128 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

Hansel
post Feb 3 2011, 01:37 AM

9,347 posts

Yes, Happy Lunar New Year to Dario too. See you again later.
anjoilin
post Feb 3 2011, 02:01 PM

13 posts

Hi Dario,

I was doing abit of read up on this exemption on the internet and it seems to me that this one time exemption is only applicable to citizen and PR....Wonder did i interpret wrongly?

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 2 2011, 06:36 PM)
I've no idea,mate. Best be thankful that it wasn't 5% of the selling price, right?  smile.gif
Yes it is applicable across the board to citizens, non-citizens, PR, etc. Your doubts has been proven wrong! Rejoice!  laugh.gif
Can't say for sure. Within a few months, normally.  nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 4 2011, 02:39 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(anjoilin @ Feb 3 2011, 02:01 PM)
Hi Dario,

I was doing abit of read up on this exemption on the internet and it seems to me that this one time exemption is only applicable to citizen and PR....Wonder did i interpret wrongly?

Anjoilin,

Unfortunately, you're right. Section 8 read together with the Third Schedule of the RPGT Act specifically mentions citizens and PR only as being entitled to the exemption.

The previous position before the amendment effective Jan 1, 2010 was that all non-citizens/non-PR had to pay 5% tax on the gain for disposal after 5 years [if within 5 years, it was 30%].

After Jan 1, 2010, non-citizens/non-PR were exempted from paying any tax whatsoever for disposal after 5 years. They enjoyed the similar benefit given to citizens/PRs. The exemption was implemented across the board.

Unfortunately, Section 8 was not amended to include non-citizens/non-PR, which is quite unfair. Section 6 includes non-citizens/non-PRs as chargeable persons, but Section 8 does not. Whither the provision of equality before the law as stipulated in the Federal Constitution? Hmmmm..

Just to be sure, I'll buzz LHDN on Monday and find out the latest position. Perhaps I'm wrong and Section 8/Third Schedule has been amended effective Jan 1,2010 to include folks like you as well. nod.gif

By the way, remember that in any event, you are entitled to a minimum exemption of RM10,000.00 or 10% of the gain, whichever is higher. Something, better than nothing,no? smile.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Feb 4 2011, 02:41 PM
TSdariofoo
post Feb 4 2011, 02:47 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 2 2011, 10:32 AM)
You are the registered proprietor of the land and thus, your title is undefeasible, unless it is obtained by fraud or forgery. Mr Ah Long has no right over the property. Tell him that you bought if from an auction and that you have no connections whatsoever with the previous owner. Lodge a police report for your own protection if he starts threatening you.

Could it be that the Developer here is sing the above sentence (bolded) to twist the poor purchasers' arms ? Since it is said that the registered proprietor's land title is indefeasible, so the developer stands tall with this statement, and even when they have not fulfilled their end of the S&P, they would still want to squeeze out every drop of the money (full purchase price) ?

And this is even on top of the fact that the property has been surrendered officially via a letter (with witnesses) to this group of purchasers.

Could it be this 'indefeasible idea' that is being carried in the mind by the 'other group of lawyers who said no' ?
Title is indefeasible but in this case, by virtue of the S&P, the developers have agreed to sell the property, title and all, to the purchasers. So it doesn't matter, at the end of the day. The developer had undertaken, in the S&P, to apply for subdivision of the master title and execute the necessary transfer forms to effect a transfer to the purchasers. They can't go back on that.

In the advice I gave, that situation was different. The new owner bought the property by way of an auction. He acquires a good title over the property from its previous owner.

The Ah Long has no right over the property. His only remedy is a civil suit against the previous owner for money due and owing. He can't challenge the new owner's title.

Hope that clarifies things,bro? nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 4 2011, 02:48 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 31 2011, 05:55 PM)
Bro,... what you mentioned has been deliberated by me to them earlier - this is what they told me - No VP was given by the developer, no electricity and water supply, no DLP, and no CF application. All these were done and managed by the purchasers themselves. In all actuality, that 20% is actually void for the developer has not performed their part in order to qualify for the 20%. No architect's certificate to certify anything at all.

So, that should do the trick, what do you think ?
Indeed. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 4 2011, 03:02 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(tsuyoshi @ Jan 25 2011, 11:45 AM)
Ok, let's put it into a situational context.

I understand from the fact that if someone, who is a Non-Malay, is buying a house on a Malay Reserve Land(MLR), that person would need approval from the state authority to be able to register his interest in the land, right?

In a different situation...

I would assume that if an empty land, being a MLR, is bought over by a Malay person (Let's call him "A") there is no problems to register A as the Proprietor of that MLR.

Let's say A is a Developer and has built a condominium on the land. Suddenly, A decides to broaden his market and decides to open the sale of the units to Non-Malays as well.

Since Master title then would need to be submitted for sub-division into individual titles...so, rather than waiting to see how many Non-Malay purchasers are willing to purchase the Condominium, A applies to the State Authority for a blanket consent on all the individual titles.

So, thus, the need for a blanket authority to be able to register a charge (by a Non-Malay Financier) or to register the new Proprietor (a Non-Malay) on all the individual titles...

Am I on the right track on this?
Tsuyoshi, the delay in replying to your query is because I can't seem to get my hands on a copy of the Malay Reservations Enactment of any State, for that matter. sweat.gif

Generally, the requirements around disposal of a Malay Reservation Land (MRL) is very very strict.

The developer must be a 'Malay holding' within the definition of the respective Enactment. The chargee bank must also be within the similar definition.

When it comes to purchasers, it must be strictly only those who fall under the definition of Malay. From what I remember reading ages ago, the Selangor Enactment does not give any right to dispose a MRL to a non-Malay. The Kelantan Enactment, in contrast, has a provision for disposal to a non-Malay, subject to the consent of the Ruler-in-Council. Not too sure as to the actual wording of the provision, though.

As such, the issue of blanket authority/blanket consent in such developments does not arise as it will contradict the strict requirement of the Enactment, rendering it redundant and academic.

I'm not sure if there are many developments on MRL. As far as I know, it is mostly individual lots given to individuals. A lot of MRL are in rural areas. I doubt if there are MRL in hotspots or developing areas. Correct me if I'm wrong though.

In reality, you do find certain developments with a bumi quota, probably around 30%, of a high-rise development, for example. What happens if the quota is unsold and you want to open it to non-bumis? Then that particular purchaser has to apply for consent from the state authority. You can look at the 30% as somewhat of a MRL as well, but this time, the requirement is not stringent. It can be transferred to a non-bumi as long as state authority's consent has been given. nod.gif
anjoilin
post Feb 4 2011, 09:41 PM

13 posts

Hi Dario,

Thanks for the reply.

Hopefully you are able to check on behalf with LHDN just to be sure.

You are right at least we are entitled to Some exemption but it will be great to have this one time exemption too as you will never know how long it will take for them to refund us back the excess tax .

Perhaps youcan help to ask them the duration for the refund?

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 4 2011, 02:39 PM)
Anjoilin,

Unfortunately, you're right. Section 8 read together with the Third Schedule of the RPGT Act specifically mentions citizens and PR only as being entitled to the exemption.

The previous position before the amendment effective Jan 1, 2010 was that all non-citizens/non-PR had to pay 5% tax on the gain for disposal after 5 years [if within 5 years, it was 30%].

After Jan 1, 2010, non-citizens/non-PR were exempted from paying any tax whatsoever for disposal after 5 years. They enjoyed the similar benefit given to citizens/PRs. The exemption was implemented across the board.

Unfortunately, Section 8 was not amended to include non-citizens/non-PR, which is quite unfair. Section 6 includes non-citizens/non-PRs as chargeable persons, but Section 8 does not. Whither the provision of equality before the law as stipulated in the Federal Constitution? Hmmmm..

Just to be sure, I'll buzz LHDN on Monday and find out the latest position. Perhaps I'm wrong and Section 8/Third Schedule has been amended effective Jan 1,2010 to include folks like you as well.  nod.gif

By the way, remember that in any event, you are entitled to a minimum exemption of RM10,000.00 or 10% of the gain, whichever is higher. Something, better than nothing,no?  smile.gif
Hansel
post Feb 5 2011, 10:17 AM

9,347 posts

Just popping-in here on this Sat morning, I think you guys really have to send hampers to Dario in appreciation of his effort in this forum.

No lawyers in Sgp would do this service for the readers of a forum.

tsuyoshi
post Feb 7 2011, 12:37 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 4 2011, 03:02 PM)
Tsuyoshi, the delay in replying to your query is because I can't seem to get my hands on a copy of the Malay Reservations Enactment of any State, for that matter.  sweat.gif

Generally, the requirements around disposal of a Malay Reservation Land (MRL) is very very strict.

The developer must be a 'Malay holding' within the definition of the respective Enactment. The chargee bank must also be within the similar definition.

When it comes to purchasers, it must be strictly only those who fall under the definition of Malay. From what I remember reading ages ago, the Selangor Enactment does not give any right to dispose a MRL to a non-Malay. The Kelantan Enactment, in contrast, has a provision for disposal to a non-Malay, subject to the consent of the Ruler-in-Council. Not too sure as to the actual wording of the provision, though.

As such, the issue of blanket authority/blanket consent in such developments does not arise as it will contradict the strict requirement of the Enactment, rendering it redundant and academic.

I'm not sure if there are many developments on MRL. As far as I know, it is mostly individual lots given to individuals. A lot of MRL are in rural areas. I doubt if there are MRL in hotspots or developing areas. Correct me if I'm wrong though.

In reality, you do find certain developments with a bumi quota, probably around 30%, of a high-rise development, for example. What happens if the quota is unsold and you want to open it to non-bumis? Then that particular purchaser has to apply for consent from the state authority. You can look at the 30% as somewhat of a MRL as well, but this time, the requirement is not stringent. It can be transferred to a non-bumi as long as state authority's consent has been given.  nod.gif
Thanks for the info smile.gif

BTW, Happy CNY!
TSdariofoo
post Feb 7 2011, 11:12 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Falangkei @ Feb 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
Thanks DarioFoo,

Why you re-spell my name? It's dariofoo. Dario Foo is Ah Long name la  laugh.gif

Thanks for your kind reply but i still have a few question to ask.

1) CKHT 3 means? In full name?

CUKAI KEUNTUNGAN HARTA TANAH TIGA

2) Where to Get the form of CKHT? Provided by Lawyer or LHDN?

You can download it online from LHDN's website for free

3) Will the form submit to LHDN and get approval from them?

Yes. It ought to be submitted to the branch where your tax file was registered.

4) If let say I am selling the property in a loss within 5 years, so the result will be?

You would still have to submit the form to LHDN and declare all profit/loss.

5) For submitting the CKHT1A, do i need to submit all cost for renovations, legal fees in Black and White?

Yes, all photocopies of receipts must be issued together, if you're not claiming for exemption.

Lastly, are you a lawyer?

No. During the daytime I work part-time at the Air Mata Kucing stall at Petaling Street. Then I take a bus from Pasar Seni to Seremban, where I help out at the famous char kuey tiaw stall outside Regent Restaurant in Seremban town, near Taman Bukit Kaya. Come visit me and I give you extra kerang in your char kuey tiaw  nod.gif

If you are, do you mind send me a private message of your firm name, address and contact number?
In light of the above answer, I think that would be unnecessary

Welcome. God bless. nod.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 7 2011, 11:14 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(tsuyoshi @ Feb 7 2011, 12:37 PM)
Thanks for the info  smile.gif

BTW, Happy CNY!
That's it? End of discussion? hmm.gif

Happy CNY to you too,bro. smile.gif
Falangkei
post Feb 7 2011, 11:44 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 7 2011, 11:12 PM)

Hi dario..

Happy cny happy.gif and thanks for your reply..

Get more idea on this already..

Great to hear that you are working at petaling street.. So that I can visit you someday.. Perhaps one day you might in bangsar happy.gif..

Rgds

jeghui
post Feb 8 2011, 08:23 AM

2,934 posts

im in a process of buying a house, the first time in my life, and how disappointed i was, when I read the SnP clause, clearly stating if I couldn't get the payment 90 days from SnP date, I will be charged usury/riba'/interest of 10% per annum compounded daily.

What if the banks kaw tim with developers and F up the customers? Ok that might sound super pessimistic but what if banks are SOOOO SLOWW in processing and it is not even our fault that they disburse late.

Clearly a one-sided agreement. whatever happens to customers' first? How can I trust Malaysia anymore?

Regards,

Jeg
sk2000
post Feb 8 2011, 11:34 AM

221 posts

Hi, dariofoo. I would like to ask for the extention of a leasehold land in perak. But one of the land owner currently based in oversea. According to land office, they need a surat kuasa from the owner who staying in oversea to assign his right to a wakil to sign all the documents & forms. What can i do now? Thanks.
Hansel
post Feb 8 2011, 12:45 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 8 2011, 12:12 AM)

biggrin.gif drool.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 8 2011, 03:18 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jeghui @ Feb 8 2011, 08:23 AM)
im in a process of buying a house, the first time in my life, and how disappointed i was, when I read the SnP clause, clearly stating if I couldn't get the payment 90 days from SnP date, I will be charged usury/riba'/interest of 10% per annum compounded daily.

What if the banks kaw tim with developers and F up the customers? Ok that might sound super pessimistic but what if banks are SOOOO SLOWW in processing and it is not even our fault that they disburse late.

Clearly a one-sided agreement. whatever happens to customers' first? How can I trust Malaysia anymore?

Regards,

Jeg
What do you mean? Are you saying that there is a clause which provides that if you are unable to obtain a loan and thereafter ensure that the first progressive payment is released within 90 days from the date of the S&P, you would have to pay interest to the developer?

hmm.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 8 2011, 03:24 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(sk2000 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:34 AM)
Hi, dariofoo. I would like to ask for the extention of a leasehold land in perak. But one of the land owner currently based in oversea.  According to land office, they need a surat kuasa from the owner who staying in oversea to assign his right to a wakil to sign all the documents & forms. What can i do now? Thanks.
You're referring to Power of Attorney (PA) right?

1. I would advise you to consult a lawyer who can prepare a proper PA.

2. The lawyer would then courier/email it to the owner who is currently overseas and ask him to execute it before a staff at the Malaysian embassy/consulate in that country who is a notary public.

3. Once it has been executed it will be couriered back to the lawyer who will then proceed to register it at the High Court before giving it to the holder of the PA to apply for the extension on behalf of the owner who is overseas.

TSdariofoo
post Feb 8 2011, 03:25 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 8 2011, 12:45 PM)
biggrin.gif  drool.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Huh? Am I missing something here? hmm.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 8 2011, 04:25 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(anjoilin @ Feb 4 2011, 09:41 PM)
Hi Dario,

Thanks for the reply.

Hopefully you are able to check on behalf with LHDN just to be sure.

You are right at least we are entitled to Some exemption but it will be great to have this one time exemption too as you will never know how long it will take for them to refund us back the excess tax .

Perhaps youcan help to ask them the duration for the refund?

Anjoilin,

Just called up LHDN and they've confirmed that the exemption is only for citizens and PRs only. Sorry,mate!

With regard to time taken to issue refund, the lady was non-committal. She said roughly 1-2 months. From experience, I can tell you that it can even take up to 6 months. It depends on the staff and the branch who's handling your file smile.gif
Cannabis
post Feb 8 2011, 04:43 PM

61 posts

Sifu, I have one question, not so good about this Banking law.

Okay, I have a friend which owing the Bank big sum of money for the usage of credit cards and personal guarantor for few business loans. his business ran into failure and now he no longer can afford to pay all that.

He's planning to transfer all the properties that registered under his name to his children under equal shares (by love and affection). This can be done in 3 months time and by the time the Bank gets the bankruptcy notice, the properties have already been successfully transfer.

Now my question, can the Bank still demands from the children to pay and if the children cant pay the Bank can have its hand on the properties (the properties that have been transferred by love and affection with no consideration)?

128 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:35 PM