Inspira vs Forte, which one will you go for

kcng
post Nov 17 2010, 07:01 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 17 2010, 04:24 PM)
hmmmm... Honda Euro Type-R using and had rav reviews ?

by the way its not the same as the cars u stated above.... u just assume so.
its a honda euro type-R for crying out loud...
do u have any idea how much work honda, renault has put into the development to ensure that even with torsion beam, their car can really handles?
and check out their target market again for their car.... outright performance.... comfort is the last thing on their list...

and now compared it to bread and butter cars like forte, slyphy, vios, altis, saga etc...

-speechless-
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 01:59 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 17 2010, 11:02 PM)
lets see renault and euro civic (non type r) uses t-beam all set for comfort bias also
so did citreon and others.... so what gives? bad for performance? nope the above statement says its capable to be tuned for track
bad for comfort? nope cause most comfort bias cars also use t-beam so whats wrong with it?  hmm.gif

not good enough???
doh.gif doh.gif
i am actually quite amazed at your knowledge window actually......
so are u saying comfort or performance now?

let me see,
lets take a off the showroom forte and off the show room civic euro R...
now tell me, which car will u rather be in, in a track?

if u want to compare out and out track car, sorry i still choose not to be in a forte...

forte is a good car but if u want to compare it to inspira handling or other same category/class bread and butter cars, sorry forte is not at the top of the list but more towards the middle...

This post has been edited by kcng: Nov 18 2010, 02:07 AM
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 10:11 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 18 2010, 07:11 AM)
take a showroom forte vs a showroom euro civic (non-R) this is fair comparison>?
but someone compared it to viva myvi etc would forte fair better or worst?
if Forte has a sport version to compare to euro civic type-r it'll be the Koup below....

SEMA Show: [B]Kia Forte Koup Type R Concept

Making its debut at this week's SEMA aftermarket show is Kia's Forte Koup Type R Concept model, which is said to be inspired by its racing siblings that take part in the GRAND-AM Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge.

The concept was developed by Kia's racing partner, Kinetic Motorsports, who built and campaigns the Forte Koup race cars. Performance upgrades are limited to a set of BBS RG 18-inch forged aluminum alloy wheels, race-inspired tires and suspension components, a short throw gaearshift and dampened composite fiber disc clutch.

On the styling front, the Koup Type R is finished in a dramatic looking gray color and comes with a widened body kit that includes front fenders, rocker panels and rear quarter panels.

Inside, the designers modified the interior with custom dressed seats and door panels, a new gear shift knob and carbon inlays.[/b]
this forte coupe type-R is still concept...
zzzz

a showroom forte vs a showroom euro civic, sorry to say the civic will still handle better....
but when it comes to value for money features, yes, forte is better...

why bother when people take myvi/viva handling in comparison with forte?
those are go to market cars of a different category... why even bother replying to that? they just make themselves look stupid and just let it be.
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 10:16 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 18 2010, 08:16 AM)
Antilock Braking System (ABS)
Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
Traction Control System (TCS)

Suspension
Front McPherson Strut with coil spring, Shock Absorber – Gas (Mando)
Rear Coupled Torsion Beam Axle (CTBA), Shock Absorber – Gas (Mando) - (new patented version by Hyundai diff from normal torsion beam)
a torsion beam will still be a torsion beam no matter what and how u name it or how you put it...
its just that the way marketing people put it makes the general public think "wow my t-beam is different"..

when u look at it mechanically, it is actually just a normal torsion-beam with different level of tension (by manufacturer)
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 10:44 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Nov 18 2010, 10:35 AM)
it has more HP then the civic lol...
basically the same engine as the 4b11 la..
weird ppl praise the lancer engine's but bash the forte's.
lol
dude, the lancer GT 2.0 engine is being whacked too...
for a mivec 2 liter, its low to mid end is quite disappointing...
all u need to do is just open your eyes bigger...

QUOTE(Adin @ Nov 18 2010, 10:37 AM)
So, have you already test drive both "showroom" unit yet? I bet you didn't, right? So don't just simply say which one is better while you haven't even touch the car body yet. Please put your statement with facts if not for me it just all "tahi kerbau"...
quoted for reference in the future by others

i am actually quite inclined to reply to this as it will just lead on to my forte handling is better then established players
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 11:00 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Nov 18 2010, 10:50 AM)
not so sure if they should bash the lancer for its engine. when i drove it, i felt the combi of engine & cvt is wrong. similarly, the forte with its engine & 4-speeder is wrong. so finally, i manage to sit inside the Sonata, that finally has a combi that makes more sense. the same engine family, mated with a 6-speeder. i could swear if the sonata was lighter (down to the forte/lancer weight) the experiance would be very spirited drive. but sadly, the sonata needs at least a 2.4 so i am left with only speculations on what is the best combi for the gema engine, smile.gif
because for all its impressive stats on paper, the engine don't really deliver compared to k20 series found in the regular FD2s...
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 12:45 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 18 2010, 12:34 PM)
sorry to say that you need more research before saying its the same...
citreon version is diff from toyota version as well
forte uses the newly patented version from hyundai go look at the patent and the explanations
then come back say if its the same as civic or toyota.

hyundai's coupled torsion beam has passive steer similar to citreon's and is mounted differently. the normal torsion beam doesn't have that.
mounted differently but it is still a torsion beam?
and at the end of the day it still function like a torsion beam?

so what is so special about a differently mounted torsion beam?
u get superior handling compared to other same t-beam rear suspension or pure independent suspension vehicle?

so kindly enlighten me, this Coupled Torsion Beam Axle, how special is it?

all i can see in the patent is for small sedan, low manufacturing cost, low weight, small, dont protrude into boot space, reliability, comfort...
no where do i see superior handling....

P/S -
if u still think a regular bread and butter sedan with torsion beam rear suspension has superior handling... i think u need to re-evaluate again why other car makers utilities the more expensive multi-link or double-wishbones for their regular sedan instead of some differently mounted patented torsion beam suspension

PP/S -
btw coupled torsion beam axle in short is so-call H-shape...

This post has been edited by kcng: Nov 18 2010, 12:57 PM
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 02:19 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Nov 18 2010, 01:19 PM)
in the end of the day, we can all see who gives opinion based on nuetral ground & who's a fanboi

back to the TS's topic, after considering all the pros & cons weighted against his requirement, TS, you should go with the inspira.

if all goes well, it will replace the standing of the old Wira & waja, where once not so long ago, the whole road is infested with them before endangered marine animal & tropical flowerhorn became the national car. with proton, the least you need to worry is spare part availability. the most you have to worry is the doors & windows failing on you. on the lancer, that should be quite unlikely...i hope.

i used to have a wira that i loved so much because i can find any parts anywhere. but same time it is very temperamental as it always wants me to keep finding parts since they will break down regularly. love hate relationship, like first love.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

different torsion beam because it is mounted differently. say....custom faded colors...anyone?  biggrin.gif
if u look at the bigger picture, u can obviously see who is the fanboi when they furiously defend something like below
"when it comes to regular bread and butter car handling, torsion beam will still lose out to independant... and this suspension discussion has been over and done with so many times until we can actually get fedup...." and yet still insist couple axle torsion beam watever bla bla is not your normal torsion beam....

but then when u say value for money, nothing beats the forte... sub 100k and putting more expensive cars to shame with its spec list..
heck with its spec list, it literally own the inspira.... but when it comes to driving and handling dynamics, it will for sure lack behind the inspira/lancer...

so it depends, if you are a driver, you will feel suffocated in the forte but not in the inspira..
but if u are a "gadget"/spec list type of person, u will feel very much at home in the forte....
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 02:23 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Nov 18 2010, 02:12 PM)
So it makes all the arguments about torsion beams totally irrelevant. I don't have a desire to meet fate or to test my car to its limits.

Really if performance is that important go get yourself a real performance car.

To compare a Civic and Forte or even the Inspira is like little school boys comparing the length of their dicks. One little boy's d*** may be slightly longer than the others and it gives him the right to gloat about it but in reality there are bigger dicks in this world.

To imply that Forte fans feel that we need to justify our car just because your civics or hondas has a better handling misses the point. In real world the trick is to find which car has been packaged to give you the best value for money and without doubt the 1.8 Inspira is a very good bet.
inspira is a good bet but when compared to forte 1.6 sx, the forte 1.6sx beats the inspira hands down in terms of value for money package as per my previous post
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 02:34 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Nov 18 2010, 02:28 PM)
I don't argue with you about the handlings but I think that your suggestion here about "suffocated" is extreme. Are you trying to say that the Forte gives you motion sickness?

I have taken my family on long distance they never felt that the car gives them motion sickness. It is a balance between handling and comfort. I am sure no car manufacturer would deliberately put in a suspension system that is not safe.
"suffocated"

its like seeing the taillights of the car in front of you getting further and further away in the B-roads and yet you cant push your car to keep up...
or like being in a 1.0L car seeing the 5.0L car in front of u pulling away easily even with your foot floored in the footwell...

its not motion sickness...

hope u get the drift....

This post has been edited by kcng: Nov 18 2010, 02:35 PM
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 02:58 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Nov 18 2010, 02:53 PM)
kcng u are just trying to show i dam daring driver la nothing to do with the car la.... if u have balls even a kancil can get less balls driver. u dare to race with maddriver with his junk car then come back u can claim this victory. else u just wanna show off you have bigger balls nothing more.
now tell me bernard vehicle uses what setup?
kcng
post Nov 18 2010, 04:13 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(DnG @ Nov 18 2010, 03:59 PM)
Am not a technical person but just want to share below after tested drive the Inspira (personal opinions):

1) Inspira is lack of solid feeling compared to Forte, hence feeling not so secured when in high speed.
2) Handling wise, Inspira (by Lotus) is much better then Forte, cant deny that.
3) Interior, Forte is much more spacious and comfy.
4) Inspira's back seats are just too slumpy dont know can last for how long
5) Checked out the Inspira rear bumper right up to it rear tyres' - u will see double layers above rear tyres. When compared to a Lancer, apparently the finishing in Inspira is not complete (LOL)
6) Overall cost for ownership - Inspira is higher compared to Forte due to higher interest rate for national car.

P/s: Rumours: next batch of Inspira might be going for Campro engine. If you are fancy about the MIVEC engine, should book the first batch now.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif doh.gif doh.gif
kcng
post Nov 19 2010, 05:20 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Nov 19 2010, 03:23 PM)
you 'cruise' at 220-230kmh even if there are four person on board dry.gif
setuju naik tangan dan kaki
nod.gif
kcng
post Nov 20 2010, 01:09 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Nov 19 2010, 11:31 PM)
the french wife gave proton it's rally winning s2000 engine.......
in a chassis with independent suspension
icon_idea.gif
kcng
post Nov 20 2010, 07:33 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Nov 20 2010, 06:42 AM)
what
i've only cruised at 180
you're doing 230 leh whistling.gif
both also cruise faster then me
dry.gif
kcng
post Nov 27 2010, 05:49 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

Kia Forte vs Jazz VTEC CVT
stock to stock

Blue is Forte (NCK 83*)
Red is Jazz (WPL323*)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

kcng
post Nov 27 2010, 07:34 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Nov 27 2010, 06:47 PM)
CVT dyno arent consistent if im not mistaken, as it is variable
i have a few more other honda CVT dyno results too...
pretty much show the same pattern
wink.gif
kcng
post Nov 29 2010, 01:13 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 27 2010, 07:49 PM)
Just wondering, for dynoing a CVT, which 'gears' that they use? (since its variable) MT usually 3rd while AT usually '2'.
CVT got no definite gear....
so go figure what "gear" they use to dyno
wink.gif
kcng
post Nov 29 2010, 12:41 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

More stock to stock comparison
wink.gif

Forte (Blue) vs Vios Dugong (Red) vs Satria Neo 1.6 Auto (Green)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
kcng
post Nov 29 2010, 02:11 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 29 2010, 01:14 PM)
Shouldn't the 'gears' selected should be as close as 1:1 ratio with the engine to get accurate result?
there is no "gears" in CVT...
fine if u want gears, it is only 1 gear with infinite ratio...
wink.gif

so theoretically it dont matter which "gears" they are in...

0.0458sec    0.67    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:04 PM