Guitars Newbie buying guitar XD, all suggestions are appreciated !

russellhere
post Oct 13 2010, 06:47 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Kuhararin @ Oct 13 2010, 12:28 PM)
Hi, I want to buy a guitar. i have never learn any other instrument before. so here's a few question im confused of
should i buy electric or acoustic one ? although i personally prefer electric one, are there any big difference?
what model is good for newbie like me ?
what is the price range?
what should i ask for when im buying guitar?
how to check guitar's condition whether it is good or used?
are there any shop you guys recommend biggrin.gif ? [i live in kedah, so either penang or kedah only]

thank you all !
be cheap. for your 1st guitar,around 500 max should be enough.
wether acoustic or electric,depends on what type of music you wanna learn.
if you wanna just play straight rock and blues,go for electric.
but if you wanna be a bit more all rounded and play like sweet stuff,go for acoustic.
ask for price,type of wood(the sound you get is totally different with different types of wood).
electric guitars need an amplifier to work,whereas acoustics need nothing.
since your a 1st time buyer,go with a friend whose a pro.trust me,it will save you from getting scammed.
learning how to distinguish fakes guitars from real,how to check the condition is quite an advanced learning curve,even i have not perfected it yet.try penang for guitar shops,im sure there are alot a good places there.
just remember to go to many stores before settling on what guitar you wanna buy.
i did the mistake of buying my acoustic at a certain place,and 2 days later there's another shop selling the exact same guitar at almost 100 bucks cheaper.

sorry if it's a bit kelam kabut,but i hope this helps laugh.gif

3 most important things to remember ;
-used does not mean broken.you can get great guitars at a cheap price if their used,and they may even be at a better quality than the brand new store guitars.again,go with a pro friend who can help.

-learn everything you can about guitars.the construction,the wood and it's grain,for electrics,the type of pickups,effects,and a bunch of other stuff.don't just dive into it thinking your gonna be damn good the moment you buy a guitar.you need a lot of patients,and most people lose hope halfway sometimes.

-you don't need an expensive brand guitar to be great.a cheap one that you can practice on well works fine,sometimes better.always upgrade to the expensive guitars when your better,so your money is not wasted if you decide to quit.

acoustics - yamaha,ibanez,martinez,fina.these brands are good and reasonably easy to find at a 500 and below budget.

electric - sx,fina.most electric guitars are at least 1000 bucks(including amp) for a decent set.the best guitars you can get at a good price for electrics are these two,nothing else.anything cheaper is crap and a waste of wood,wire and metal.

happy guitaring bro,if you have any questions pm me biggrin.gif

Added on October 13, 2010, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 13 2010, 04:10 PM)
Guys is it better to buy just the guitar itself or buy the package(which contains the guitar and some other extras like capo,gig bag,etc.)?
depends.if you getting your 1st electric and your noob giler,get the pack.
if your pro,personalize what you want.

acoustics,i don't really recommend buying a pack.buy 5 things only,and one is optional ;

guitar(duh)
capo
bag
guitar picks
guitar strap(optional)

remember you get what you pay for sometimes.and sometimes being practical is better than having quality.

think about this ;
you just started out.
you buy a 2000 buck fender guitar because you nak sangat quality.
play for 2 months.
stop because frustrated,cannot play advanced stuff.
2000 ringgit gone.

or-

spend 500 bucks on a decent quality guitar
play
even if stop,not that bad of a loss.

think of guitars as an investment,like how you would your house or car.spend your money wisely.and always learn as much as you can before buying.that is most important.

This post has been edited by russellhere: Oct 13 2010, 06:52 PM
russellhere
post Oct 14 2010, 03:02 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 13 2010, 07:51 PM)
Good advice bro  notworthy.gif Very useful to newbies to me and TS.

Btw,what I'm looking at is the Yamaha F-310 or Yamaha-F310P,the difference is that the P means package..it has the guitar,capo,bag,picks,and strap,just like the 5 things that u said should buy,if i get the pack only i can get those things,if not i dunno where to get those stuff,cos I'm buying from the official Yamaha shops..but one thing good bout these official Yamaha dealers is I'm sure they dun sell fakes right?
thanks,anything to help out a fellow guitarist biggrin.gif
well the most important thing is the guitar,and you already settled on the brand and model(a good one,i might add.yamaha's are extermely underrated,no one gives them the credit they deserve)

as for the package,depends on you.
if you want to personalize the whole rig and choose it yourself,then buy the guitar je and choose everything yourself.
get the pack if you malas nak personalize,and would do that later anyway.

as for yamaha official shops,yeah they don't sell fakes for yamaha.
kinda obvious don't you think? whistling.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(finalzz @ Oct 13 2010, 07:46 PM)
if guitars were investments with guaranteed returns (in this case, ts being really absorbed and interesting in the guitar, progressing at a rapid speed and continues to progress), i'd say then invest the proper amount of money(for decent equipments like a roland microcube and a ibanez rg etc.). reason being simple, it sounds great(compared to sx, other starter pack guitar amps) and plays great for its price. and i truly believe that whenever you play through a decent rig, it inspires you to practise because it sounds decent and bright, not too dead and crappy.

maybe it's a little costly, but if the interest is there, then i'd say why not.
investment doesn't have to have a return imo.
it can be an investment for the future ; ie your kids.

eg : my best friend's cousin's late father bought like a hell of a lot of strats and tele's,including the SRV signature strat(yes,the original one,almost 15k+)
now it's all his.
and he is a f***ing fantastic guitarist.

This post has been edited by russellhere: Oct 14 2010, 03:11 PM
russellhere
post Oct 14 2010, 05:04 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Oct 14 2010, 05:00 PM)
I have indeed found the one I like,Yamaha F-310  thumbup.gif
Well,I think quite many ppl do like Yamaha F-310,dunno bout other models,they say it's a good beginner guitar  thumbup.gif
But the package will cost more,but I think it's more convenient if all the necessary things are in once package  biggrin.gif
f310 is the best i can reccomend a person if they want quality for a good price.
yamaha's are the mutton of acoustic guitars ; understated,not many people fancy,but it's bloody brilliant,but it keeps getting no credit,because of it's lamb counterparts,like fender,epi,gibson,etc.

russellhere
post Oct 14 2010, 05:51 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Oct 14 2010, 05:24 PM)
Yamaha is good but pricing getting more expensive each year. Yamaha guitar beginner range guitar is pretty good, but when you want to go upgrade to advance level guitar, people normally won't consider yamaha cos there's many other brand build better guitars and the price also cheaper!
true.
yamaha's are good if your broke.
but if you have the money,
there are of course beter options.
but this thread isn't about the best acoustic guita,
but the best for a broke beginner.
russellhere
post Oct 15 2010, 06:56 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Oct 15 2010, 12:31 AM)
indeed, but thats the tricky part for a guitarist..at one time, u can nail it and the other time just get screwed..when i change my pickup to Dimarzio Evo, i set my expectation for my tone range would be wider since i love to play any kind of song..but then, i realized that its not just the pickup that set your tone..
depends on the guitar you have when you change it,and it's quality.
and the type of pickups are also important.
russellhere
post Oct 15 2010, 07:34 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 15 2010, 07:28 PM)
everything does amps, pickups, wood, some folks even go to say bridge. but i think most folks try to get everything in one guitar, they expect a fender to sound like a gibson in the morning and then a fender at night. which is near impossible.

however cause its impossible to get everything its better to decide what tone you want and work from it. in sense a Ibanez rg2550z + MT-2 + JCM800 will never beat a Fender 50's reissue + Bassman in a matchup for vintage 50's fender tunes; the fender system would also then suck in metal. ive tried plugging a fender strat in a JVM215 and damn its a hard day in hell you get that thing to go clean (the amp breaks up damn fast).

so yea, once you decided "metallica like 80's trash" its easier to build a system and get that specific tone.

TS the yamaha f310 is a good guitar for its worth, happy playing!
my opinion ; instead finding for a guitar that's fender in the morn and gibson at night,get both biggrin.gif

or like me who pokai,
epi and squire tongue.gif
russellhere
post Oct 16 2010, 10:33 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM)
thats what some of us do, at one point i used to own 6 guitars and sold a few off. 2 is now in the storeroom (my first 2 axes)

still one tends to get the most love lol. not really economical to have like 3 with me, and only love 1
well i have a blues band and a rock/punk project in the works,so the les paul and the tele work perfectly covering all the main genres like rock,punk,pop,jazz,even metal kalau i tukar pickups on the lp tongue.gif
russellhere
post Oct 17 2010, 07:02 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Ch1nGFuX @ Oct 17 2010, 12:32 PM)
Electric vs Acoustic
1. Electric guitars normally need an amp. Obviously cost is higher, even without one the price would be double that of an acoustic.
2. Acoustics are normally lighter, bulkier, can be played anywhere. Since no amp required.
3. Acoustics only have ONE type of tone(sound), electrics have...well, give in to imagination.
4. The way people usually play acoustics and electrics are different. For example: Acoustic - Fingerstyle -plucking with multiple fingers) Electric - Shredding -using picks to pluck for guitar solos

In conclusion: Electric guitar for infinite possibilities. Which is more expensive lol

I don't know much about good models for beginners but I'm going with Strats and Telecasters. Yamaha multitasks too much. Price range for those would be... RM 700 -900? Correct me if I'm wrong please. Amps, my favorite would be Roland Micro Cube (RM 450 maybe?) - Light, small, several good effects to toy around with.

You should ask for an amp discount (if not included), a cable for ur electric guitar to amp, guitar bag (go for a padded bag biggrin.gif), a strap too (Owh, I'm greedy aren't I).

Guitar shops usually sells guitars which are new. But if you wanna check, best way is to see the metal parts. Frets will have rust on top, sometimes even rust/green/blue stuff on the sides if the guitar wasn't maintained properly, which most people don't. Strings can rust, but you can ask shopkeeper for new ones for free I guess. Screws on pickups can rust.

Hope this long winded post helps, correct me if I'm wrong at any part smile.gif
the type of strings really do determine the tone of an acoustic.
acoustics can sound absolutely different bro.

0.0213sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:43 PM