but,its too weird..with all my open app catching by that... sad.gif

n how to make this wm auto start when login?? hmm.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 15 2011, 05:08 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 15 2011, 04:56 PM)
@faris
I don't really understand what you're talking about. O_o?

what do you mean by "with all my open app catching by that" .... huh!!... app catching?!
LOL...sorry...my words is really2 berbelit2.. tongue.gif ..hem,nvm la..just forget it.. laugh.gif

I remember I posted some configs for ScrotWM on page 6 and 7 of this thread. Go check em out if you want. I created them to be usable on almost any setup/distro.

As for autostarting ScrotWM, I'm not sure, since I don't use GDM (all my systems start up to the command prompt, and then I load X manually via my .xinitrc with "startx" ... you know I don't like bloat, right?)

I think when you're in GDM and select ScrotWM, it will ask you if you want to make it the default session. If you say yes, than it should autostart ScrotWM everytime you boot/restart .. I think.

ah,ok2...will refer it n try it..thanks.. notworthy.gif

BTW, why is everyone wanting ScrotWM all of a sudden. Not just here but other forums as well. Suddenly this past two weeks, everyone has been asking me for my ScrotWM configs and tips. O_o?!! .... I remember it wasn't very popular among Linux users. Only BSD users liked it, since it was created for BSD at first.

hahaha...i really like that...hem...i dunno which one i would choose now...scrotwm,awesome or openbox..

still wondering... rolleyes.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 15 2011, 07:01 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 15 2011, 05:43 PM)
Just my 2 cents. You're free to use any WM you want (you should also check out Xmonad, CalmWM, DWM, wmii and Musca), but if you use Awful, I won't friend you anymore ... j/k tongue.gif
haha...ok2,i'll choose scrotwm... tongue.gif

actually im wanna learn this custom since its very cool..!! cool2.gif

but,im too noob about how to compile,edit etc...any site,tutorial or whatever we call can help me to deeply understand this??
wanfaris
post Jan 15 2011, 09:33 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 15 2011, 09:29 PM)
There is no need to compile anything. Just install scrotwm from synaptic or terminal. After that just logout and select ScrotWm session instead of Ubuntu Desktop Edition.
U might need to configure your .scrotwm beforehand. 'man scrotwm' from terminal for help.
oh..i see...i thought i must change windows manager from gnome-wm to scrotwm at ubuntu tweak... doh.gif

no wonder x jadi... laugh.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 15 2011, 10:55 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:43 PM)
WTF!! ... now everyone wants to ScrotWM?
What have I done?!! laugh.gif

@faris
Like Acid says, you don't need to compile from source since it's in your repos, and GDM should allow you to switch. He's probably a better person to ask regarding Ubuntu/GDM specific things like wallpaper setting and all that.

If you know how to sync to CVS, then I recommend you do to get the CVS dev version of ScrotWM, since the version in the Ubuntu/Debian repos is a bit old.
what latest version now??0.9.27??ive seen this app at softpedia...

but i dunno how to install .tgz app... sweat.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 16 2011, 04:27 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 15 2011, 11:09 PM)
Actually, the dev version is up to 0.9.8, iirc.
Nvm, you should just keep the one from your repos for stability sake. Once Debian Squeeze gets officially released, the Testing and Sid repos should go out of their frozen state and updated versions should come in, which will then trickle to the Ubuntu repos in future versions, probably. The one in your repos is the one that's considered "stable"

If you want to compile from source, just extract the folder to your /home directory. then cd into the folder. Since ScrotWM is mainly a BSD WM, it has a separate /linux folder, so you should cd into that as well.

Then you just "make" and "sudo make install"

You might need some libraries like libx11-dev, ncurses-base, ncurses-term and libncurses5-dev for whenever you plan to install WMs or CLI-centric apps, for good measure... so install them from your repos as well.

BTW, Softpedia has a history of phishing... don't use it!!
ah,ok...thanks for ur info... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

btw,imma too much lari topic.. laugh.gif ,so,wanna show off my first conky,haha... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

well,need to practise much about this..just weather config i cant setting much..huhu.. doh.gif doh.gif

im sorry if this custom tooo doh.gif doh.gif ...well,this is my first conky custom,so i need learn to sifu2 sekalian.. icon_rolleyes.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 16 2011, 08:47 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 16 2011, 08:43 PM)
hmm currently just stick to default... so eager to wait for gnome 3.
gnome 3 is quite good too..but when ive tried,i cant find any control panel... yawn.gif

n make my system lagging...btw,it just alpha if im not mistaken,just released at april this year..
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 05:54 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 20 2011, 02:52 PM)
Ive been on hooked with Gaga's Ich bin mir absolut klar hook  laugh.gif

Well , done some tweaking here and there with a new user account especially for this

New user , new conky , new covergloobus , new style

Simple and easy Unity+Compiz laugh.gif
nice custom.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

btw,how u 'buang' distribution icon's arrow?? hmm.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 08:50 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

anyone know how to make this conky transparent..i mean,my conky config hv 'kotak',not transparent..i dunwan this.. sad.gif

tried setting liao,its works but it cant start automatically when startup although hv set it as startup program...

any idea??thanks... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wanfaris: Jan 23 2011, 08:51 PM
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 09:24 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 23 2011, 09:17 PM)
@faris

do you have these 2 lines in your conkyrc?

CODE
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override

if it doesn't work, try changing "override" to "desktop"
hahaha...thanks..its works! wub.gif

i just change own_window_type normal to override...thanks again... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

CODE
(sleep 2s && conky -q) &

err...how its work??improve conky startup delay??

This post has been edited by wanfaris: Jan 23 2011, 09:25 PM
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 09:41 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 23 2011, 09:30 PM)
it delayed conky so it starts after compiz have fully start. sometimes those "kotak" also bcoz of compiz
ok,thanks...how to edit this script n use like @G-17 recommend to me??at conkyrc??
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 10:01 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 23 2011, 09:50 PM)
@faris
No, not in conkyrc.
In gnome, I think you should have some setting for Startup Services (I'm not 100% sure on the name since I've not used Gnome in a long time). You should create an entry for conky somewhere there. (try googling "Conky Ubuntu howto")
ok,already done before this set at statup applications..ok2,i thought i must edit at conkyrc...thanks..

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 23 2011, 09:56 PM)
in gnome if u want to delayed conky startup, paste this into gedit
CODE
#!/bin/bash
sleep 30 && conky;

adjust "sleep 30" depends on how many seconds u want it to be delayed. save it to any filename with .sh extension and make it executable (and maybe u wannna name it with dot at beginning so it will hide in nautilus eg .conky-startup.sh)
then copy that startup script into ur home folder and add it into ur startup service, also make sure u had delete original conky startup command from startup service. reboot and see how it goes
ok2,thanks... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 24 2011, 12:46 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Jan 23 2011, 09:24 PM)
hahaha...thanks..its works!  wub.gif

i just change own_window_type normal to override...thanks again... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
err...how its work??improve conky startup delay??
hem,i thought this prob already solved,but after restart,it happen again...any idea how to make border transparent like that picture??

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 24 2011, 12:39 AM)
i put at least 50 sec  laugh.gif
wow..its too much... laugh.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 24 2011, 01:24 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 24 2011, 01:10 AM)
try this
CODE
own_window no
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type desktop
own_window_hints undecorate, sticky, skip_taskbar, skip_pager, below

thanks!!it works now..... wub.gif

btw,mine:

i've edit n modified the script from this link with additional cpu usage,ram etc...thanks to @axxer n @G-17 for helping... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wanfaris: Jan 24 2011, 04:00 AM
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 10:25 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 10:10 AM)
Finally finished configuring conky for my desktop but it look kinda out of place with this wallpaper cry.gif

Anyone can help me "beautify" it?  tongue.gif

my conky config

P.S can someone tell me why my downspeed and upspeed isnt updating as it should?
nice one.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif own config??

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 25 2011, 10:20 AM)
Wee , my disposal of docky to dockbarx XD

great...like it... wub.gif

btw,anyone know RSS feed for twitter??im looking around,but still cant find it.. sad.gif

wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 10:30 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 10:27 AM)
Nope  cry.gif  mostly copy and paste from other user's conky config. Thats why i need help in "beautifying" it  brows.gif
what config u want??

looks great too..all config works for u... biggrin.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 10:38 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 10:34 AM)
Mostly different font and font size, placement and suggestions to make it look more beautiful  drool.gif rather than the dull output iam having now  yawn.gif
check at my previous post...u like that font??just find it at gnome-look.org nod.gif

wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 10:46 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 25 2011, 10:44 AM)
RSS for conky :

CODE
${rss http://your_twitter_username:your_twitter_password@twitter.com/statuses/friends_timeline/your_number.rss 20 item_titles 5}

thanks.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 10:44 AM)
Ahh mind telling which font is that? kinda lost in that gnome-look.org
RSS feed title : Arabolical
RSS feed : Ubuntu
Conky clock : Ace Crikey
Conky date : augie
Korean font : NanumGothic
Conky title(system n to do) : A.C.M.E. Secret Agent
Other font : Ubuntu
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 05:54 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 11:07 AM)
Found the fonts and installed it, thanks alot

Now how do i use it in conky?

# fiddle with window
# use_spacer yes
use_xft yes

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen
xftfont Ubuntu:style=Regular:size=9

Change this? mind telling the name of the font to put in cause i cant find it anywhere (Ace Crikey)
ah,its too complicated to me to explain this for u...just give me where u want all the font to put in..give me the list,ur default config n i will make for u... icon_rolleyes.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 07:01 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Jan 25 2011, 06:58 PM)
Hehe thanks, will pass you my config once i decide where to put all the things  rclxms.gif  thanks again  rclxm9.gif
ok,just PM me ur config...n will do it a.s.a.p.... nod.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0579sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:40 PM