Oct 13 2010, 06:32 AM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
11,400 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
In Penang Hokkien, Sikhs are called "bangkali". AFAIK as I know, there is no word for real Bengalis.
1) Is this true of other Chinese dialects in Malaysia 2) What about outside Malaysia 3) What about other Malaysian languages 4) What is the reason for this confusion ![]() |
Oct 13 2010, 09:16 AM
4,515 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Bengalis are people from Bengal. Bangkali sounded similar to Bengali because the "beng" sound is not common in chinese. It is the same as asking if "roti" is the same for all chinese dialect. While roti may be used by all chinese dialects in Malaysia to refer to bread, the chinese word for roti is "mian bao". I am not sure how indians will refer to Bengalis. I believe it would be similar. After all it is the name of a state in India where these people came from. How many way you think people will refer to Johoreans or Kelantanese. I am sure the sound sylabble "Jo" and "hor" will be intact no matter what language.
Oct 13 2010, 09:27 AM
9,692 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mongrel Isle |
Some call them "mang-ka-li" in chinese dialect.
It is just some weird pronunciations. |
Oct 13 2010, 03:15 PM
Sorry I wasn't clearer. I thought everybody knew ...
Bengalis would be people living Bengal. "a historical and geographical region in the northeast region of the Indian Subcontinent" as wikipedia puts it. Now Bangladesh + West Bengal. Punjab (where Sikhs live), is on the other side of India, about 2000km away. |
Oct 13 2010, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(dkk @ Oct 13 2010, 03:15 PM) Sorry I wasn't clearer. I thought everybody knew ... Now I am confuse. What is you topic actually?Bengalis would be people living Bengal. "a historical and geographical region in the northeast region of the Indian Subcontinent" as wikipedia puts it. Now Bangladesh + West Bengal. Punjab (where Sikhs live), is on the other side of India, about 2000km away. |
Oct 13 2010, 03:30 PM
9,692 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mongrel Isle |
QUOTE(dkk @ Oct 13 2010, 03:15 PM) Sorry I wasn't clearer. I thought everybody knew ... Well, in short, most people in Malaysia get confused. Bengalis would be people living Bengal. "a historical and geographical region in the northeast region of the Indian Subcontinent" as wikipedia puts it. Now Bangladesh + West Bengal. Punjab (where Sikhs live), is on the other side of India, about 2000km away. I for one can't tell which is Punjabi or Bengali. It never crossed my mind. We are just so used to the name "Bangkali" or "Mangkali". This is an interesting topic. P/S It is just like we call Indonesian "Indon" without really knowing they are Javanese, Bugis etc. This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 13 2010, 03:33 PM |
Oct 13 2010, 03:50 PM
590 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 13 2010, 03:30 PM) Indonesian is country people. Javenese, Bugis, Chinese, Malay, Boyan, Acheh, Madura(Really scary one) are RACES.Bengali ada misai panjang kot haha. This post has been edited by SkywalkerxX: Oct 13 2010, 03:52 PM |
Oct 13 2010, 04:16 PM
Before I write my apologies to the Sikhs. I do not mean any insults.
I think it is the turban. Sikhs wear turbans. As I understand it, it a religious thing to wear a turban. Bengalis also wear turbans. I guess they had a strong turkish and arabic influence being closer to those nations. |
Oct 13 2010, 04:26 PM
746 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
The actual Bengali you are referring is what we know now as "Bangla". Bangladeshis do not wear turban and most of them are Muslims.
Punjabi is an ethnic/race but Sikhs is a religious group of that consists mainly Punjabis. |
Oct 13 2010, 04:31 PM
Naruto,
Perhaps they did during the colonial days. |
Oct 13 2010, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 13 2010, 04:31 PM) hmm from the Indian history books I've read, there are minority Punjabis who lived in Bangladesh (well, there was no Bangladesh at that time, refer to the area you've explained earlier).From such knowledge, many Chinese immigrants (well, referring to that time) thought that they are the "Bengali" because they did come from Bengal (modern day Bangladesh) region - while in fact, they are minority Punjabi living in that mentioned region. |
Oct 13 2010, 11:28 PM
590 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(najminaruto @ Oct 13 2010, 04:26 PM) The actual Bengali you are referring is what we know now as "Bangla". Bangladeshis do not wear turban and most of them are Muslims. Bangla is bangla dude. Bengali is different.Punjabi is an ethnic/race but Sikhs is a religious group of that consists mainly Punjabis. but your second sentence make sense, it is better we ask Punjabi and Bengali. |
Oct 14 2010, 05:07 AM
QUOTE(najminaruto @ Oct 13 2010, 05:10 PM) hmm from the Indian history books I've read, there are minority Punjabis who lived in Bangladesh (well, there was no Bangladesh at that time, refer to the area you've explained earlier). I initially thought this is a silly reason. If there are Sikhs in Bengal, and some of them came to Malaya. Why did we call them Bengali when (1) most Bengalis in Bengal are not Sikhs (2) most Sikhs in Malaya did not come from Bengal.we From such knowledge, many Chinese immigrants (well, referring to that time) thought that they are the "Bengali" because they did come from Bengal (modern day Bangladesh) region - while in fact, they are minority Punjabi living in that mentioned region. Then I found this article here http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...81336&sec=north which answers some of my original questions. Their informal poll shows that nearly all Malaysians (though I suspect they conduct their poll only in KL) use "Bengali" to refer to "Sikhs". However it leaves two other questions still unanswered. 1) do other communities outside Malaysia similarly use "Bengali" to refer to "Sikhs"? What about in Sabah and Sarawak. 2) how did this mistake arose? It seems that the reason you put out is the best we have so far. However, I would like to know if you did read/hear this somewhere, or is it just conjecture on your part. Since I opened the thread, I've learnt that using "Bengali" to refer to Sikhs is incorrect. Normal English language usage tells us that a Bengali is a person who comes from Bengal. For example, a Pakistani is a person from Pakistan. Punjabi is also the wrong term since not all people from Punjab are Sikhs (although 60% of Indian Punjab are Sikhs). |
Oct 14 2010, 08:56 AM
140 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Bengali are not sinkhs.
A Sikh is a follower of Sikhis religion while Bengali people are an ethnic community native to the historic region of Bengal (now divided between Bangladesh and India) in South Asia. Added on October 14, 2010, 8:56 amPunjabi are people from Punjabs This post has been edited by Potatojii: Oct 14 2010, 08:56 AM |
Oct 14 2010, 04:33 PM
2,041 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
so... is Benggali is an offensive term? i think its offensive, i never dare to say the word Benggali to my Sikh friends
Oct 14 2010, 04:51 PM
Oct 14 2010, 05:02 PM
274 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Camelot |
why then we call Portuguese as Benggali Putih.... they are not from Bengal
Oct 14 2010, 05:16 PM
Oct 14 2010, 05:32 PM
159 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
For what I know Sikh is a religion and Punjab is a place
Anyone can be a Sikh but Punjabi is people who comes from Punjab I not know about what benggali is Roti benggali I know |
Oct 15 2010, 09:16 AM
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:59 PM |