Guitars Newbie buying guitar XD, all suggestions are appreciated !
Oct 14 2010, 12:19 AM
1,872 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Malaysia |
Ahh,ok,btw what are the basics I should know before going to buy?I'm going to one of those official dealers,so I dun think got any worries about fakes
Oct 14 2010, 12:39 AM
8,275 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 13 2010, 11:53 PM) Is it necessary to get the strap?What's it for actually?Just to hang it on your shoulders and play the guitar while you are standing?So u dun need to always sit down and support it using your arm/chest/legs? straplocks not straps, straps are a must. how you going to pull your rock star moves sitting down? i dont stand up and play much but when i do it gives another dimension of fun. straplocks lock your straps to the guitar, ive had a few canvas straps that broke and caused quite sad dents on my axes. my old godin dropped on the floor cause the strap came out, my current fender hit a table and got a dent on it due to the strap letting go. its either you get a really good strap that wont fail or straplocks, protect your guitar. QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 14 2010, 12:19 AM) Ahh,ok,btw what are the basics I should know before going to buy?I'm going to one of those official dealers,so I dun think got any worries about fakes what you want to play is imp and your budget, buying a yamaha pacifica with single coils to play heavy death metal would take you pretty much to bad tone-dom. but if you already selected the guitar look for scratches, work manship, any bent necks, check if it works, if it feels right and so on.i wont go into tone yet cause i dont think you actually found one that you love |
Oct 14 2010, 02:33 AM
1,591 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
first guitar but never the last
Oct 14 2010, 11:54 AM
44 posts Joined: May 2009 |
thanks for all sifu's advice
This post has been edited by Kuhararin: Oct 14 2010, 11:54 AM |
Oct 14 2010, 12:35 PM
14 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Shah Alam |
just an opinion, i think the acoustic guitar is a good starting point regardless of your musical inclination, whether it is towards heavy metal or easy listening, for its pick up and play nature. i can safely say that most of us here started off on a kapok, except of course those with $$$ to spare. from there on, u can evolve to electric and play any style of music u want. my advice to u is: get urself an acoustic guitar and learn to play Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here... right bro +3kk!?
Oct 14 2010, 01:03 PM
377 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Fuenlabrada |
i played guitar for almost 6 years, yet i having a hard time to buy a new guitar..so, my opinion is it doesn't matter whether guitar for beginner or expert, to buy a right guitar is not as simple as ABC..even nowadays, there become a lot more options..remember u want to make ur money worth every penny so think wise
Oct 14 2010, 03:02 PM
380 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 13 2010, 07:51 PM) Good advice bro thanks,anything to help out a fellow guitarist Btw,what I'm looking at is the Yamaha F-310 or Yamaha-F310P,the difference is that the P means package..it has the guitar,capo,bag,picks,and strap,just like the 5 things that u said should buy,if i get the pack only i can get those things,if not i dunno where to get those stuff,cos I'm buying from the official Yamaha shops..but one thing good bout these official Yamaha dealers is I'm sure they dun sell fakes right? well the most important thing is the guitar,and you already settled on the brand and model(a good one,i might add.yamaha's are extermely underrated,no one gives them the credit they deserve) as for the package,depends on you. if you want to personalize the whole rig and choose it yourself,then buy the guitar je and choose everything yourself. get the pack if you malas nak personalize,and would do that later anyway. as for yamaha official shops,yeah they don't sell fakes for yamaha. kinda obvious don't you think? Added on October 14, 2010, 3:11 pm QUOTE(finalzz @ Oct 13 2010, 07:46 PM) if guitars were investments with guaranteed returns (in this case, ts being really absorbed and interesting in the guitar, progressing at a rapid speed and continues to progress), i'd say then invest the proper amount of money(for decent equipments like a roland microcube and a ibanez rg etc.). reason being simple, it sounds great(compared to sx, other starter pack guitar amps) and plays great for its price. and i truly believe that whenever you play through a decent rig, it inspires you to practise because it sounds decent and bright, not too dead and crappy. investment doesn't have to have a return imo.maybe it's a little costly, but if the interest is there, then i'd say why not. it can be an investment for the future ; ie your kids. eg : my best friend's cousin's late father bought like a hell of a lot of strats and tele's,including the SRV signature strat(yes,the original one,almost 15k+) now it's all his. and he is a f***ing fantastic guitarist. This post has been edited by russellhere: Oct 14 2010, 03:11 PM |
Oct 14 2010, 05:00 PM
1,872 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 14 2010, 12:39 AM) straplocks not straps, straps are a must. how you going to pull your rock star moves sitting down? i dont stand up and play much but when i do it gives another dimension of fun. I have indeed found the one I like,Yamaha F-310 straplocks lock your straps to the guitar, ive had a few canvas straps that broke and caused quite sad dents on my axes. my old godin dropped on the floor cause the strap came out, my current fender hit a table and got a dent on it due to the strap letting go. its either you get a really good strap that wont fail or straplocks, protect your guitar. what you want to play is imp and your budget, buying a yamaha pacifica with single coils to play heavy death metal would take you pretty much to bad tone-dom. but if you already selected the guitar look for scratches, work manship, any bent necks, check if it works, if it feels right and so on. i wont go into tone yet cause i dont think you actually found one that you love QUOTE thanks,anything to help out a fellow guitarist well the most important thing is the guitar,and you already settled on the brand and model(a good one,i might add.yamaha's are extermely underrated,no one gives them the credit they deserve) as for the package,depends on you. if you want to personalize the whole rig and choose it yourself,then buy the guitar je and choose everything yourself. get the pack if you malas nak personalize,and would do that later anyway. as for yamaha official shops,yeah they don't sell fakes for yamaha. kinda obvious don't you think? Well,I think quite many ppl do like Yamaha F-310,dunno bout other models,they say it's a good beginner guitar But the package will cost more,but I think it's more convenient if all the necessary things are in once package |
Oct 14 2010, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 14 2010, 05:00 PM) I have indeed found the one I like,Yamaha F-310 f310 is the best i can reccomend a person if they want quality for a good price.Well,I think quite many ppl do like Yamaha F-310,dunno bout other models,they say it's a good beginner guitar But the package will cost more,but I think it's more convenient if all the necessary things are in once package yamaha's are the mutton of acoustic guitars ; understated,not many people fancy,but it's bloody brilliant,but it keeps getting no credit,because of it's lamb counterparts,like fender,epi,gibson,etc. |
Oct 14 2010, 05:24 PM
962 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(russellhere @ Oct 14 2010, 05:04 PM) f310 is the best i can reccomend a person if they want quality for a good price. Yamaha is good but pricing getting more expensive each year. Yamaha guitar beginner range guitar is pretty good, but when you want to go upgrade to advance level guitar, people normally won't consider yamaha cos there's many other brand build better guitars and the price also cheaper!yamaha's are the mutton of acoustic guitars ; understated,not many people fancy,but it's bloody brilliant,but it keeps getting no credit,because of it's lamb counterparts,like fender,epi,gibson,etc. |
Oct 14 2010, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(la bella @ Oct 14 2010, 05:24 PM) Yamaha is good but pricing getting more expensive each year. Yamaha guitar beginner range guitar is pretty good, but when you want to go upgrade to advance level guitar, people normally won't consider yamaha cos there's many other brand build better guitars and the price also cheaper! true.yamaha's are good if your broke. but if you have the money, there are of course beter options. but this thread isn't about the best acoustic guita, but the best for a broke beginner. |
Oct 14 2010, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(elscorcho14 @ Oct 14 2010, 12:35 PM) just an opinion, i think the acoustic guitar is a good starting point regardless of your musical inclination, whether it is towards heavy metal or easy listening, for its pick up and play nature. i can safely say that most of us here started off on a kapok, except of course those with $$$ to spare. from there on, u can evolve to electric and play any style of music u want. my advice to u is: get urself an acoustic guitar and learn to play Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here... right bro +3kk!? sadly tho i wont recommend a kapok to anyone, i started of with an odd classical guitar i nicked off my friend. but you hare half right. still most of us tend to buy an axe later just cause we like itQUOTE(hidzwan @ Oct 14 2010, 01:03 PM) i played guitar for almost 6 years, yet i having a hard time to buy a new guitar..so, my opinion is it doesn't matter whether guitar for beginner or expert, to buy a right guitar is not as simple as ABC..even nowadays, there become a lot more options..remember u want to make ur money worth every penny so think wise get your tone and know what you like, its easier once you had your tone nailed down. i find that later on most people find buying guitar hard cause they cant decide what they want to sound like. this ends you up with tons of equipment that you dont need. |
Oct 14 2010, 08:13 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
It is a lot better to start off with a decent guitar..
Having a not so good guitar like a kapok will make learning guitar harder because they are poorly made.. I've seen ones with fatter necks to compensate for no truss rod and plastic bridge..hard to play I have a Yamaha F-310 and I can say it is damn good for a beginners guitar..probably the lowest I will go But then next time when better already get a solid wood acoustic guitar..it's tone is awesome compared to laminated wood Happy shredding.. |
Oct 14 2010, 09:14 PM
1,267 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
I suggest a nice used fender made in mexico or a squier if you cant afford the fender
Oct 15 2010, 12:31 AM
377 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Fuenlabrada |
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 14 2010, 07:49 PM) get your tone and know what you like, its easier once you had your tone nailed down. i find that later on most people find buying guitar hard cause they cant decide what they want to sound like. this ends you up with tons of equipment that you dont need. indeed, but thats the tricky part for a guitarist..at one time, u can nail it and the other time just get screwed..when i change my pickup to Dimarzio Evo, i set my expectation for my tone range would be wider since i love to play any kind of song..but then, i realized that its not just the pickup that set your tone.. |
Oct 15 2010, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(hidzwan @ Oct 15 2010, 12:31 AM) indeed, but thats the tricky part for a guitarist..at one time, u can nail it and the other time just get screwed..when i change my pickup to Dimarzio Evo, i set my expectation for my tone range would be wider since i love to play any kind of song..but then, i realized that its not just the pickup that set your tone.. depends on the guitar you have when you change it,and it's quality.and the type of pickups are also important. |
Oct 15 2010, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(hidzwan @ Oct 15 2010, 12:31 AM) indeed, but thats the tricky part for a guitarist..at one time, u can nail it and the other time just get screwed..when i change my pickup to Dimarzio Evo, i set my expectation for my tone range would be wider since i love to play any kind of song..but then, i realized that its not just the pickup that set your tone.. everything does amps, pickups, wood, some folks even go to say bridge. but i think most folks try to get everything in one guitar, they expect a fender to sound like a gibson in the morning and then a fender at night. which is near impossible.however cause its impossible to get everything its better to decide what tone you want and work from it. in sense a Ibanez rg2550z + MT-2 + JCM800 will never beat a Fender 50's reissue + Bassman in a matchup for vintage 50's fender tunes; the fender system would also then suck in metal. ive tried plugging a fender strat in a JVM215 and damn its a hard day in hell you get that thing to go clean (the amp breaks up damn fast). so yea, once you decided "metallica like 80's trash" its easier to build a system and get that specific tone. TS the yamaha f310 is a good guitar for its worth, happy playing! This post has been edited by +3kk!: Oct 15 2010, 07:32 PM |
Oct 15 2010, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 15 2010, 07:28 PM) everything does amps, pickups, wood, some folks even go to say bridge. but i think most folks try to get everything in one guitar, they expect a fender to sound like a gibson in the morning and then a fender at night. which is near impossible. my opinion ; instead finding for a guitar that's fender in the morn and gibson at night,get both however cause its impossible to get everything its better to decide what tone you want and work from it. in sense a Ibanez rg2550z + MT-2 + JCM800 will never beat a Fender 50's reissue + Bassman in a matchup for vintage 50's fender tunes; the fender system would also then suck in metal. ive tried plugging a fender strat in a JVM215 and damn its a hard day in hell you get that thing to go clean (the amp breaks up damn fast). so yea, once you decided "metallica like 80's trash" its easier to build a system and get that specific tone. TS the yamaha f310 is a good guitar for its worth, happy playing! or like me who pokai, epi and squire |
Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(russellhere @ Oct 15 2010, 07:34 PM) my opinion ; instead finding for a guitar that's fender in the morn and gibson at night,get both thats what some of us do, at one point i used to own 6 guitars and sold a few off. 2 is now in the storeroom (my first 2 axes)or like me who pokai, epi and squire still one tends to get the most love lol. not really economical to have like 3 with me, and only love 1 |
Oct 16 2010, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM) thats what some of us do, at one point i used to own 6 guitars and sold a few off. 2 is now in the storeroom (my first 2 axes) well i have a blues band and a rock/punk project in the works,so the les paul and the tele work perfectly covering all the main genres like rock,punk,pop,jazz,even metal kalau i tukar pickups on the lp still one tends to get the most love lol. not really economical to have like 3 with me, and only love 1 |
| Change to: | 0.0340sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:05 PM |