Hobbies RC Flying Models v3

Chongster
post Feb 13 2012, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jan 25 2012, 09:20 AM)
As i was in the RC shop yesterday, got a chance for a closer look at the BCP while i asked the retailer to fetch a honey bee 2. the BCP was in for repairs on the stool, so i usik2 a abit. but i must say, the CP mechanism is just..... shocking.gif . i'll probably spend more time fixing things than flying it.  sweat.gif

decided in the end to take the honey bee 2. which is smaller(better when i'm flying indoors), no CP(easier to maintain) and still outdoor usable  thumbup.gif . have to call off on walkeras as they are simply too expensive. the cheapest of walkera that i like cost more than a honeybee 2 + spare blades(main and tail) + spare lipos. and that's only 200 size. honeybee2 is 300 size.

the craziest part of the story, the sales girl actually asked me to test it myself as the boss/tester is out for the moment  shocking.gif . thank goodness the controller is a  mode1 and i was able to NOT crash after it took off.  sweat.gif

in the end, glad i didn't buy a walkera or a BCP. i must admit though, hovering the honey bee indoors is quite challenging (only managed 2-3secs before loosing control). need to take this thing outdoor to really predict the response. quite "wild" i'd say.  thumbup.gif
Oh. where did you get your honey Bee V2? From which shop and how much? I am still on my V1. Heard V2 is a lot more stable .. I am still thinking if I should move to V2. tongue.gif
Chongster
post Feb 15 2012, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(pingy_ping @ Feb 15 2012, 10:02 AM)
got my honey bee 2 selling as parts..anyone want?? brows.gif
tail rotor rod missing, got two batteries... thumbup.gif
only tail motor and rod (tail boom or ??) missing? The rest of the parts are all intact and working? How much u selling it? I am thinking of upgrading my v1 to v2 hopefully to achieve more stability tongue.gif

Chongster
post Feb 16 2012, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 16 2012, 12:02 PM)
it's V2, in BTS@RM399. FM version though. V2 has better balance and more sturdy.
how much and PM me the pictures.
hmm....perhaps we can joint purchase? i may need some spare parts that you don't need.  thumbup.gif
Have not seen his/her reply so far ...

Chongster
post Feb 24 2012, 11:28 AM

All sifus,

Just wondering if I can use one eSky radio to control 2 honey bee? It's a hassle if I need to "maintain" both radio at the same time ...
Chongster
post Feb 24 2012, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(QiW @ Feb 24 2012, 11:44 AM)
just drill a hole for the shaft to come out the other side laa .. ez ... if u do not plan to use it mounted the other way in the future then straight cut the shaft
216gm aahh ... eeer ... ok laa ... not too heavy
wait until u put on all the motors and ESCs then u know heavy .. hehehe

but i tot u wanted a quad for aerobatics ... flips and stuff like that ??
this size is not really suitable ...
plus the motors will be overloaded with 10inch props .. i recommended this motor initially coz u said u wanted to do aerobatics and stuff
aerobatics normally use 8 inch props ... and higher kv (1000kv and above) ... this is for faster response from motors on a small light quad

Added on February 24, 2012, 11:48 am
FM or 2.4 ?
if FM then same frequency can already ... u may find buying a crystal for the same frequency is more expensive than u think .. hehehe
2.4 then i dunno ..
btw ... u can link 2 helis to 1 radio but the controls may not be the same ... ie maybe channels reverse ... some mixing ... etc etc

that is why ... buy a dedicated radio ... then all oso can .. hehehe
FM.
So, I am thinking if I can just swap the crystal on the radio and it get the job done?

Dedicated radio .. hmm .like those spektrum and futaba one? expensive ..
Chongster
post May 3 2012, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 3 2012, 10:44 PM)
it's WL v911, btw i found 2 shops that sell for RM130... biggrin.gif 1 at time square, 1 at serdang area.. thinking to buy it next week.. biggrin.gif
Hmm.. i got the toy mini RC heli (3 channels) already + 2 x honey bee (1 is v1 and 1 is v2 <-- still fixing it). Should I ditch the 3 channel toy heli and get another v911 ....

Chongster
post May 4 2012, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(QiW @ May 4 2012, 05:41 AM)
ditch the 3 channel and get the 911 .. u will have 10x more fun !!!

Added on May 4, 2012, 5:44 am

usually ... bigger = more $$$
and all the bigger ones u see in the market now will break something in a crash
your pocket ... u decide

yes the 911 is quite small .. but it can be flown in moderate winds outdoors once u get used to the controls

Added on May 4, 2012, 5:46 am

walkera spare parts not cheap at all .. and not easily available .. hehehehe
Problem is my area always so windy tongue.gif (Hulu Langat). so if i am buying 911 and take it out, i am sure i'll crash it in no time. First time I bring my honey bee v1 out at the football field and play it there (with landing kit), i crashed and broke the tail tongue.gif
Chongster
post May 4 2012, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ May 4 2012, 02:41 PM)
to be honest, i like esky. they are really beginner friendly, in price point that is. the lama v4 is quite a great heli, but some upgrades will be require to handle minor outdoor wind. the big lama is more or less a bigger version of the v4, so it will handle wind a bit better.
haha...i crash my HB v2 a few days ago, into a tree. after a 10 foot drop(on grass), only one link arm was broken. it flies again after replacement. the HBFP V2 is indeed more durable. icon_rolleyes.gif
I got my honey Bee v2 2nd hand from someone. But something is not really right there (suspect it's the cable connecting the 4 in 1 to the tail motor). I still haven't got enough time to troubleshoot and fix the problem. So, it's still not even in flying condition.
Chongster
post May 8 2012, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(QiW @ May 8 2012, 12:14 AM)
are u sure its the proper mode 1 ??
i am aware this 911 is only brought in as mode 2 .. u or the seller will have to go thru quite a lot of work to convert it to a proper mode 1

ailerons = tilt left/right of copter
elevators = tilt forward/backward of copter
rudder/yaw = change the direction left/right the copter is facing
throttle = minyak laaa .. hahahahahaaa

check those movements against the diagram above .. if all correspond properly then u have the proper mode that u asked for

where did u buy the "proper mode 1" ??

Added on May 8, 2012, 12:15 am

yup ... all a matter of preference and getting used to
Oh boy .. all the while I thought I am using Mode 2. Now only realized that I am using Mode 4 !!!

Chongster
post May 8 2012, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(QiW @ May 8 2012, 02:13 PM)
the reason why mode 4 ... is mostly becoz those ESKY LAMA sellers just swap the gimbals over without re-doing any of the internal wiring
i oso kena like that .. but lucky i found out early when i started ccpm helis before my reflexes koyak to mode 4 .. hahahaha
hmm .. meaning .. if I want to do proper Mode 2, I need to do some internal wiring changes?

Added on May 8, 2012, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(Chongster @ May 8 2012, 02:14 PM)
hmm .. meaning .. if I want to do proper Mode 2, I need to do some internal wiring changes?
and reason for not detecting it funny is because the 3 channel toy heli that i have, the rudder is on the right side .. so .. playing mode 4 controller is "natural" .. damn .

This post has been edited by Chongster: May 8 2012, 02:16 PM
Chongster
post May 8 2012, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ May 8 2012, 04:22 PM)
in most cases, it's just gimbals swap and some switch flicking involved(servo reverser). no re-soldering or what so ever required. not too hard actually, just need to pay attention to what you are doing.

Added on May 8, 2012, 4:24 pm

..and the 5th channel is the collective(for 6ch heli that is).
I am using eSky controller. Found a switch at the back of the panel (taking off the battery) and fully converted that back to Mode 2. But then... realized that I am doomed. Not used to it .. wondering if Mode 4 is something available commonly? or if other controller can easily "switch" from Mode 2 to Mode 4 or not ....

Chongster
post May 16 2012, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 16 2012, 12:04 PM)
haha ok turnigy 800mah only around RM25.. Rm5 more exp, i take ur words for it.. so the best place to get is frm RCsmart right? haaha. lazy wan to do survey alrady.. i just need some extra fuel!
Hmm i got this other brand .. but it's 860mah. I am not sure if it's to do with the battery dying off or my motor dying off. tongue.gif The bee just don't really fly higher than 3-4 feets these days tongue.gif Thinking of getting some better digital balance charger but not sure if that'll help to pro-long the battery life.

Chongster
post May 30 2012, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 29 2012, 11:43 PM)
Do you recommend buying one of these now? Currently bidding for it on Lelong at Rm250 standing price including shipping. Apprehensive since i dunno the availability of parts.

EDIT UPDATE: Seller offer me to "upgrade to V2" Rm295 including shipping. Is that a good price?

Hhahaha is that someone selling from Johor? I got the V1 from him without realising the v2. Then after that I got the v2 off someone else (2nd hand). Both still in store room as the v2 never really take off. Need time to troubleshoot it.

So who is getting the 911 in bulk? I am kind of interested tongue.gif

0.0458sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:05 PM