23,414 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 12 2010, 04:39 PM)
What i got today! rclxm9.gif

Cost me quite a lot! RM2720 in total sad.gif

Need to skip lunch everyday now =.='
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 12 2010, 04:53 PM)
That's a fake 6MDH! Skydrake's colleague recommended it to me, @RM199 only.Dunno whether i made the right choice or not =.= Anyway,5MDH is so damn small for me

550D body= RM2189
50mm f/1.8=RM289
Fake 6MDH=RM199
Filter=RM50

I did notice some shots with Av were overexposed,when i was taking a picture of a flower.Perhaps should have changed evaluative metering to spot?

Added on November 12, 2010, 4:54 pm

LOL so fast wan ar. I baru beginner wei smile.gif
Congratulations... finally you got your camera.

By the way, you can dump the filter lor.
The 50mm lens is so recessed inside that using a filter is redundant + could adversely effect image quality tongue.gif

sniper on the roof
post Nov 12 2010, 06:56 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 12 2010, 06:33 PM)
filter ok wan. my 50mm f1.8 with filter also no issue. image nicely accepted by picky people also.
What filter you use?

I used to use a capalang kenko for the 18-55 IS and the color/contrast not nice compared with nekkid so I just took it out and dumped it in McD's laugh.gif laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 13 2010, 02:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lerudis @ Nov 13 2010, 01:58 PM)
Hi all~ I'm thinking to get a prime lens for my camera since my 50mm F1.8 got kidnapped by my brother sad.gif

I'm considering between Canon 35mm F2 / Sigma 30mm F1.4.

But after reading up reviews, some Sigma 30mm users claimed that they have focusing issue with Sigma on canon body and need to send back the lens for repair work. As for Canon 35mm, it's cheaper of course but without HSM and only featured with F2.

Any suggestion for me from all sifus around here ? smile.gif Million thanks
Sigma much heavier than the Canon (double the weight)
Sigma's very sharp even wide open at the center.

If you can get it from somewhere to let you test for back/front focus, then get the Sigma.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 13 2010, 07:57 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 13 2010, 07:19 PM)
lol.... thats why.... been thinking if either 5d mark ii or 7d can do it....

I mean.. I love to snap moments of my frens having fun... somehow getting picture sharp for the sake of moment really can't be done with 550d clearly....and yeah... kinda dislike when have to force them to stay still and such
5D2's autofocus is definately not faster than 550D... both my friend and I were shooting the first pic below and his turned out blur tongue.gif

Forget AI Servo or AI Focus... just use old fashion center point focus either anticipate movement (manually) or prefocus then spray/pray. tongue.gif

Added on November 13, 2010, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 13 2010, 07:03 PM)
Gotta know camera's limitations. I don't know what you're trying to track focus on, but for example a speeding car speeding towards you, the cam can't 'process' the focus'ing fast enough before the car is already out of focus.

Higher end bodies have better tracking systems, but of course they cost a lot more than our entry level bodies tongue.gif
Pre-focus on the road in front of the car and snap when car reaches that point. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 13 2010, 07:59 PM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 13 2010, 09:57 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 13 2010, 09:48 PM)
The UWA lens is still haunting me. laugh.gif

But I have spent too much these few months, gotta repent now. sad.gif

July - Tammy 1750 f/2.8 VC
August - A lot of different photog accessories
September - iPad
October - Canon Speedlite 580EX II

November and December - Eat grass

cry.gif Thought I can get an UWA before CNY, oh well a dream will only remain as a dream now. laugh.gif
That's what you said last month... the month before AND the month before whistling.gif laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 12:22 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 14 2010, 12:17 AM)
I am not a fan of shooting models. Maybe because it looks weird for a female to shoot another female with a bunch of guys. laugh.gif
I don't really like staged poses, prefer candid and unintended shots. biggrin.gif
Like this you must post more often in the street thread di tongue.gif

ps: I also dun like shooting models.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 12:53 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 14 2010, 12:35 AM)
Someone will get jealous right? biggrin.gif

Anyway, i feel my rubber grip getting a little sticky/wet. I just wiped it off with a slightly wet clothe already,advisable?

Possible to change rubber grip? One more thing, better to leave my cam with lens attached out in the open, or stuffed in my bag?
Aiyar... no need think too much lar... Never watch Digitalrev meh? These XXXD's are like cockroaches tongue.gif

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 14 2010, 12:46 AM)
lol me too kinda prefer candid and portrait shots

well this lady might disagree with you while at KLPF only bring nifty fifty  doh.gif so... took pictures of people who is taking model's pictures  biggrin.gif

She's shooting wildlife mar laugh.gif

sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 01:06 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 14 2010, 01:01 AM)
lol wildlife wearing nice dresses isit? tongue.gif

This 1 wildlife le  tongue.gif

That's what I meant ... she's shooting the Crocodylinae species tongue.gif laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 01:38 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 14 2010, 01:25 AM)
which vid?
cockroaches?wad meaning?
Old story di

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 14 2010, 01:39 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 01:46 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 14 2010, 01:39 AM)

I always thought that to have a good colour output one will need to have a good "base" colour input that is through what the lens produces.When that certain lens cannot produce good colours, then no matter how much you PP also, the colour output will not be as good as what is produced by good glass+PP.

Actually i was comparing the Sigma with my nifty fifty lol
Goldie is right... color/temp can PP. Main difference between Sigma and Canon is the latter is a lot more warmer.

Added on November 14, 2010, 1:46 am
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 14 2010, 01:40 AM)
Any stuff to shoot at KL tomorrow?
Did you buy anything?

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 14 2010, 01:46 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 11:42 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 14 2010, 11:40 AM)
At the screen located above the mirror, dunno what it is called?
Focus screen...

sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2010, 11:59 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 14 2010, 11:53 AM)
is it common to have dust there?
I no change lens also.......sad.gif
Mine lagi teruk.. got one bulu there tongue.gif

sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 12:36 AM

23,414 posts

Hmmm.....60D look kinda nice huh

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 15 2010, 12:46 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 02:38 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 01:18 AM)
-kytz-, get Tammy la. laugh.gif
Siggy 17-50 OS HSM la... I know I would whistling.gif tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 02:56 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 02:47 AM)
That one is orang kaya's lens, I can't afford. sad.gif
Buy what you need. wink.gif
But of course you are encouraged to get a 17-40mm f/4L, 580EX II, 70-200mm f/2.8 IS, 35L. laugh.gif
Mmm.... come to think of it.. if i've to start anew.. I'll still get a 550D but:

- Kitted with 18-135mm
- Add 30mm Siggy
- Add 50mm f1.4 Canon
- 70-200mm f4 IS

sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 09:14 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2010, 02:39 AM)
Whoaa ini lens nampak bagus, how's the performance
michaelbyz23 got one not long ago. Looks pretty damn good if you're in the market for a normal zoom.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 03:06 AM)
You already have the first two, now left the bottom two.
Get the 85mm f/1.8 la. laugh.gif Or you want f/1.2 also can.  laugh.gif
70-200mm f/4L IS really rocks!
f/1.2 veli heavy and only 1/3 stop faster niah. C/P ratio not good tongue.gif

Besides.. saving bullet for a "PnS" after my S90 developed an issue with the sensor (dark patch)
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 09:45 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Nov 15 2010, 09:33 AM)
Go for 1.2 tongue.gif You would want it after playing with one. Smooth creamy bokeh laugh.gif
Well, it's not that heavy. Still one of te lightest lens in my arsenal. The glass is huge though.  laugh.gif
It's heavier than my entry plastic body doh.gif

Nice try but I'm immune to L poisoning...kakkakakkaa tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 10:14 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 15 2010, 09:52 AM)
ahahaha true we must be immune to the L poisons! so that we can eat luxurious another day  tongue.gif
Say TAK NAK to eating grass laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:00 AM)
It has been weeks since I read back and already a new topic. Some questions:

1. Are there any programs that can scan our photos and determine from the image properties which focal length do we use most?
2. How can we take photos of Koi in a pond without turning on flash to scare them? Because pond is usually dark, should I increase the exposure to +1?
Last week, my friend said he want to go to HK to buy the same lens you bought, 50mm f1.2 but the price he got was about RM4.7k.
I saw you posted that the price you bought it for is RM4.4k. Can you tell me which shop in HK did you bought your lens?
1. Check the exif (under image properties) or just check it out on flikr lo

2. Cannot use flash since water will just reflect back the flash. It looks dark cos of the reflection I suppose (dunno how ur Koi pond look like). Try using a CPL filter to reduce the reflection.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 11:21 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:32 AM)
CPL filter? Ok, thanks, I will check the price. May not purchase on my cheap kit lens but would love to snap some koi pond pict at my father's house. Tried yesterday and failed terribly because cannot bring the color of the fish out.
Don't do it under bright afternoon sun... maybe when the sun is less harsh or slight overcast sky.. and then PP to whack the saturation tongue.gif

Or try using that hold-polarized-sunglasses-in-front-of-lens trick.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 03:34 PM

23,414 posts

Interesting?

http://www.canonrumors.com/2010/11/tamron-...nomenon-update/

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top