Enquiries/Recommendations Asus N53JQ or new Dell XPS 15
makubexong
Nov 13 2010, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Nov 13 2010, 03:07 PM) Actually i bought it through the call centre.... Mine is RM4199 for all that... i really had to push the call centre guy to get me this deal... i thought the upgrade of the 9 cell and warranty was essential cause as it is the i7 consumes more battery and it doesnt have OPTIMUS so the 6cell is not gonna last very long and the 3 year warranty i put in cause damn scared if anythin happens down the line... the keyboard backlight + McAfee 3 years are free..and i would like to correct bout the RM200 discount actually i was mistaken, as if, i add those earlier things then it is a discount la... but without its not... ic~ i din know order throught call centre can bargain the price le.. maybe i can try it out.. hehe.. but yesterday one of my fren tell me about this info.. Dell XPS 15 ( i7-740QM, 2gb GT 435M , 4GB Ram, 640GB, 3 years complete cover warranty) RM3349 im doubt abt that, how he able to found out this deal.. i asked him, still waiting his reply..
LightningFist
Nov 13 2010, 03:54 PM
Minion of the Damned
That's quite unbelievable, nearly RM1000 discount. Impossible.
Warranty is 699, starting base price is 3499. 640GB upgrade costs too.
makubexong
Nov 13 2010, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 13 2010, 03:54 PM) That's quite unbelievable, nearly RM1000 discount. Impossible. Warranty is 699, starting base price is 3499. 640GB upgrade costs too. ya~ u also think impossible right.. so, i try to figure out where he find abt tat.. haha..
Casperwinde
Nov 13 2010, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 13 2010, 03:50 PM) Warranty is extra important. My old Dell laptop (shipped July 04, used since Jan 05) just ~died, and I realised warranty was only till 07. But of course, a new laptop must at the very least have 2 yrs on it. My new Dell desktop had a year on it (but it had multiple problems on the first day/week itself). Sometimes they are assembled in haste and this is usually the cause. With mass production, their quality control is reasonable, and perhaps I was unlucky. Tell us more about your laptop when it arrives  With 3 years, you're safe if anything happens. People do sometimes get their Studio XPS 1645/47s or M1530s and M1730s replaced by Alienwares. The less-savvy customer may get a Studio 17. ic...i tot dell QC is more assured and to be rely with.... i tink i will c hw's my laptop condition den js decide to extend it onot.... sure i will tell  but thr is 1 -2 person ere mayb gt their XPS earlier than me....haha
Merovingian2
Nov 13 2010, 04:32 PM
The XPS 15 comes with a 640 gb harddisk Lightning Fist
ayil
Nov 13 2010, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(makubexong @ Nov 13 2010, 03:52 PM) ic~ i din know order throught call centre can bargain the price le.. maybe i can try it out.. hehe.. but yesterday one of my fren tell me about this info.. Dell XPS 15 ( i7-740QM, 2gb GT 435M , 4GB Ram, 640GB, 3 years complete cover warranty) RM3349 im doubt abt that, how he able to found out this deal.. i asked him, still waiting his reply..  new model released, new unit, its almost impossible. lol.
LightningFist
Nov 13 2010, 05:39 PM
Minion of the Damned
Yeah, my bad, only i5/420 is with 500GB. Too bad they removed 750GB, extra space, plus high density HDD.
That is one hell of a deal, only possible in the US (or other countries with promotions). Over here you'll never see that for a new system.
Merovingian2
Nov 13 2010, 05:54 PM
Damn man... Msia deals bad shape la... u know in the UK they even had a 30min deal for the XPS 15 i7 version... cost oni $499 ...which is about RM2500++... :-(
LightningFist
Nov 13 2010, 06:29 PM
Minion of the Damned
Yes, I heard about the 500 pound deal, it was crazy good  Kinda translates into a 4000 ringgit deal for Dell MY >.< In the US they get new deals and discounts everyday, while in the UK the deals are similarly dynamic. Over here the deals are static for months (look at Studio XPS).
Casperwinde
Nov 17 2010, 11:32 AM
Ya...but UK thy dun hav backlit keyboard option =) i read frm foreign forum one...
LightningFist
Nov 17 2010, 01:29 PM
Minion of the Damned
They will, they just ran out. It was planned.
But, I believe this batch was just a "filler", and we will see new versions in a couple months time. Hopefully.
neo_himura
Nov 17 2010, 08:12 PM

dell totally don care about us Malaysian.... i ordered before those ppl in US and UK (27th Oct) but they got their xps already.. now my EDD is 6th Dec!.. sumore no discount coupon, no nothing.. wut the hell dell??!!
Casperwinde
Nov 17 2010, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 17 2010, 08:12 PM) dell totally don care about us Malaysian.... i ordered before those ppl in US and UK (27th Oct) but they got their xps already.. now my EDD is 6th Dec!.. sumore no discount coupon, no nothing.. wut the hell dell??!! bt heard frm another thread thr is othr pple who gt it in 13days ad.... wondering why we r left bhind so far....due to the backlit keyboard?
[PF] T.J.
Nov 17 2010, 09:05 PM
I guess Malaysia is quite slow when it comes to new technology... Just got back from digital mall and lowyat plaza... no signs of any Dell XPS14 and 15... Maybe they are still too new to be available... But there's no signs of a single N43Jq/53Jq as well... which is kind of shocking since they were released quite a long time ago
Casperwinde
Nov 17 2010, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 17 2010, 09:22 PM) Seriously, Dell Malaysia is definitely lacking of choice and lower down their own sale only... Last time, no Inspiron or Studio 17. Somemore, i waited for Dell Streak(an Android phone) for 1 whole years already also no news. It will be no doubt that the newly launched Venue Pro(WP7 phone) will never reach Malaysia.  If they launch as the price as in Dell US, SGS and HTC will have no chance to compete at all. Is that they ignore Malaysia because of small market/demand or what?  i think nt cos of small market...maybe is market demand many msian will js rush for the "trend" iphone 4....  the hype
Casperwinde
Nov 17 2010, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Nov 17 2010, 09:31 PM) LOL then Inspiron or Studio 17? Although there is no much ppl like 17'' out there but at least if they provide it here, they will certainly dominate the 17'' market in Malaysia(now only Vostro 3700  ). LOl....well...hp envy 17?? i guess is due to 17" in Msia is still nt a trend?  or profit low.... js my guess
neo_himura
Nov 17 2010, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:25 PM) many msian will js rush for the "trend" iphone 4....  the hype haha. i agree with tht when it comes to technology, we malaysians only get the leftovers from those western countries.. n they sell it with higher price! if they thing the market here is small, its better they don sell/promote here at all.. rather than making us wait for it and disappoint us... it sucks man~~
Casperwinde
Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(neo_himura @ Nov 17 2010, 09:38 PM) haha. i agree with tht when it comes to technology, we malaysians only get the leftovers from those western countries.. n they sell it with higher price! if they thing the market here is small, its better they don sell/promote here at all.. rather than making us wait for it and disappoint us... it sucks man~~  but somehow luckily we r still being left bhind nt by a thousand miles ahead....unlike car industry erm..one q out of the XPS topic... is our laptop pc being charged by tax? cos whn i made payment to my XPS 15 i saw the govt tax is 0.... due to the PM new budget plan?
neo_himura
Nov 17 2010, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM) but somehow luckily we r still being left bhind nt by a thousand miles ahead....unlike car industry erm..one q out of the XPS topic... is our laptop pc being charged by tax? cos whn i made payment to my XPS 15 i saw the govt tax is 0.... due to the PM new budget plan?  haha.. car industry~~~ another sad story i saw the 0 gov tax oso.. i tot it was always like tht one~ i guess its new.. haha
[PF] T.J.
Nov 17 2010, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Nov 17 2010, 09:36 PM) LOl....well...hp envy 17?? i guess is due to 17" in Msia is still nt a trend?  or profit low.... js my guess  Malaysians are shorter and smaller compared to them guys in US haha... 17 inchers will be too heavy and large for us... which probably explains why they aren't that popular I was wondering why Malaysia is so slow as well.... seems like the guys in Garage Sales are the fastest LOL