TSdariofoo
post Aug 6 2011, 01:33 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Aug 6 2011, 12:03 AM)
Hi Dariofoo,

Can you please glance thro whether my lawyer charge me reasonable fees. I am the vendor and selling an apartment with the master title. I bought the unit more than 5 years ago and the purchaser is engaging his own lawyer.. Price is RM155k.

SnP agreement  -      $1,535
Submission CKHT 1A - $300
Receipt and Reassignment - $300
Revoke of Power of Attorney - $100
      Service tax 6%  - $134.10
      Total fees                                          - $2,369.10

Disbursements
Land search            - $60
Bankcruptcy search - $40
CTOS search          - $40
Stamping of R&R    - $40
Registration Fee For Revocation of PA - $40
Miscellaneous        - $50
Transport              - $200
                Total Disbursement  - $470
                Fees & Disbursements - $2,839.10
CTOS search for RM40 is rubbish. You don't need that.

The rest you can compare with the other samples in this thread.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Aug 7 2011, 02:49 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(logezzz @ Aug 6 2011, 03:57 PM)
Hi Dariofoo,
I going to sell off my apartment since i can't afford it anymore and i already got buyer for it.

When asking for the settlement amount, they told me RM98K and it can't discount anymore.
They said if i pay cash then i will get a discounted amount (not selling the house to others).

1) May i know is there any possibilities to reduce the amount if i sell the house? (write in or appeal or anything) Currently i have bank loan outstanding for rm7k with bank.

2) I have maintenance fees outstanding for rm15k. Can write in to them for a discount to settle all this amount?

Please help or provide me solutions. Because the selling price now not giving me much profit is didn't get discounts.

Thank you very much.
P/s: I'm helping a friend to ask.

rclxub.gif
1) I doubt if writing in or appealing will change anything as the bank will create an unwanted precedent whereby all those who can't afford their repayments will start writing in and 'appealing' for more time.

2) Same as above. I doubt if the management office will budge on that.

I'd advise you to refinance, but looking at the 7k outstanding and more importantly, the 15k outstanding maintenance fees is a great hindrance. The bank will insist for that to be settled first before anything.

Same goes when you're selling the house as well - the purchaser will insist that you settle all maintenance fees first. If it is a small amount sometimes the purchaser can pay first and then contra from the balance purchase price, but in your case as the amount is too high.

I knew someone who was in almost the same situation as this. In the end he just moved out and let the bank auction off the property.

TSdariofoo
post Aug 8 2011, 12:19 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Aug 8 2011, 10:53 AM)
dariofoo,

I have just contacted my purchaser's lawyer to enquire about update on the final redeemption, and the lawyer told me that it will be done soon but the process seems slow 'cuz it's already 2 months and I don't see progress. I still have another month to go before reaching 3 months after signing the SPA. So I am worried if anything goes wrong or delayed, I might be charged 8% for the additional 1 month ('cuz the SPA stated 3 + 1 months, and the additional month will be charged 8%).

How is this 8% charged? Is it to me (vendor) or to the purchaser or to the bank (occumbrance)?

Also another question related to submitting the latest Cukai Pintu and also settling other bills (TNB, Water); do I need to personally go to TNB and request to cancel off my TNB and also for the Water from SYABAS myself? Or you would advise me to let the purchaser cancel off my name and register his own name for TNB and SYABAS?
If you're vendor, and there's delay by purchaser, it is the purchaser who has to pay you the late penalty interest. Just make sure that everything on your side has been complied with, including settlement of any outgoings like quit rent, maintenance fees (if any) and assessment - give all receipts to the purchaser's solicitors. If you delay on that, the completion date is extended - and any delay on the part of the purchaser will contra with your delay.

With regard to TNB and water - it depends on you. Some people just terminate their accounts while others do a change of name and deposit. Check with the purchaser on how he wants to go about it. See which is the easier way for both parties. It's a matter of common understanding between the parties. Nothing legal about it.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 12:14 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Aug 8 2011, 04:19 PM)
Bro, wonder what is the process like for the purchase of freehold, strata title condo in KL when vendor had fully settled his loan.  How long does the transfer process take place? Can share?  TQ.
Buying cash or taking loan?
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 12:15 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(webber @ Aug 8 2011, 05:23 PM)
very unfortunately, the developer does not agree to do direct transfer. I think I have to wait until owner to get his name owner first and only he can transfer to me, right? if it is then I have to wait  at least one year to get my name on it  rclxub.gif
Won't be up to one year. Less than that.
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 12:16 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(sauming @ Aug 9 2011, 12:13 AM)
Help me, i have just received this NOTIS KENYATAAN PINDAAN SENARAI NILAIAN. What is this? I haven't even moved in yet!

"Adalah dengan inin dimaklumkan bahawa Datuk Bandar Kuala Lumpur akan membeuat pindaan Senarai Nilaian ke atas pegangan/hartanah yang tersebut di bawah bagi tahun 2011 pada* 14.09.2011 dan akan berkuatkuasa mulai daripada 09.08.2011."

Can somebody enlighten me?

"Sesiapa yang tidak berpuashati terhadap cadangan Nilai Tahunan di atas mengikuti Seksyen 144(3), Akta Kerajaan Temempatn 1976 boleh membuat bantahan secara bertulis atas alasan-alasan yang dinyatakan dalam Seksyen 142 Akta yand sama. Bantahan hendaklah disampaikan ke jabatan ini selewat-lewatnya 10hari sebelum tarikh pindaan yang dinyatakan di atas (*).
This is for Assessment Tax. Cukai Taksiran. Nothing to worry. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 12:18 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(ycngjack1 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:13 AM)

My next monday is the last day of my snp execution as written in booking form, im buying a subsale, nw my lawyer said they jus gt all details from vendor and also already email a letter of confirmation to developer, wonder is thr possibility tat developer nt reply soon enough? N i have to pay Penalty or deposit forfeited? But its nt my side fault anyway, any suggestion?
Surely by now your lawyer would've got a confirmation from the vendor to extend the date to finalise and execute the SPA. Just check first with your lawyer before jumping to any conclusions. No worries. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 05:33 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(daph84 @ Aug 9 2011, 05:22 PM)
Dario, is there any different to the legal fee for the loan facilities if we appoint our own lawyer than using the bank's panel lawyer?
Scaled fees would be the same.

But sometimes when the bank allows your SPA lawyer to be appointed on ad hoc basis to also do the loan doc, some firms waive a portion of the disbursements, eg travelling. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 05:37 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(josephtps @ Aug 9 2011, 02:49 PM)
hi bro,
Some legal to ask.
Im selling my apartment to a buyer with rm 155k.
Buyer had pay booking fees rm5k to my agent and sign the letter of offer dated 3/7/2011 with condition must sign sap within 14 days.
But buyer only sent the sap on 3/8/2011.

Need your advise on this, can we call to cancel the deal since no sap being sign after 14 days?

Can buyer sue us for cancellation of deal?

Appreciate your advise.
Read the terms properly - does it state must execute SPA within 14 days or is it just send a draft copy of SPA within 14 days. Different letters of offer to purchase will word it differently.

And when you said that the buyer only sent the SPA over on 3/8/11, is it a draft of the SPA or is it a finalised one whereby both parties had already started with several drafts beforehand.

If the buyer slept on it for 14 days and did nothing, there would be a right to forfeit. However, if a draft has been sent out and parties were in negotiations to finalise it, then the period would be extended accordingly.

Must also take into consideration as to whether you, as the seller, had provided all the necessary documents for the purchaser to prepare the SPA in the first place.

So, it depends on the facts of the case. How's yours? nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 9 2011, 05:44 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Aug 8 2011, 04:19 PM)
Bro, wonder what is the process like for the purchase of freehold, strata title condo in KL when vendor had fully settled his loan.  How long does the transfer process take place? Can share?  TQ.
. Pay 10% and sign SPA, MOT and other docs
. Purchaser lodges caveat
. Purc sol sends MOT for adjudication followed by stamping.
. Purc signs loan docs
. Bank lodges caveat
. Loan doc sent for adjudication followed by stamping.
. Letter of undertaking by vendor to bank to refund monies.
. Letter of undertaking by Bank to vendor to release loan.
. Vendor releases docs to purchaser's sol
. Purchaser's sol releases all docs including withdrawal of cav, Form 14A(MOT). and registration fees to loan sol.
. Loan sol withdraws both caveats, presents Form 14A and registers charge
. Loan sol advises for drawdown of loan sum
. Payment of loan sum/balance purchase price to vendor and hand over of vacant possession.

As to how long, it would normally be faster than a normal transaction where the vendor still has an outstanding loan, but it depends on how fast the bank and the bank's sol move as well as the purc's sol. Don't delay the application for loan, as things will only move once the loan sol starts the ball rolling and writes to the purc's sol.

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Aug 9 2011, 05:46 PM
TSdariofoo
post Aug 10 2011, 10:43 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Aug 9 2011, 06:08 PM)
Thanks for the detailed explanation Dariofoo.  I have come across cases whereby purchaser can use the same lawyer for SPA and loan.  Is this advisable?  Would the process be slightly faster?
It would normally be faster as you eliminate one trail of correspondence and can reduce turnover. Some SPA lawyers can also reduce the disbursements if you appoint them to do the loan doc as well.

However, it depends on how efficient and knowledgeable your SPA lawyer is to do the loan doc. If they are efficient, then all the better. Otherwise, it will end up delaying the whole process.

A double-edged sword,really. If you're confident with your lawyer, then go ahead. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 10 2011, 11:01 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(sauming @ Aug 10 2011, 01:21 AM)
May i know where to pay the Assessment Tax? And does it mean i can deduct this in the borang BE?
Pay at Majlis Daerah/Majlis Perbandaran/DBKL if you don't have a copy of the cukai taksiran bill. If you have the bill you can pay at post office or even online banking, if the Majlis Daerah/Majlis Perbandaran/DBKL is listed as one of the payees. Personally I prefer post office as you get the acknowledgement printed on the slip. nod.gif

QUOTE(sauming @ Aug 10 2011, 01:21 AM)
Sorry for the noob questions. I am really clueless when it comes to properties. This is my first house. icon_question.gif
It's ok. This is a one-stop centre for all noobs to unite. Everyone is a noob, varying only in degrees of noob-ness. Even i'm a noob. nod.gif sweat.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 10 2011, 11:12 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(josephtps @ Aug 10 2011, 02:11 AM)
Hi Bro,

The term is must sign SPA with 14 days which is written in letter of offer.
I had even sent all the document to my lawyer on 4/7/2011 to prepare the SPA for purchaser.
At first, buyer agreed to hired a same lawyer, but we din't any reply from buyer at all.
On 26/7/2011, his change his mind to hired another lawyer without informing us. And buyer had drag further longer for the draft on SPA.

Latest update, buyer lawyer tell my lawyer and inform wanted to sue us due to we called the deal off.
He stated that he want us to pay back the losses, booking fees + another 5K for compensation + lawyer fees which include loan agreement & SPA.

Need your advised, can purchaser sue us in this case?
Well, since you have a lawyer on board who has advised you to call the deal off, I'm sure that he would have arrived at that decision having perused all the documents and correspondence between the parties. I do not have any documents to refer to in order to give you a proper advice.

Basically, if the buyer or buyer's lawyer failed to send over even a draft SPA within 14 days, then you have the right to call if off and forfeit the deposit. It's as simple as that. However, if in between there were some correspondence between the parties, like a request for further documents from your part, then the time granted to the buyer to prepare the SPA would be extended. So it depends on how parties were corresponding. In this regard, your lawyer ought to know better.

If you're on the right side, don't be afraid of all these shallow threats to sue. It's just to intimidate you to see if you'll get scared and refund to them the deposit. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 11 2011, 12:52 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Aug 10 2011, 10:31 PM)
Dear sifus,

I'm a complete n00b in property. I'm currently in the proccess of purchasing my 1st property as my own residence. I was led to understand that in purchasing a property (subsale) the only legal fee I had to pay was for the S&P Agreement, which I have already paid for. Now that my bank loan is approved, the bank's panel lawyer sent the Loan Agreement to me for signing, and there I'm to be charged another RM5k++ as legal fees. Is the correct? That means my legal fees would amount up to abt RM10k (of which 4k was paid for S&P) including both S&P and Loan Agreement (Property Sales Agreement).

Is the the usual practice or have I been conned or overcharged?

Thanks!
Usual practice is that there are two separate legal fees - one for SPA and one for the loan documentation.

As for whether you are overcharged or not, use the calculator at the first page of this thread to calculate your legal fees. Then, go through the numerous samples of legal fees quotations in this thread and compare with yours.

If still got doubt do come back here and ask.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 11 2011, 11:44 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Aug 11 2011, 01:10 AM)
Thanks a lot for your kind reply sir. I was confused for a moment why I had to pay twice.

On a side note, I was charged Stamp Duty during the S&P, and I'm charged again for Stamp duty for the Loan documentation. Is that the usual practice? Sorry for being such a bother, I really have no clue when it comes to matters of legality.

Thanks in advance.
Yes you have to pay twice, i.e. stamp duty on the MOT/DOA for the transfer/assignment, and also ad valorem stamp duty on the facility agreement (loan agreement) for your loan documentation.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 12 2011, 01:18 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(rachelt26 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:37 PM)
Hello.
I would appreciate any advice or suggestions.

I've just completed the purchase of a condo which comes with a parking lot A (Subsale, not from developer). To my horror, I discovered that the parking lot A was actually sold to 2 owners, myself and my new condo neighbour.
My neighbour informs me that for his case, the developer also screwed up his parking lot and gave him this lot A as a replacement. He has the S&P and supplement agreement for the parking lot to prove. He has been there for the past 3 years.

The vendor who sold to me the condo unit was unaware of the double sale of the parking lot A as he purchased the condo as investment and never stayed in the condo/ used the parking lot.
In fact, up until today, even the condo management office or developer had not updated the parking lot info to indicate it belongs to another condo unit.

Now I'm at a loss.
To me, I am being cheated as what I paid for is not according to the agreement. I look at the purchase as the condo + the parking lot as a whole package.
One of the reasons I purchased is because the parking lot is located near the entrance of the lift and on a lower floor.
Given the high occupancy of whole condo, if I were given a replacement parking lot, it would not likely been in or near the same sweet spot.

And if I had known right from the beginning, I may have decided not to purchase/ or negotiate further the purchase price, etc but now, being "nasi dah jadi bubur", who can I do?

Please advise. T.T
What I'm sure of is that you can't get that particular parking lot back as it was never owned by the vendor in your case in the first place. Nemo dat quod non habet - "he cannot give what he does not have".

If you were so particular about that parking lot you ought to have asked your lawyer to call the JMB or developer's office and make sure that the particular lot is the corresponding lot in the principal SPA with the vendor. Have you asked your lawyer with regard to the predicament you are in?

If you want to start suing your avenue is against the vendor, who will in turn sue the developer, etc etc etc. An utter waste of time and resource as you surely cannot get back that particular lot.

Best to just swallow the bitter pill and move on. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 12 2011, 01:21 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(hsbc.jason @ Aug 11 2011, 09:39 PM)
Hi Dariofoo,

My Bank Panel lawyer told me there is a clause that if one of the borrower unable to attend to sign the perfection of charge for HSBC loan document due to she is in UK. The HSBC bank officer in HQ can sign on her behalf at Borang Gadaian 16A form.

Is it true?
There must be a Power of Attorney duly executed, stamped and registered in the High Court before the holder of the PA can execute docs on behalf of the borrower. Can't just rely on a clause. Surely there's a PA. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 12 2011, 01:29 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(yummy12 @ Aug 11 2011, 09:52 PM)
Hi Dariofoo,

RPGT period is between 2 SPA's dates OR their stamping dates?
Example:
1) Bought
Property bought and SPA dated 1 Aug 2006.
Stamped on 2 Sept 2006

2) Sell
Property was sold and SPA dated 2 Aug 2011.
Stamped on 9 Aug 2011.

Does the owner still need to pay RPGT considering SPA has been signed after 5 years (refer to SPA date)?
Or
the owner needs to pay RPGT because it was stamped within the 5 years?
Reference is always made to date of the SPA. nod.gif

In your above case, no RPGT would be payable nod.gif

TSdariofoo
post Aug 13 2011, 03:45 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(hsbc.jason @ Aug 12 2011, 10:15 PM)
So you mean not only HSBC can do that but also PBB, Maybank and other bank can do it as well.
The lender bank will be the holder of the PA. If no individual title then the Bank will always insist that a PA is executed in their favour. All banks practise this, if i'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(hsbc.jason @ Aug 12 2011, 10:15 PM)
Another question to ask, My father leave me a will stating that the company business own pass to me according to his last will. What if a mistress suddenly claim against she have a share of the company base on proprietary estoppel (Chun v Ho) similiar case.

Will the judgement from the judge follow the last will from my father or there is a case for the mistress to claim if she goes to court fighting.
What is Chun v Ho? Never heard of that case before.

The major case involving proprietory estoppel (PE) is Cheng Hang Guan (am not sure of exact spelling) v Perumahan Farlim. If I'm not mistaken it was the late Edgar Joseph Jr SCJ who wrote the written judgment for that case.

I doubt if PE is a valid ground in the current case because:

1) PE always involves land
2) PE is an equitable remedy
3) PE, like any equitable remedy, cannot operate as a bar to statute, i.e. it cannot contravene statute.

In Malaysia, there is a Wills Act which governs wills. If the will was validly executed, witnessed and the mental capacity of the testator is not challenged, the will can be enforced. PE can't come in and operate as a bar to the will.

It doesn't matter if a mistress comes into the picture or any other party - bare reliance of PE will not assist the person.

Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Aug 13 2011, 04:01 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(rachelt26 @ Aug 13 2011, 01:25 AM)
In the SPA between vendor and I, the parking lot indicated attached with the condo is A
In the original SPA between vendor and developer, parking lot is also A
Up until today, the condo management office still indicates parking for this condo is A.

When my lawyer submitted the documents, the consent letter from developer to allow and confirm the subsale also indicates parking lot A.
Ok now the facts are clearer, although not 100%. So the Nemo dat quod non habet - "he cannot give what he does not have" - principle will be applicable in your favour as the developer cannot purport to sell it to another person (the neighbour) when it has sold it off to the vendor in the first place. So the purported sale to the neighbour would be null and void and of no effect. So my earlier advice would not be 100% applicable, in light of the factual matrix which you have just stated above.

Isn't this a basic breach of agreement? A fraudulent sale?
What are my rights?
Am I not entitled to a good parking lot just because they screw up?
Why should I be forced to swallow a bitter pill when I paid my part in good faith?
It's breach of contract by the vendor against you. It is not fraud though. Don't merely use the word fraud as it is a bigger word than you think. It is not easy to prove fraud and in this case, from the basic facts stated, I doubt if the vendor is a party to fraud. I'm sure he is as ignorant about the purported subsequent sale as you are.

If I am truly forced to pursue the avenue of seeking damages, can you advise how I can start?
As explained earlier - you sue the vendor for breach of contract - the vendor will subsequently bring the developer in as a third party, and perhaps the neighbour as well. It's messy, and would cost you quite a bit of money in legal fees as well. Whether or not you can recoup the legal fees from the other parties in this case once it's over is another issue.

If you're going to reside in the unit after this, bear in mind that going on the warpath against the developer and your neighbour, albeit indirectly, may not be the wisest option.

However, if you are going strictly on the principle that you ought to get what you paid and contracted for, then by all means go all out to get that parking lot assigned in your favour.

From the facts presented herein, you do have a good case. The neighbour's remedy would be to sue the developer for damages only, as he can't get back the parking lot.

I'm going to pre-empt you at this stage before you ask me and inform you that legal fees for litigation (court) matters are subjective and differs from firm to firm. There's no market rate, usual rate, normal rate, etc etc etc. So if you want to find out, you need to see a litigation lawyer, set out your facts, and ask for a quotation for legal fees.

I wish you all the best.

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Aug 13 2011, 04:04 AM

56 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0679sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:31 AM