128 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

puco999
post Jul 13 2011, 01:43 PM

Hi dariofoo,

I'm currently applying for a bank loan and engaged the bank's panel lawyer to prepare the facilities documents as well as SPA. It is a sub sales of a freehold condominium and the purchase price is RM260k and 90% financing (islamic loan). The strata title was issued and in the process of transferring from the developer to the current vendors. I wonder if their charges are excessive. I listed it down for your comments:

1) Legal fee for Facilities documents:
* Facility agreement 2084.00
* 1st charge 208.40
* Purchase undertaking 208.40
* Deed of Promise/ Deed of trust 208.40
* Power of Attorney 208.40
* Entry and withdrawal of private caveat 350.00
* Service tax 196.06
* Stamp duty on the facility agreement 956.00
* Stamp duty on 1st charge 40.00
* Stamp duty on Power of Attorney 40.00
* Stamp duty on purchase undertaking 30.00
* Stamp duty on deed of promise 30.00
* Stamp duty on letter of offer 10.00
* Stamp duty stat declaration 20.00
* Registration fee on 1st charge 120.00
* Reg on Power of attorney 60.00
* Reg on entry & w/drawal of private caveat 420.00
* Search fee - land title 120.00
* Bankruptcy search fee 80.00
* Affirming fee 20.00
* Misc 50.00
* Finance of fee 100.00
* Photocpy/ fax/ courier/ tel 50.00
* Transport, postage etc 250.00

I appreciate your view on this. I will also list down the legal fees breakdown for SPA shortly.

Many thanks.

Added on July 13, 2011, 1:49 pmHi dariofoo,

Following the above, here is the breakdown of legal fee for the SPA:
* SPA 2259.50
* Memorandum of transfer (MOT) 200.00
* CKHT 2A 300.00
* 6% service tax 165.57
* Stamp duty on MOT 4170.00
* Stamp duty on adjudication 10.00
* Stamp duty SPA 40.00
* Searches - land 120.00
* Printing * photocpy 45.00
* Travelling & transport 200.00
* Fax, postage, courier & tel 50.00
* Misc 50.00
* Registration of MOT 400.00

Both loan agreement and SPA are handled by the same legal firm. Please advise on duplication/ unnecessary charges imposed.

Many thanks.

This post has been edited by puco999: Jul 13 2011, 01:55 PM
TSdariofoo
post Jul 13 2011, 01:57 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(jojo5565 @ Jul 13 2011, 01:37 PM)
that means appoint SPA lawyer is cheaper than others? but i should appoint others, because SPA lawyer don't reply me any news even i call her for many times.
this property i bought 1 year after only get letter from developer, that's why when i able to contact the 1st owner recently, the 1st owner dont want bear any cost of the transfer. I tend to refinance my property recently, before that would like get professional advice on it. As i know, there is no fix period for bank release money, so can i sign letter offer from other bank then both process do on the same time?

Thank you. really appreciate your advice.
I had contact developer, developer not allowed for direct transfer. for this case, is it no hope to get direct transfer?
Then appoint another one. It's only maximum 50% of the scaled fees.

With regard to the refinance part, you might want to consult a banker in the open forum. Am not an authority to speak on bank's policies with regard to that

Since you're already the owner of the property, your previous lawyer would've sent a copy of the relevant SPA, DOA and security documents (as well as the Notice of Assignment) to the developer. Thus the developer would have your name in the record as the beneficial owner. The previous owner has no say in this anymore. I think what you need to do is to appoint a lawyer to write to the developer formally. They would know how to put it properly to the developer. Perhaps the message got lost in translation in your phone call to them. smile.gif

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jul 13 2011, 02:00 PM

2,795 posts

puco999:

Have you taken a look at the previous quotations put up by other forummers in this thread and my replies to them? Basically there's easily about 30-40 samples, and if you go through at least 5-6 you can a clearer picture on what's necessary and what's not. If there are any doubts, do ask for clarification. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Jul 13 2011, 02:00 PM
lyt25_1234
post Jul 13 2011, 11:28 PM

1,152 posts

Can I ask a question on signing SPA?
I basically not married but my gf is asking to include her name when signing the SPA. I have no objection on that, but in terms of the lawyer fees, is there any difference in the lawyer fees with adding additional name to the SPA?
Pai
post Jul 14 2011, 12:14 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

dariofoo,

thanks for the excellent advice yday wink.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jul 14 2011, 10:37 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jul 13 2011, 11:28 PM)
Can I ask a question on signing SPA?
I basically not married but my gf is asking to include her name when signing the SPA. I have no objection on that, but in terms of the lawyer fees, is there any difference in the lawyer fees with adding additional name to the SPA?
No. It is fixed according to the price stated in the SPA, irregardless of how much purchasers/vendors are in the picture. icon_rolleyes.gif
lyt25_1234
post Jul 14 2011, 10:55 AM

1,152 posts

Thanks! That's what I have thought biggrin.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jul 14 2011, 11:30 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jul 14 2011, 12:14 AM)
dariofoo,

thanks for the excellent advice yday wink.gif
Cheers, my learned friend. It was a pleasure to have finally met the legend himself. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jul 14 2011, 11:31 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jul 14 2011, 10:55 AM)
Thanks! That's what I have thought biggrin.gif
Glad to have confirmed your thoughts,mate icon_rolleyes.gif

irise.ufall
post Jul 14 2011, 11:45 AM

72 posts

Hi, i refer to my post here:

Hope someone can give me some advices. I am already very frustrated to deal with this kind of Lawyer.

Let me share my story (i try to cut it short):

I bought an apartment. And I am dealing with the Vendor directly without going through Agent.

The Vendor has her owner lawyer (who is her sister's friend). I was convinced to use the same lawyer by the reasons given that:
1) Her lawyer is Maybank's Panel Lawyer (I was looking for Maybank's Panel Lawyer. I do have my another Lawyer but they are not under Maybank)
2) The lawyer said this will speed up & smoothen the process.

So i paid 2% deposit on 30/03/2011.

The Lawyer later told me that they are not Maybank's Panel Lawyer!!!
mega_shok.gif

I cant believe there is this kind of lawyer around... shocking.gif I have no choice but to engage another Loan Solicitor then. shakehead.gif

Since then, the lawyer has been kept delaying & dragging. I complained to her (the lawyer) and she admitted that the Vendor asked her to drag as they are still looking for a house.

After some ting ting tong tong, the SPA was only signed on 13/05/2011 (more than 1 month from the day i paid the 2% deposit).

And the SPA was stamped on 24/05/2011 (even with some unfilled info like carpark no. & the Vendor's bank info).

Just when i tot the nightmare was finished, the Lawyer never stop delaying & dragging!

She (the lawyer) always gives empty promises & excuses for handing me the MOT & other documents for my signature. I sent email to her but she never bother to reply. My loan solicitor is also fed up with her bcoz of her empty promises to furnish her (Loan Solicitor is also a lady) the documents.

Until today, i am still waiting for her to furnish me the MOT & other related documents for my signature despite the fact that the SPA was stamped on 24/05/2011 (which was more than 1 month ago!!!). rclxub.gif

She (the SPA lawyer) has been sitting with the stamped SPA for nothing! vmad.gif

I am really pissed off and considering to complain to the Bar Council but i am still trying to settle it nicely. mad.gif

Hope to hear some advices from u guys. Appreciate if any Lawyer can PM me for your advice too. notworthy.gif

Many thanks.

I sent the SPA lawyer an email asking her why does she needs so long to prepare all the things, given 7 days to her but she didnt bother to reply despite a reminder was sent to them via sms.

She (SPA lawyer) sent an email to my loan solicitor on 30/06/2011 that she had sent the docs/info required (ori stamped SPA with all info filled) to her (loan solicitor). But She lied!

She sent another email to my loan solicitor on 4/7/2011 with the attached ori stamped SPA & other info required. From there i know she was lying and my loan solicitor is also frustrated with her.

As she did not reply to my questions after 7 days from my email, i sent her an email to put into record of her ignorance on 12/07/2011, Tuesday. I also asked her a few question & giving them 7 days to reply, as follow:
1) Have the Vendor signed & paid for their MOT?
2) Have the Vendor executed the MOT as at today?
3) Any other outstanding issues from the Vendor?
4) The balance amount i need to pay including the estimated amount for the stamp duty.
5) Any other outstanding issues you need from me?

She didnt reply to me yet. I dun think she will reply to my questions. I am in fact gathering all the evidence before i make a complaint to the Bar Council and terminate them as i think i m totally ignored & not represented!

My questions are:
1) Can i terminate them but use back the same stamped SPA?
2) As she is ignoring me, she lied, she keep delaying & she failed to answer my questions, she has failed to perform her task professionally, so can i ask them to compensate me for all the extra costs of engaging a new lawyer?
3) Is there any risk if i terminate them? From the reasons above do i hv strong ground to terminate them?
4) She put in her letter to my loan socilitor that:

The purchaser(s) have paid all our fee & disbursement in respect of the SPA

Wat is quoted to me was nearly 9-10k but i only paid them RM3k as of today. I dunno what is the actual meaning of her statement above.
5) Any other advice(s) from u??

And i think most of the lawyers will not take this kind of case right? hmm.gif

I hope you can help me on this. Please icon_question.gif

Thank you very much. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by irise.ufall: Jul 14 2011, 03:11 PM
misscreamypie
post Jul 14 2011, 11:46 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 12 2011, 10:44 AM)
Well, you can pursue a case against him - provided you can track him down and serve the court documents personally on him. If you can't serve it personally then you have to go for substituted service (i.e. notice through newspapers and display on Court notice board), which will cost quite a bit. Even if you go through all that and win the case (most probably by default as most likely, he's not going to know about it, or even if he did, he doesn't come across as someone whol would bother to show up in Court) - you'll only get a paper judgment as you can't even institute bankruptcy proceedings against him. The other methods of enforcing it are not suitable in the context of your case.

Now, assuming that he defends himself and denies the claim. Can you prove when he stated the tenancy, when he left, and whether he acknowledged any of the receipts given to him? How was rental paid? Cash by hand? Cash by bank-in? If cheque, then yes, you can trace it to him. Otherwise, it's all your mum's word against his. The burden of proof is on your mum to prove, and not for him to deny. So, in the absence of any proof except of cakap mulut, in all likelihood the claim against him would fail.

My advice would be to take it as a bitter pill and the next time around, do spend a bit of money and engage a qualified person to prepare a tenancy agreement  icon_rolleyes.gif

No point spending good money chasing bad money.  nod.gif
okay smile.gif thanks for ur advice dariofoo ^^
may1126
post Jul 14 2011, 12:45 PM

66 posts

HI, i have a query here regarding loan agreement fee. i thought the legal fee & stamp duty is fix on a rate, and lawyer should follow the rate to charge client. but it seem like not true. for loan RM320,450, i pay RM5,500 for tatal fee. no detail breakdown some more. lawyer only give a receipt in total figure, no inv also. pls advice. thx very much notworthy.gif
lyt25_1234
post Jul 14 2011, 02:49 PM

1,152 posts

I remember is something like for the first RM100K, it will be charged 1%, subsequent will be 0.7%. Correct me if I am wrong, guys.
may1126
post Jul 14 2011, 03:01 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jul 14 2011, 02:49 PM)
I remember is something like for the first RM100K, it will be charged 1%, subsequent will be 0.7%. Correct me if I am wrong, guys.
As i know it should be 1st 150k = 1% = RM1500
subseq 0.7% = RM1193.15
1500+1193.15 = RM2693.15 x 6% govn tax = 161.60 = RM2854.75
stamp duty 0.5% = RM1602.25
Total legal + stamp duty = RM2854.75+RM1602.25 = RM4457

the lawyer charge 5500, he untung RM1043

for loan 320,450

This post has been edited by may1126: Jul 14 2011, 03:01 PM
TSdariofoo
post Jul 14 2011, 04:16 PM

2,795 posts

Answers to your questions:
1) Yes. It does not affect the SPA
2) No you can't, but you can complain to the A&S DB.
3) What risk? It is a contract. If you're not happy with the services rendered, you terminate their services.
4) Whether or not fees are paid, that is a different issue altogether. It doesn't mean that she doesn't do her work professionally. Keep the letter as further evidence in your complain against her.

There are roughly 2000 law firms in Klang Valley. Out of that, at least half, or more than half, practise conveyancing. Am sure you'll find a replacement lawyer.

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Jul 14 2011, 04:20 PM
TSdariofoo
post Jul 14 2011, 04:19 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(may1126 @ Jul 14 2011, 12:45 PM)
HI, i have a query here regarding loan agreement fee. i thought the legal fee & stamp duty is fix on a rate, and lawyer should follow the rate to charge client. but it seem like not true. for loan RM320,450, i pay RM5,500 for tatal fee. no detail breakdown some more. lawyer only give a receipt in total figure, no inv also. pls advice. thx very much notworthy.gif
You have the right to ask for a breakdown of charges - it's normally called Note of Charges. Insist for it.

Total fee might include disbursements (expenses) and 6% govt tax. Don't forget that.

Download the SRO at the first page to get a fair idea of what and how much can be billed by your lawyer.

icon_rolleyes.gif
may1126
post Jul 14 2011, 05:00 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 14 2011, 04:19 PM)
You have the right to ask for a breakdown of charges - it's normally called Note of Charges. Insist for it.

Total fee might include disbursements (expenses) and 6% govt tax. Don't forget that.

Download the SRO at the first page to get a fair idea of what and how much can be billed by your lawyer.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Thx for ur advice nod.gif had read SRO at the 1st page u provide.

for loan 320,450
my calculation = 1st 150k = 1% = RM1500
subseq 170,450 x 0.7% = RM1193.15
1500+1193.15 = RM2693.15 x 6% govn tax = 161.60 = RM2854.75
stamp duty 320,450 x 0.5% = RM1602.25
Total legal + stamp duty = RM2854.75+RM1602.25 = RM4457

pls correct me if wrong, thx notworthy.gif

the lawyer charge 5500, he untung RM1043 ; Disbursement = RM1043 ?

just curious that how much MAXIMUM lawyer can charge for disbursement shakehead.gif

straw
post Jul 14 2011, 05:06 PM

266 posts

For rental tenancy how to calculate legal fees?

lyt25_1234
post Jul 14 2011, 08:09 PM

1,152 posts

*removed*

This post has been edited by lyt25_1234: Jul 14 2011, 10:08 PM
sansi
post Jul 14 2011, 10:25 PM

Dario,
I need your advise on this loan agreement fees since the bank is using different lawyer.Many thanks sifu notworthy.gif

128 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:18 PM