Enquiries/Recommendations Asus N53JQ or new Dell XPS 15

TSHeroez
post Oct 22 2010, 08:29 AM, updated 16y ago

163 posts

N53JQ is about rm4k and XPS 15 is the Rm3.5k config. Which 1 to choose ? I mainly use for gaming and designing
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 08:32 AM

The East is Red. Defeat the new Opium called Corruption
2,641 posts

Hi where is the link for XPS 15 in dell.com.my. I can't seem to find it?

Added on October 22, 2010, 8:34 amOk found it .LOLz biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Borsch Soup: Oct 22 2010, 08:34 AM
TSHeroez
post Oct 22 2010, 08:34 AM

163 posts

U have to click the advertisement about XPS15 at the homepage
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 08:36 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(Heroez @ Oct 22 2010, 08:34 AM)
U have to click the advertisement about XPS15 at the homepage
The link at the bottom, that's how I miss it. thanks. biggrin.gif
eugenechiuu
post Oct 22 2010, 08:37 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

I guess 435M is slightly more powerful than 425M and cheaper option as well...
kae7
post Oct 22 2010, 08:47 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Oct 22 2010, 08:37 AM)
I guess 435M is slightly more powerful than 425M and cheaper option as well...
yeah.. XPS15 is worth it..
better than N53JQ
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 22 2010, 08:51 AM

24,193 posts

I don't see any RM3.4k variant? O___O Link: http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
TS customized the laptop isit?
Yeap, as what other sifus have suggested, Dell would be better in terms of performance nod.gif
But to me, the design is not that nice la, and it would be good to purchase Dell's famous warranty... and by doing that it will become more expensive le hmm.gif

LOL, found the price le, sorry about that doh.gif
Seeing the 2GB in the "2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 435M graphics" makes me drool already drool.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 22 2010, 08:53 AM
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 08:54 AM

2,641 posts

The XPS 15 is really worth it, rm2999 and comes with complete cover warranty thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 22 2010, 08:55 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 08:54 AM)
The XPS 15 is really worth it, rm2999 and comes with complete cover warranty thumbup.gif
Yeah... but 1 year only haha laugh.gif
If only the design is not so Inspiron-like
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 08:58 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 22 2010, 08:55 AM)
Yeah... but 1 year only haha  laugh.gif
If only the design is not so Inspiron-like
But the price and specs and warranty is really thumbup.gif compare to others icon_rolleyes.gif
kae7
post Oct 22 2010, 09:06 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 22 2010, 08:51 AM)
I don't see any RM3.4k variant? O___O Link: http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
TS customized the laptop isit?
Yeap, as what other sifus have suggested, Dell would be better in terms of performance  nod.gif
But to me, the design is not that nice la, and it would be good to purchase Dell's famous warranty... and by doing that it will become more expensive le  hmm.gif

LOL, found the price le, sorry about that  doh.gif
Seeing the 2GB in the "2GB NVIDIA® GeForce®  GT 435M graphics" makes me drool already  drool.gif
2GB is overkill sweat.gif but thats good...
highwind85
post Oct 22 2010, 09:39 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

interesting...the i5 is not compatible with the 2GB card...got pop up message saying that have to switch to 1 GB card when customize..
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 09:42 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

GT 425M and GT 435M are basically the same GPU...

but take note Asus come with 2yrs int'l warranty, and Band & Olusfen audio, and of course the numpad too...
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 22 2010, 09:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 09:42 AM)
GT 425M and GT 435M are basically the same GPU...

but take note Asus come with 2yrs int'l warranty, and Band & Olusfen audio, and of course the numpad too...
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Not to mention better design smile.gif
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 09:51 AM

22,158 posts

honestly speaking the design of the new XPS is very plain...

lacks the attention seeking element in the old XPS and SXPS... especially so when compare with XPS M1730...

Added on October 22, 2010, 9:53 amand when see GT 445M with 3GB VRAM, i was sweat.gif

even GTX 460M on G53Jw has only 1.5GB... Dell is going way overboard on that...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 22 2010, 09:53 AM
cy-yang
post Oct 22 2010, 10:50 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 22 2010, 09:47 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Not to mention better design smile.gif
The design for latest xps really spechless..
tot will be coming out with a nicer design, but end up is only as plain as inspiron..
Cheesenium
post Oct 22 2010, 10:57 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 09:51 AM)
honestly speaking the design of the new XPS is very plain...

lacks the attention seeking element in the old XPS and SXPS... especially so when compare with XPS M1730...

Added on October 22, 2010, 9:53 amand when see GT 445M with 3GB VRAM, i was sweat.gif

even GTX 460M on G53Jw has only 1.5GB... Dell is going way overboard on that...
And the really expensive AW or G73JH only have 1GB. sweat.gif

Do we really need that much memory?
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 10:57 AM

22,158 posts

well, it's either Dell is getting lazy on design, or they are trying very hard not to be another AW-like model... like the XPS M1730...

but i ve to say it again, it looks really like the old Asus N series...

Added on October 22, 2010, 10:58 am
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 22 2010, 10:57 AM)
And the really expensive AW or G73JH only have 1GB. sweat.gif

Do we really need that much memory?
more like a case of:

"OHH 3GB RAM!!! THAT's GONNA ROCK!!!"

doh.gif phail...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 22 2010, 10:58 AM
Cheesenium
post Oct 22 2010, 10:59 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 10:57 AM)

more like a case of:

"OHH 3GB RAM!!! THAT's GONNA ROCK!!!"

doh.gif phail...
It has been years where GC's performance does not depend on the memory you have.
doh.gif
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 11:04 AM

22,158 posts

not that many ppl would know anyway... laugh.gif

though i really would prefer they cut the memory and reduce the price... even rm100 would be good...
Cheesenium
post Oct 22 2010, 11:16 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 11:04 AM)
not that many ppl would know anyway... laugh.gif

though i really would prefer they cut the memory and reduce the price... even rm100 would be good...
True, 3GB is overkill for now.
Mr.Docter
post Oct 22 2010, 12:32 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 22 2010, 11:16 AM)
True, 3GB is overkill for now.
it sound sweet enough to make customer fall for it tho laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 12:39 PM

2,641 posts

Ok guys let's say I buy the rm2999 plain vanilla version, is it worth? I am really attracted to the better build quality and JBL subwoofer usually is only available on rm4000 machine right?
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 12:41 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 12:39 PM)
Ok guys let's say I buy the rm2999 plain vanilla version, is it worth? I am really attracted to the better build quality and JBL subwoofer usually is only available on rm4000 machine right?
considering the next closest is Lenovo Y460, yes i think it's worth for the hardware u get... at least u ve 1 more inch of monitor size... laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 12:44 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 12:41 PM)
considering the next closest is Lenovo Y460, yes i think it's worth for the hardware u get... at least u ve 1 more inch of monitor size... laugh.gif
Right. That's what i was thinking, previous lappy with subwoofers need rm 4000 and above, this XPS 15 is considered good value laugh.gif thumbup.gif
Mr.Docter
post Oct 22 2010, 12:52 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 12:39 PM)
why not? sound and look pretty good to me.

but someone claimed JBL subwoofer is not really quality. i don't know about that too, but maybe you could be the first owner of XPS 15 in LYN later brows.gif
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 12:53 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 22 2010, 12:52 PM)

but someone claimed JBL subwoofer is not really quality. i don't know about that too, but maybe you could be the first owner of XPS 15 in LYN later brows.gif
i thought laptop speakers are never good to start with??? laugh.gif
Mr.Docter
post Oct 22 2010, 12:59 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

maybe the rating is among "never good" level of speaker... sweat.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 12:59 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 22 2010, 12:52 PM)

Need to wait for 1st white mouse to buy first. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 12:53 PM)
i thought laptop speakers are never good to start with??? laugh.gif
The shop I bought my lappy from tell me lappy with subwoofer is really good and better than stereo speakers on normal lappy.
xKAIZERUx
post Oct 22 2010, 01:03 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

XPS15 is good, i would buy it if i have no laptop right now, plus some customization as well,

+backlit keyboard
+9-cell battery
+warranty for 2 years.
mimi89
post Oct 22 2010, 01:31 PM

122 posts

Erhm new xps.

I would choose Studio XPS 16 rather than XPS15. The price almost the same with same specs. But Studio XPS 16 has a better + attractive look. And also ATI5730 has a higher rank than GT435 in mobile GPU ranking.

The memory size 1 GB already enough for gaming. 2GB or 3 GB no sense at all. ATI5870 with 1GB memory can pawn 99 GT435 with 2GB memory.
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 01:34 PM

2,641 posts

Ok does that means that XPS 15 is only worth to get at rm2999 version and don't upgrade anything or totally not worth at all? TQ.
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:14 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 01:34 PM)
Ok does that means that XPS 15 is only worth to get at rm2999 version and don't upgrade anything or totally not worth at all?  TQ.
maybe up the monitor to Full HD also...

u can always scale down in games...

GT 425M is already good enuf... there's is always the option to OC... laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 04:25 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 04:14 PM)
maybe up the monitor to Full HD also...

u can always scale down in games...

GT 425M is already good enuf... there's is always the option to OC... laugh.gif
Will be waiting for Dell to update the online manual, really curious the internal arrangements. Maybe got 2 fans CPU + GPU inside can OC 99 thumbup.gif
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:29 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 04:25 PM)
Will be waiting for Dell to update the online manual, really curious the internal arrangements. Maybe got 2 fans CPU + GPU inside can OC 99 thumbup.gif
dun hold too much hope... NV cards are hot to start with...
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 04:35 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 04:29 PM)
dun hold too much hope... NV cards are hot to start with...
Asus team up with Bang & Olufsen, Lenovo and Dell team with JBL, why Acer no team with anyone? Next from Acer rm2499 with subwoofer laugh.gif
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:35 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 04:35 PM)
Asus team up with Bang & Olufsen, Lenovo and Dell team with JBL, why Acer no team with anyone? Next from Acer rm2499 with subwoofer laugh.gif
perhaps that's y they are cheap???
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 04:48 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 04:35 PM)
perhaps that's y they are cheap???
These days it has become possible to include Speakers + Subwoofer inside 15" chasis, maybe next year become inside 14" as well thumbup.gif
lee_what2004
post Oct 22 2010, 04:48 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

2 fans would need 2 ventilation?
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:49 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 04:48 PM)
These days it has become possible to include Speakers + Subwoofer inside 15" chasis, maybe next year become inside 14" as well thumbup.gif
erm... Lenovo Ideapad Y510 already has that...
Cheesenium
post Oct 22 2010, 04:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I doubt you can get 2 fans on XPS 15.
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:51 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 22 2010, 04:50 PM)
well, Acer did that in 3820TG... laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 22 2010, 04:52 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 22 2010, 04:48 PM)
2 fans would need 2 ventilation?
So sifu, do you think is possible?

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 04:49 PM)
erm... Lenovo Ideapad Y510 already has that...
Right laugh.gif

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 22 2010, 04:50 PM)
Right also icon_rolleyes.gif
lee_what2004
post Oct 22 2010, 04:52 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 22 2010, 04:51 PM)
well, Acer did that in 3820TG... laugh.gif
There's HP Envy 14 as well laugh.gif

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 22 2010, 04:52 PM)
So sifu, do you think is possible?
Don't think it possible..
It would seems inefficient if using 2 fan with 1 vent only..

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Oct 22 2010, 04:56 PM
LightningFist
post Oct 22 2010, 07:24 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

HP Envy 14 review shows better temperature management than the previous versions of Envy, but still their vents are kind of small - like Mac smile.gif

XPS is good for anyone who is satisfied with GT420M or wants full-powered i7.

For me, i7 is not full=powered, just fully-heated, and it's too bad there is no Optimus for GT 435M.

Waiting for AMD 6000s 1GB/2GB doesn't matter smile.gif
djlah
post Oct 27 2010, 02:42 PM

7,723 posts

unboxing:

[attachmentid=1854988][attachmentid=1854990][attachmentid=1854991][attachmentid=1854993][attachmentid=1854994][attachmentid=1854995][attachmentid=1854996][attachmentid=1854999]
Eugene91
post Oct 27 2010, 02:58 PM

6,109 posts

That's fast? how long did you wait for the order?
DoubleU
post Oct 27 2010, 03:17 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

its alot erm... fatter than i thought it would be... especially the lid.
Jeffrey1987
post Oct 27 2010, 03:18 PM

1,661 posts

@djlah

Nice machine you have there! How much did you buy it? Perhaps you can put some benchmarks on gaming? and the ambient temp as well. thumbup.gif
lengnui89
post Oct 27 2010, 03:21 PM

134 posts

djlah nice one smile.gif

kindly give some review for it k? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
astria
post Oct 27 2010, 04:44 PM

22,158 posts

lol... from far looks like my Asus N81V... tongue.gif
metaloid
post Oct 27 2010, 04:48 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

djlah did u order it online? what are the additional stuff that u added on to the stock version and the overall price?
viruz019
post Oct 27 2010, 05:11 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

i would think the n53JQ would be better..overall design n53jq is nicer..i only like xps 15 for it's exterior..if only the interior *keyboard area* aren't so inspiron looks..then agen..speakers..JBL vs Bang&Olufsen..B&O is wayyyy better than JBL..personal opinion i guess tongue.gif..but then dell have better warranty..or shud i say the best in malaysia? =D
LightningFist
post Oct 27 2010, 06:23 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Dell does have better warranty, but Lenovo warranty is cheaper.

JBL is not too magnificent. It's probably like any other speaker but with a name to it. If you made a laptop and put Edifier or Creative on it, it would be kind of the same thing, except I would like Creative or Edifier more than JBL.
metaloid
post Oct 27 2010, 06:55 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Oct 27 2010, 05:11 PM)
i would think the n53JQ would be better..overall design n53jq is nicer..i only like xps 15 for it's exterior..if only the interior *keyboard area* aren't so inspiron looks..then agen..speakers..JBL vs Bang&Olufsen..B&O is wayyyy better than JBL..personal opinion i guess tongue.gif..but then dell have better warranty..or shud i say the best in malaysia? =D
i personally prefer the n53jq, definitely looks sturdier and classier. however isnt specs more important than looks cause dats what ur relying on. and if we add those custom designer looks on the dell it would be around the same price not too sure if it covers the keyboard part though.not to mention with rm500 difference we can add backlit keyboard, 9cell battery etc..the gt435 gpu is killing me @-@ for the speakers...dont most ppl use headphones or external speakers anyway? yes i hate dell for the price now
SUSBorsch Soup
post Oct 27 2010, 07:07 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 27 2010, 02:42 PM)
unboxing:
Wow bro, that's fast, online or retail unit? thumbup.gif
Cheesenium
post Oct 27 2010, 08:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The new XPS looks nice.
TSHeroez
post Oct 27 2010, 08:49 PM

163 posts

wow nice ! any reviews for us djlah ?
makubexong
post Oct 28 2010, 02:08 PM

69 posts

yes djlah~~ Please give comment on ur new toy~~ if the XPS 15 is worth to buy, i will like to have one unit for myself soon.. =)
djlah
post Oct 28 2010, 04:08 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(makubexong @ Oct 28 2010, 02:08 PM)
yes djlah~~ Please give comment on ur new toy~~ if the XPS 15 is worth to buy, i will like to have one unit for myself soon.. =)
Key features:
1. HDMI 1.4 port
2. NVIDIA 435M, with Forceware 260.xx: support HD Audio Bitstream (haven't try this yet
3. Super Fast USB 3.0
4. dedicated key hardware control to disable touchpad
5. total 20W Great JBL 2.1 speakers with WAVE sound enhancement
5. eSATA + Powered USB
6. Solid Chassis Design
7. Intel WiMax 2-in-1 wireless card
8. touch screen with 4 inputs (compare to most of notebook market available only 2)
9. Bluetooth 3.0

Main disadvantages:
1. thermal air vent out on the left, is better if can design at the back.
3. no vga port.
3. dunno yet....

optional items such as GPS and TV Tuner but I don't have... dunno good or not...
lee_what2004
post Oct 28 2010, 04:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

So, yours come with touch screen?
Jeffrey1987
post Oct 28 2010, 04:59 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 28 2010, 04:08 PM)
Key features:
1. HDMI 1.4 port
2. NVIDIA 435M, with Forceware 260.xx: support HD Audio Bitstream (haven't try this yet
3. Super Fast USB 3.0
4. dedicated key hardware control to disable touchpad
5. total 20W Great JBL 2.1 speakers with WAVE sound enhancement
5. eSATA + Powered USB
6. Solid Chassis Design
7. Intel WiMax 2-in-1 wireless card
8. touch screen with 4 inputs (compare to most of notebook market available only 2)
9. Bluetooth 3.0
Main disadvantages:
1. thermal air vent out on the left, is better if can design at the back.
3. no vga port.
3. dunno yet....
optional items such as GPS and TV Tuner but I don't have... dunno good or not...
How about the price? And also why your order came so fast? Ordered online? hmm.gif
lengnui89
post Oct 28 2010, 05:00 PM

134 posts

how is the temperature? reach how many Celsius when gaming and normal usage?

will hot ma the laptop? smile.gif
alister88
post Oct 29 2010, 12:20 AM

1,367 posts

no VGA port means not output display??
Hmm....that's not really good...
LightningFist
post Oct 29 2010, 12:22 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Holy crap that is fast. It barely just went on.

Please comment, temperature screenshots if possible.
djlah
post Oct 29 2010, 09:49 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:20 AM)
no VGA port means not output display??
Hmm....that's not really good...
replaced by as mentioned in 1st feature: HDMI 1.4 port and mini-DisplayPort.
alister88
post Oct 29 2010, 10:50 AM

1,367 posts

so how's the overall performance?
good? =)
djlah
post Oct 29 2010, 11:36 AM

7,723 posts

Spec:
[attachmentid=1858248]
[attachmentid=1858249]
[attachmentid=1858251]

Performance:
[attachmentid=1858253]

Idle:
[attachmentid=1858254]

Load:
[attachmentid=1858255]

overall, temp is around 72-79. very satisfied.

alister88
post Oct 29 2010, 01:30 PM

1,367 posts

great! thanks for the review!
I think Im gonna get one.. nice choice... =)
LightningFist
post Oct 29 2010, 02:01 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Wow brilliant review and temps dj. Assuming they were like taken in the middle of a 2 hour thing.

Oh just noticed CPU Z read i7-740 as i7-840 or the other way round lol.

Added on October 29, 2010, 11:37 pmIt looks like the Idle temps you have are post-testing Idle temps, which are good since they are low.

Mind telling us what sort of load you put, for how long, to get 79C on the GPU?

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Oct 29 2010, 11:37 PM
neo_himura
post Oct 30 2010, 04:06 PM

86 posts

new review on XPS 15 but the spec is i5 and geforce gt420m. was hoping for i7 with gt435m review~ doh.gif

http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/dell-xps-15.aspx
LightningFist
post Oct 30 2010, 04:24 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Well djlah can provide us with a i7 with GT435M review smile.gif
Eugene91
post Oct 30 2010, 04:48 PM

6,109 posts

mmm for RM3499 biggrin.gif
metaloid
post Oct 30 2010, 07:31 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 29 2010, 11:36 AM)
Spec:
[attachmentid=1858248]
[attachmentid=1858249]
[attachmentid=1858251]

Performance:
[attachmentid=1858253]

Idle:
[attachmentid=1858254]

Load:
[attachmentid=1858255]
overall, temp is around 72-79. very satisfied.
looks like u upgraded the memory to 8gb. is the upgrade from the online order and is it dual channel? whats the layout of the rams?

This post has been edited by metaloid: Oct 30 2010, 07:33 PM
Casperwinde
post Oct 30 2010, 08:44 PM

303 posts

XPS 15 seems lk a great deal.... gonna get one soon...=)
somehow many r suggesting lenovo Y460...wondering why....dilemma cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Casperwinde: Oct 30 2010, 08:45 PM
astria
post Oct 30 2010, 09:38 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Oct 30 2010, 08:44 PM)
XPS 15 seems lk a great deal.... gonna get one soon...=)
somehow many r suggesting lenovo Y460...wondering why....dilemma cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
it's 14" vs 15"... take ur pick...
alister88
post Oct 30 2010, 11:48 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 30 2010, 09:38 PM)
correction, 14'' and 15.6" tongue.gif
1.6" extra.. haha
CzarXVII
post Oct 31 2010, 12:33 AM

394 posts

If im not mistaken..there is no numpad keys for XPS 15 right??
lee_what2004
post Oct 31 2010, 12:40 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

No..
Casperwinde
post Oct 31 2010, 02:28 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 30 2010, 09:38 PM)
den i guess XPS cons is its looks....dull tongue.gif

Added on October 31, 2010, 2:37 am
QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 30 2010, 11:48 PM)
1.6" extra.. haha
yeah~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif js lenovo's design is good nod.gif nod.gif this XPS... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Casperwinde: Oct 31 2010, 02:37 AM
LightningFist
post Oct 31 2010, 10:49 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

LOL if you really believe Ideapad looks better than XPS then that is One good reason to buy an Ideapad I guess.

Layout of RAM should be either 4x2 or 2x4 or 2x2 + 1x4.

I heard XPS 17 has 4 slots, so not sure about XPS 15.
putochip123
post Oct 31 2010, 12:06 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 30 2010, 11:48 PM)
1.6" extra.. haha
14 vs 15.6", the only concern is the resolution, 1366x768 on 15.6" will be sucks
djlah
post Oct 31 2010, 02:06 PM

7,723 posts

new XPS 15:

memory: this is system is using Intel HM57 Express Chipset, so is DD3. for more detail about memory/channel, google it, it's standard.
resolution: beside 1366x768, there is 1920x1080 offer too soon, no worried. just like previous Studio, Studio XPS.
Alpha Wolf
post Oct 31 2010, 03:17 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 28 2010, 04:08 PM)
Key features:

blink.gif Touch screen or touch pad? And how do we make used of the 4 inputs?
Casperwinde
post Oct 31 2010, 03:40 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 31 2010, 02:06 PM)
new XPS 15:

memory: this is system is using Intel HM57 Express Chipset, so is DD3. for more detail about memory/channel, google it, it's standard.
resolution: beside 1366x768, there is 1920x1080 offer too soon, no worried. just like previous Studio, Studio XPS.
Really? Then i tink i shud wait for the 1920x 1080 edition....

Added on October 31, 2010, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 31 2010, 10:49 AM)
LOL if you really believe Ideapad looks better than XPS then that is One good reason to buy an Ideapad I guess.

Layout of RAM should be either 4x2 or 2x4 or 2x2 + 1x4.

I heard XPS 17 has 4 slots, so not sure about XPS 15.
haha...i judge the outlooks by the pics on net...nvr c da real one yet...

This post has been edited by Casperwinde: Oct 31 2010, 03:42 PM
lee_what2004
post Oct 31 2010, 08:04 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

SXPS 16 is RGBLED, not B+RGLED...
astria
post Oct 31 2010, 08:04 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Oct 31 2010, 08:02 PM)
LOL i thought the Full HD version of XPS15 is being available since the 1st day it come to Malaysia? sweat.gif
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
It is in the configuration option at just RM411(which is cheaper than upgrading XPS16 to 16'' B+RGLED)

If i have to buy XPS 15 i will upgrade the screen to Full HD first then only consider other part. 720P on 15.6'' is just. doh.gif
depends on who using....

if say it's my old man who will be the one using, of course 720p...
LightningFist
post Oct 31 2010, 09:36 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Of course B+RGLED is cheaper it's not the same as RGBLED smile.gif

But only 1600x900 on XPS 17 (though not available here) and only Optimus with GT 420M. Still waiting for Dell to change their options.
Casperwinde
post Nov 1 2010, 09:07 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Oct 31 2010, 08:02 PM)
LOL i thought the Full HD version of XPS15 is being available since the 1st day it come to Malaysia? sweat.gif
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
It is in the configuration option at just RM411(which is cheaper than upgrading XPS16 to 16'' B+RGLED)

If i have to buy XPS 15 i will upgrade the screen to Full HD first then only consider other part. 720P on 15.6'' is just. doh.gif
o yeah~ got it.... adding a more RM411 already exceed my budget... cry.gif cry.gif i will stay with the most basic one ba smile.gif
metaloid
post Nov 1 2010, 11:04 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(CzarXVII @ Oct 31 2010, 12:33 AM)
If im not mistaken..there is no numpad keys for XPS 15 right??
another design flaw of the XPS..means happy news for me
MIVECburuk
post Nov 1 2010, 11:31 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Nov 1 2010, 11:04 AM)
another design flaw of the XPS..means happy news for me
it's not exactly a design flaw...for me, i don't mind not having numpad whistling.gif
LightningFist
post Nov 1 2010, 02:53 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

The average 15 inch laptop does not have a numpad. It's not a flaw. Only some like Sager/Asus/MSI/Toshiba have it on <16 inch laptops, but they weight a heap too.
astria
post Nov 1 2010, 02:56 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 1 2010, 02:53 PM)
The average 15 inch laptop does not have a numpad. It's not a flaw. Only some like Sager/Asus/MSI/Toshiba have it on <16 inch laptops, but they weight a heap too.
actually more like the trend is to ve numpad on 15.6" laptops...

Dell is one of the few who doesn't have it...
putochip123
post Nov 1 2010, 03:01 PM

1,496 posts

just wondering GT335 vs GT425 which 1 would be better?
astria
post Nov 1 2010, 03:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 1 2010, 03:01 PM)
just wondering GT335 vs GT425 which 1 would be better?
on paper GT 425M > GT 335M

but in reality, GT 335M is ahead of GT 425M... wondering wat the hell is Nvidia doing... hmm.gif
putochip123
post Nov 1 2010, 03:18 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 1 2010, 03:08 PM)
on paper GT 425M > GT 335M

but in reality, GT 335M is ahead of GT 425M... wondering wat the hell is Nvidia doing... hmm.gif
which means GT335 is worth to get compare to GT425? im sure GT435 will better than GT335.

But 3 of them improvement is minor only right, GT4xx which support DX11 and Direct compute 5.0 right?
astria
post Nov 1 2010, 03:22 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 1 2010, 03:18 PM)
which means GT335 is worth to get compare to GT425? im sure GT435 will better than GT335.

But 3 of them improvement is minor only right, GT4xx which support DX11 and Direct compute 5.0 right?
and Fermi architecture... which is suppose to be better in GPGPU...

i am starting to wonder if improvements in the 400M family can only be seen in GPGPU but not gaming...
Cheesenium
post Nov 1 2010, 03:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(MIVECburuk @ Nov 1 2010, 11:31 AM)
it's not exactly a design flaw...for me, i don't mind not having numpad whistling.gif
It depends, some people prefer to have num pad.

It's great for keying in lots of numbers in Excel.
LightningFist
post Nov 1 2010, 03:51 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Does anyone know if the Dell XPS uses DDR3 or GDDR3 memory?

The specs says DDR3 on Dell's website, but Dell is not sure themselves.
lee_what2004
post Nov 1 2010, 04:51 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

RGBLED is better
B+RGLED is WLED with better colour gamut, but still lower than RGBLED...
putochip123
post Nov 1 2010, 04:53 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 1 2010, 04:50 PM)
LOL what is the different? Which one better or more quality?
RGB LED is over saturated, somebody like it, somebody doesnt like it(i dont like)
LightningFist
post Nov 1 2010, 09:09 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

XPS 15's screen will be equal to or slightly better than the standard SXPS 16's.
Merovingian2
post Nov 2 2010, 03:22 PM

42 posts

I've got a dilemma on which options to chose and i hope you guys out there could help me. My main purpose of gettin the new xps is for basic usage, sum basic gaming and multimedia entertainment. I've come up to the decision to get the XPS 15 with the i7 ... so heres my dilemma:

1) I want to get the higher resolution (1920x1980) but it is pretty expensive, so is it worth it?

2) The 3 year warranty seems a good option judgin as this is a new product by dell and its reliability is still a question mark... so should i take the 3 years warranty or chose the basic 1 year warranty and chose the higher resolution screen instead?

3) I've read certain reviews highlighted in this forum saying tat the basic 6 cell batt only last very shortly... wats your suggestion?

4) Is the blu ray dvd important for future use?

I hope u'll can give me your opinions... thanks...
LightningFist
post Nov 2 2010, 03:39 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Not everybody wants 1080p. If you want it, RM411.

Warranty is better, but expensive.

6 Cell IS very very short for i7 quad. The same battery will give you 4/5 hours with a Core 2 Duo (low clock), it's the i7 quad that is the problem. Do you move around a lot? If you move around a lot, 9 cell adds time but adds weight (kind of conflicting).

Do you use Blu Ray? In the future most media will be digital/online, no longer physical.
djlah
post Nov 2 2010, 04:18 PM

7,723 posts

if limited budget, for me. I will cut down prc to i5. reason: most of game not really able to utility quad core. unless you're doing video rendering or converting big video. I will ignore blu-ray drive. 4xx+299 budget and top up little bit to get 3years warranty is highly recommended. this is xps, if inspiron i might forgot it.

This post has been edited by djlah: Nov 2 2010, 04:21 PM
makubexong
post Nov 2 2010, 11:55 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 2 2010, 04:18 PM)
if limited budget, for me. I will cut down prc to i5. reason: most of game not really able to utility quad core. unless you're doing video rendering or converting big video. I will ignore blu-ray drive. 4xx+299 budget and top up little bit to get 3years warranty is highly recommended. this is xps, if inspiron i might forgot it.
djlah.. ur xps 15 is run i5 or i7? so far got any bad comments on it?

let say if i use the laptop for photo editing softwares, autocad software, surf net, movie, will the i5 laptop capable to run smooth? because something i open photoshop, lightroom , and few web pages,.. my laptop will lag abit..

i dont really gaming, just sometime play dota wif frens...

if i pick xps15, i should take 3 years warranty or, extend annually? the 3 years warranty is abit expensive..
metaloid
post Nov 3 2010, 03:15 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(makubexong @ Nov 2 2010, 11:55 PM)

let say if i use the laptop for photo editing softwares, autocad software, surf net, movie, will the i5 laptop capable to run smooth? because something i open photoshop, lightroom , and few web pages,.. my laptop will lag abit..

if i pick xps15, i should take 3 years warranty or, extend annually? the 3 years warranty is abit expensive..
if u dont do 3D stuff but multitask photoshop, lightroom and webpages i5 should be fine but i7 would be even better for these sort of tasks.
djlah
post Nov 3 2010, 07:17 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(makubexong @ Nov 2 2010, 11:55 PM)

if you buy the extend warranty afterward, more more expensive than when you buy system together.
astria
post Nov 3 2010, 07:21 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Nov 3 2010, 03:15 AM)
if u dont do 3D stuff but multitask photoshop, lightroom and webpages i5 should be fine but i7 would be even better for these sort of tasks.
in another word, depends on how deep ur pocket is... laugh.gif
putochip123
post Nov 3 2010, 11:42 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 2 2010, 03:22 PM)
I've got a dilemma on which options to chose and i hope you guys out there could help me. My main purpose of gettin the new xps is for basic usage, sum basic gaming and multimedia entertainment. I've come up to the decision to get the XPS 15 with the i7 ... so heres my dilemma:

1) I want to get the higher resolution (1920x1980) but it is pretty expensive, so is it worth it?

2) The 3 year warranty seems a good option judgin as this is a new product by dell and its reliability is still a question mark... so should i take the 3 years warranty or chose the basic 1 year warranty and chose the higher resolution screen instead?

3) I've read certain reviews highlighted in this forum saying tat the basic 6 cell batt only last very shortly... wats your suggestion?

4) Is the blu ray dvd important for future use?

I hope u'll can give me your opinions... thanks...
1. i would ask u to go for 1080P(Full HD)

2. Warranty is upgradeable in the future, which u cost u slightly higher, but maybe in the future u are thinking of changing d, so i think 1 years is ur choice.

3. 6Cell basically will serve u around 2-3 hours(Core i5/Core i3), Core i7 will approximately 2 hours ++

4. Blue ray isnt needed la, wanna watch movie, go buy Blue Ray PLayer, laptop blue ray is too sucks for blue ray
LightningFist
post Nov 3 2010, 11:56 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yes, Blu Ray in a laptop kind of sucks, it may also lag (my systems did).

Warranty, get 3 years, but I'm not sure what the difference is between the RM599 and RM876 versions.

2 Hours with Core i7 quad is possible on full charge, turn down brightness, don't use Wifi unnecessarily. Most people with i7 quad will be plugged in. 9 Cell adds time but adds weight.
Merovingian2
post Nov 3 2010, 07:06 PM

42 posts

Guys ok it has come down to me getting an offer from the Dell guys with the specs below:

Dell XPS 15 with Intel Core i7 package with add-on of a 9-cell battery,backlit keyboard and 3 years warranty for RM4199...

So I need your advice and suggestions whether this is a good offer or I should consider another laptop around that price range with better specs than this?Please don't hold back on your suggestions... give me as many as you guys can or want...

Thanks...
astria
post Nov 3 2010, 07:10 PM

22,158 posts

for sth close it's, again, Asus N53Jq...

rm200 cheaper, but u get GT 425M and no Full HD monitor...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 3 2010, 07:10 PM
putochip123
post Nov 3 2010, 07:14 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 3 2010, 07:10 PM)
for sth close it's, again, Asus N53Jq...

rm200 cheaper, but u get GT 425M and no Full HD monitor...
Full HD is not a must for mid end GC
astria
post Nov 3 2010, 07:24 PM

22,158 posts

well, depends on him...

i think it's good to ve, makes quite a lot of difference if u need lots of working space, or loves to watch Full HD movies...

also there's Dell Studio XPS 16 as well... no quad core though...
putochip123
post Nov 3 2010, 07:26 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 3 2010, 07:24 PM)
well, depends on him...

i think it's good to ve, makes quite a lot of difference if u need lots of working space, or loves to watch Full HD movies...

also there's Dell Studio XPS 16 as well... no quad core though...
but i able to get quad core ^^
astria
post Nov 3 2010, 07:27 PM

22,158 posts

lol, i talking abt the normal way of buying la... laugh.gif
LightningFist
post Nov 3 2010, 07:39 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Well mero that's not much of a discount if they gave you the minimal 3 year warranty (XPS Premier, RM599), hence not a great deal.

That is assuming you don't have the B+RGLED and/or Blu Ray drive.

Nevertheless it was a slightly good package initially (prior to adding the warranty and keyboard and battery), and it seems cheap because it only comes with stock 1 year warranty.

I would not buy it unless I wanted a Core i7 quad, or unless a better discount/deal was given.

At this specs, no deal.
Casperwinde
post Nov 3 2010, 10:27 PM

303 posts

Well, im in a dilemma of tis XPS or all-in-one pc.... >.<
their price and specs are nt a huge diff.....
metaloid
post Nov 3 2010, 10:33 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 3 2010, 10:27 PM)
Well, im in a dilemma of tis XPS or all-in-one pc.... >.<
their price and specs are nt a huge diff.....
getting a pc is definitely cheaper for the same specs and u can easily upgrade it without needing to change the whole thing. Most importantly is whether u need to bring it out or move around alot.
Merovingian2
post Nov 4 2010, 12:29 AM

42 posts

Anyone got any idea how much extra does the 9-cell battery weight? and does it bulge out at the back or downwards? oh and another thing.... how come i've been reading a few other topics regarding the processor and quite a few ppl prefer the Core i5 over the i7? wouldn't it be better in the long run to get a higher grade processor assuming that technology is advancing pretty fast and by the time you know it i5 will be old skool...??wats ur opinion??

This post has been edited by Merovingian2: Nov 4 2010, 12:38 AM
LightningFist
post Nov 4 2010, 01:00 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

It bulges down, only a little bit. Weight, you can check Dell's website.

Many people want i7 quad because they think its "power" will benefit them. I think the opportunity cost is battery life (if you're mobile often), heat, and power, as well as performance in normal use.

"wouldn't it be better in the long run to get a higher grade processor assuming that technology is advancing pretty fast" yeah that's what I thought but trust me the current Core i7 quads are not that advanced. Sure, they have turbo, but it only turbos to 2.53GHz etc for two or less cores, it can only work the four cores together at the base speed (very low, 1.6GHz or 1.73 GHz for 720/740QM).

Besides, if you think the current Core i7 quads will be able to last long, they actually were sold before these Core i5s. Apart from turbo, i5s are not that much of an improvement over Core 2 Duos with high clock (plus they have greater cache, lower TDP, etc).

If you ask me Intel is not "advancing" very well. Mostly we get i5 or i7 because they are new.
astria
post Nov 4 2010, 07:28 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 4 2010, 01:00 AM)

Many people want i7 quad because they think its "power" will benefit them. I think the opportunity cost is battery life (if you're mobile often), heat, and power, as well as performance in normal use.

"wouldn't it be better in the long run to get a higher grade processor assuming that technology is advancing pretty fast" yeah that's what I thought but trust me the current Core i7 quads are not that advanced. Sure, they have turbo, but it only turbos to 2.53GHz etc for two or less cores, it can only work the four cores together at the base speed (very low, 1.6GHz or 1.73 GHz for 720/740QM).

Besides, if you think the current Core i7 quads will be able to last long, they actually were sold before these Core i5s. Apart from turbo, i5s are not that much of an improvement over Core 2 Duos with high clock (plus they have greater cache, lower TDP, etc).

If you ask me Intel is not "advancing" very well. Mostly we get i5 or i7 because they are new.
the Core i dual core actually ve less cache compared to Core 2 Duo...

T/P9000 family has 6MB L2 cache, while 600M has 4MB L3 cache...

but, cache is not a big deal for the Core/Nehalem architecture... 3-4MB is the sweet spot...

we get Nehalem becuz that's the only choice that Intel provides... and not many makers are interested with AMD K10...
putochip123
post Nov 4 2010, 11:00 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 4 2010, 01:00 AM)

+1, most of the people think that i7 have many cores which is better, but they are wrong, if really wan go for I7, 620M/640M/820M/840M/920XM/940XM/ is the only choice for mobile Core i7, there 720/740 is away too low clock, in most of the game, Core i5 take advantages, but slowly now many game support multicore rendering for gaming.

On the other hand, Core i7 + Core i5 in gaming experience, u wont feel any advantages since gaming mostly depends on GPU, even games are highly demand for CPU, u also cant see the differences between i5/i7....
Merovingian2
post Nov 4 2010, 12:49 PM

42 posts

So are you sayin that i should chose the i5 over the i7???im really confused now...lolz... never knew it would b this complicated... so if it was you guys u would take the i5 rather then the i7??
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2010, 12:53 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

i5 is more than enough...
astria
post Nov 4 2010, 01:00 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 4 2010, 12:49 PM)
So are you sayin that i should chose the i5 over the i7???im really confused now...lolz... never knew it would b this complicated... so if it was you guys u would take the i5 rather then the i7??
put it this way...

in gaming benchmark, 620M pwns 720QM...

but in programs like Office, AES encryption, etc, it's vice versa..

so decide base on ur main usage...
putochip123
post Nov 4 2010, 01:20 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 4 2010, 12:49 PM)
if i were u, i would go for i7(if the price is good enough), since it wont be too slow compare to other, if it is slow u wont notice that.
LightningFist
post Nov 4 2010, 02:38 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

In gaming, you won't feel the difference, so you would want to choose it depending on whether you are a CPU-intensive user. If you only do typical things, i5 would save power and be a little faster (most important thing would be the Hard drive and the GPU). Basically a high frequency Core 2 Duo would do the job (but this is as of now very rare).

But, Dell (and Asus) have somehow been offered some sort of deal by Intel, it seems. I think Intel did not learn from their initial sale of the i7-720QM (Sept 2009) and they overproduced i7-740QM or something - so now buying 740QM is relatively cheaper than lower or higher i5s, even though all the i5s should be cheaper (according to Intel).

If you buy Dell you get a better deal overall because i7 comes with better graphics, more RAM, other add-ons. But like I said that deal you showed us is not much of a deal, maybe RM~100 discount, at RM4100+, some say it is reasonable, I say you're being forced to get i7 with the good GPU, unless you do not mind getting i7.
putochip123
post Nov 4 2010, 02:51 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 4 2010, 02:38 PM)
In gaming, you won't feel the difference, so you would want to choose it depending on whether you are a CPU-intensive user. If you only do typical things, i5 would save power and be a little faster (most important thing would be the Hard drive and the GPU). Basically a high frequency Core 2 Duo would do the job (but this is as of now very rare).

But, Dell (and Asus) have somehow been offered some sort of deal by Intel, it seems. I think Intel did not learn from their initial sale of the i7-720QM (Sept 2009) and they overproduced i7-740QM or something - so now buying 740QM is relatively cheaper than lower or higher i5s, even though all the i5s should be cheaper (according to Intel).

If you buy Dell you get a better deal overall because i7 comes with better graphics, more RAM, other add-ons. But like I said that deal you showed us is not much of a deal, maybe RM~100 discount, at RM4100+, some say it is reasonable, I say you're being forced to get i7 with the good GPU, unless you do not mind getting i7.
+1, but sometime it is high frequency, but u dont really see the different in real world
Merovingian2
post Nov 4 2010, 04:58 PM

42 posts

But guys on the Dell customization for XPS i5 version, it doesn't alllow to customize the graphics card to the 435m.... it only allows 420m which with my little knowledge is lower in most benchmarking websites compared to the 435m ..... and when i add the same specs as the i7 the things tat i get in the i7 package is more... so my next question would be.... would i be right to say if i get the i7 version atleast i would be sure not to be anywhere less "better" then the i5 versions rite?it can't be worse in anyway if not better except for the heating problem la...rite??
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2010, 05:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Yup...
LightningFist
post Nov 4 2010, 06:02 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Pretty much. If you desperately need a laptop now, yes, the i7 "package" has more value.

See if you can get a price reduction. Which 3 year warranty are you buying, the RM599 (3yr XPS +1 CC), RM699 (3yr XPS +3 CC), or RM876 (Dell Care Prem)?
Merovingian2
post Nov 4 2010, 08:27 PM

42 posts

The one tat they included in the price is the 699 wan...do any of you know any tricks of gettin these dell guys to give better discounts or better offers...??
putochip123
post Nov 4 2010, 08:52 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 4 2010, 04:58 PM)
But guys on the Dell customization for XPS i5 version, it doesn't alllow to customize the graphics card to the 435m.... it only allows 420m which with my little knowledge is lower in most benchmarking websites compared to the 435m ..... and when i add the same specs as the i7 the things tat i get in the i7 package is more... so my next question would be.... would i be right to say if i get the i7 version atleast i would be sure not to be anywhere less "better" then the i5 versions rite?it can't be worse in anyway if not better except for the heating problem la...rite??
Go for i7 dont care about the heat , nowadays no more overheat issue d. Wont burn ur system 1.
Casperwinde
post Nov 7 2010, 07:35 PM

303 posts

i go for i5 one ~ ^^ hopefully it dun hav such prob....
Merovingian2
post Nov 10 2010, 10:18 PM

42 posts

Hei i read a few forums, some of the guys said the OPTIMUS technology only is for the i5 version and is not in the i7 version... is that true?
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 10 2010, 10:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:18 PM)
Hei i read a few forums, some of the guys said the OPTIMUS technology only is for the i5 version and is not in the i7 version... is that true?
Yeap, according to astria sifu nod.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 10 2010, 10:37 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Because i7 doesn't have intel GPU onboard
astria
post Nov 11 2010, 12:11 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:18 PM)
technically, only quad core CPU cannot ve Optimus...

Core i7-600M family can still ve it...

this is one of the reason y i avoid simply calling Intel's CPU by their i-name... there are many dual core i7 around...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM
yan5619
post Nov 11 2010, 12:40 AM

549 posts

what about built quality?
ASUS seems to have very good reputation for its built quality.
Merovingian2
post Nov 11 2010, 01:40 AM

42 posts

So why the hell did they even advertise the OPTIMUS technology if it is not included in the freaking laptop!.... damn stupid rite.... and on top of that the i7 is the only one that comes with the 435m... so obviously its gonna be a better bang for the buck option rite... so without OPTIMUS the battery life will be less la i suppose....
lee_what2004
post Nov 11 2010, 02:53 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 11 2010, 01:40 AM)
So why the hell did they even advertise the OPTIMUS technology if it is not included in the freaking laptop!.... damn stupid rite.... and on top of that the i7 is the only one that comes with the 435m... so obviously its gonna be a better bang for the buck option rite... so without OPTIMUS the battery life will be less la i suppose....
They do include it, just that its only for i5 + GT420M...
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 11 2010, 09:06 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 11 2010, 01:40 AM)
I remembered last time there's also such an issue on the N82Jv/Jq laugh.gif
They even got the price wrong sweat.gif
LightningFist
post Nov 11 2010, 02:51 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Well Mero this is why a ton of us have not ordered the XPS.

Even in AnandTech's extremely poor (in quality) review of the new XPS 15 (which is ok I suppose), they mentioned this (that you cannot order i5 + 435) because you still can't do so the world over.
astria
post Nov 11 2010, 02:54 PM

22,158 posts

well, Dell Australia solves the problem by providing only quad core... laugh.gif
Merovingian2
post Nov 12 2010, 01:40 AM

42 posts

Hahahah.... yea man they should have just done that here... to prevent all the headache man.... and unnecessary confusion...
lee_what2004
post Nov 12 2010, 02:10 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Not really, especially for those aiming for Optimus or less heat...
LightningFist
post Nov 12 2010, 02:29 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 12 2010, 02:00 AM)
This is more appropriate. haha rclxms.gif
BTW, it is truth that if they i5 as option, ppl will just gladly take i7... rolleyes.gif
What do you mean people will gladly take i7? Quite the opposite, actually.

People will gladly take i5s if it is not set at an obscene price (e.g. SXPS 16) because they are only offering slow i7s.
i7 quads are more powerful in some situations, but the advantages of i5s in most situations outnumber that of i7 quads.
Now, if you had i7 extreme, that'd be different. i7 quad 720-840 just aren't worth the heat and temperature.
People elsewhere may be getting low idle temps because it is the colder month now in some countries.
If it rained everyday in MY you could have 5-10C cooler laptops too.

I am really hoping that a new product will be released soon, or at the very least the current XPS laptops will have their hardware replaced (think Sandy Bridge, AMD 6xxx or beyond, but information is limited and the manufacturers are very obscure).

Dell did put new GPUs in their products but they have been so unkind in options (no XPS 17 in many countries, no i5 in some places, no i5 + 435 option, a lot of other nos).
Maybe this is a sign that something good is on the ready, or at least around a very big corner.
Casperwinde
post Nov 12 2010, 11:51 PM

303 posts

hmmm....here alot saying tat rather take i5 for gaming and daily usage purpose.....
anyway, the package offered by dell now is not bad i guess? i7+ 435GT for js adding RM500....
smartleader
post Nov 13 2010, 02:41 AM

317 posts

From what I had heard and gathered so far, i5 or even a dual-core i7 is still better than any of entry level Intel quad core. Simply because that most of the games now run on dual core, even the most CPU intensive games like Starcraft 2, and not to mention that its a lot cooler as well. IMO, entry level quad core is just overrated.

P.S: Darn it, how I hope my 5943G comes with i7-620m like what it stated in the net rather than this i7-720qm.
Merovingian2
post Nov 13 2010, 11:59 AM

42 posts

Well... im waiting for my i7 to arrive at my doorstep... and then ill inform you guys how its been... ive heard a lot of negative comments regarding the i7... i hope it is not as dissapointin as it sounds...
Casperwinde
post Nov 13 2010, 12:22 PM

303 posts

wat lappy isit?? XPS?
Merovingian2
post Nov 13 2010, 12:43 PM

42 posts

yea the xps 15 wif i7 and i added a 9cell and 3 years warranty just incase...quite pricy but is not as pricy if i extended the warranty later on... and, with that, the guy added on a backlight and 3 years McAfee... which is nuthin much but still sum "keuntungan" la... lolz... oh n he reduced the price by rm200++ aswell...
Casperwinde
post Nov 13 2010, 01:59 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 13 2010, 12:43 PM)
yea the xps 15 wif i7 and i added a 9cell and 3 years warranty just incase...quite pricy but is not as pricy if i extended the warranty later on... and, with that, the guy added on a backlight and 3 years McAfee... which is nuthin much but still sum "keuntungan" la... lolz... oh n he reduced the price by rm200++ aswell...
who u dealing with?? still gt free backlit keyboard and 3yrs McAfeee and RM200++ price reduced drool.gif drool.gif

too bad i bought it frm dell website...which price seem firm sad.gif
makubexong
post Nov 13 2010, 02:17 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 13 2010, 12:43 PM)
but i tot the latest xps unit only available online purchase? how much is ur xps?
LightningFist
post Nov 13 2010, 03:01 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

So mero he revised the price then?

After 9 cell, backlit, 3yrs warranty, what's the final price?
Merovingian2
post Nov 13 2010, 03:07 PM

42 posts

Actually i bought it through the call centre.... Mine is RM4199 for all that... i really had to push the call centre guy to get me this deal... i thought the upgrade of the 9 cell and warranty was essential cause as it is the i7 consumes more battery and it doesnt have OPTIMUS so the 6cell is not gonna last very long and the 3 year warranty i put in cause damn scared if anythin happens down the line... the keyboard backlight + McAfee 3 years are free..and i would like to correct bout the RM200 discount actually i was mistaken, as if, i add those earlier things then it is a discount la... but without its not...
Casperwinde
post Nov 13 2010, 03:20 PM

303 posts

the 3yrs warranty is essential if wan to purchase the XPS to use for long term....
but dell XPS extend warranty damn exp la....totally exceed my budget >.< so sad....
LightningFist
post Nov 13 2010, 03:50 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Warranty is extra important.

My old Dell laptop (shipped July 04, used since Jan 05) just ~died, and I realised warranty was only till 07. But of course, a new laptop must at the very least have 2 yrs on it. My new Dell desktop had a year on it (but it had multiple problems on the first day/week itself).

Sometimes they are assembled in haste and this is usually the cause. With mass production, their quality control is reasonable, and perhaps I was unlucky.

Tell us more about your laptop when it arrives smile.gif

With 3 years, you're safe if anything happens. People do sometimes get their Studio XPS 1645/47s or M1530s and M1730s replaced by Alienwares. The less-savvy customer may get a Studio 17.
makubexong
post Nov 13 2010, 03:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 13 2010, 03:07 PM)
Actually i bought it through the call centre.... Mine is RM4199 for all that... i really had to push the call centre guy to get me this deal... i thought the upgrade of the 9 cell and warranty was essential cause as it is the i7 consumes more battery and it doesnt have OPTIMUS so the 6cell is not gonna last very long and the 3 year warranty i put in cause damn scared if anythin happens down the line... the keyboard backlight + McAfee 3 years are free..and i would like to correct bout the RM200 discount actually i was mistaken, as if, i add those earlier things then it is a discount la... but without its not...
ic~ i din know order throught call centre can bargain the price le.. maybe i can try it out.. hehe..

but yesterday one of my fren tell me about this info..
Dell XPS 15 ( i7-740QM, 2gb GT 435M , 4GB Ram, 640GB, 3 years complete cover warranty) RM3349

im doubt abt that, how he able to found out this deal.. i asked him, still waiting his reply.. hmm.gif
LightningFist
post Nov 13 2010, 03:54 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

That's quite unbelievable, nearly RM1000 discount. Impossible.

Warranty is 699, starting base price is 3499. 640GB upgrade costs too.
makubexong
post Nov 13 2010, 04:00 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 13 2010, 03:54 PM)
That's quite unbelievable, nearly RM1000 discount. Impossible.

Warranty is 699, starting base price is 3499. 640GB upgrade costs too.
ya~ u also think impossible right.. so, i try to figure out where he find abt tat.. haha..
Casperwinde
post Nov 13 2010, 04:02 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 13 2010, 03:50 PM)
Warranty is extra important.

My old Dell laptop (shipped July 04, used since Jan 05) just ~died, and I realised warranty was only till 07. But of course, a new laptop must at the very least have 2 yrs on it. My new Dell desktop had a year on it (but it had multiple problems on the first day/week itself).

Sometimes they are assembled in haste and this is usually the cause. With mass production, their quality control is reasonable, and perhaps I was unlucky.

Tell us more about your laptop when it arrives smile.gif

With 3 years, you're safe if anything happens. People do sometimes get their Studio XPS 1645/47s or M1530s and M1730s replaced by Alienwares. The less-savvy customer may get a Studio 17.
ic...i tot dell QC is more assured and to be rely with.... rclxub.gif
i tink i will c hw's my laptop condition den js decide to extend it onot.... smile.gif
sure i will tell smile.gif smile.gif but thr is 1 -2 person ere mayb gt their XPS earlier than me....haha
Merovingian2
post Nov 13 2010, 04:32 PM

42 posts

The XPS 15 comes with a 640 gb harddisk Lightning Fist
ayil
post Nov 13 2010, 05:02 PM

Price Police Sux My Dix
2,377 posts

QUOTE(makubexong @ Nov 13 2010, 03:52 PM)
ic~ i din know order throught call centre can bargain the price le.. maybe i can try it out.. hehe..

but yesterday one of my fren tell me about this info..
Dell XPS 15 ( i7-740QM, 2gb GT 435M , 4GB Ram, 640GB, 3 years complete cover warranty) RM3349

im doubt abt that, how he able to found out this deal.. i asked him, still waiting his reply..  hmm.gif
new model released, new unit, its almost impossible. lol.
LightningFist
post Nov 13 2010, 05:39 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yeah, my bad, only i5/420 is with 500GB. Too bad they removed 750GB, extra space, plus high density HDD.

That is one hell of a deal, only possible in the US (or other countries with promotions). Over here you'll never see that for a new system.
Merovingian2
post Nov 13 2010, 05:54 PM

42 posts

Damn man... Msia deals bad shape la... u know in the UK they even had a 30min deal for the XPS 15 i7 version... cost oni $499 ...which is about RM2500++... :-(
LightningFist
post Nov 13 2010, 06:29 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yes, I heard about the 500 pound deal, it was crazy good smile.gif

Kinda translates into a 4000 ringgit deal for Dell MY >.<

In the US they get new deals and discounts everyday, while in the UK the deals are similarly dynamic. Over here the deals are static for months (look at Studio XPS).
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 11:32 AM

303 posts

Ya...but UK thy dun hav backlit keyboard option =)
i read frm foreign forum one...
LightningFist
post Nov 17 2010, 01:29 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

They will, they just ran out. It was planned.

But, I believe this batch was just a "filler", and we will see new versions in a couple months time. Hopefully.
neo_himura
post Nov 17 2010, 08:12 PM

86 posts

dell totally don care about us Malaysian.... i ordered before those ppl in US and UK (27th Oct) but they got their xps already.. now my EDD is 6th Dec!..
sumore no discount coupon, no nothing.. wut the hell dell??!!
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 08:46 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 17 2010, 08:12 PM)
dell totally don care about us Malaysian.... i ordered before those ppl in US and UK (27th Oct) but they got their xps already.. now my EDD is 6th Dec!..
sumore no discount coupon, no nothing.. wut the hell dell??!!
bt heard frm another thread thr is othr pple who gt it in 13days ad.... sad.gif
wondering why we r left bhind so far....due to the backlit keyboard? rclxub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 17 2010, 09:05 PM

24,193 posts

I guess Malaysia is quite slow when it comes to new technology...
Just got back from digital mall and lowyat plaza... no signs of any Dell XPS14 and 15... Maybe they are still too new to be available...
But there's no signs of a single N43Jq/53Jq as well... which is kind of shocking since they were released quite a long time ago doh.gif
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 09:25 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 17 2010, 09:22 PM)
Seriously, Dell Malaysia is definitely lacking of choice and lower down their own sale only...
Last time, no Inspiron or Studio 17. Somemore, i waited for Dell Streak(an Android phone) for 1 whole years already also no news. It will be no doubt that the newly launched Venue Pro(WP7 phone) will never reach Malaysia. doh.gif If they launch as the price as in Dell US, SGS and HTC will have no chance to compete at all. mad.gif

Is that they ignore Malaysia because of small market/demand or what? rclxub.gif
i think nt cos of small market...maybe is market demand blush.gif
many msian will js rush for the "trend" iphone 4.... rclxub.gif the hype
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 09:36 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 17 2010, 09:31 PM)
LOL then Inspiron or Studio 17?
Although there is no much ppl like 17'' out there but at least if they provide it here, they will certainly dominate the 17'' market in Malaysia(now only Vostro 3700 sweat.gif ).
LOl....well...hp envy 17??
i guess is due to 17" in Msia is still nt a trend? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif or profit low.... js my guess laugh.gif
neo_himura
post Nov 17 2010, 09:38 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:25 PM)
many msian will js rush for the "trend" iphone 4.... rclxub.gif  the hype
haha. i agree with tht tongue.gif

when it comes to technology, we malaysians only get the leftovers from those western countries.. n they sell it with higher price!
if they thing the market here is small, its better they don sell/promote here at all.. rather than making us wait for it and disappoint us... it sucks man~~ vmad.gif
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 17 2010, 09:38 PM)
haha. i agree with tht  tongue.gif

when it comes to technology, we malaysians only get the leftovers from those western countries.. n they sell it with higher price!
if they thing the market here is small, its better they don sell/promote here at all.. rather than making us wait for it and disappoint us... it sucks man~~  vmad.gif
but somehow luckily we r still being left bhind nt by a thousand miles ahead....unlike car industry flex.gif flex.gif
erm..one q out of the XPS topic... is our laptop pc being charged by tax? cos whn i made payment to my XPS 15 i saw the govt tax is 0.... due to the PM new budget plan? thumbup.gif
neo_himura
post Nov 17 2010, 09:57 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM)
but somehow luckily we r still being left bhind nt by a thousand miles ahead....unlike car industry  flex.gif  flex.gif
erm..one q out of the XPS topic... is our laptop pc being charged by tax? cos whn i made payment to my XPS 15 i saw the govt tax is 0.... due to the PM new budget plan? thumbup.gif
haha.. car industry~~~ another sad story rclxub.gif

i saw the 0 gov tax oso.. i tot it was always like tht one~ i guess its new.. haha thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 17 2010, 10:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:36 PM)
LOl....well...hp envy 17??
i guess is due to 17" in Msia is still nt a trend?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif or profit low.... js my guess laugh.gif
Malaysians are shorter and smaller compared to them guys in US haha... 17 inchers will be too heavy and large for us... which probably explains why they aren't that popular laugh.gif
I was wondering why Malaysia is so slow as well.... seems like the guys in Garage Sales are the fastest LOL notworthy.gif
Casperwinde
post Nov 17 2010, 10:03 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 17 2010, 10:00 PM)
Malaysians are shorter and smaller compared to them guys in US haha... 17 inchers will be too heavy and large for us... which probably explains why they aren't that popular  laugh.gif
I was wondering why Malaysia is so slow as well.... seems like the guys in Garage Sales are the fastest LOL  notworthy.gif
maybe u r right... tongue.gif somehow one hav to started it to bring in 17" and get well response rclxms.gif
im also tempted for 17"laptop too as i 1 week only bring my laptop once....

Added on November 17, 2010, 10:18 pmcar industry left bhind alot compared v IT industry...i guess it maybe due to the domination by few brands only?

hmm..i dono....so im askin...=P....cos 1st time buy a laptop via on9

This post has been edited by Casperwinde: Nov 17 2010, 10:18 PM
DoubleU
post Nov 18 2010, 12:36 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 17 2010, 09:38 PM)
haha. i agree with tht  tongue.gif

if they thing the market here is small, its better they don sell/promote here at all.. rather than making us wait for it and disappoint us... it sucks man~~  vmad.gif
not really. If you browse the laptop market in uk, most of them are still on outdated specs, intel celeron, SIS mirage graphic cards. And these are the basic laptops (the RM2k range) Also in UK there's a VAT tax, so its more expensive than malaysia for the same laptop.

Malaysia is not bad already, its america that will get all the items.
eugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 01:00 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Yes.. The laptop selections in Malaysia is still much better and cheaper than over here in London lol... Stop complaining guys.. UK is like much bigger than us but their laptops are even more outdated and have weird specs lol.. I see lots of 3gb ram lappies for some reason.. Not even dual channel ><.. And around 500-600 the most u can get is only i3 processor at most.. Netbooks are much more expensive too.. Think again before complaining lar.. Such a small country like Malaysia, our electronics business are quite advanced dy..
Jeffrey1987
post Nov 18 2010, 03:50 AM

1,661 posts

It is much more worse in Germany as the price is sky high compared to Malaysia. sad.gif
astria
post Nov 18 2010, 07:09 AM

22,158 posts

same here in Australia...

for the price of a Asus N53Jf here, u can get a N53Jq in Malaysia...
Cheesenium
post Nov 18 2010, 11:39 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The price in Australia is overpriced too.
neo_himura
post Nov 18 2010, 01:42 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 18 2010, 12:36 AM)
not really. If you browse the laptop market in uk, most of them are still on outdated specs, intel celeron, SIS mirage graphic cards. And these are the basic laptops (the RM2k range) Also in UK there's a VAT tax, so its more expensive than malaysia for the same laptop.

Malaysia is not bad already, its america that will get all the items.
i guess if u wan to be up to date in technology, then order from US~~ with high delivery cost~~ sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 18 2010, 01:43 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Still cheaper than the one offered in MY even after calculating shippings laugh.gif
example, try see Asus G73JH...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 18 2010, 01:43 PM
neo_himura
post Nov 18 2010, 01:45 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 18 2010, 01:43 PM)
Still cheaper than the one offered in MY even after calculating shippings laugh.gif
example, try see Asus G73JH...
ya lo.. i guess it depends on wut u order oso... aish~~
Jeffrey1987
post Nov 18 2010, 02:10 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 18 2010, 01:45 PM)
ya lo.. i guess it depends on wut u order oso... aish~~
+1 wink.gif
DoubleU
post Nov 18 2010, 02:42 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

so bottomline? America > Malaysia/Singapore > europe + australia

haha... i wonder how laptops are in taiwan... or japan...

neo_himura
post Nov 18 2010, 03:53 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 18 2010, 02:42 PM)
so bottomline? America > Malaysia/Singapore > europe + australia

haha... i wonder how laptops are in taiwan... or japan...
i think singapore > malaysia

japan is in a different level.. i think~~ brows.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 08:01 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

You're forgetting HK.. definitely cheaper than Malaysia by a lot since their stuffs are tax free...
LightningFist
post Nov 18 2010, 11:32 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

United States beats all, period.

Malaysia is viewed by some as "affordable" like some people view Thailand, but seriously products here cost RM1500-2000+ more than the US version for some expensive laptops...
Casperwinde
post Nov 19 2010, 12:04 AM

303 posts

in the end, i tink msia is nt bad ...cos at least it wasnt being left bhind for a thousand miles in IT industry....
Casperwinde
post Nov 19 2010, 12:15 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 19 2010, 12:11 AM)
I want Dell Streak!!!! mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  shakehead.gif
go to dell international fb page request... tongue.gif
dun go to dell msia....dell msia fb page seem lk nvr reply pple's wall flex.gif flex.gif
bononoz
post Nov 19 2010, 12:45 AM

190 posts

what would u guys recommend if i wanna do 3d rendering using 3ds max? the i5 or i7? quad core got significant improvement? i thought of getting the dell xps 15, and not those nvidia quadro cos i wanna be able to play games too,... or any other system to recommend?
2D.
post Nov 19 2010, 12:53 AM

I would get the XPS15.
bononoz
post Nov 19 2010, 01:03 AM

190 posts

ya.. but i7 or i5? priority is 3d rendering.. i've read the previous posts they say i5 faster ? or is that just for games?
lee_what2004
post Nov 19 2010, 01:05 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

i7 is faster if your apps can utilize all the 4 cores and 8 thread...
Mr.Docter
post Nov 19 2010, 04:30 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

3D rendering software mostly support HTT.

i7 is for you.

0.0825sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:22 AM