4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

ck3lam
post Oct 28 2010, 10:31 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 28 2010, 09:42 AM)
Are you a heavy user of the SCB card ? As for me, I didn't use their SCB card after finishing off my Free cash from them ;-)
Not really, I didn’t use the card after the August promotion. Mainly OCBC now.
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 28 2010, 10:11 AM)
is it applicable to all merchants or selected once only?
mb it is not open to all, which is why, i did not rec this letter?

Added on October 28, 2010, 10:11 am

have u used the KLIA lounge before?
It is applicable to ANY transaction. Of course the BT, cash advance, ongoing installments and fees are not valid.

ck3lam
post Oct 28 2010, 08:12 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 28 2010, 06:15 PM)
is there anyone can share their AirAsia CC experience? I always travel & always buy AirAsia ticket. Is it really good to have this card to enjoy the special price compare to those without it? Is it really can get offer price ticket more easily when you can book 1 day b4 others? hmm.gif
Do you purchase local or international flight frequently?
Since RM5 convenience fees is charged per way using CC, maybe open a CIMB saver account will be better? No need to pay for convenience fees but CC give you AA points.
You can compare it and see which one suits you.
CIMB AirAsia Savers Account

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 28 2010, 10:59 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 28 2010, 10:56 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 28 2010, 08:45 PM)
But NO further details liao... hmm.gif
Because I didn't ask him further as I'm not really interested with that card tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Oct 28 2010, 08:48 PM)
that cimb airasia saver acc - its a saving acc ?

if like tat not bad, can consider it  biggrin.gif

but in fee n charges there, got many weird things  icon_question.gif

10  Reproduction of Statements of Savings Account for period up to 1 year          RM10 (upfront)
                                                                                                                              RM2 (additional page)
11  Reproduction of Statements of Savings Account for period exceeding 1 year        RM30 (upfront)
                                                                                                                              RM2 (additional page)
12  Service charge (applicable for Prime Savings Account)                                  RM2 per transaction for 2nd withdrawal & above per month
13  ATM card annual fee                                                                                  RM8 (except for Children Savings Account)
If it is about CIMB AA saver acc, you may need to find other thread since this is a CC thread. For Citibank AA CC, although my bro complaint about the priority booking, but until now he is still holding the card. flex.gif Maybe that card still suits him. However, seems like not many people in this forum is holding this card.

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 28 2010, 09:29 PM)
I ordered Pizza Hut online today, and within two minutes after my transaction went through, Maybank called me as part of their random checking. I wonder, why does that transaction triggered a flag on their side?
Sometimes they called for small transaction like this, but huge transaction they didn't call. But normally when I order Pizza Hut online, they sure will call one, 3/5...maybe a lot of fraud cases reported for online pizza ordering? tongue.gif
ck3lam
post Oct 29 2010, 12:09 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 28 2010, 10:58 PM)
My OCBC Titanium Statement Date is 15 Dec 2010.
Transactions from 16 Dec 2010 to 15 Jan 2011, the cashback
1. is based on cap of RM100(5%)+RM20(1%)
2. is based on cap of RM50(5%+1%)
3. is based on (1)+(2) = cap of RM170

Which would it be ?
I can say definitely not 3. The bank won't be that generous. But I maybe wrong. It seems this question has been asked before but no one has answered that. I think it is possible to get RM120 with some conditions.

From OCBC conditions,
- promotion starts from Aug to Dec 2010. Any transaction after 31 Dec is considered non-promotional period. (that is only 5 months (max RM600) but T&C says RM600+RM120 (6 months), where is the additional month comes from I wonder)
- Max rebate based on statement (according to CS) during promotion period is RM100(5%) and RM20(1%) while non promotional period is RM50 (5%+ 1%)

If I were the bank, the max rebate will be RM120.
If all your transactions are before 31 Dec, you may get the max which is RM120.
If all your transactions are after 31 Dec, you may get RM50 max.
If 1 Jan~15 Jan rebate supposedly > RM50, it will cap at RM50 for this half month assuming 16 Dec~31 Dec rebate doesn't exceed RM70.
If RM70 < 16 Dec~31 Dec rebate (X rebate) < RM120, 1 Jan~15 Jan rebate will only be 120-X.

Maybe then this can answer why there are 6 months as in T&C...

This is just my guessing, what is your opinion? Of course the actual and correct answer can only be verified from CS.

Added on October 29, 2010, 12:11 am
QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Oct 28 2010, 11:28 PM)
anybody got try the ocbc titanium BT? how many days for them to bt the amount?
Very fast, for me it only takes within a week.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 29 2010, 12:17 AM
ck3lam
post Oct 29 2010, 12:26 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 29 2010, 12:15 AM)
Some info about AirAsia CC priority booking...
http://blog.thestar.com.my/permalink.asp?id=30291
Looks like not a pleasant experience...

I don't use CC anymore when I book local AA flight nowadays. The AA points can't cover the convenience fees. Priority booking? I can still get my flight without it.

ck3lam
post Oct 29 2010, 08:43 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 29 2010, 07:06 AM)
My guess is (2) as the rebate are calculated based on statement date. So the statement date being 15 Jan 2011 is already out of the promo period.
How would you explain the maximum RM600+RM120 rebate during the promotion as stated in the T&C? If only RM50 max for this statement, impossible they claim you can get the total rebate for the promotion period.
ck3lam
post Oct 29 2010, 12:54 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 29 2010, 09:16 AM)
Where do you find the RM600+RM120 in the T&C ?

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 29 2010, 11:24 AM)
Yeah the same question as Ronnie....

I only recall seeing "marketing material" of rebates up to RM600 for 2010 and not RM720. As we know now that the rebates are calculated based on statement dates i.e. people with new card in August and statement date in September got only RM120 (and not RM120 for August and RM120 Sept). It is my opinion that the chances are slim for a statement in Jan 2011 to get RM120 in rebates as people with various statements dates in January will claim to be eligible (like late Jan 2011?).

Now if you have gotten the card early Aug (before statement date Aug 15?), then yes maybe you can get RM600 in rebates. I only expect to get up to RM480 in rebates.

T&C link http://www.ocbccards.com.my/titaniumRebates_tncEN.aspx

RM600 from Aug 1 to Dec 31 2010.
It’s over here and also in your FAQ/T&C hardcopy comes together with your card.
Definitely for each statement the max rebate is RM120 during the promotion period. Spending during 16 Dec ~ 31 Dec can be arguable. So which is why in my previous post I mention a possibility which I try to find a balance between these two.

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 29 2010, 11:35 AM)
here.

ocbc capped the rebates for rm50 montly.
but from last august till this december the capped had been increased to rm120.
so, if u do have the card from august (apply on july or already owned it), then:

aug+sep+oct+nov+dec = 5 months.
5 months x rm120/month = rm600.

got it?

then, starting jan next year, it will be normal rm50 again.

This is also what I assume when I first get the card last time.

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 29 2010, 11:35 AM)
for me (i wish), ocbc should give max rm120 rebates for transaction untill 31/12/2010, as the advertised.

let say statement date is 15-jan-2011. so the bill is transcation from 16-dec-2010 to 15-jan-2011.
transaction from 16-dec-2010 till 31-dec-2010 should received rebates max rm120,
while transaction from 1-jan-2011 till 15-jan-2011 get rebates max rm50.

sweat.gif
If those CC holder statement is early of the month, sure they will complaint OCBC why they didn't get the full rebate as advertised during Dec spending in the Jan statement, getting RM50 max for spending during Dec can raise a big complaint in customer service (not good for the bank), but they cannot give RM120 rebate for Jan spending. Then it will be unfair to those who get the card on Jan. So they must have a balance between these two. See my previous post.

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 29 2010, 11:52 AM)
haha how we wish... but cannot la... nanti a new argument of RM120 + RM50 = RM170 rebate pula
They have already mention max is RM120 during promotion period, so unlikely they will give you higher than that.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 29 2010, 01:05 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 29 2010, 10:58 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 29 2010, 03:17 PM)

Added on October 29, 2010, 3:29 pm

another latest info:
AirAsia online booking payment via credit/debit card Convenience Fee has been increase from RM5 to RM6 (so bad). vmad.gif  I just find out when i make a booking 3 hours ago..
Online payment system maintenance cost getting higher...

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Oct 29 2010, 01:23 AM)
Another bad experience...
Perhaps Citibank should relaunch the AA card with convenience fees absorbed and priority boarding. thumbup.gif
ck3lam
post Nov 1 2010, 09:05 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(heeheelim @ Nov 1 2010, 05:52 PM)
Btw, does it means that if I apply for 2 Platinum cards (Visa & Master) and 1 Biz Platinum card I will get RM 188 X 3 = RM564? drool.gif
Thanks ya
I really doubt SCB will approve 3 cards at one time for one cardholder. hmm.gif
ck3lam
post Nov 2 2010, 10:55 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(M@M @ Nov 2 2010, 10:06 PM)
may i know, can i get the CIMB Enrich Plat while now i only holding a HSBC gold card with 13k CL? Thanks!
Read the first post and you will get the answer.
ck3lam
post Nov 2 2010, 11:26 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Nov 2 2010, 03:03 PM)
Can anyone help me with this..
Is the uob one platinum credit card a real platinum card?
I just found that like citibank's cash back platinum card is not really a real plat card.
Does it really matter if the card is plat or not? As long as the card suits you, even a classic card with great promotions all year long is already very good.
Some platinum cards cannot even match with titanium or gold card, the same goes to WMC/VI. Sometimes people are chasing so-called "status" rather than really looking at its benefits.

Of course I'm not pointing anyone here, just a friendly reminder what is the most important and why you need to apply a credit card, not because it is plat or world/infinite.

A useful link.
Swipesmart6E

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Nov 2 2010, 11:51 PM
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 12:51 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 3 2010, 11:28 AM)
In future, perhaps Classic Card is the most exclusive card that everybody in queue is looking at your card wondering what card is that? Is it the latest prestige card?  tongue.gif
This sounds familiar tongue.gif

QUOTE(Marcian @ Nov 3 2010, 11:37 AM)
Are you for real?!  Who are all these important people you're trying impress with just a Platinum card?  I'm dying to know.
Perhaps the pretty lady cashier? Or the lady who you are dining with? Ha…

Well, if you want to impress others by showing the card, Alliance You:nique card can allow you to have your very own unique design. Depends on your design, it can end up like a telephone card or a Plat/WMC/VI-like card tongue.gif

If for comparison, I’ll be more impress with those who pay lump sum cash instead of credit card. You can have a nice plat card with huge debts, but cash could mean you really afford it. And also will make you think twice before spending your hard earned money.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Nov 3 2010, 12:53 PM
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 01:03 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 3 2010, 12:27 PM)

Added on November 3, 2010, 12:30 pm
better than silver/gold alth plat is quite common now adays but then again, not many have that.
Even a lot of people is having WMC/VI cards already. People can hardly see what card you are holding, if they can see closely, better be careful. Maybe they are not looking at your shiny card status, but the numbers... cool2.gif
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 01:17 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 3 2010, 01:02 PM)
LOL. That was extracted from your previous reply. Hope you don't mind laugh.gif

Ha...it's ok, no copyright..

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 3 2010, 01:06 PM)
but i wud take out my Plat in front of my boss (have to act poor) or cant let them know we are using plat same as them .

Otherwise no increment this year tongue.gif

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 3 2010, 01:06 PM)

Added on November 3, 2010, 1:07 pm
but the cashier can
like to see their impression (some they do show).
Their impression maybe fake to cover their act, they maybe are memorizing the card validity, CVC etc...next month statement will be wow....(ha...no offense)

Of course some junior cashiers will be very impressed with it as they don't really know more about cc.
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 01:21 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 3 2010, 01:18 PM)
So, when you see your boss take out a normal Gold card, don't laugh  wink.gif
rclxms.gif ...can buy a house already...
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 01:27 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 3 2010, 01:22 PM)
I heard syndicates got special device which looks like a card terminal to extract user details. These cashiers/waiters are bribed to do so.
Not too sure about this but a lot of cases like switching different card when return, over charge which don't belongs to you and so on. Just take necessary precautions to avoid this kind of things from happening.
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 06:12 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 3 2010, 01:48 PM)
It is called a skimmer. Not so much of a problem for us here anymore with the introduction of the EMV.
Still a problem for a lot of part of Europe coz they are not on EMV. (or non-EMV cards)
Mostly in US I guess, still use magnetic stripe. I think they are migrating it slowly now for better security.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 3 2010, 01:58 PM)
He said he like Gold colour. Citibank had sent him Platinum card many times, but he never activated any of the cards. The bank couldn't do anything but increase his CL.
Maybe Gold brings ‘ONG’, which means prosperous in Chinese, especially good for business man. When we place gold card and plat card next to each other, gold card is more shinning. Most plat cards are black, with a few exceptions of silver and blue.

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 3 2010, 02:45 PM)
but i like the word "P" smile.gif
Off topic: Do you stick a 'P' also in your car windscreen?

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 3 2010, 03:17 PM)
or should it be I m Homo   brows.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 3 2010, 03:27 PM)
Except ck3lam, has anyone else received the letter from SCB about the 5% cash back for November 2010? I inquired SCB CS officers a few times but they were not aware of this promotion.
It is not advertised in their website, so I believe the promotion is applicable to selected card holders only. I think some banks offer special promotions to particular customer, Citibank is the obvious one compare to the others which I often receive promotions not stated in the website. But their CS is quite efficient as they can check through their system when I asked them.

Added on November 3, 2010, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(johnnyc @ Nov 3 2010, 04:59 PM)
Maybe, due to some limitation of Islamic card, it was not popular. the good thing is separate credit limit for these.
just aware of some shop' terminal can't accept Islamic card. so be ready with backup card. LOL
especially bar/club. No alcohol.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Nov 3 2010, 06:14 PM
ck3lam
post Nov 3 2010, 07:04 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 3 2010, 06:39 PM)
I did not get it as well. Maybe he holds a different card perhaps? Im holding a Business Plat.
It doesn't matter which card you are holding as the T&C said it applies to any SCB card. Anyway, I think it is like Citibank's style which is special promotion for selected card members only.

However, I'm not sure whether it is a random selection or they will base on some criteria like expired soon, new card member, outstanding balance, good repayment record etc.

Added on November 3, 2010, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Nov 3 2010, 06:39 PM)
miles, nope
its underused

could it be cimb system problem?
how many times have you tried? I have experienced some cards will automatically block by itself if there are 3 unsuccessful transactions at the petrol station.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Nov 3 2010, 07:09 PM
ck3lam
post Nov 4 2010, 08:49 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(juno88 @ Nov 4 2010, 01:34 AM)
thinking of apply credit card. i'm 25 years old. got 2 houses and 1 car under my name. but still i don't use credit card. so far i'm good in manage all my finacial! thinking of apply 1 so i can get rewards or watsoever point when i shop, paying bills, petrol... which 1 to recommend? but i already got bonus link to pump at shell...
Hi Juno88,

Maybe you need to list your priority and also your monthly spending limit in order to see which card is suitable for you.
I can see some of your points are.
- shop, pay bills, petrol
- bonuslink card
- CIMB & Maybank acc
- 3k salary

Is it you only use Shell petrol? Or just because you want to get bonuslink points? Some petrol stations give you higher rebates, for example esso gives you 1.5% rebate by itself. But of course if you think only Shell suits your car better than any other petrol brand, then it’s a different story.

A few options here.
OCBC Titanium: 5% rebate on bills, petrol, groceries, restaurant, 1% for others.
Use bonuslink also when you pump petrol at Shell.
But do remember that if you are not a big spender, the first 1~2 months rebates you get could probably be used to cover the GST charge. Although this card is good but it still depends on your average monthly spending amount and the category that you spend, some people can hardly benefit from it based on their spending pattern, just because everyone says it is good and they apply it.
It may be a bit tough to apply as your monthly salary is about 3k.

I don’t see MB card has any benefit for you in this case and GST will not be waived normally. The Amex gold cc is quite a good card but in general it is second to OCBC Ti. I think you can get the card easily but CL will be a bit low.
For CIMB card, gives you points and great rebates if you spend frequently on Guardian, KFC, starbucks…

Using MBF card also gives you bonuslink point (RM10 = 3 points I think). GST waive upon successful application. If you think you prefer bonuslink points for redemption.

I can say the information you provided is not enough to judge which card is suitable for you and I would suggest you do some research on your own first or provide more information.

ck3lam
post Nov 4 2010, 03:24 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 4 2010, 02:47 PM)
Here's the correct one.
Petrol purchases would not qualify for points from any of the cc providers in Malaysia. However, petrol purchase rebates are excluded as these depends on the bank promotional offerings. so all credit cards will not give you points but you'll still be entitled for rebates depending on the bank promo.

You will still get Bonuslink points for petrol purchases. I know coz I do this - I get cash rebate and Bonuslink points.
Isn't it strange to the statement as bank and Bonuslink are 2 different entity altogether ?
If I understand your statement correctly, are you saying CC will not give points for petrol purchases, am I right?
Well, it is incorrect. Maybank petronas and AMEX CC gives you points. MBF gives you bonuslink points when pumping at any petrol station. Of course pumping at shell with bonuslink card can give you more.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0489sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:33 PM