113 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise

atomicjelly
post Jul 2 2008, 07:51 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Jul 2 2008, 07:42 PM)
C'mon Nintendo... you can't answer a question with a question =S
So only the older Pearl are made in Japan, huh...
Pearl does have stuffs made especially for the Japan market like Kari's snare and the Carbonply Snares but dont know if it's made in Japan or made in Taiwan for the Japanese market
-Nintedo Wii-
post Jul 2 2008, 07:51 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jul 2 2008, 07:45 PM)
^ kari :

its like this 1 http://cgi.ebay.com/Zildjian-Thin-22-Ride-...1QQcmdZViewItem

daniel still got can contact him... RM500
whoa that looks really nice! id get that if i could lol.
Party2DMax
post Jul 2 2008, 09:13 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

QUOTE(atomicjelly @ Jul 2 2008, 07:51 PM)
Pearl does have stuffs made especially for the Japan market like Kari's snare and the Carbonply Snares but dont know if it's made in Japan or made in Taiwan for the Japanese market
Kari's snare is MIJ but it's pretty old, late 80's I think.
Would kari care to enlighten us?
thalidomide
post Jul 3 2008, 11:56 AM

165 posts

Carbonply snares are made in Taiwan now. Even the reference series are made in Taiwan now
albarb
post Jul 3 2008, 02:10 PM

237 posts

most of major drum brand made in taiwan, japan and china. as long as the quality is there its fine with me. for me not all USA brand is good, its all just hype. some more U.S brand super expensive.

maybe b4 this in 80's and 90' there's a big different between u.s made and asian made, but now even some of the asian made are more great and the most important its affordable.

just my 20 sen

This post has been edited by albarb: Jul 3 2008, 02:15 PM
Party2DMax
post Jul 3 2008, 04:32 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

QUOTE(albarb @ Jul 3 2008, 02:10 PM)
for me not all USA brand is good, its all just hype.
Any examples?
albarb
post Jul 3 2008, 05:06 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Jul 3 2008, 04:32 PM)
Any examples?
axis...i know the pedal is damn good, but still we can get almost similar pedal which has the same quality and function at much more affordable price. i know some of u guys used axis, im not against it, in fact i think the pedal is pretty awesome,

pork pie..expensive, and not all the model is great... got other option with the same quality. that what i mean by hype.

just my 20 sen

This post has been edited by albarb: Jul 3 2008, 05:07 PM
atomicjelly
post Jul 3 2008, 05:09 PM

229 posts

Albarb > Just wondering how much did you get your Chad Smith snare for? Bentley now going for RM 950....so expensive
albarb
post Jul 3 2008, 05:47 PM

237 posts

around 800++, for me the price is ok for a recommended snare with the price tag below 1k. actually at first i want to buy the sensitone elite, but have to order...cannot tahan already.
atomicjelly
post Jul 3 2008, 06:32 PM

229 posts

Albarb, I was going to buy the Chad Smith one about 2-3 months ago but they didn't have any stock at Mutiara so went with the Joey one instead as I'm looking for a steel snare around less then 900. Definitely not as good as the Chad one though but it's really loud so had to use the O rings to dampen the sound a little.

Isn't the Sensitone Elite is over 1K? The steel one is cheap though, about 400.

I've been gassing over the Ultracast. Still remember about 3-4 years ago it was only about RM1,200+ before discount....saw that the other day for RM 1,700+!

This post has been edited by atomicjelly: Jul 3 2008, 06:33 PM
Party2DMax
post Jul 3 2008, 07:11 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

Albarb, what are your experiences with Axis and Pork Pie?
herry
post Jul 3 2008, 08:35 PM

hey i got a question here...
what tom i must remove to make 5 piece to a 4 piece set drum....
4piece is kinda famous now..
thanx in advance..
-Nintedo Wii-
post Jul 3 2008, 10:09 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(herry @ Jul 3 2008, 08:35 PM)
hey i got a question here...
what tom i must remove to make 5 piece to a 4 piece set drum....
4piece is kinda famous now..
thanx in advance..
remove either the 13" or 12" (or 10" or whatever)depending on which you prefer/what mixes with the kit.
but i recommend the 4-piece setup if you use the ride alot. because imo, its alot more comfortable having the ride closer and the tom can be put in more places and angles without the other tom feeling awkward (one tom really near to the snare, the other mounted on the bass drum.)
but it has its cons as well, like its more difficult to do rolls around the kit. imo. because of the gap between the floor tom and the rack tom, its more of a stretch to do rolls around the kit, but once youre used to it, its a very comfortable setup. really makes fills more creative imo because you have less to work with, you maximize usage of what youre using. biggrin.gif

but whatever works for you la. im using a four-piece setup with my 12" tom mounted by a clamp onto my crash cymbal stand.
kari_convention
post Jul 3 2008, 10:23 PM

586 posts

sorry guys, very busy this week cant go online sad.gif

Kari's snare is MIJ but it's pretty old, late 80's I think.
Would kari care to enlighten us?

my snare is not that old. the snare is using current Masters lugs which have been introduced in mid 90s if im not mistaken. my snare probably produced around 1997-2000 or maybe later than that, not really sure about it.

Party2DMax, i like you man. You make this thread really interesting because you like to argue what people said, which is a good thing! That is a discussion by means and not just eat what people give on a table.

About the US-made-thing, i am strongly agree with you P2DMax. DW introduced PDP as a solution for those who cant afford their super expensive DW drums. DW drums are made in US by Americans. These are the skillful and experienced drummaker who put their heart and soul to make drums. PDP on the other hand is made by Mexicans who work at the factory only to make a living. Same goes with these Taiwannese and Chinese where they work in factories to make a living.

Albarb, have you tried any of PDP drums? All this while I only able to play lower end Pearl and Tama drums. But when i play PDP drums (their higher end X7, MXR) for the first time, i was shocked. The soundwise, the finishing of their drums is just amazing. I just cant imagine what DW will give because even their mass produced PDP is already set the barrier so high. DW hardware is also amazing. Americans make great drums but they are highly paid and thats the reason why company like DW built PDP factory at Mexico to get cheap labour. They are so many american drums company and most of them are custom drums company such as Pork Pie, OCDP, SJC, Dunnett, Truth, and many more. They only made drums by order and these are more expensive because they do what exactly customer wants. Not mass-produced like Masters, Exports, Superstars, and even Pearl Reference!!

So yeah, if you have big and deep pockets, you can buy those expensive American drums. But if you dont, and in the same time you want good quality and cheaper price tags, you can go for Pearl or Tama or Mapex. Drums is always be drums. No matter how great your kit is, its all down to your playing at the end. (reminds of someone here?) icon_rolleyes.gif

Atomicjelly: Based on my random reading at PDF, Ultracast is actually Pearl's replication of the famous Dunnette Titanium snare. Unlike Pearl's Ludwig Black Beauty replication on Sensitone Classic II, the Ultracast is not really a hit. I would rather get myself a Sensitone instead of Ultracast although i am a big fan of tube lugs. Eh, post pic of your new ride ah! Heheheheheh....

albarb
post Jul 4 2008, 12:32 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Jul 3 2008, 07:11 PM)
Albarb, what are your experiences with Axis and Pork Pie?
party:
i dont hv any huge impact experience on axis or pork pie...i had only tried axis pedal and one pork pie acrylic snare, yes they sound great. im not a pro drummer, im just a drum enthusiastic. i hope ur not getting the wrong idea on what i was implying about the product from u.s and product made from asian country. im just giving my personal opinion as a consumer where as we have an option. i work in a marketing environment, where branding and marketing hype usually make some product become expensive. maybe i miss understood/misinterprets one of the statement posted b4, quoted "even reference series made in taiwan now" which i interpret that made in taiwan product is not as good as others.

coz i heard about cadeson drum made in taiwan, good quality drum as what i've read...endorse lewis pragasam. so if there's any mistake on my statement i apologize and hope to be corrected.

atomic:
i agreed with kari, b4 i plan to buy this CS snare, im thinking of ultra cast...but its not that famous, i've only heard it played by morgan rose. i dont quite like the sound. it sound to "metal"(as in the material not the genre ) for me. maybe if someone want a unique and their own characteristic sound ultra cast is great. which is why i got the CS snare, coz it has the overall/standard sound, where im only a beginner and i want to learn and try all types of music.
last time i saw ultracast 14 x 5 is 1600, and 14 x 6.5 is much more expensive it think. now im searching for a 14 x 6.5 wood snare or brass...any suggestion

kari:
i totally agree with u and party, dw makes hell of a good drum and u.s have a lot of good quality custom drums. if i got the cash dw is one of my option....and actually im aiming to buy the PDP X7 or vision series by early next year if i manage to save some cash.

hahaha...my longest post fro this month icon_rolleyes.gif
kari_convention
post Jul 4 2008, 01:18 AM

586 posts

if you are tired with metal snare, then try wood snare. Maple is most recommended. You shall see the big difference between metal and wood snare.

Just to share... Mokhtar from iSeekmusic (ex drummer of Seven Collar) have a Pearl Masterworks 14x5 snare which is a mix of 3plies birch and 3 plies maple. The finish was awesome.. you can see the finish of the snare in one of the Masterworks kit in Pearl catalogue. Blue twirl something.. cant remember the exact name. I first use the snare when recording my band's first EP and at that time, i still a nooB in drums (well, im still a nooB but not that kind of nooB) and i dont really like the sound of the snare. Its very hard to play.. i mean, with wrong technique, the snare will not produce its 'real' sound.

But after few years, and after becoming more drum fanatics and enthusiast, i finally have a chance to play the same snare which i dont before. Its a battle of the band in my Uni and iSeekmusic is the sound system provider. Nothing can describe how excited i am to play and to appreciate Pearl's custom line: Masterworks. and yeah, the sound of the snare is amazing!!! I cant believe i am actually dont like the snare's sound when i first play the snare.

Albarb: X7 is a great sounding drums. Try it at Taman Permata's studio. You will amazed how different the sound compared to your Export although they use identical poplar shells. The 14x14 floor tom is my favorite.

This post has been edited by kari_convention: Jul 4 2008, 01:20 AM
Party2DMax
post Jul 4 2008, 01:23 AM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

If I buy drums together with you it'll be cheaper right? I'll admit that I'm looking at acoustic kits now 'coz my family might be moving to a more drum-suitable house. My situation changes by the weeks... luckily I didn't rush out and get pressured into an e-kit =S
I'm looking at the PDP 805 shell pack, or any deals that are better than that.

About Axis pedal, from what I know, you can get better features on cheaper pedals, but you definitely can't get the same quality even if you spend more on e.g. DW, Trick or Sonor. I heard beforehand that Axis are handmade... but man, they are handmade.

Albarb, you gotta post more dude. I was worried you were getting 'soft' =X
kari_convention
post Jul 4 2008, 08:13 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Jul 4 2008, 01:23 AM)
If I buy drums together with you it'll be cheaper right? I'll admit that I'm looking at acoustic kits now 'coz my family might be moving to a more drum-suitable house. My situation changes by the weeks... luckily I didn't rush out and get pressured into an e-kit =S
I'm looking at the PDP 805 shell pack, or any deals that are better than that.

About Axis pedal, from what I know, you can get better features on cheaper pedals, but you definitely can't get the same quality even if you spend more on e.g. DW, Trick or Sonor. I heard beforehand that Axis are handmade... but man, they are handmade.

Albarb, you gotta post more dude. I was worried you were getting 'soft' =X
JS did display black on black PDP 805 on its store recently. It have Evans Black Hydraulic on all of its toms (reminds me of Travis Barker new rogue kit). I've sat down and tried the drums but IMO, they sound awful. I think the hydraulics are not suitable for the kit. Better go for G2.

owh, i dont know if i already said this but i've also tried Stagg Vintage Bronze at JS recently. I dont like the sound. I think i better save up for A New Beats no matter what. sad.gif
atomicjelly
post Jul 4 2008, 09:13 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Jul 3 2008, 10:23 PM)
No matter how great your kit is, its all down to your playing at the end. (reminds of someone here?)  icon_rolleyes.gif

Hahahaha I know who! QUACK! QUACK!

Atomicjelly: Based on my random reading at PDF, Ultracast is actually Pearl's replication of the famous Dunnette Titanium snare. Unlike Pearl's Ludwig Black Beauty replication on Sensitone Classic II, the Ultracast is not really a hit. I would rather get myself a Sensitone instead of Ultracast although i am a big fan of tube lugs. Eh, post pic of your new ride ah! Heheheheheh....
I've never tried the Sensitone Classic II, only tried the steel Sensitone...the one that comes together with the Visions...sounds ok for the price...It's going for about RM 400 at Bentley.....

I don't know why but I just kinda like the Ultracast sound....it has that metal sound but it's not really 100% metal sounding snare....Hmmm it's a bit complicated to explain how I hear it....hehehe.....and plus I love black snares...I guess that could be why I bought the Joey snare.....it's loud as hell but definitely not a versatile snare....can't play jazzy stuffs on that....so I might be looking for a wood snare to replace that....for now that will do, need to upgrade cymbals first on the export set smile.gif

Oh I haven't pick it up yet Kari...maybe today...By the way, my friend said Daniel will be selling Superkicks at Rm 110. It's coming next week.

Added on July 4, 2008, 9:27 am
QUOTE(albarb @ Jul 4 2008, 12:32 AM)
atomic:
i  agreed with kari, b4 i plan to buy this CS snare, im thinking of ultra cast...but its not that famous, i've only heard it played by morgan rose. i dont quite like the sound. it sound to "metal"(as in the material not the genre ) for me. maybe if someone want a unique and their own characteristic sound ultra cast is great. which is why i got the CS snare, coz it has the overall/standard sound, where im only a beginner and i want to learn and try all types of music.
last time i saw ultracast 14 x 5 is 1600, and 14 x 6.5 is much more expensive it think. now im searching for a 14 x 6.5 wood snare or brass...any suggestion

kari:
i totally agree with u and party,  dw makes hell of a good drum and u.s have a lot of good quality custom drums. if i got the cash dw is one of my option....and actually im aiming to buy the PDP X7 or vision series by early next year if i manage to save some cash.

hahaha...my longest post fro this month  icon_rolleyes.gif
Really? I thought it sounded like metal but not so metal...hard to explain...but the price is a little too high....almost the price of a reference snare...I do think the Vinnie Paul snare actually sounded quite good...but totally hate the snake skin wrap....ewwww....but that's a 13 x 6.5....I think

Albarb, what is your budget like? The reference snare is very good. very nice warm sound... And really heavy too...it has about an inch of wood layering inside. Or the Virgil Donati snare. Both should be around the 2k mark. Not sure about brass snare though, not really a big fan of the sound. Maybe Kari can help.

If you're looking for a side snare, then go for the Pearl Firecracker...very nice pop-ish sound....I have one and I love it to death!

For custom drums, why not check out Dark Horse Percussions...they are a whole lot cheaper then OCDP or Truth.

This post has been edited by atomicjelly: Jul 4 2008, 09:27 AM
albarb
post Jul 4 2008, 09:32 AM

237 posts

party:
hahahah "soft".."tak kuasa nyah",
been bz la party... a lot of s**t happen this few month.
talking about soft...im quite surprise when i saw mike mangini video,
he has this kind of the soft side...but damn superb drummer.
agreed with u also party, i think axis is the ferarri of pedal.
805 pdp...the cosmetic is a bit happening...but on what i've read its a damn good drum.

kari:
i also have tried mok snare, i followed my friends to do a demo there. i like the sound especially when recorded. about pdp X7, its so damn tempting...coz i like the smaller tom size, but i have a just a little bit of doubt with the hardware..although i never had any direct experience with the hardware. maybe i've been influence on what zaf said...hahahah.

113 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:10 AM