Nokia N900 V7 (More than 150 owners), Made by Nokia,Powered by Community

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 07:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Oct 28 2010, 07:11 PM)
Ah I see. Early videos do look promising, I just hope they dont dumb it down to suite the masses. Even if they do, hope they leave some extras for real hardcore modders like us.
Well..Terminal still provided by default.
Plus read this article - http://www.rcrwireless.com/article/2010102...oper-innovation
MeeGo still got something to offer hard core modders.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 08:29 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Oct 28 2010, 08:21 PM)
First N900 Knowledge sharing party!

Lets hope for many more eh wink.gif
Too bad our lazy @$$ TS can't even attend this TT.
Wonder who's that guy... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 28 2010, 08:38 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 08:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Oct 28 2010, 08:37 PM)
to any sifu out there..anyone knows how to format the memory card to ext3 partition via the xterminal..?

i tried formatting it by mke2fs -t ext3 /dev/mmcblk1p1

but, it'll show "memory card format unsupported"..any idea?
Try this

CODE
sfdisk /dev/mmcblk1 << EOM
,,C
EOM

sync

mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk1p1

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Oct 28 2010, 10:29 PM)
post pics guys...
BTW i guess sifu alien is bz dualbooting i guess
Indeed I'm. laugh.gif
I seriously need Class 10 microSD now.Anyone can give me a good deal for 4GB class 10 microSD?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ukoo @ Oct 28 2010, 09:16 PM)
i might choose n900 .. coz its cheaper than n8 -.-

Added on October 28, 2010, 9:17 pmim in love with fishing game and the plant vs zombies game ..
does n900 support it ?
You'll regret buying this phone with that kind of mindset.
Buy a device that suit your needs.Don't buy to impress others or because it's popular.

QUOTE(ukoo @ Oct 28 2010, 09:25 PM)
sorry but, can you explain more about different between smartphone and miniacture computer ?
as what i or those doesnt really know about mobile .. will think .. there is no different between them ..
coz they SEEM to be doing the same thing -.-
hmm.gif
N900 is internet centric tablet.It's using Maemo OS which is basically a desktop class linux OS.

You should remember that N900 is like wild horse.But if you managed to get used to it & use most of it's functions you'll have a capable device unlike any other device on market.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(del85 @ Oct 28 2010, 10:46 PM)
anyone here know how to activate headset mode? i connect the headset, it not connect.
???
You plug the headset & that's it.No extra steps.
Heck even with my BH 505 bluetooth headset it's pretty much the same.On the headset,wait & it'll be connected.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 28 2010, 10:50 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(bratvalove @ Oct 28 2010, 10:50 PM)
how much u buy the BH 505 ? how the sound quality ?
RM160.
Sound quality is excellent.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(denver0231 @ Oct 28 2010, 10:53 PM)
any1 try to flash to meego?
Done it.
What impressed/disturbed me is I don't even have to refer to official guide to flash to MeeGo.I guess after flashing multiple times I remember pretty much every steps.
One of these days I'm really going to brick my phone because of all this flashing sweat.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 28 2010, 10:57 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 10:58 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(denver0231 @ Oct 28 2010, 10:56 PM)
how? is it better? just like normal flash for maemo?
If you're not an experienced user I suggest you to not try it.
u-Boot method is not perfect yet.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 11:05 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(del85 @ Oct 28 2010, 10:59 PM)
i already connect the headset but it not detect. but if i connect tv out, it detect. aiyooo....help me up.
Tried with any other headphone/earphone/headset?

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 28 2010, 11:00 PM)
I saw someone selling RM135 only in LYN ori avaxx/zitron smile.gif
Yeah I know.But I ordered through aspire which was 3 weeks ago.
RM25 difference is ok with me.

QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Oct 28 2010, 11:00 PM)
super.. do u mind to write a list at frontpage that who is using MEEGO and NITRIOD ???
It's hard for me to keep on this.
Some using triple OS & some using dual OS.There is no way for everyone to declare what OS they are using.

If you have any questions you can ask here.Rest assured if your question is not too noob like "how do I install NITDroid",me & other experienced users will answer the questions.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 11:10 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Oct 28 2010, 11:08 PM)
haha... i see i see. i agree with that also... vr hard for u to maintain... xD
how do u feel with MEEGO ?
Overall it's what I expected from beta version of an OS.
But I have to reserve my judgment till I get a faster microSD.My class 4 microSD feels bit sluggish.

I don't mind mind anyone lending me class 6/10 cards for testing purpose also. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 28 2010, 11:11 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 28 2010, 11:53 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 28 2010, 11:47 PM)
think so much for what? tongue.gif  buy both la  whistling.gif
Money does not fall from sky you know.Not everyone capable of changing phones frequently.
It's better to take some time,think of options & choose the best phone that suits your needs.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:30 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Oct 29 2010, 12:24 AM)
Ah managed to flash my memory card to ext3 and do automount smile.gif

Now all WebOS games are in MMC and my OPT is clean
AAAAHHHHH!!!!

Should I use my microSD for MeeGo,NITDroid or webOS games now?
Darn...Maybe Nokia should have included 2 microSD slot in N900.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:35 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:31 AM)
Haha we never know later Grandmaster find a way to triple boot using internal memory hehe

Added on October 29, 2010, 12:32 am

There no such thing as u noob or not. We are all once a noob. Dont tell me first day u touch Nokia N900 straight geng di right?
Triple booting needs much more work.MeeGo is using btrfs file system that make the multiboot patch that used in NITDroid useless.I need more time to looks into other possibilities.

@Tho those who went to the TT
What do you guys mean by porselina's N900 rocks?He moddded his N900 meh? tongue.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:37 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Ok.As TS I ask porselina to post his desktops screenshots. laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:42 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:37 AM)
grandmaster maybe its possible to partition the drive le like windows . Yeah we saw porselina home screen before he modded it kao kao somemore got his gf photo somemore
It's possible but since I have only have 4GB microSD I barely have any extra space for further experiment.

Lets see:
MeeGo image + kernel = 2GB
NITDroid + apps = More than 2GB
webOS Games = Currently I have more than 1GB of games.

Only way I can test this triple booth theory is by getting 8GB SD card.
That's why currently I'm hunting for 4GB/8GB Class 6/10 microSD.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:48 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Oct 29 2010, 12:44 AM)
You can always partition. I'm using a 2GB parition for games. I think should be enough biggrin.gif

Got a 8GB card by the way. Seems to be up to speed. Class 6 is fast enough biggrin.gif
There is a guide here for automounting. Seems to work well even when i swap it for a FAT32 chip
http://wiki.maemo.org/Ext2_on_microSD_card
I cant get asphalt5 to work though. It goes all the way up the race preview screen then when it is time to race it crashes to screen. Any ideas on this?
Looks like I'll be going for partitions later on.
How much you're getting your 8GB Class6 microSD for?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:51 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:49 AM)
class 6 abit too expensive atm
No choice because I'm going to use it to run OS.Not to save files.
I need the extra read/write speed.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 12:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:21 PM)
super..yesterday i went to lowyat..i got quoted DNA 16GB class 10 for RM225..but i didnt buy it..

many ppl said that DNA got many problems..

its on the third floor..after u take the escalator, just go to your right,straight away go to the back..you'll see the DNA SOLUTIONS shop..

if you are looking for class 10 4GB, i think u might try that la..
Too expensive... sweat.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2010, 10:17 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Just arrived back at my hometown.Firing up my linux pc to to test u boot method.

porselinaheart will post the guide about webOS games installation while I'll post guide about modding in Maemo 5.Hopefully it'll be done by tomorrow.

@meLi
You're in grandmaster level laugh.gif

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1405sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:36 PM