29 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Photography Canon G Series Fan Club, G1X to Report In? Share your amaze photo

Gamabuchi
post Jun 2 2012, 05:39 PM

I like G1X!

But its not compact camera anymore. Ask anyone who have G1X and G12, take a pics of it side by side. its so bulky and the lense, even when turn off still "outside" the body, thus making it space consuming and fragile (for me). I am the kind of guy who dislike hanging my camera on my neck, I just simply put it inside my short/jeans pocket.

I bought it last time because when comparing it at shop, G1X sure sounds very very interesting. I am so excited to try it out, I bought without thinking. Soon, after 1 day, I realize, this camera is not for me. Not that I don't like it, G1X doesn't suits me to be exact.

But, what i regret the most about G1X is the macro mode. G1X lose to G12 when shooting in macro mode. Infact, it may be lose to G9 as well. G1X can not go as near as G12 in macro mode... and I shoot a lot of pics in this mode.

And with the price, I can get brand new Canon EOS 550D / 600D which for sure offer the best picture compared to any of the G series (bigger sensor).
beelze_gpwk
post Jun 6 2012, 09:58 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(Gamabuchi @ Jun 2 2012, 05:39 PM)
I like G1X!

But its not compact camera anymore. Ask anyone who have G1X and G12, take a pics of it side by side. its so bulky and the lense, even when turn off still "outside" the body, thus making it space consuming and fragile (for me). I am the kind of guy who dislike hanging my camera on my neck, I just simply put it inside my short/jeans pocket.

I bought it last time because when comparing it at shop, G1X sure sounds very very interesting. I am so excited to try it out, I bought without thinking. Soon, after 1 day, I realize, this camera is not for me. Not that I don't like it, G1X doesn't suits me to be exact.

But, what i regret the most about G1X is the macro mode. G1X lose to G12 when shooting in macro mode. Infact, it may be lose to G9 as well. G1X can not go as near as G12 in macro mode... and I shoot a lot of pics in this mode.

And with the price, I can get brand new Canon EOS 550D / 600D which for sure offer the best picture compared to any of the G series (bigger sensor).
G1X and G12, the size difference is negligible for me, even the weight as well. In fact i feel more comfortable holding the G1X than the G12. Thinking that Canon has put a almost L class lens + almost APS-C sensor into that body... i'm really impress and i would say it is indeed "compact" smile.gif of course you can't put it in your jeans pocket, and so does G12. But if this is your main concern (portability, where you can carry a camera everywhere you want) then G1X indeed is not suitable. You will have to look for those compacts like S100 and etc.

With the same price you can get entry level DSLR (with more bulk!) indeed. So it is up to user to choose to go for DSLR or G1X. For me, I'm happy with my G1X as i get DSLR quality image, without needed to burden myself with the lens and heavy body of the DSLR. So G1X is a compact for me icon_rolleyes.gif
goldfries
post Jun 6 2012, 10:16 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Gamabuchi @ Jun 2 2012, 05:39 PM)
this, that's why I have +4 close up filter everywhere I go with the G1X.

Gamabuchi
post Jun 7 2012, 01:06 AM

@beelze_gpwk

G1X or G12, this is very subjective. I mean, we can not say I am right or wrong, so does you. It totally depends on the user itself. I used to own G1X too, and just like you, i pretty happy with all the feature and all, in fact the size and weight are very comfortable for me too, but like i said before, i might damaging the camera before i learn how to use it well. Besides G12 fits perfectly in all my trousers, jeans, shorts pockets!

G1X or DSLR : Depends. If you really have thick pocket and wallet, you are free to buy either one or both, but if like me, ngam-ngam for 1 month makan only, i will choose the best,such as picture quality, functions and of course the endurance/toughness. Besides, DSLR will not eaten by age, compare to compact. G1X today, after a few months G1Y may come out, replacing the older one. DSLR, you only need to pick what level you are at.

@goldfries

I need extra pocket for that if I were you. Hahaha, but that will cover up the contra.

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:13 am
QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jun 6 2012, 09:58 AM)
G1X and G12, the size difference is negligible for me, even the weight as well. In fact i feel more comfortable holding the G1X than the G12. Thinking that Canon has put a almost L class lens + almost APS-C sensor into that body... i'm really impress and i would say it is indeed "compact" smile.gif of course you can't put it in your jeans pocket, and so does G12. But if this is your main concern (portability, where you can carry a camera everywhere you want) then G1X indeed is not suitable. You will have to look for those compacts like S100 and etc.

With the same price you can get entry level DSLR (with more bulk!) indeed. So it is up to user to choose to go for DSLR or G1X. For me, I'm happy with my G1X as i get DSLR quality image, without needed to burden myself with the lens and heavy body of the DSLR. So G1X is a compact for me icon_rolleyes.gif
G1X is beyond compact already. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gamabuchi: Jun 7 2012, 01:13 AM
beelze_gpwk
post Jun 7 2012, 10:27 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(Gamabuchi @ Jun 7 2012, 01:06 AM)
@beelze_gpwk

G1X or G12, this is very subjective. I mean, we can not say I am right or wrong, so does you. It totally depends on the user itself. I used to own G1X too, and just like you, i pretty happy with all the feature and all, in fact the size and weight are very comfortable for me too, but like i said before, i might damaging the camera before i learn how to use it well. Besides G12 fits perfectly in all my trousers, jeans, shorts pockets!

G1X or DSLR : Depends. If you really have thick pocket and wallet, you are free to buy either one or both, but if like me, ngam-ngam for 1 month makan only, i will choose the best,such as picture quality, functions and of course the endurance/toughness. Besides, DSLR will not eaten by age, compare to compact. G1X today, after a few months G1Y may come out, replacing the older one. DSLR, you only need to pick what level you are at.

@goldfries

I need extra pocket for that if I were you. Hahaha, but that will cover up the contra.

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:13 am

G1X is beyond compact already.  laugh.gif
G12 is not compact also... i wonder how u fit that into your jeans cos i have never succeeded before... hmm.gif maybe u are wearing loosy jeans?
yes, it is very subjective... i didn't say your view point is wrong. I just want to say that I can accept the slight increase in bulk of the G1X compared to G12.
Cos mostly i will put my camera into my bags and that's it. Well, even G1Y or G2X comes out, G1X will still remains and still can do the job well. Just like G10, G11 and G12 are still giving nice photo even though G1X has arrived biggrin.gif
For me, I buy a camera and use it to it's fullest, just like handphone. If you keep yourself on with the new spec game... you will need a deeeeeeep wallet... laugh.gif
Looking forward for you to post some pictures that you have taken with your G12 (other than the bolt and nut and keyboard...)
G12 is a very nice camera, go out and take some shoot!
Gamabuchi
post Jun 7 2012, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jun 7 2012, 10:27 AM)
G12 is not compact also... i wonder how u fit that into your jeans cos i have never succeeded before...  hmm.gif  maybe u are wearing loosy jeans?
yes, it is very subjective... i didn't say your view point is wrong. I just want to say that I can accept the slight increase in bulk of the G1X compared to G12.
Cos mostly i will put my camera into my bags and that's it. Well, even G1Y or G2X comes out, G1X will still remains and still can do the job well. Just like G10, G11 and G12 are still giving nice photo even though G1X has arrived biggrin.gif
For me, I buy a camera and use it to it's fullest, just like handphone. If you keep yourself on with the new spec game... you will need a deeeeeeep wallet...  laugh.gif
Looking forward for you to post some pictures that you have taken with your G12 (other than the bolt and nut and keyboard...)
G12 is a very nice camera, go out and take some shoot!
G12 in pocket : I will keep you wondering about that brows.gif

I agree with your point there, but once again everything depends on the user. I love G1X as well but my 'shooting environment' doesn't suitable for G1X in term of the safety, that is why I opted to own G12 instead.

G12 and G1X : still a compact camera but bit oversize from average.
G12 = fat compact
G1X = obese compact

the bolts and keyboard pic are testing picture only, wait for it. I will upload more. No time yet.

Why don't you show us what you can do with your G1X then?
goldfries
post Jun 7 2012, 10:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

my G1X is DSLR replacement la.

last time go event, shoot video sooooooooo tiring. imagine DSLR + lens + 580EX II (last time got grip)......... crazy wan.

now using G1X and 430EX II. So much lighter. biggrin.gif
beelze_gpwk
post Jun 7 2012, 11:25 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(Gamabuchi @ Jun 7 2012, 05:09 PM)
G12 = fat compact
G1X = obese compact
+1 laugh.gif

yeah, sure will post some picture... let me finish learning the limit of the camera first... just get it not long ago and not much time to really shoot with it cos too busy with work... i will have a short holiday soon, will try to make full use of it and post some pics here...
if you interested with G12 pics, i have posted some in this thread in previous post, u can have a look, and some in the travel photography thread as well biggrin.gif

Gamabuchi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jun 7 2012, 11:25 PM)
+1  laugh.gif

yeah, sure will post some picture... let me finish learning the limit of the camera first... just get it not long ago and not much time to really shoot with it cos too busy with work... i will have a short holiday soon, will try to make full use of it and post some pics here...
if you interested with G12 pics, i have posted some in this thread in previous post, u can have a look, and some in the travel photography thread as well  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif

Added on June 8, 2012, 10:24 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 7 2012, 10:20 PM)
my G1X is DSLR replacement la.

last time go event, shoot video sooooooooo tiring. imagine DSLR + lens + 580EX II (last time got grip)......... crazy wan.

now using G1X and 430EX II. So much lighter. biggrin.gif
blink.gif How is the picture/video quality? Ok ah?

This post has been edited by Gamabuchi: Jun 8 2012, 10:24 AM
beelze_gpwk
post Jun 8 2012, 04:18 PM

632 posts

so far i tried the video once... nothing much of different compare to G12... just slightly better quality... slightly... the rest is the same...
TSdavinyan
post Jun 8 2012, 10:17 PM

103 posts

I think G1X have more detail when you zoom in...this extra detail sure fit some photographer usage...

But G12 also have similar great photo taken, photographer who need more compact....this will be your choice...

Just buy what you need when you are taking photo....

One year ago i thought i will buy DSLR after having a G12....
The truth is i have no need for DSLR...the G12 give me more than enough nice photo and great shoot....
Gamabuchi
post Jun 8 2012, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jun 8 2012, 04:18 PM)
so far i tried the video once... nothing much of different compare to G12... just slightly better quality... slightly... the rest is the same...
Video mode G12 vs G1X = G1X slightly better quality

how if G1X compared to DSLR (Goldfries might have a good opinion about this)

p/s : never go video mode with my G9 and probably will not too with G12.

Added on June 8, 2012, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(davinyan @ Jun 8 2012, 10:17 PM)
I think G1X have more detail when you zoom in...this extra detail sure fit some photographer usage...

But G12 also have similar great photo taken, photographer who need more compact....this will be your choice...

Just buy what you need when you are taking photo....

One year ago i thought i will buy DSLR after having a G12....
The truth is i have no need for DSLR...the G12 give me more than enough nice photo and great shoot....
Well said thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gamabuchi: Jun 8 2012, 11:20 PM
beelze_gpwk
post Jun 9 2012, 12:31 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(Gamabuchi @ Jun 8 2012, 11:18 PM)
Video mode G12 vs G1X = G1X slightly better quality

how if G1X compared to DSLR (Goldfries might have a good opinion about this)

p/s : never go video mode with my G9 and probably will not too with G12.
in terms of casual shooting, it is more than enough (for both G12 & G1X). If you want to produce high quality result, of cause DSLR will give you more flexibility and ability to choose what you want to focus throughout the video... G1X only can allow you to auto focus, and the new addition is to have the optical zoom during video (which G12 do not have). Nothing much you can do on the setting to achieve certain effect. While for DSLR, you can get creative with all sorts of lens as well. But if you are shooting in a rather controlled environment, the quality is very acceptable even for G12. You just need to shoot within the limitation of the camera and you will get good result. Well, this is my opinion after shooting with my G12 all this while + a little experience over the G1X...
Vinspire
post Jun 22 2012, 05:37 PM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

How much is the price of G 1X now?
Gamabuchi
post Jun 23 2012, 12:29 PM

around RM2,100 - RM2,300.
abyone
post Jun 25 2012, 01:57 AM

158 posts

i'm using g11, and discovered that all my shots had a vertical line at every pics (around the middle of the pics)... the line is quite thin, and faint, but it's obvious there's a visible line when you view the pics...

anyone knows the reason for this?
setoyo
post Jun 25 2012, 12:56 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Hai there,

I doing some research on this G1X model.
My friend said its can change the "lens"? to long.

Is it true? Sorry if this question already been asked tongue.gif
SUSgtasaboss
post Jun 25 2012, 09:05 PM

Requiem
601 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Jun 25 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hai there,

I doing some research on this G1X model.
My friend said its can change the "lens"? to long.

Is it true? Sorry if this question already been asked  tongue.gif
most likely by using an adapter lens.
komkamkia
post Jun 25 2012, 11:29 PM

103 posts

hi all sifu out there. i newbie here. wan to ask how to take this kind of pic? i mean all the background was black.
razuryza
post Jun 26 2012, 02:20 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

^^in PP

29 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:24 AM