AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

1024kbps
post Dec 18 2010, 12:19 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 18 2010, 12:13 AM)
NB voltage is for the northbridge on the mobo lor, nothing to with the cpu laugh.gif
So 3GHz NB clock only need to bump the CPU-NB VID voltage? sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Dec 18 2010, 12:37 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:28 AM)
very funny... no matter how, my pc wont pass any stress test other than on all stock settings..
but i can play games for hours without errors... sweat.gif
Depend on what game lah, sometime i messing with other stuff like ram timings or nb clock but lazy to stress,
the game dont really crash sometimes, but prolong playing i will get white screen of death doh.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 18 2010, 12:20 AM)
Yea..

But still NB-Volt do helps in stabilizing your settings,
to prevent confusion, this is my settings:
So far its stable when stressing with y-cruncher 5gb stress test. 3GHz nb will crash the pc within a minutes sweat.gif
P.S. the actual CPU VID is 1.376

P.S.S. i will get "hardware error" when the ram timing is CAS 5, now using the stock timing from G.skill ECO XMP timing sweat.gif

Okay just cleared the CPU-NB and NB confusion sweat.gif :
http://www.overclockers.com/the-importance...-the-phenom-ii/
The CPU-NB has nothing to do with the NB chip on mobo doh.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Dec 18 2010, 02:18 AM
1024kbps
post Dec 19 2010, 12:09 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Dec 18 2010, 11:59 PM)
am3 user oc is just increase multiplier? or require increase  NB clocks to make it more stable?
usualy need to run Prime 95 for how long?
Increase multiplier is easier because you only oc your cpu and bump cpu VID. NB clokc 2.4 or 2.6GHz is recommended, it may increase performance.
but you have to bump the CPU-NB VID voltage abit. .25 or .5v something to make your pc stable.
non-BE proc is harder because you only can raise HTT clocks.

Prime as long as your want sweat.gif 1 or 2 hours and you are good to go.
if your are paranoid about the stabilty of your system. run prime overnight lo, but make sure your pc ventilation is good and temp is at acceptable range, else your pc will kaput after you wake up at next morning tongue.gif
1024kbps
post Dec 19 2010, 03:25 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Just tried 1705mhz on my eco, need so much voltage just for 50mhz increment, previously was 1.55, now 1.65 shakehead.gif
not the optimal setting sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Dec 19 2010, 03:25 PM
1024kbps
post Dec 19 2010, 03:42 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 19 2010, 03:37 PM)
I have d same problem. wprime 2.04 scan hardware takes too long until I skip it. then I try 1.55 version very fast o. 2.04 keep scanning like never end 1 doh.gif
both version are broken one lol,
just make sure you set the "thread count" to 6 if you are using 6 core cpu,
1.55 version cant even detect my system properly, default thread count only 1. shakehead.gif
1024kbps
post Dec 19 2010, 03:58 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 19 2010, 03:51 PM)
I know tat d default thread is set at 1. so need to set it at 6.
I thought wprime is good to do short stressing. hope they fix it d 2.04version. really save my time compare to prime95.  laugh.gif
wPrime and IBT dont really "hit the nerves" on AMD cpu, as someone said on xsforum.
even if you can pass the IBT and wprime 1024m stress test doesnt mean your pc is fully stable.
prime95 blend and ycruncher continuously stresst test is the way to go imho.
1024kbps
post Dec 19 2010, 06:01 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Dec 19 2010, 05:27 PM)
u tried another 2sticks that u just bought?
not all eco perform the same.. so my guess, both kit not using the same ramchip..

and also for me there is no "optimal voltage" since i dont clock for daily usage.. esp ram.
Nope, its the same 4 sticks that can do 1600mhz CAS5 @ 1.55v
well i duno why it need so much voltage and loosen so much timing just to reach 1705mhz doh.gif
need time to do experiment though.

2000mhz CAS 9 prolly need 1.7v above just like anyone else sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Dec 27 2010, 01:55 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Dec 27 2010, 01:20 PM)
how to oc ah.. planning oc my x4 955 be >< to 3.6
Reboot your pc and go to BIOS, Raise the CPU multiplier to 18x and Vcore/CPU VID to 1.35v. < copy from someone else rclxms.gif
and run prime blend/y-crunher to stress your pc to see wheter if your oc was successfully.

if stressing test passed without bsod or freeze, you can start reduce the CPU vcore voltage or up the cpu multiplier again. OR, play with the HTT/FSB clocks(Not the hypertrasport speed).
1024kbps
post Dec 31 2010, 09:42 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Might be alittle bit off topic here:
Anyone using Thermalright Venomous X? and installed in intel-style, i mean not the conventional AMD type bottom to top airflow direction, but left to right airflow.

And is it possible to use screwdrive to tighten the screws instead of using the supplied mini wrench?
Very troublesome leh >_>

Cause my all my RAMs blocked by the huge ass Vx and my 4890 VRM heatsink. its impossible remove my ram without remove my heatsink first.
1024kbps
post Jan 1 2011, 10:46 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Thanks for those replied me.
Yeah im using the AM3 BTK, well i dont want to remove my mobo just to change the heatsink direction >_>

Vx is thicker than TRUE so i think angrysnail might be correct.

but nevermind gonna sell off my 890fx liao lol.

1024kbps
post Jan 1 2011, 11:52 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Jan 1 2011, 11:21 PM)
wah..upgrade to what bro? rclxms.gif
990FX with 8core Bulldozer lah rclxms.gif
lol jk only.
Downgrading to 870 chipset, im unable to utilize my mobo much for now due to lazyness plus too miskin to buy dual GPU lol.
1024kbps
post Jan 2 2011, 01:02 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Unless your CPU is lemon chip lol, most new chip 1.4v can run 3.6ghz or above already. while Thuban 1.4v can run 4GHz already, but its pretty hot at that voltage unless you have some best aftermarket cooler installed.
1024kbps
post Jan 2 2011, 01:31 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Jan 2 2011, 01:11 AM)
btw, what is your voltage? how bout your temp? cool2.gif
im planing to oc my 1055t to 4GHz whistling.gif
1.35v, but unstable, i guess my chip need 1.425 something. Well currently im stuck at 3.7GHz, i guess my RAM is the culprit here because i used up all the ram slots.

Temp never reach 60c of course, in aircon room rclxms.gif
Using Vx with 2 f--king loud SFLEX-G clone (Sony SFF21c) brows.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 18 2011, 12:33 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 18 2011, 12:28 AM)
use pendrive cannot ka? hmm.gif
Tried myself, it wont work with pendrive, windows xp only can load driver from floppy doh.gif
while vista and w7 can load from external drive even with non-raid harddrive.

use nlite sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 18 2011, 10:06 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Any pro can explain this?
A While ago i was running 3.6GHz @ 1600mhz CL5 with 1.55v
then i butt itchy changed to 870a ud3, for 1 week, then changed back to the no-body-wanna-buy ud7.
NOW I NEED 1.65V TO MAINTAIN STABILITY? WTFFF ish going on sweat.gif
okay the vdimm is not yet fine-tuned lol.
sauce is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1637973/latest thought im running y-cruncher as stress test now.

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(Roystand90 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:05 PM)
why when i running prime95 my comp become slower?

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:05 pmhow to see using prime 95??
it juz come out with all word only
prime95 is a stress test software = stress test = load all your CPU @ 100% to test the stability.
try open task manager and see what prime95 is doing to your CPU and RAM.

if your OC or unlocked core unstable while running prime95, your pc could REBOOT or prime95 will simply crash/tell you there is an error.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 18 2011, 10:09 PM
1024kbps
post Jan 19 2011, 06:08 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 19 2011, 07:53 AM)

Have u tried clear cmos? hmm.gif
not yet leh, since the cmos pins is located at finger hard-to-reach location lol, and my casing is a wire mess.
now trying 1.57v... its strange the same ram timing and clocks wont even running correctly on 870a either doh.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 20 2011, 02:33 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Is that the chip from ah_khoo? rclxms.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 22 2011, 02:13 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Anyone here doing NB overclocking? can post your NB speed and voltage?
ima trying to run the NB at 2.7GHz/1.325v but system always hang when stressing with prime95@512KFFT

Previously can run 3GHz NB when using Ripjaws 2K, iirc it was stable at 1.35v, now using 4x of ECO everythings become harder already sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 22 2011, 02:58 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

1.5v kind high leh, my ud7 running on air only. doh.gif
damn i think i didnt stress enough when using ripjaws, prime95 blend only but its pretty stable.

Btw just now tried 3GHz at 1.375v, instant reboot within afew minutes after stressing with 512K FFT

3.92GHz@1.425v lol

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 22 2011, 03:01 AM
1024kbps
post Jan 22 2011, 11:09 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Jan 22 2011, 03:51 AM)
Dont compare it with LN2 runing~ its to much diff... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Mine w/ LN2 NB 4500MHz speed w/ 1.5V! wub.gif
Max temp when stressing is 48c leh, using dual SFLEX G clone leh, too damn noisy already.
need to put whole thing into refrigerator ar brows.gif

duno leh, iirc the NB isnt stable at any voltage + any speed now doh.gif

Added on January 22, 2011, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 22 2011, 03:55 PM)
changing ram effect the IMC eh.. i donno that..new thing to me, so i will make some experiment..kekeke.thanks.

btw.
regor chip 3.2ghz @ 1.375v
deneb chip 3ghz @ 1.4v
'both stable..
and thuban will need lower.
Still not sure.. cause i was only use pair of Ripjaws, while the ram wasnt running at rated speed.

Now using 4x Eco, may the real culprit caused by using all ram slots. too lazy to pull out another 2 sticks cause 4GB RAM isnt enough for me sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 22 2011, 11:13 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0523sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:23 AM