YTL Wimax launched?

digilife
post Nov 30 2010, 05:02 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Nov 30 2010, 10:31 AM)
Actually i did ask from the sales rep in Lot10,

If you use RM30 this month, then decide not to use for 2 months (maybe u are not in the country), after that you might wanna start using (back to malaysia), again u might end up have to pay RM30+RM30+RM30...

It is not good if you wanna get YES as your backup internet device.
+1
digilife
post Dec 2 2010, 09:03 AM

8,025 posts

WAT FOR?

their site still return me wif this reply although i pre register wif them way back before the launch

For your information
You have entered an incorrect Yes ID/Password. Please enter the correct Yes ID/Password

and tat log-in info was confirmed by YES email to me doh.gif
digilife
post Dec 2 2010, 08:36 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 2 2010, 09:26 AM)
i thought you are 'subscriber' already, since you said indoor sucks.
its "hear say" only as most Wimax signal behave like tat if you are at the fringe of its coverage area( this also applies to HSPDA signal too) , i din subscribe as i signed up wif UMobile today and paid rm378 upfront , got a FREE E5 MiFi + rm168 "worth of free usage" spread out over a span of 5 mths

UM CS was EXCELLENT thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Dec 2 2010, 08:39 PM
digilife
post Dec 4 2010, 01:57 AM

8,025 posts

no nid to cancel or terminate

juz "let it die softly" when u dun topup biggrin.gif
digilife
post Dec 10 2010, 09:43 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Dec 10 2010, 09:35 AM)

lowest d/l speed i get 1.5mbps...highest i can get 7++mbps
wat package did u took?

how they charge you on the usage?

is your available credit being used up fast?

thx
digilife
post Dec 10 2010, 09:53 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Dec 10 2010, 09:50 AM)
I took the cheapest package...rm20 per month after rebate..when i register they gave me 10GB of usage till my next billing that is 20th january 2011...if i used it more than 10GB..that's when the actual charge starts..if i'm not mistaken 9cent for 3MB of usage..for me better than celcom & maxis package!
meaning if we sign up b4 20Dec, we are entitle to the free 10GB worth of data and we also get wat rebate?
you bot the rm99 donggle?

thx
digilife
post Dec 10 2010, 10:04 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Dec 10 2010, 10:01 AM)
yup...total i paid rm149..rm99 for usb dongle+rm50 for activation fee..every month they rebate rm10..instead of rm30,u only have to pay rm20..that is if u use only 1GB per month
Good take wei..........

i gonna waste some $$ to playplay wif it too rclxm9.gif

and can sell the donggle for half price if i opt out, btw can the donggle be reuse by another subscriber?
digilife
post Dec 13 2010, 07:41 AM

8,025 posts

forget it, u hav to use YES approved dongle, juz buy the huddle for rm399, its PORTABLE too
digilife
post Dec 13 2010, 09:31 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(aztech @ Dec 13 2010, 09:08 AM)
thanks bro - so that's mean global IP, not proxy? cool... can ssh/do server at home for cctv monitoring..
wat indication point to tat its a global IP?

can Maxis or umobile broadband do cctv monitoring?
digilife
post Dec 20 2010, 08:57 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(kabel @ Dec 20 2010, 07:37 PM)
Let's do a simple calculation, shall we...

3Mb = RM0.09
30Mb = RM0.90
300Mb = RM9.00
3Gb = RM90.00
30Gb = RM900.00  <-------- Nice price!

Way to go, YTL!!

1st world infrastructure ..... THIRD world mentality.

Now if only I can subscribe to StarHub to get that 100mbps speed.

http://www.starhub.com/broadband/packagebuilder.html
30GB of data per mth........tats is exactly my usage on my maxis 3G internet sim biggrin.gif

i am paying rm99/mth, its unmetered and unlimited wif a maximum speed of 7.2Mbps DL on HSDA+ location
digilife
post Dec 21 2010, 08:00 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(kabel @ Dec 20 2010, 09:13 PM)
RM99.00 for unmetered & unlimited, meh?

I only see these packages on Maxis website:

[attachmentid=1949857]

http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/tss/index.asp

Mind telling me how u get that 99.00 package?
this TRUELY unlimited/unmetered package was introduced years ago and its no more on offer now,

was is on offer now is Maxis Broadband which is metered, mine is 3G Internet, more info here

maxis 3G internet
digilife
post Dec 23 2010, 10:55 AM

8,025 posts

most students using OSX Snow Leopard + "free" WinOS laugh.gif
digilife
post Dec 25 2010, 05:39 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Dec 25 2010, 04:42 PM)
Yes your account will be auto deduct RM 30 every months even though u don't use it. To activate back the account you need to clear the arrear !
meaning, even if you dont use, u still hav a commitment of rm30/mth?

then wat they preach on the advert is TOTALLY rubbish doh.gif
digilife
post Dec 31 2010, 08:57 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 07:24 PM)
I think immediately. The sales person asked me if I wanted assistance to set up the Huddle, so I said hey why not. Looked like the connection was live at the store itself (Lot10).

Confirmed that I linked up less than an hour after that.

Added on December 31, 2010, 8:07 pmI've done a side-by-side breakeven analysis with currently available broadband services against YTL Yes, purely on the basis of cost (not looking at quality).

My criteria:

- packages must provide at least 1Mbps. Less than that is a sad excuse for broadband.
- generally no promo considered (DiGi's an exception, because I generally like their service... so sue me)

The results:

Conclusion:

- There is nothing cheaper than YTL Yes if your data volume is less than 2.3GB per month. Above this until 3GB DiGi and Maxis have cheaper packages but only until 3GB at which point they will throttle. So if you use under 2.3 GB most of the time and sometimes exceed 3GB, still want full speed and are willing to pay for it, YTL Yes is still a better deal.

- For the next tier usage (10GB to 20GB) YTL Yes is only cheaper until 3.7GB (at DiGi speeds during promo), 4.7GB (at P1 or Maxis speeds), 5.1GB (at DiGi non-promo speeds) or 7.1 GB (at Unifi 5Mbps speeds). These only throttle at a min of 6GB to 60GB, depending on the service. So IMHO if you don't routinely exceed 5GB per month, then YTL Yes is more cost-effective; however, things can get pretty expensive if you go beyond this limit all the time.

- For the heavy usage tier (Above 10GB) no need to talk lah... as expected YTL Yes is NOT the service for you.
Please flame me lightly where I got it wrong...
i beg to differ
i am using Maxis 3G Internet @ rm99/mth ( discontinue for new subscribers)
this is truely a unlimited package whereby i downloaded more than 30GB/mth and there is no throttle
fyi, maxis hav already deployed HSPA in major towns, meaning the speed is 7.2Mbps
if we wanna save, we hav a choice to subscribe a maximum of 4 multisim @ rm15/sim, and all those sims use the same default profile of the parent sim ie, download of 7.2Mbps and upload of 2.0Mbps, imagine rm99+rm60(4 multi-sim)=rm159 , rm159/5 = rm31.80/sim
we share the bill among 5 users and we pay only rm31.80 each . irrespective wheather you are light or heavy user and maxis is widely available too, not YES.
all sim are unlimited and unmetered too............

digilife
post Jan 1 2011, 01:11 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 10:45 PM)
I found out that I can link cabled to the Huddle and disable WiFi. This effectively secures the connection; however, you are right ... since YTL Yes is PAYU I also constantly worry that someone compromises my ID/password and eats up my credits.

Must suggest to YTL some ways to mitigate against this, eg: ID linked to a list of registered devices, so that only these devices can draw down on that ID's credits

Added on December 31, 2010, 10:51 pm

Thanks for pointing out the max speed error on Maxis... I've corrected.

re: the unlimited package... so sorry but I can't find the details of this package. Furthermore, you mention that this has been discontinued, so new subscribers cannot get this deal anymore. As such, not sure it is of any value to include this in the comparison as no one new can signup.

re: the multisim package, again so sorry but can't find anything on maxis.com.my on this... please direct me. Also, mutisim would only be beneficial if a group or family wants to sign up together. In this case, we are not really comparing apple to apple. Nevertheless, once you redirect me to the details, I will amend my post.

Thanks once again.
this is the proper maxis thread to ask and fyi, some new subscribers still managed to sign up this package, as the saying goes "wat you knoe gets you the job and who you knoe gets you the promotion/position u wan"
digilife
post Jan 2 2011, 05:45 PM

8,025 posts

YES, can be hacked?

OMG, users will lose their credit in no time doh.gif

there are numerous hacking too around too brows.gif
digilife
post Feb 25 2011, 09:23 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 25 2011, 01:08 AM)
Hmm, the way the bill customer is new. So, some certain criticism is unavoidable. Once users understand the system, they know how to "enjoy" the YTL internet.  icon_rolleyes.gif
so how do you use this YES?

care to share?

thx
digilife
post Mar 6 2011, 04:58 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(umiseaz @ Mar 6 2011, 03:11 PM)
i planning to get the new broadband services
i just cut off the celcom (service is shit)

i not a heavy user...
i apply the broadband is just for me spend the time while i waiting at customer side.

mainly for check mail,forum,facebook
not very often browse youtube
sometime will go flickr  see some photo

i wondering the YES plan and value plan how is the billing method
the billing method is very confusing to me

with YES plan - 3 sen per mb (but min usage need to be RM30 per month ?)
if i less than RM30 per month how they charge me ?

with value plan - Rm68 for 3.5G per month
but the next bill need to pay in same month ? (confusing)
if not will be switch to YES plan ?
try Umobile Prepaid Broadband, cheap startup only rm14.00 to let you hav a feel of it , 100MB for 30 days, cheapest in the market thumbup.gif
digilife
post Mar 6 2011, 06:03 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(umiseaz @ Mar 6 2011, 05:59 PM)
i will check it out

Added on March 6, 2011, 6:01 pm

1GB = RM30  hmm.gif

or come here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1501043/+1900

This post has been edited by digilife: Mar 6 2011, 06:04 PM
digilife
post Mar 6 2011, 06:31 PM

8,025 posts

and tat is why now they are giving away "offers" cause they dun generate new signups as fast as they projected icon_idea.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1814sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:57 PM