Inspira vs Forte, which one will you go for
Nov 21 2010, 07:58 PM
12,413 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
even cars got religion now
Nov 21 2010, 11:36 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Im neither a fan of Kia or Proton cars as ive had bad experiences with both of them. But if im considering between these 2 cars i would choose the Forte over the Inspira because of these reasons:
1) Inspira only has basic ABS and EBD unlike the Forte which comes with Traction Control and ESP. Forte also has more airbags. 2) Leather seats in Inspira do not feel like Nappa leather. Seems that some areas are Nappa while certain areas feel just like normal imitation leather. Can someone do the fire test and confirm this? 3) CD player in the Inspira is very backward and cheapo looking. Feels totally out of place with a 2010 model car. 4) Something really feels weird with the doors. The Lancer feels more solid while the Inspira sounds very hollow. Some modifications has been done on the doors for sure which Proton is not telling us about. If they can hide this then what else are they hiding? 5) The Inspira has a CVT gearbox. Does Proton have the expertise to maintain or repair this type of gearbox should any problem arise? 6) Much higher interest rate by Proton. 7) Inspira may seem a better buy if compared to the original price of the Lancer. But in terms of dollar for dollar, a RM92K pricetag for a 2.0L with only ABS, EBD, 2 airbags, cheapo CD player and hollow doors does seem a bit high. Im not being biased here. I dislike and like both brands for various reasons. But for the reasons above i would prefer to go with the Kia Forte. |
Nov 21 2010, 11:38 PM
2,598 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
Ford Fiesta hatchback is a good buy also, although it's a B Segment class car (compare to Forte & Inspira, which is a C & D segment class car).
For your price range. |
Nov 22 2010, 12:00 AM
607 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 21 2010, 11:36 PM) Im neither a fan of Kia or Proton cars as ive had bad experiences with both of them. But if im considering between these 2 cars i would choose the Forte over the Inspira because of these reasons: OMFG...CM98 is NOT bashing forte this time! 1) Inspira only has basic ABS and EBD unlike the Forte which comes with Traction Control and ESP. Forte also has more airbags. 2) Leather seats in Inspira do not feel like Nappa leather. Seems that some areas are Nappa while certain areas feel just like normal imitation leather. Can someone do the fire test and confirm this? 3) CD player in the Inspira is very backward and cheapo looking. Feels totally out of place with a 2010 model car. 4) Something really feels weird with the doors. The Lancer feels more solid while the Inspira sounds very hollow. Some modifications has been done on the doors for sure which Proton is not telling us about. If they can hide this then what else are they hiding? 5) The Inspira has a CVT gearbox. Does Proton have the expertise to maintain or repair this type of gearbox should any problem arise? 6) Much higher interest rate by Proton. 7) Inspira may seem a better buy if compared to the original price of the Lancer. But in terms of dollar for dollar, a RM92K pricetag for a 2.0L with only ABS, EBD, 2 airbags, cheapo CD player and hollow doors does seem a bit high. Im not being biased here. I dislike and like both brands for various reasons. But for the reasons above i would prefer to go with the Kia Forte. |
Nov 22 2010, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(michaelho @ Nov 21 2010, 06:22 PM) That's why! Who knows, maybe he wants it for himself but too 'malu' to admit it after all the bashings he has done, use wife as scapegoat lor, but since he is 'considering' something which he has absolutely dislike in the first place, surely Forte has something there . U seem to have a very warped idea of logic. I dont mix my facts or arguments. My stand on the Forte remains the same. Whatever ive said in the past remains the same. But as ive said it a few times, so i dont need to repeat it again. Facts are facts. Forte has its limitations and its strengths. These 'facts' havent changed for me. Its good points safety specs, NVH, spaciousness, physical looks, etc are there for all to see. Its 'weak points' like resale value, maintenance costs, build quality, etc are left to been seen. Although i think Kia has a long way to go before they can compete with Toyota and Honda but ill give the Forte the benefit of the doubt for now. The Forte has been a good effort from Kia and so far its pricing has revolutionised the Malaysian automative industry. All car manufacturers are more careful now with their pricing as a result. Thus im grateful to Kia for this. So MichaelHo, i dont need to feel malu about anything. I wont buy a Forte for sure as im targetting a bigger car not because its a bad car and it will take alot more than a Forte for me to leave my great past 7.5yrs with Toyota behind. My wife is still considering a car but for the moment the plan has been put on hold as she prefers to wait for the Hyundai Avante. Besides that, we're looking into purchasing 2 properties for investment next year (which i think its a more worthy investment compared to buying cars). So before u go around shooting your mouth off like a 5 yr old kid, read up ALL my posts before commenting. BTW i dont need to resort to cheap tactics like using 2 nicks to table my arguments. Im capable enough in standing on my own. So again, go check all yer facts before accusing me of anything. Cheers! |
Nov 22 2010, 12:03 AM
Nov 22 2010, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:03 AM) BTW ive managed to do a side by side Ori Lancer GT and Inspira..Very Very much different indeed in terms of built interior quality, sound proofing, materials used. Like u said..something is definitely wrong with inspira door panel..damn hollow.. even the dash when u knock feels hollow.. the Ori Lancer isnt like this at all This post has been edited by FrostLance: Nov 22 2010, 12:05 AM |
Nov 22 2010, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(FrostLance @ Nov 22 2010, 12:04 AM) BTW ive managed to do a side by side Ori Lancer GT and Inspira.. This i agree with u 100%. Something is seriously wrong in the Inspira interior quality. Very worrying in fact. Care to share more of your analysis?Very Very much different indeed in terms of built interior quality, sound proofing, materials used. Like u said..something is definitely wrong with inspira door panel..damn hollow.. even the dash when u knock feels hollow.. the Ori Lancer isnt like this at all |
Nov 22 2010, 12:11 AM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Perth, Western Australia |
i agree 100% too...that's y i mentioned earlier....
my fren owned a Lancer EX model....compare to Inspira, still LEX wins hand down...in term of quality juz say if LEX ald win in QA, dun nid say LGT la... |
Nov 22 2010, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:07 AM) This i agree with u 100%. Something is seriously wrong in the Inspira interior quality. Very worrying in fact. Care to share more of your analysis? if u look in the rear trunk..there are exposed metal parts which are not present in my fren's lancer..Hood Sound proofing is different..interior plastics seems of diff material..the inspira is kinda bluish to me(which look damn cheap) .. the lancer is darker abit.. Dint test drive it to compare the diff ride and handling claimed by potong |
Nov 22 2010, 12:26 AM
546 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 22 2010, 01:02 AM) U seem to have a very warped idea of logic. I dont mix my facts or arguments. My stand on the Forte remains the same. Whatever ive said in the past remains the same. But as ive said it a few times, so i dont need to repeat it again. Facts are facts. Forte has its limitations and its strengths. These 'facts' havent changed for me. Its good points safety specs, NVH, spaciousness, physical looks, etc are there for all to see. Its 'weak points' like resale value, maintenance costs, build quality, etc are left to been seen. Although i think Kia has a long way to go before they can compete with Toyota and Honda but ill give the Forte the benefit of the doubt for now. The Forte has been a good effort from Kia and so far its pricing has revolutionised the Malaysian automative industry. All car manufacturers are more careful now with their pricing as a result. Thus im grateful to Kia for this. So MichaelHo, i dont need to feel malu about anything. I wont buy a Forte for sure as im targetting a bigger car not because its a bad car and it will take alot more than a Forte for me to leave my great past 7.5yrs with Toyota behind. My wife is still considering a car but for the moment the plan has been put on hold as she prefers to wait for the Hyundai Avante. Besides that, we're looking into purchasing 2 properties for investment next year (which i think its a more worthy investment compared to buying cars). So before u go around shooting your mouth off like a 5 yr old kid, read up ALL my posts before commenting. BTW i dont need to resort to cheap tactics like using 2 nicks to table my arguments. Im capable enough in standing on my own. So again, go check all yer facts before accusing me of anything. Cheers! |
Nov 22 2010, 12:28 AM
1,376 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
So is there any different of sizes of these two because they belong to different segment
Nov 22 2010, 12:49 AM
Nov 22 2010, 01:06 AM
just had a look at the new hyundai avante
http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2...d-in-korea.html indeed, it's really a gorgeous car. personally i find it better than forte and inspira. I wonder how much it will be selling and when it will arrive in msia. by the way, the 1.6L is running on 1.6L Gamma Gasoline Direct Injection engine, 6 speed auto. I'm hoping that it will run on Theta instead. |
Nov 22 2010, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(karmakid @ Nov 22 2010, 01:06 AM) just had a look at the new hyundai avante the GDI engine is good..the new face lifted forte will be using this powerful engine..http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2...d-in-korea.html indeed, it's really a gorgeous car. personally i find it better than forte and inspira. I wonder how much it will be selling and when it will arrive in msia. by the way, the 1.6L is running on 1.6L Gamma Gasoline Direct Injection engine, 6 speed auto. I'm hoping that it will run on Theta instead. but i really doubt it will make an appearance in malaysia.. |
Nov 22 2010, 01:24 AM
are you talking about the new forte with GDI engine or the new Avante will make the appearance in msia?
http://paultan.org/2010/11/09/hyundai-to-d...ta-fe-at-klims/ seems like we can get a preview of Avante in early Dec in PWTC. It's not a launch, but at least ppl can decide if it's worth the wait. As for the forte with new GDI engine, no comment as I cant find any news from the net. |
Nov 22 2010, 01:39 AM
Nov 22 2010, 02:14 AM
13 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
I chose Forte, Inspira is good car but the brand will drag the price down.
Nov 22 2010, 07:19 AM
76 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(karmakid @ Nov 22 2010, 01:06 AM) just had a look at the new hyundai avante http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2...d-in-korea.html indeed, it's really a gorgeous car. personally i find it better than forte and inspira. I wonder how much it will be selling and when it will arrive in msia. by the way, the 1.6L is running on 1.6L Gamma Gasoline Direct Injection engine, 6 speed auto. I'm hoping that it will run on Theta instead. QUOTE(FrostLance @ Nov 22 2010, 01:15 AM) the GDI engine is good..the new face lifted forte will be using this powerful engine.. they won't make it. i meant for GDI. heard you need quality petrol minimum ron97 and above to run this engine.but i really doubt it will make an appearance in malaysia.. dunno how true it is. |
Nov 22 2010, 07:21 AM
26 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
| Change to: | 0.0558sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:30 PM |