29 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Photography Canon G Series Fan Club, G1X to Report In? Share your amaze photo

beelze_gpwk
post Jan 11 2012, 01:51 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(manutd6389 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:52 PM)
Though I'll just share a pic taken with my lovely g12 smile.gif

By the way, I've just bought a Conversion Lens Adapter LA-DC58K and was just wondering if I can add filter on top of it?
i think it should be able to use filter of 58mm...

G1X seems nice... but i will wait and see wat Canon will offer for the Mirror-less first before jump ship...
sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2012, 02:50 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jan 11 2012, 01:51 AM)
i think it should be able to use filter of 58mm...

G1X seems nice... but i will wait and see wat Canon will offer for the Mirror-less first before jump ship...
But lens is veli slow
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 04:08 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 11 2012, 02:50 AM)
But lens is veli slow
yeah,canon is incapable or completely not interested in producing fast lens compacts at all
-kytz-
post Jan 11 2012, 04:10 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jan 11 2012, 04:08 AM)
yeah,canon is incapable or completely not interested in producing fast lens compacts at all
Canon S95 with f/2.0 lens not fast?
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 04:12 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 11 2012, 04:10 AM)
Canon S95 with f/2.0 lens not fast?
thats fast,if you only stick with wide angle,which i usually not
enviro
post Jan 11 2012, 09:17 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 11 2012, 02:50 AM)
But lens is veli slow
You should compare with other large sensor cameras like m43 and slr
not x10 or xz1. Those cameras have lens f3.5 to 5.6 as common so f2.8-5.6
is considered an improvement no? Also DOF and better iso performance
associated with large sensor. But it is fugly that everyone will agree. laugh.gif
beelze_gpwk
post Jan 11 2012, 10:52 AM

632 posts

i think Canon should have:
remove the view finder
remain or improve battery life (G1X battery life is lower than G12)
allow filter + lens hood attach at once (now only can attach one at a time)
brighter lens
wider lens (28mm in this form is just not wide enough IMO)

well, overall is nice camera, but i will wait and see wat can they offer for the mirror less... i think it should be a better camera than G1X
TSdavinyan
post Jan 11 2012, 12:02 PM

103 posts

i think if canon cannot come out some prime lens for their mirror less, it wont be so attractive as G. Or if their EF lens can use together, then it will be a big advantage....wahaha~

Added on January 11, 2012, 12:12 pmi want a better viewfinder on new G. at least cover 90% haha~
Canon mirror less have viewfinder also an advantage compare to other...but at least 90% too lar...

i like viewfinder shooting...

This post has been edited by davinyan: Jan 11 2012, 12:12 PM
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 01:53 PM

638 posts

if only...the g1x come with constant f2.8 aperture,how nice it would be,i don't need headache about m4/3,nex offering anymore,1 camera kow tim every needs,dream on..haha
highwind85
post Jan 11 2012, 02:00 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jan 11 2012, 01:53 PM)
if only...the g1x come with constant f2.8 aperture,how nice it would be,i don't need headache about m4/3,nex offering anymore,1 camera kow tim every needs,dream on..haha
constant f2.8 lens would be huge...
TSdavinyan
post Jan 11 2012, 02:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:00 PM)
quite good point...constant f3 i also happy (might smaller a bit)

90% coverage of viewfinder, still my 1st upgrade...hehe~
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 03:34 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:00 PM)
x
it supposed to target at pro audience anyway right,with the g12 which target at "i'm pro but i wan small and tiny" audience will still in production parallel to g1x
sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2012, 04:06 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(enviro @ Jan 11 2012, 09:17 AM)
You should compare with other large sensor cameras like m43 and slr
not x10 or xz1. Those cameras have lens f3.5 to 5.6 as common so f2.8-5.6
is considered  an improvement no? Also DOF and better iso performance
associated with large sensor. But it is fugly that everyone will agree.  laugh.gif
Already got/tried all those di.

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jan 11 2012, 01:53 PM)
Like what they say and as canon intended.. if u no wanna change lens or invest in new system.
G1X looks like got potential
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 04:51 PM

638 posts

i more interested in the level of bokeh it can produce
post Jan 11 2012, 04:59 PM

1,447 posts

i think constant f2.8 will make this thing super expensive and heavy too.

This is like a camera that can replace ur DSLR when u dun have it around u..... their thinking is if u owned a DSLR why should u go buy another interchangeable lens camera? All the hassle for wat? Just to buy more lens ah? and carry more stuff with u.

So end up they said what the market needs now is a portable serious PnS with large sensor. The lens cannot argue loh.... since this is an big sensor camera usually lens need to be bigger (really bigger) than most of those m43 or compact PnS. And to achieve f2.0 the thing will be really big and bulky, they try their best to give u the best of both world.

I wont be surprise the IQ is better than Nikon 1 and m43.... need to wait for the end product come out with some picture then we will know whether the lens is good or not.
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 05:12 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 11 2012, 04:59 PM)
i think constant f2.8 will make this thing super expensive and heavy too.

This is like a camera that can replace ur DSLR when u dun have it around u..... their thinking is if u owned a DSLR why should u go buy another interchangeable lens camera? All the hassle for wat? Just to buy more lens ah? and carry more stuff with u.

So end up they said what the market needs now is a portable serious PnS with large sensor. The lens cannot argue loh.... since this is an big sensorĀ  camera usually lens need to be bigger (really bigger) than most of those m43 or compact PnS. And to achieve f2.0 the thing will be really big and bulky, they try their best to give u the best of both world.
I wont be surprise the IQ is better than Nikon 1 and m43.... need to wait for the end product come out with some picture then we will know whether the lens is good or not.
actually,we only assume f2.8 constant aperture would be big for such sensor,but in actual with today engineering it can be a smaller,and by how small does the size become acceptable?
mmm....think about today crazy super duper ultra zoom prosumers camera,i think if they were to make a good aperture lens on g1x,the size would aproximate of superzoom of today or maybe smaller
superzoom prosumer are big,and ppl accept they should be big because they are "PROSUMER" so nobody complaint,but when a genuinely enthusiast crowd g1x get bigger,everybody like oh no....this is enthusiast camera....it should be small and cute~performance?narhhhh i don't care

my thought is,if they can produce a camera of the size of superzoom,throw the ultra useless long focal length away replace with good aperture and sensor size and sensible focal length,now that would be seriously big threat to mirrorless camera

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Jan 11 2012, 05:17 PM
post Jan 11 2012, 05:22 PM

1,447 posts

i think to develop a small size fixed aperture zoom lens the price is gonna be at least 2-3 times more than the current one. Becoz now u are not only making a fixed aperture lens like those Canon L lens, u are also trying to shrink something that is big into a smaller size..... the cost of it may not be cheap.
Valentino46
post Jan 11 2012, 06:13 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 11 2012, 05:22 PM)
i think to develop a small size fixed aperture zoom lens the price is gonna be at least 2-3 times more than the current one. Becoz now u are not only making a fixed aperture lens like those Canon L lens, u are also trying to shrink something that is big into a smaller size..... the cost of it may not be cheap.
leave the cost calculation,design work to them,don't assume base on our common sense,manufacturers always make wonders when market put pressures on them
design stay stagnant when market pity them
sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2012, 06:24 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jan 11 2012, 06:13 PM)
leave the cost calculation,design work to them,don't assume base on our common sense,manufacturers always make wonders when market put pressures on them
design stay stagnant when market pity them
Personally I think this one is just physics.. big physical sensor require big glass to cover the whole sensor. Come to think of it, at least the glass part is muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuch smaller than the NEX kit lens.
It's a pity glass kenot be softmodded.

Edit: Hmm ... just recalled... the next big thing could be liquid lens

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jan 11 2012, 06:25 PM
highwind85
post Jan 11 2012, 06:37 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jan 11 2012, 05:12 PM)
actually,we only assume f2.8 constant aperture would be big for such sensor,but in actual with today engineering it can be a smaller,and by how small does the size become acceptable?
mmm....think about today crazy super duper ultra zoom prosumers camera,i think if they were to make a good aperture lens on g1x,the size would aproximate of superzoom of today or maybe smaller
superzoom prosumer are big,and ppl accept they should be big because they are "PROSUMER" so nobody complaint,but when a genuinely enthusiast crowd g1x get bigger,everybody like oh no....this is enthusiast camera....it should be small and cute~performance?narhhhh i don't care

my thought is,if they can produce a camera of the size of superzoom,throw the ultra useless long focal length away replace with good aperture and sensor size and sensible focal length,now that would be seriously big threat to mirrorless camera
true...but most of those superzoom prosumer employs a 1/2.33" sensor...look at how big m4/3 14-60mm is...and it's not even constant aperture..

29 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:56 AM