5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

hye
post Nov 16 2010, 01:47 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Nov 16 2010, 10:32 AM)
hi everyone,
Planning to applied for OCBC titanium after an agent brief me about it at the curve the other day.
but the thing is My basic is only rm2200 but with OT and allowance it hit to 2500 after epf and sometimes 2800 after epf,
my last month gross salary was 2980.
so i told the agent my salary range but she told me I can still apply for it and high chances I will get approved as long I provide necessary documents.
betulkah apa yang dia cakap ni.
ada chance kah?
putting in 5k as FD into OCBC will help increase my chances of approval?
@pandazhun
You may try but it is not necessarily your application will be successful. Agent will always say yes to just about everything.
On the last question, secured cc will almost definitely no issue to be approved but bear in mind you can't withdraw the FD so long you want the card.

Added on November 16, 2010, 1:50 pm
QUOTE(kop2299 @ Nov 16 2010, 11:50 AM)
hi..anyone enter LCCT P.Premium lounge with EON Bank GSC PLAT Supplementary card before? Please share your experience..tq
Entry to LCCT Plaza Premium only for principal cardholders. (Confirm) They will check your cc before letting you in. Supp card holders have a different number sets than principal card holders sets.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 16 2010, 01:50 PM
hye
post Nov 17 2010, 03:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(prameel @ Nov 17 2010, 03:40 PM)
Tx for the info bro.
Can you ps. list all the banks that offers CC to expatriates?
All banks will offer cc to expatriates provided you meet their income / documentation requirements.
hye
post Nov 18 2010, 10:52 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 18 2010, 10:27 AM)
I feel Mastercard's forex is higher than Visa's forex
A few posts back I remembered someone saying that Mastercard's forex is slightly cheaper.
Still I think between the 2 if coming from the same bank, the difference is marginal.
hye
post Nov 20 2010, 08:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Evera @ Nov 20 2010, 08:16 PM)
I'm currently holding a UOB credit card but after seeing the OCBC Titanium Card, I was thinking of changing. Do you think it's a good idea?
The answer is a definite yes if your intention is to save a little bit of money ! (OCBC TI is rebate based, no points awarded)
hye
post Nov 22 2010, 08:55 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Milshah @ Nov 21 2010, 10:07 PM)
By right the original receipt should show the 2% surcharge also....otherwise the worker can take the money for himself...  sweat.gif
The shop will never do this (same goes to any merchant anywhere in the world) because it will clearly provide proof to the bank and to MC/VISA International that a surcharge was imposed due to the use of the cc and therefore the merchant has violated their T&C with the bank and MC/VISA International. That's why surcharges are always lumped together with the base price.

There's a hefty penalty imposed to the merchant if there's a violation to the T&C. And the banks /VISA/MC International have a no nonsense attitude to this violation.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 22 2010, 09:42 AM
hye
post Nov 23 2010, 06:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Gentlemen

Can we be more careful about using the term "threatening" the banks when it come to the GST subject? Already there has been a reader who want to only apply a card with the GST "waived" or else. And slowly the past few replies have been circling around "threatening" the banks to waive the GST.

IMHO ... I don't think we are setting the right example here in this forum and let's be more responsible for what we say. This thread was originally created to educate reader on good credit card consumer management and definitely not how to arm twist the banks about getting your own way. I have no issues about getting our value for money but to this extent then I don't think it's appropriate anymore.

Added on November 23, 2010, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Nov 23 2010, 06:23 PM)
Not the largest credit card issuer in Malaysia?
Largest credit card issuer in Malaysia is Citibank. Followed by Maybank and CIMB.
MBB had all along was the largest local credit card issuer.
CIMB card base grew because of Southern Bank acquisition, back then CIMB cards (a few years back) were something you wanted to avoid.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 23 2010, 07:02 PM
hye
post Nov 23 2010, 09:37 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 23 2010, 09:32 PM)
I have been using EON credit card since September 2010, still a newbie.

October bill -    RM5,000 ++
November bill - RM 630 ++
December bill - haven't come out yet, roughly RM12, 000++

i make payment straight away before the statement even out...

wonder can request for increasement of credit limit or not?  or must wait for 6 months? icon_question.gif
At least wait for 6 months - 1 year.
Why the rush .. ? And do understand an increase of your CL will also increase your "unsecured loans facility" for your credit profile.
hye
post Nov 23 2010, 10:12 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 23 2010, 10:03 PM)
Most probably will affect one's home/auto/personal loan limit.
Yup. I won't be even surprised some banks use this as a loan eligibility yardstick. Different banks practice different risk management policies.
hye
post Nov 24 2010, 10:41 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 24 2010, 10:28 AM)
Tax are charged on cards even though they are  not "active" but issued. You would need to cancel the cards to avoid tax.
Slight correction. Best don't apply for the card if you have no intention to use it to avoid tax.
Generally the tax will be imposed (for new cards) the moment the card is approved. Whether you activate or not is irrelevant.

To those who are unware ....
Please don't treat the GST similar to Annual Fees. Likely you'll get very upset with the bank if they are not helpful. Which in 99% of the time, they will not entertain if you use the excuse of not activating the card.
hye
post Nov 24 2010, 12:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vault.dweller @ Nov 24 2010, 11:22 AM)
ollo! just have my credit card. one question tho, i signed it but my signature looks bad.

does it have any effect when i do transaction? i mean signature irregularity maybe?

and what does paywave mean? can i use it at petronas station?
Depends. Some cashier (especially @ hypermarkets) will confirm your signature against your card. May have a possibility they will reject you if they think your actual and back of the card signature is too suspicious. However, if you use your card overseas ... your risk of getting rejected goes up. It is akin to you should a foreigner wants to use a card @ your shop. You'll do an extra check right ?

Paywave is used for micro payments which is defined as (if I remember correctly) ~ RM120 and below) and you don't need to signature the slip because your card authenticates the transaction upon touching the card @ the terminal. You need to use this feature @ a PayWave terminal and not everywhere has this. (Saying this ... I don't think this initiative took off very well)

Petronas station (and about all other petrol station) does not have this feature.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 24 2010, 12:07 PM
hye
post Nov 24 2010, 05:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(leozai @ Nov 24 2010, 04:15 PM)
huh... just call to ambank card center to check my cc application status... WTH... they say they didn't receive my form yet.... i have summit da form last last fridya.. which mean 12 nov... to da sri petaling branch.... ZZZZzzZZzz  their service REALLY DAMN "FAST"
The only way to get speedy with the application is to submit the application to the AmBank card centre itself. Branch don't handle processing of the application, they just collect. Plus premium cc may get better priority than regular, gold or even platinum cards.

Don't complain bro ... 12 days is no big deal and the card centre process a lot of applications from all over Malaysia. I have waited for a credit card in the past to approve for as long as 2-3 months ... 12 days is still no big deal.
hye
post Nov 24 2010, 06:27 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 24 2010, 05:58 PM)
thats a good idea  rclxms.gif

if i didnt bring my EON credit card statement, the "new" bank can't able to check out how much per month i use and my payment whether is punctual or not?  wub.gif
The new bank can check how punctual you are but can't check how much per month if I'm not mistaken.
hye
post Nov 25 2010, 10:14 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 25 2010, 10:05 AM)
it's hard to get approved it i use 3 months credit card statements without income document? sad.gif
Yes ... if you read through the forum, generally banks use a 12 months card for reference. And in some rare cases as low as 6 months.
3 months ... I will say good luck lah. Since someone replied to just try your luck ... you gonna need a lot of luck.

My honest advise is that put yourself in the bank's shoes .... would you approve someone who uses a 3 months statement as proof ? Coz if you do, you need to apply the same treatment to the thousands of next applicants that comes by. Not to mention your bank's integrity will be questioned by the banking industry for such easy credit approval policy.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 25 2010, 10:15 AM
hye
post Nov 26 2010, 11:23 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(dany06 @ Nov 26 2010, 11:00 AM)
What will happen if i have installment plan in my CC, but i only pay the minimum amount, not including the installment plan? I'm using DA.
You will be charged interest on top whatever that is not paid. So long you meet the indicative minimum payment, you are not into trouble. (See the "Minimum Payment" amount in your statement)

However do note that sometimes the installment plan is treated as a minimum commitment to pay. If you don't meet this minimum every month, the bank is considering you in default of payment every month. Get ready for a barrage of calls from the bank and if things get worse, a call from the bank's lawyers to see you. icon_idea.gif
hye
post Nov 28 2010, 02:35 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 28 2010, 11:17 AM)
is that true that HSBC can approve your card in just 2 working days?
Why so many people asking whether banks can approve card fast or not?
Patience is a virtue and so many no longer have it these days. ohmy.gif
hye
post Nov 30 2010, 04:47 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 30 2010, 04:25 PM)
giro banking? it took 3 days..

why not using saving account (online banking) from same bank to pay ur credit card, thus the payment will take immediate effect (real time)  sweat.gif
Giro banking is actually very fast. If you time it correctly, it will be done on the same day or otherwise the next day. (This also depends on how "efficient" the bank recognize the GIRO transaction) For example if I were to transfer funds to my SCB account (on a working day) before 11.30am, SCB will alert me and recognize the incoming funds by about 3pm on the same day.

As for the bank taking into effect your payment in real time ... let me correct the information. Some banks will reflect the payment in real time and some banks by the next business day. I can verify this as I use several online banking system to pay their own cc ... real time crediting yes ... real time to be reflected in your cc statement not necessarily.
hye
post Nov 30 2010, 05:35 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(my_cat @ Nov 30 2010, 05:11 PM)
aiyo, people use Giro because don't have saving account from same bank mah.
It is OK ... lot of people use payment convenience as an excuse for their selection of credit card.
Personally I don't care where the bank is located as what I want is the card privileges.
hye
post Dec 1 2010, 09:09 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shawnk @ Dec 1 2010, 08:43 AM)
Is OCBC Titanium card still the best overall (in terms of rebate for purchases) CC out there?
Undoubtedly yes. (in terms of rebates)
hye
post Dec 3 2010, 10:19 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 3 2010, 10:13 AM)
Because of this easy entry from CIMB, many banks including OCBC don't really recognise CL given by CIMB. That's why there were cases where CIMB Platinum cardholders were rejected by OCBC for a lower range product like OCBC Titanium MC.
There's one possible method coz I too encountered this problem.
At the point of your TI application, just don't be greedy and ask OCBC to grant you a much lower CL than your reference card. As for myself, I asked for a fraction of my limit to be granted to my OCBC TI.

And yes ... my OCBC TI is approved. smile.gif
hye
post Dec 3 2010, 02:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 3 2010, 11:52 AM)
how to tell them?
Ask the agent or the bank officer to put a remark on your OCBC TI application regarding your CL request.
Perhaps not many asked this question coz when I ask the bank officer to do it he was rather shocked shocking.gif as he expected me to match or increase CL like 99.99% of the applicants would do.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0431sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:28 AM