Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

sigheart
post Dec 27 2016, 02:44 AM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

Anyone know where I can cop a UA65KS9000 for a good price?

I have been weighing heavily between the UA65KS9000 or the 65C6T OLED but I am leaning towards the UA65KS9000.

True the OLED has deeper blacks and better, more lifelike image quality, but I prefer the superior brightness of the SUHD. Even when I play games I tend to increase brightness settings a little bit more than default.

I don't know if its just me but from this video apart from the space scenes which the OLED is hands down the clear winner, I actually prefer the brighter SUHD over the OLED in most of the other scenes.

I guess in the end it boils down to one's personal taste and preference. smile.gif

QUOTE(dhaim @ Dec 26 2016, 12:07 AM)
Yesterday I visited a shop to compare the views of Samsung SUHD and LG OLED - personally I think LG OLED's colours and contrasts are more natural and nicer than that of Samsung. IMHO.

Samsung SUHD looks a bit fake .... am I the only one who thinks/feels so? wink.gif
Bro may I know which shop it is you went that has side by side comparisons?

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 27 2016, 02:45 AM
sigheart
post Jan 18 2017, 05:11 PM

1,442 posts

I finally pulled the trigger on a UA65KS9000. Wanted to adopt the wait and see approach with the new range of QLEDs on the horizon but cannot wait anymore la tongue.gif

Also been hearing whispers about price increase if our currency stays weak or continues to depreciate. So if you're looking to get a new TV just get it now while the promos are still on IMO.
sigheart
post Jan 20 2017, 04:06 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(barry @ Jan 20 2017, 10:33 AM)
I personally think that 50-55" at a normal sitting distance (10-13ft), no point going for 4k, fhd is happy is enough - you really won't find any difference.
I have a Ua65ks9000 in my living room that just arrived and a Ua55ku6000 in my bedroom. Even though both are 4k TVs difference is already like night and day even though playing the same content.

I also have a Sony 48W700C fhd TV for my PS4 gaming. For movies or TV shows I don't think I can even go back to fhd TVs already to be honest.

You get what you pay for man.

But at the end of the day depends on your own eyes. Fhd tvs are going for a real bargain nowadays if you're happy enough with it but seriously the extra few hundreds spent on a 4k tv would be well worth it.

Its a good time to upgrade now too seeing how weak our currency is getting and a price increase soon after CNY is imminent.
sigheart
post Jan 22 2017, 03:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 20 2017, 10:01 PM)
It's as simple as that..
Bruh.. That's a 65" KS9000.. It's an SUHD 4K TV with Quantum Dot tech + HDR 1000. Consider it the BMW 7 series of Samsung's lineup. It's not an entry level 4K TV. Possesses far better UHD upscaling engine and panel than the KU6000 (series 6), which I would consider a minimum entry-level 4K TV. All TVs are not equal.
Sums it up perfectly. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Jan 22 2017, 11:50 AM)
Guys what is the cheapest price for entry level UHD/SUHD around 49"~55" Samsung. Budget around 3k. May i get some recommendation?
You can probably consider the Samsung Ua55ku6000. Check around on the various online platforms like 11street, Lazada etc. They are going for slightly less than 3k.
sigheart
post Feb 7 2017, 02:57 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Feb 5 2017, 10:35 PM)
Anyone experienced samsung curved UA65KU6500...in dilemma now whether it is a good choice??
What is your viewing distance?

If the size is not so much of an issue I'd go for the UA55KS7500 instead. You get an SUHD TV, Quantum Dot Display, better picture quality, better blacks and seriously the list just goes on.

Long story short you get a much much superior TV, in every way bar the size.

And price wise the price of the UA55KS7500 is similar or even cheaper!

I am assuming your budget is around the price of the UA65KU6500 since you asked about it, so in the end its up to you whether for that price you rather have size or or superior quality? nod.gif

This post has been edited by sigheart: Feb 7 2017, 03:01 AM
sigheart
post Mar 4 2017, 09:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ Mar 4 2017, 09:48 PM)
Samsung is having promotion now

http://www.samsung.com/my/offer/march-more/
Still horrible deals.

You can get much cheaper from online sales platforms (Lazada/11street etc) and home fairs.

Even normal electronic stores (Harvey Norman/Senheng/Best etc) are selling cheaper than those "promo" prices on any given day. biggrin.gif
sigheart
post Mar 12 2017, 12:52 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 11 2017, 03:46 PM)
I'm kinda undecided going for Samsung KS7000 or LG B6 + SH7 soundbar deal. First world problem...

KS7000 - i love the OneConnect box coz of my TV cabinet configuration. Power outlet is between the 1st and 2nd shelf. So i only need to place the OneConnect box there and all of my wires can be organised there

LG B6 + SH7 soundbar - OLED pic quality + free soundbar really sweeten the deal. Only thing is I need to have more cables running upwards behind the TV panel (not big issue) and open a smaller hole above the 1st shelf for cables + 2 power cord for soundbar and subwoofer.

EDIT
Pls don't mind my old 32" TV lol. Plan to mount my new TV

Well, if it helps, I had a similar dilemma a few months back but it was between the 65" KS9000 and the 65" C6 OLED and I chose the KS9000.

True you get unrivaled and stunning PQ with an OLED but the PQ of the KS series from Samsung is no slouch either. In my case I managed to audition both the C6 and the KS9000 as some of my mates own both TVs and although the PQ from the C6 is indeed better in most scenes + darker scenes, it isn't by much, at least from what I can see. The KS9000 trumps the C6 in brighter scenes and the colors look much more vibrant and has more of a pop to it in HDR (tested with some UHD 4K Blurays).

Either way both are great TVs, as are the ones you are currently considering and to be honest you will hardly go wrong with either one. And yes the one connect box is lovely for cable management. But the Magic remote that come with the LGs is much better for navigation and to use overall than the Smart remote that comes with the Samsung IMO.

If you must ask what exactly put me off the C6 it was mainly the niggling issues that might plague an OLED like motion blur, image retention, high input lag etc.

Take note I mentioned "might" as not everyone has these issues. But I've seen and experienced some of these issues myself with a couple of my mates owning OLED sets with these issues. And worst part is since some of these issues aren't really considered "issues" with an OLED, their warranty claims were rejected by LG and they have no choice but to live with it.

I don't want to spend so much on a TV and then spend about half the time being paranoid about whether the Supersport or ESPN logo will one day be a permanent feature on the screen. laugh.gif

Don't get me wrong I am not trying to say the Samsungs or any other LCD/LEDs in general are without faults or issues but they represent a "safer" option being the more mature tech when it comes to TVs and I decided to play it "safe".
sigheart
post Mar 28 2017, 10:06 PM

1,442 posts

Rtings has done a review on one of the latest QLED models, the Q7F, and its results are no better than the KS8000, maybe even worse.

For those waiting for the QLED models, prepare to be disappointed.

Hopefully the Q8 and the flagship Q9 would fare better.

sigheart
post Apr 10 2017, 10:45 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 10 2017, 09:59 AM)
Thanks for the head-up. So when i go to any shop, i should able to get at this price. ( obviously not from S..Q ). I don't intend to purchase via online. Feel insecure to purchase online for a large n expensive item.
Not really. Online is cheaper due to sometimes online selling platforms like Lazada or 11street subsidize a certain amount to drive sales and entice people to purchase using their platform.

Example Senheng on Lazada is selling a TV for RM5000 but in their shop its RM6000. If you go in to their shop and ask for RM5000 even if its sold by them as well they won't sell to you. They will just tell you if you want that price then buy through Lazada.

Anyway I have bought 80% of my home theatre setup amounting close to RM30k from Lazada and 11Street. No problems at all. The items listed on Lazada and 11street are all listed and fulfilled by electrical shops as well. The official receipt and the sales order will have the electrical shop's name and address. You are still literally buying from electrical shops just that you are doing it offsite.

Nowadays all I do in electrical shops is to demo the items I am interested in then I will buy online. No point paying extra for the same item. Warranty is the same anyway and are fulfilled by the respective manufacturers, not the shops.
sigheart
post Apr 11 2017, 02:45 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wurz @ Apr 11 2017, 11:59 AM)
Has anyone managed to compare the UA55KU6000 with LG's 55UH615T?

Samsung con = motion blur, HDR only in slot one, slightly more exp (RM 27xx online, 2 years warranty; RM 30xx in store, 3 years warranty)

LG Con = RGBW panel, not* true "4K"

Did I get this right?

Edit: typo, meant to say not
UA55KU6000 looks better. Well at least to my eyes.

It is currently in my bedroom. When I was shopping for a bedroom TV I demo'ed the 55KU6000 and a few others which are of similar price and range including the 55UH615T and I felt the PQ on the Samsung was better hence I went for it.
sigheart
post Apr 11 2017, 04:19 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wurz @ Apr 11 2017, 03:01 PM)
Nice. Thank you for your feedback. How is the quality during motion? Very blur? And do you utilize the 4K capabilities fully? How so? PS4 Pro, an android player?  Any issues?
For what you mentioned I am not sure...my PS4, media players etc are all hooked up to my UA65KS9000 which is my main TV.....

The only things I've watched on the KU6000 so far is an occasional 4k UHD disc and HD sports (footie/bball/badminton) on Astro when I am too lazy or tired to go downstairs. At least to my eyes, the occasions where I've watched these sports in HD on Astro I have had no issue with motion.

In the shop last time I did bring my own 4k UHD disc along with a thumbdrive with downloaded 720p and 1080p videos to demo and the Samsung looked better.
sigheart
post Apr 11 2017, 05:25 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 11 2017, 03:47 PM)
Good stuff ain't cheap... Cheap stuff ain't good.. What most have is a balance ..."in between".. Buys 55" - 65" entry level 6 series or 7 series and expects true HDR or stunning displays.. That's just fantasy.. So, get back to the real world.

For TV purchases, this never fails... Pretty straightforward;
*Walk around, check online for models within your price range.
*Compare hardware specs and trusted reviews online to further narrow down to at most 3 models..

*Grab a flash drive contained with samples of content you'd watch.. Don't forget 480p/540p sample files.
*Find a shop that has said models, head straight to them and ignore the rest on display.
*Ask politely to test the files on the TVs of interest. Switch from store mode to movie mode.
*I also like to turn off all motion assisting tech...
*Insert USB and play a couple of files.. Use your eyes, compare and I guarantee this will immediately tell you which unit to purchase.
*Ideally and in order not to simply waste others' time.. Nego a deal and purchase from the store, testing was made.
I usually demo and then go home and buy online.

Just tell them go out withdraw money but never return. laugh.gif
sigheart
post Apr 12 2017, 08:00 PM

1,442 posts

Found some interesting videos. biggrin.gif

sigheart
post Apr 16 2017, 05:26 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Apr 14 2017, 06:04 PM)
QUOTE(Vannus @ Apr 14 2017, 06:16 PM)
Actually both also good and close but oled is better and near to perfect due to technology behavior.

But samsung malaysia pricing sucks for high end model. Thats all i can say. Imagine if i got rm17k, 65 ks9500 and 65 oled e6, which one will you choose? I will put my money at oled anytime. If samsung down thier price to 10k, yes my money will go to samsung then. Its up to one how he value his money where its worth spending.

We know edge led is much cheaper to produce, 17k for 65 ks9500 is definately ripp off from samsung
QUOTE(Vannus @ Apr 14 2017, 06:31 PM)
And dont believe in these videos, when you crank up oled light setting, i dont think its dimm like the video here, and the bluish tint on oled can be corrected via color management settings.

Those on edge led such as dark scene clouding issue and screen uniformity hardly can be corrected except lowering the backlight brightness then the picture will look dull and dim.

These inferiorities should put samsung suhd 40% lesser price compare what oled price is today. Just my opinion. smile.gif
Chill la bro.

I respect your opinions and your choices but you don''t have to shove them down people's throats here. The cup of tea you love may not be the same cup of tea everyone else loves. smile.gif

FYI I am one of those people that threw that 17k you mentioned on a 65KS9000 rather than a 65C6 or 65E6. And I know of a lot more who did the same due to various reasons.

However, I won't go into specifics as to why I chose the KS over an OLED and I definitely wouldn't go as far as saying I bought the KS because I thought it was the better TV nor will I tell you which tech is better than the other. All I am going to say is after testing both (I was lucky to have friends who bought these TVs before me so I could test them extensively, including side by side before deciding which to buy), I will just say that I bought the TV that suits my needs and eyes better, which includes most importantly how well, to me, the content that I watch most of the time looks on the TV when I put them on.

Not everyone chooses a TV based solely on just how black are your blacks yo. Same as when you buy a car, some people prefer looks over speed, form over function etc etc. It all depends.

sigheart
post Apr 18 2017, 01:27 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 16 2017, 06:07 PM)
Homedec KLCC 28 Apr - 1 May,
U guys think can get better deal here...anyone experience buying from Homedec. How is the price or promo like ???
still looking for my 65" TV sad.gif
Well home fairs will definitely be cheaper than what the stores are selling but still can't beat online prices IMO.

Just make sure you do your own research on the pricing of the TV you want to buy because I have seen sellers in home fairs selling more expensive or no difference at all to normal store pricings before.
sigheart
post Apr 19 2017, 08:49 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(spyderman88 @ Apr 19 2017, 05:00 PM)
I also did not believe the price and thought it is something wrong but took a gamble to buy and first time buying online..
It turns on well.

This TV really shines on 4K HDR movies...totally different level..
If its one thing the 2016 SUHD models have a leg up over the 2016 OLEDs, its HDR due to the way superior peak brightness.

Watching 4K blurays with HDR enabled is an absolute joy. thumbup.gif

Sound Master Marketing is TBC Elektrik. Reputable electrical chain store so you have no worries. They appear very often in home fairs.
sigheart
post Apr 28 2017, 05:15 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(SamD @ Apr 28 2017, 04:56 PM)
Dafak, that is damn cheap.

Seriously considering giving my UA55KU6000 to my parents and get a UA55KS7000 for my bedroom instead.

I made a mistake in getting a KU6000 for my bedroom to save some cash thinking I'd be contented with it.

But having the KS9000 as my main TV I really can't get used to the dip in PQ especially when watching BDs and UHD BDs in my bedroom.......

Guys, a tip, if you need to choose between a 55 inch mid/high or high end TV and a 65 inch low/mid or low end TV due to budget constraints, please do your eyes a favor and go for the higher end TV. Your eyes will thank you for that.

sigheart
post May 8 2017, 06:22 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ May 8 2017, 04:19 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

Changed the setting to Movie mode with custom setting to "Current Source" but the it still change to Dynamic automatically after a while. The HMDI connection is permanently connected to HDMI 1 on the HDMI CEC. Will need to research more on how to fix it.

The screw provided is too short with the spacers. Checked the AVS forum and most recommend to use M8 45mm screw which is not easy to find.
I've seen them on sale at Lazada.

Just search "m8x45 screw".
sigheart
post May 10 2017, 12:56 AM

1,442 posts

More and more reviews beginning to trickle in for the 2017 models and I gotta say meh.

QLED is really not so much of an improvement of the SUHD models.

Apart from a really miniscule improvement on peak brightness, the PQ on the 2017 OLEDs are literally almost identical to the 2016 models as well. Just saw a review on the C7 from rtings and the black levels on the C7 doesn't look as perfect anymore compared to the 2016 models. But at least they fixed the input lag issue.

Those who took the leap and upgraded to one the 2016 models, whether it was SUHD or OLED on clearance prices, you have made a really wise choice.

sigheart
post May 15 2017, 03:45 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Karmaneraka @ May 14 2017, 04:40 PM)
Any review about ku6300.?, survey for a week n see 49ku6300 in my budget. And is it a good choice to get curved screen.?
TBH I don't recommend curved for below 55 inches. Even 55 inches is still borderline. 65 inches above will be just nice. This is because the smaller the screen, the "sweet spot" issue with curved screens and poor viewing angles will be more noticeable. Well unless you're alone dead center watching the TV all the time.

Why not top up just a little and get the UA55KU6000 instead? You get extra 6 inches and better viewing angles with the same specs. All for just the minimal top up. I remember seeing the UA55KU6000 going for only RM2899 at Desa Home.

This post has been edited by sigheart: May 15 2017, 03:49 AM

0.1233sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:44 AM