899 subject to approval.

Ehh? I didn't know can actually do that sad.gif. Already paid RM899 for mine sigh...
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 03:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 03:10 PM)
Yes Ultrasharp which is using IPS panel is generally better than those TN panels used by non ultrasharp models.

IPS generates FAR more accurate colours and displaying FAR more colours. A good IPS is capable of displaying over a billion of colours as compared to TN which is about 256k or so. moreover IPS has wider viewing angle that u could retain 100% consistent colour/brightness at any angle. Thats why price is a lil bit more expensive
Ahh ure too fast! Nvm lah next time u should know what to do already, ask for discount or nego.
Oh well, lesson learnt. Next time try to nego with Dell before buying tongue.gif. Btw, that means calling them up? Any number as reference so I can use it in future? Or maybe when I purchase second unit tongue.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:42 AM