Theory/Lessons Music Recording/Composition, Hardware, Software, Tips etc..

modD
post Jun 2 2005, 01:27 AM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

my recording hardware n software

instrument - guitar
soundcard - gametheater XP
drum/bass tracks - fruityloops producer
mixing - adobe audition (used to be cooledit pro)

sounds ok-ok la
modD
post Jun 2 2005, 02:06 PM

942 posts

Pix: you can use any plugin with a pitch-shifting feature. just set it to shift down 1 octave... but i've never got satisfactory bass sound from that. yep, fruityloops has got a cool bass plugin. when i get home, i can direct you to which plugins in fruityloops you can use to generate realistic bass guitar sounds.
modD
post Jan 3 2006, 12:11 PM

942 posts

if you use a mic designed for webcam, of course lah dapat sound webcam biggrin.gif

try to look for/borrow a karaoke mic and re-record the vocals. won't get professional sound, but much better than the genius mic.
modD
post Jan 24 2006, 10:58 AM

942 posts

hallo... i came across this great article on mastering your DIY recording to get quality sound. but i've never tried it... it could do good to my awful sounding songs biggrin.gif

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/aug04/arti...ermastering.htm
modD
post Jan 25 2006, 12:09 PM

942 posts

here's another great article on mastering in pc. it has tips on how to set each instrument (guitars, bass, drums, vocals) in the mixer to achieve a good balance in the final mix.

http://www.tweakheadz.com/perfect_mix.html
modD
post Jan 25 2006, 02:19 PM

942 posts

i'm with pix here... if you don't plan on copyrighting your stuffs, share them with us! don't be embarassed coz we're not pros either (maybe there are a few).

that reminds me... i haven't updated the 1st post of the My Song thread in a while... considering all the expired yousendits etc

This post has been edited by modD: Jan 25 2006, 02:38 PM
modD
post Feb 9 2006, 01:17 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Feb 9 2006, 12:53 PM)
btw its been awhile since we had our last virtual jam....
anyone up for another one... maybe this time we could make it metal or rock... whichever you guys prefer...
and those who didnt participate last time can join in the jam now....
cmon guys.... make this community more active
i'm now focusing in making electronic music... dunno if my hands still can take the grunt of those guitar strings biggrin.gif

btw where did all of you get those cool music forum and equipment user signatures?
modD
post May 26 2011, 02:57 PM

942 posts

Hi all... anyone familiar with creating music on Logic Pro? I used to use Fruityloops on Windows, but since switching to Mac, I still couldn't find a replacement for it. Garageband doesn't count biggrin.gif

I'm looking to create music using loops and recorded instruments (guitar & vocals).
modD
post May 30 2011, 11:38 AM

942 posts

Trying out Ableton Live for the past few days... what I miss about Fruityloops is the step sequencer which enables me to lay out realistic drum tracks easily.

0.0308sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:17 PM