Nokia N900 V7 (More than 150 owners), Made by Nokia,Powered by Community

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Oct 31 2010, 02:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Oct 31 2010, 02:30 PM)
so after step 10 ill turn off n boot again continue with step 11.

alright. thx!

btw reflashing with sim or without sim doesnt affect the sim right?
Yes.No effect.
You want to sell your phone?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 31 2010, 02:45 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:42 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 31 2010, 11:27 PM)
I don't think the source for GXT is available anywhere - not to mention the whole process would be beyond illegal (which is really less of a problem compared to getting the source for GXT).

It's a closed source app lar.
+1

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Oct 31 2010, 11:56 PM)
anyone managed to install 'Extra Decoder Support' after flashing to pr1.3???
i keep on getting error saying broken package in fapman
Working just fine for me.

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 1 2010, 10:18 AM)
Please do not delete games in my dropbox..... all games missing...

i need to restore back and kick out user who delete the things.

tq
I cannot even copy your files properly.One minute it's there then another minute it's gone & there's message from Dropbox that files has been deleted mad.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 11:07 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 1 2010, 11:06 AM)
sifu how much class 6 ?
I'm getting 8GB Class 6 microSD for RM70 tomorrow.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 11:11 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2010, 11:08 AM)
I am getting for RM160 for 16GB
Orang kaya....

QUOTE(leyley @ Nov 1 2010, 11:10 AM)
What brand you buying?
God knows what brand.Anyway I'm going to use it for testing purpose only.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 11:31 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 1 2010, 11:29 AM)
Gonna try quad-boot?
Android Maemo Ubuntu and Meego?
haha
Android & MeeGo only.
Maybe I'll move webOS games to the sd card later on.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 11:43 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2010, 11:38 AM)
i thought grandmaster doing triple boot di some forumer said u did it already
I do have 3 OS in my phone now.But I cannot make all 3 OS display itself as choice like the Maemo/NITDroid boot.
The u-boot(aka official MeeGo dual boot method) was not designed as conventional multiple boot method.Also since MeeGo is using btrfs file system,it's even more difficult for me to configure a proper triple boot.

Added on November 1, 2010, 11:44 amAnyway I think I'll take a break from this multiple OS stuff till NITDroid 0.0.9 comes out.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 1 2010, 11:44 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 12:08 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 1 2010, 11:54 AM)
So does this means you're dualbooting between Meego and Maemo using you built in memory
And dualboot between Maemo and NITDroid using your memory card?
No.
I have Maemo in rootfs
Android + MeeGo in SD card.Each OS in separate partitions.I'm using the "safe" method to load MeeGo.This method requires flashing kernel everytime you want to load MeeGo.
I revert to this method because if I used the u-boot method,my phone will boot to MeeGo everytime instead of maemo.Plus I cannot install Android also
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 12:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Nov 1 2010, 12:18 PM)
I'm a sad baby. My UK set N900 still doesnt have the firmware upgrade available for PR 1.3
You can manually flash it to PR 1.3 using the frontpage method.
Up to you whether you want PR 1.3 global or uk version.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 01:08 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(acat @ Nov 1 2010, 12:28 PM)
have u done this before?because last time i did this, i bricked my phone. problem only solved after i flashed with UK FW.
Yes.I've done this before.My phone is AP set too.I've flashed it with all kind of firmware.The original firmware was UK PR1.1
Below is my firmware history:
PR1.1UK ->PR 1.1 Global ->PR 1.2 Global(leaked)->PR 1.1 Global->PR1.2 Global->PR 1.3 Global(leaked)->PR 1.3 Global
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 01:43 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Nov 1 2010, 01:41 PM)
I've also bricked my n97 once trying to manually flash the firmware. Don't really dare to take the risk again as my set is does not have warranty over here.
Maemo firmwares are not locked according to region like Symbian.

Tell you the truth I do think "over-flashing" sometimes can brick the device.But it never stopped me from modding my phone kamikaze style laugh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 1 2010, 02:27 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 03:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Nov 1 2010, 03:35 PM)
i remembered there was a method to check and compare our downloaded files from the websites.

if my memory servers me correct aspire was the one who helped pointing this to me.
MD5sum checker...

Yup.You can use this to verify the firmware version/build

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 1 2010, 03:40 PM)
It is indeed very wierd; The possible explanation is like what SIFU aspire said, maybe the file you downloaded not complete/corrupted. Make sure the file size match exactly.

I don't think UK set have region lock? I think US or UK set should have no restriction?
For HK set, they have restriction on the FM Transmitter, so maybe there is lock not to allow flashing global firmware. But then if there is, it shouldn't even let you flash in the first place and prompt a message stating the reason.
But then again, I think it should still allow flashing global firmware because I think the FM Transmitter can be disabled by default.
By definition, global firmware should work for any set, unless specified.
Some people from TMO managed to flash from HK firmware to Global fw.Don't think there is any restriction with UK set.

Added on November 1, 2010, 3:53 pmI'm very sad now.Already paid the money for the class 6 microSD but now the seller saying no stock for the class 6/10 sad.gif
Why is it so hard to find this type of sd card....

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 1 2010, 03:53 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 04:04 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Nov 1 2010, 04:01 PM)
That really bad. did he said stock in hand ? rclxub.gif
Not a big problem.I know the seller.
His supplier ran out of class 6/10 SD cards.Seems like no more restock.No other choice than return my money.
PM-ed the DNA SD card seller.If she have stock I'll just take it.Don't care whether that brand have too many issue or not.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 05:40 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
As I know, some brand the class stated may not be real; Better double confirm the speed if you can.
RViN already confirmed the speed.
Even the DNA brand is out of stock mad.gif

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Nov 1 2010, 05:22 PM)
Grandmaster, did u mean everytime we want load meego, must do as per ur tutorial below? ---> step 10 and above?

Yes.But there are few other methods to load the kernel.

I'll repeat this again,DO NOT mess with MeeGo if you're newbie!
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 07:17 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 1 2010, 06:02 PM)
in Penang, if you simply walk in to any (i mean all) computer shops and ask for class 6 memory card... they will just say...
"huh ? class ? apa itu ? all same la. "
At least in my place the shopkeepers know the classes of the flash based cards...
But not a single freaking shop keep a card faster than class 4 doh.gif

QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Nov 1 2010, 06:25 PM)
i wanna ask regarding the qtirreco... i dunno which is the right remote for a tv... how to see that ?? or any universal control ???
You need to download the config files according to the device model.

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Nov 1 2010, 06:45 PM)
one noob quest. how to check whether mine is uk version or others?
Good question.Wonder how?
Try typing *#0000# & compare with frontpage firmware screenshot.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2010, 06:46 PM)
then u say la since all same i want class 6 for the price of class 2 can ah? Same maaa
Fuh...I am willing to go for class 4 like that..

WOW WOW WOW!!!
For the 1st time ever I saw someone else beside me using N900 in my campus!
Felt weird laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 08:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 1 2010, 07:51 PM)
go approach him and ask him to call u sifu..hehe brows.gif
The more surprising thing,it's a chinese girl rclxms.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 1 2010, 08:12 PM)
wah....bt i afraid she's using her bf phone...haha
Nope.She was sitting alone at cafeteria.
Seems very pro at using the phone too.

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 1 2010, 08:59 PM)
the trick is to flash both fiasco and emmc using flasher tool.

when you run the FOTA update using app manager, some leftovers from PR1.2 might still be there and causing battery drain.
hmm.gif I only flashed my rootfs
My battery life have improved by some margin.Maybe I'll flash rootfs + eMMC to see whether I can get even longer battery time.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 1 2010, 10:00 PM)
Master Yoda, don't get too exited until stalk people hor  tongue.gif

I think Master Yoda will purposely walk near that person, then flip up his N900, wallah! MeeGo!
You've gain one LIKE and FOLLOWER  tongue.gif
I'm a very shy person... blush.gif
This is the very 1st time I saw someone else in my campus using N900.Of course I feel exited laugh.gif
No need MeeGo,booting into Android alone is enough to make some people wet themselves.

While we are on this,
eyes! Where is NITDroid v 0.0.6??!!

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2010, 10:04 PM)
walau eh go for it la grandmaster. U can impress her with your triple boot on your Nokia N900 let her impress what she holding so powerful waiting u to unleash it
Then u need backup we ask shruvloga RX8 to help then we ask andy with his N8 become your bodyguard then ask rayzaw to use is 100MM L lens come support u.
Then we ask MrJigoku666 give u abit his kao lui skill ownage di u pawn her kao kao  tongue.gif
I don't want her boyfriend(if she have 1) to pwn me physically...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:17 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 1 2010, 10:12 PM)
and where's Aspire when you need him most?...his professional photography skills tongue.gif
btw, he said it's not triple boot cause it's not like multiboot for Meego smile.gif
I didn't get get a decent SD card yet... shakehead.gif
I'll start working on the triple boot only when I get the new microSD card.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Nov 1 2010, 10:17 PM)
lol.. is 0.0.9 right? im checking the forum few times a day! waiting for the new update too!
I wonder how long to fix the damn mediaserver crash...
Someone mentioned that decent phone function are supported in 0.0.9

@MohammadAG - any chance run Linux on N8?

If someone managed to do this I might consider buying N8.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:26 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

@aspire
My friends already butthurt over the webOS games.They always say I bought a phailed phone without any decent games.Now that I play NFS in class everyday,they have to STFU now...

No need to cause anymore butthurt.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 1 2010, 10:28 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 1 2010, 10:25 PM)
btw, super evil alien really stalk people...know people use until like very pro laugh.gif
I'm pro stalker.Even some staff know this.

@Andy
You got your N8 back?

17 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0423sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:52 AM