YTL Wimax launched?

totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 07:49 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 07:41 PM)
hm.... no need jump, can just subscribe the data plan, and use the dongle share to phone, RM30 for 1 GB...hm.... can support for my smartphones daily email/facebook/weather/whatsapp messenger without paying too much coz PAYU and I'm sure I wont use 1GB/month

and RM30/month is still the cheapest mobile internet in malaysia (still more expensive to SG cheapest after convert currency)
But still need to cough up minimum RM30 so where got PAYU?
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 07:55 PM

1,186 posts

Let's see the details tomorrow after the celebratory dust clears.
But I'll probably have to let my registration lapse.
Pity. I was so looking forward to a mobile service with no validity and no expiry.
And I got such a good number too.

I wonder if anyone from YES is monitoring these forums.
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 08:00 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 07:54 PM)
it shouldn't be called PAYU, feels like prepaid plans, RM 30 for 30 days

like other prepaid, but dont have the like DiGi spend RM35 for 1 year....

and it will carry foward as it WORKS EXACTLY LIKE PREPAID plans
You mean YES needs minimum monthly top-ups of RM30 and can carry forward?
I understand their conditions as minimum usage
If that is the case I prefer Digi's annual payment of RM35 (I thought it was RM30?)
Cost just RM3 a month like your Tenaga bill when zero use.
(I'm an ultra-light user)
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 11:00 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 10:28 PM)
so... only the sprint 4g is REAL 4G?
There is no real 4G anywhere in the world as yet.
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 11:17 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
then melaka still suck as before, every time a new provider comes, they never come to melaka, see p1 so long alrdy melaka oso dont have
Melaka got Melaka Broadband with 4Mbps for only RM88 why complain?
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 11:21 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 19 2010, 11:17 PM)
there are few device that currently support 4G already out there.. google for HTC EVO 4G or Samsung Epic 4G  nod.gif
Those are 2.5Ghz Wimax as such incompatible with Malaysian Wimax.
Also, your phone need YES firmware to make connection.

We are totally reliant on YES for our phones.
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 11:24 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
then melaka still suck as before, every time a new provider comes, they never come to melaka, see p1 so long alrdy melaka oso dont have
QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 11:19 PM)
but my area no 4mbps, and i am talking wireless not wired, my phone line not so long ok? btw, even mobile internet is expensive in malaysia, SG cheapest mobile internet 9.99 only
You mean there is no Digi, Maxis Celcom broadband?
That sucks!
totally_skint
post Nov 19 2010, 11:28 PM

1,186 posts

I wonder how difficult it is for manufacturers to modify their existing products for Wimax 2.3GHz?

But I guess even if it's easy they won't do it because our Malaysia Wimax market is too small.
That's what happens when you use none standard tech.
totally_skint
post Nov 20 2010, 11:46 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 20 2010, 09:06 AM)
I'm not saying that Malays do not deserve P1. It's just that Malaysia seems to have the polarization across so many industries.
Just like Telekom is so reluctant to expand here in Ipoh.

You could definitely notice that many of the Celcom subscribers are mostly Malays, most that I know off while the Indians choose Maxis hence Chinese favour DiGi.

I don't know how to explain but it's important for companies in Malaysia to target a certain market or else it'll not work.

Take for example if you market DeTV to areas which consists of majority Malays, it won't sell or you organize Jom Heboh, the Chinese community won't attend.You can see the crowd yourself who they mainly are.
But when offer free makan as in open house, everyone turns up. biggrin.gif
totally_skint
post Nov 21 2010, 05:31 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Nov 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
The YES.my website is working fine.

Clarification regarding the RM30 MUR by the YES facebook admin:

"Hi everyone, to answer your questions on credit, credit will not expire. However, for the account to remain active, RM30 has to be loaded into the account each month. Any unused amount will be available for you to use the following month, s...o nothing is wasted smile.gif As for our rate plan, Yes is mobile internet and from what we have surveyed, most mobile internet users do not use finish their monthly quotas. That means, most everyone is paying for something they eventually never use, that's why we believe the utility model with rebates on top of that will consistently save our customers money."
What does that say about their RM30 monthly commitment?
Aren't light users "not use finish their monthly quotas" of credit now instead of data?
If I use less than RM30 a month, at the end of one year I'm going to have a lot of unused credit.
What am supposed to do with it?

totally_skint
post Nov 21 2010, 06:01 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 21 2010, 05:40 PM)
even u use less than RM30, they will still charge you RM30, so u wont have a lot of unused credit... rclxub.gif
Read again.
However, for the account to remain active, RM30 has to be loaded into the account each month. Any unused amount will be available for you to use the following month, s...o nothing is wasted

That means you have to keep reloading RM30 even if you don't use one sen.
However since unused credit does not expire, your total credit will keep growing just like other celcos prepaid service.

So...
With other celcos, you need to top up RM30 for 30 days validity with RM30 credit.
With YES, you need to reload RM30 to keep your account active for the next month with RM30 credit.
Isn't that the same?

No commitment?
I think not.
totally_skint
post Nov 22 2010, 02:36 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Nov 22 2010, 12:42 PM)
u remind me something: the VoIP call are only RM0.09/min,
but actually i still got to pay data charge,
i almost forget of this...
Don't think voice call is considered data if you call using their devices or software.
But if you use Skype or Messenger, that is pure data.
totally_skint
post Nov 24 2010, 02:57 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 24 2010, 02:16 PM)
the complimentary data services is a good move  thumbup.gif
Doing away with the RM30 MUR would be a better move. yawn.gif
totally_skint
post Nov 25 2010, 01:37 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 25 2010, 12:30 AM)
Negative Prepaid account balance?????

It is really a new type of earning money. This also totally contradicts with their "pay as you use" policy. doh.gif
Meaning you hutang them.
It's RM10 in the example given.
totally_skint
post Nov 26 2010, 01:34 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Nov 26 2010, 12:36 PM)
solution: sign up for 1 month only then. since free for until december. haha
Got to pay for dongle first = RM100
What are y ou going to do with your unused credit?
totally_skint
post Nov 26 2010, 06:36 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(jacktan1888 @ Nov 26 2010, 02:27 PM)
There is no expiry on your credit. However, you are required to use a minimum amount of RM 30.00 every month.

If you reload RM 30.00 for Nov 2010 and only use RM 5.00, the remaining RM25.00 will not be carried forward, it will forfeit. Therefore, if you reload RM30.00 for Dec 2010, you will have RM 30.00 for your usage. And in Jan 2011 you decide to reload RM 50.00 and only use RM30.00, the remaining balance of RM 20.00 will be carried forward to the next month.
My point exactly. What is @airline going to do with his unexpired RM100 credit after the 1st month of complimentary data volume unless he uses up all in the last 10 days of December?
@airline solution: sign up for 1 month only then. since free for until december. haha

Can he even use up all his initial RM100 in one go?

This post has been edited by totally_skint: Nov 26 2010, 06:38 PM
totally_skint
post Dec 3 2010, 11:38 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 3 2010, 06:21 AM)
by the way, some dealer waiving RM50 registration fee?
If they waive MUR, I'll immediately activate my pre-registered ac.
totally_skint
post Dec 5 2010, 12:26 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 4 2010, 11:15 PM)
I did not even hesitate to log in after i found out their rate and hardware requirement sucks. Let's see if they have balls to chase us for the RM50 or not.
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Dec 4 2010, 11:23 PM)
Me too. I pre-registered last time. But didn't have the time to make my way to their Yes flagship store to confirm my registration.

They can't force it down people's throat like that.
Pre-registered = pre-deducted RM50 activation

I guess when you pay RM50 activation when you buy their hardware, the -RM50 will be zeroed.
If you don't actually use their service, then after the due date for activation of pre-registered accounts, your account and 018 number will be terminated.
totally_skint
post Dec 26 2010, 10:49 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 25 2010, 05:39 PM)
meaning, even if you dont use, u still hav a commitment of rm30/mth?

then wat they preach on the advert is TOTALLY rubbish doh.gif
Exactly!
They may claim No Validity, No Expiry but instead introduce new condition - "MINIMUM USAGE REQUIREMENT" doh.gif
Same same

0.0318sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:48 PM