★★★THE NEW NISSAN TEANA 2010 ★★★, ★The Dawn of a New Luxury★

cybermaster98
post Dec 3 2010, 09:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Dec 2 2010, 07:05 PM)
if i plan to buy a teana, and teana price will increase 7000 by next year, do u think is it worth to buy it now or 2011 ?

i plan to use it for at least 7 years smile.gif

lets say 2.0 high spec, 142k if buy now, 2011 is 149k smile.gif

the 2nd hand value will differ much ? lesser or greater than 7k ?
The same tactic was used by Mazda for the M3. They said price will increase after the initial few months and they went ahead and increased by about 3K if im not mistaken. But later when they realised that it didnt work, they starting offering RM3k in overtrade.

If Nissan plans to increase the Teana's price by 7K and NOT offer any overtrade and discounts after that, then it would be wise to go for it now since the loss in resale value for a 2010 model will be covered by the 7K price increase in 2011 models.

But knowing Nissan and their habit of offering discounts and over trades as it is with the Sylphy and Sentra, is should be the same case for the Teana in future.
cybermaster98
post Dec 3 2010, 09:44 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zoomckng @ Dec 3 2010, 02:24 AM)
get the teana. too many accords on the road.
Even more Toyota Camry's on the road.
cybermaster98
post Dec 3 2010, 02:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Dec 3 2010, 12:19 PM)
i have bought s Sylphy few months back and my brother is deciding whether to get the Teana or the Accord now.....I have been driving the Sylphy for few months now and i m very happy with the card in terms of FC and NVH....i could clock 450-500k on city driving and 700km on highway
Getting 450-500km in city driving for a 52L fuel tank is just normal i guess. Just for your info, a Toyota Vios with a 42L fuel tank can easily get 550km in 100% city driving. But of course the Sylphy weighs more.

cybermaster98
post Dec 3 2010, 03:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Dec 3 2010, 03:29 PM)
bro....u r not comparing apple to apple.....how can you compare a 1.6 to a 2.0 for FC.....i m talking about comparing altis and civic.....

its not surprising that a vios has better FC cos of the engine size n d car's weight....

bro....seriously ...whats with you and Toyota......its either you are a typical Toyota fanboy or you are a toyota sales person.....
Were u born blind? Did u not see me mention that it was for his info only? Did u not also notice i mentioned the difference in weight? vmad.gif

My post was mainly to inform him that getting a 450-500km mileage in 100% city driving is normal. I used a Vios as a matter of comparison since i knew the exact figures. U can also get such consumption with an Altis or a Civic.
cybermaster98
post Dec 4 2010, 09:49 PM

4,440 posts

I finally got to see the Teana up close and personal. Now im truly convinced that the Teana will not do very well here in Malaysia. The shape is weird at the back and it has this old uncle'ish look. The interior leg room is average. The rear leg room is less than the upcoming Hyundai Avante for sure. The doors arent as solid as i was made to believe after reading some posts above. I think the Sonata has a better feel to it. The Teana is 1 car that will cause ppl to look now when its new but give it about 6 months and it wont attract much attention anymore.
cybermaster98
post Dec 8 2010, 01:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 6 2010, 09:46 PM)
Sonata? Hell that's going to be the last on my list if I were to choose for Teana and Sonata. Engine is horrible, sluggish and underpowered for a 2.0 car (Sonata).

Don't cry when City overtake Sonata when you're going uphill to Genting.

The Teana on the other hand has the luxurious feel and no doubt Nissan engine is reliable and powerful.
Have u driven the Teana 2.0 or are u merely quoting something biased? the 2.0 Sonata may be sluggish due to the weight of the car. Just like the 1.6L Forte is sluggish also.
cybermaster98
post Dec 8 2010, 01:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(OnOne @ Dec 6 2010, 05:55 PM)
did u test drive the car??? sweat.gif  doh.gif
Most cars feel great during the test drive. But does excellence in a test drive determine sales?? Surely not.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 8 2010, 01:37 PM
cybermaster98
post Dec 8 2010, 04:12 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hosiery2u @ Dec 8 2010, 03:55 PM)
Dude, where did you get the fact that the new Hyundai Avante will have better rear leg room? And the door aren't solid? What car you compare to? Mercedes or BMW or Audi? If you compare to Hyundai Sonata, I can comirm that the Teana is more solid, maybe you will feel the Sonata door "heavier" but actually I have tried it, I found the Hyundai made the door joint more "feedback" and make the door a liitle harder to close and mislead a lot of people that Teana door not solid enough. I'll reckon you close the door with certain amount of power, you will hear what is actually "solid" is!
I spent about 30 mins with the Avante during KLIMS. I sat in every seat too. I also shuttled in between the Sonata and the Avante to get a better comparison.

Solidness is different from difficulty in closing the door. I know that difference well enuf. Im depending on the feel of the door during closing and opening. Anyway, its just my feel. Either way, im not impressed with the Teana. Maybe my expectations were raised after reading all the comments here. The rear design actually looks bad when ure much closer to the real model in comparison with photos. The bumper is really out of place and too big.

Anyway, we'll let the sales figures decide on its popularity.
cybermaster98
post Dec 8 2010, 04:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 8 2010, 03:59 PM)
Driven both. The engine of the 2.0 Sonata is definitely more sluggish and rougher if compared to the Teana. It's not the weight of the car, it's the engine itself. You can feel it through the revs.
The Sonata has 165HP compared to the 136HP of the Teana. Torque is also higher for the Sonata. Plus the Sonata is 51kg lighter. Are u sure the Sonata 2.0L feels sluggish compared to the Teana? Maybe its the unit u test drove. I dont see how the Sonata can be more sluggish and underpowered compared to the Teana.
cybermaster98
post Dec 9 2010, 10:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Dec 9 2010, 09:39 AM)
I also tested the Soonata, and found that the 2.0L has higher HP and torque, but when driving it, this isn't the same as on the paper, I also found the Teana is much responsive, hence feel Teana has more power and torque, but on paper isn't the case. So if really want to know which car is more responsive and more power, please go to test it, don't just read it on the paper!
I think the issue is the same with the current Honda City. Even though its a 120HP but u dont feel it during stand still rev's. This is because the higher HP is used for the higher revs. Meaning that at say 130kmh, the City will be able to suddenly accelerate much faster than a lower HP engine who gives most of the HP at lower revs.
cybermaster98
post Dec 10 2010, 09:51 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:15 PM)
no point fighting here...this is teana forum..not complaining car forum ...
Big difference between 'complaining' and 'comparing'. Nothing wrong with comparing. Its still on topic.
cybermaster98
post Dec 10 2010, 12:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Dec 10 2010, 12:46 PM)
for tan chong motors:

you would be able to command the leading market share if the teana has :

1) full touch screen monitor with navigation & reverse camera
2) 17" rims for the 2.4
3) yr existing twin exhaust pipes, that is a good differentiator
4) sun + moon roof for the 2.4, very nice to have tho' not a deal breaker for me
5) gated gear shift
They can command the leading market share merely with those 5 items above???? shocking.gif

Are u serious? U actually believe that with 5 cosmetic additions, the Teana is gonna sweep away the market of that segment? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 10 2010, 12:58 PM
cybermaster98
post Dec 10 2010, 02:57 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Dec 10 2010, 02:46 PM)
If Tan Chong continue to slumber in its service centre quantity (quality is a whole new different argument I don't want to get in here) and still giving out 'authorized service centre' to shops that put Nasa oil into Teana, then having those stuff doesn't help sales much at all.

Well if those were there, Toyota & Honda could just counter it by issuing short facelift with those stuff included - and Tan Chong back to square one.
Exactly my point. Most ppl dont realise that market sentiments in Malaysia are different to that in foreign countries like US. Here since our cars are overpriced, we usually try n keep them longer. Because of that, aspects like resale value and quality after sales service are sometimes more important factors than specs itself. Any car who wants to do well in Malaysia has to ensure their after sales service and maintenence costs are reasonable. Then comes all the other factors as well.
cybermaster98
post Dec 10 2010, 02:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Dec 10 2010, 01:02 PM)
yes, if accord n camry remain the way they are, more people looking for a d segment jap car (more and not all, and yes, u may not be in the more) will buy the newer teana.
I think even if Camry n Accord remain the way they are (which they wont based on the newer models being planned), the Teana will surely not be able to compete. Its specs and overall looks are nothing to shout about. I would say the Koreans are more of a threat to Toyota & Honda rather than Nissan itself...in Malaysia.

Teana might get some sales between now and mid of next year only. But by then, the specs for the new Camry replacement model should be released and ppl will already start holding their purchases. I mean who wouldnt when Toyota have already said that the upcoming Camry will be a radical change including a new generation 6 speed auto gearbox, dual VVTI engine and a host of safety features. Even now, despite being 4 years old, the Camry still sells about 1000 units per month.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 10 2010, 03:21 PM
cybermaster98
post Dec 11 2010, 02:27 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Dec 10 2010, 05:47 PM)
hehehe ... i like very much for hyundai to progress ... more competitors, the better for the consumer ... i m really looking for a 2.4 sedan, the new sonata with its 5yrs/300k warranty looks appealing to me ... even if its engine is less refined than the japs .. im still deliberating over teana/accord/sonata/sante fe (tho' suv)... how i wish for the peugeot 508 be launched here .. tongue.gif
Just wait for the Camry. I am too.
cybermaster98
post Dec 13 2010, 10:21 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 11 2010, 05:51 PM)
If you're looking for a spirited drive, why are you looking at the 2.0 instead of the 2.5 V6?

Anyhow, I would put NONE of the Japanese D segment cars we have here as a 'spirited drive'. May I point you towards BMW instead. You can start from the 325 onwards.
I think cost is also another factor for him and many of us as well
cybermaster98
post Dec 16 2010, 09:50 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(cheonwai @ Dec 15 2010, 10:46 PM)
Jimmy, congrat in getting your new baby, pls share with us more how you feel about the car, the pros & cons...  notworthy.gif
Do u really think he's gonna share any cons??? Common la. If u want a real evaluation of anything u need to ask neutral parties la. If u wanna know specific details about specs, maintenance, etc then ask owners (but not the new ones since they need time to get to know the car themselves)
cybermaster98
post Dec 21 2010, 02:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Dec 21 2010, 02:46 PM)
We are going to place order after the new year, to make sure we get a Teana manufactured in 2011!
After the new year may not mean a 2011 model. There will always be left over stock from 2010. Usually ull be able to get 2011 models from March.
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2011, 09:52 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jimmynhs @ Jan 1 2011, 10:26 PM)
[attachmentid=1970198][attachmentid=1970199][attachmentid=1970200] Just changed my rim from 16 inch to 18 inch..Maintained the same diameter for ride's quality or else can definitely go till 19 or 20 inch.. nod.gif
Aiyoo why the heck did u change the rims la??? U really make the car look 'cheapo' with the ah beng look. Common la! This is an executive level car not some ah beng proton wira la. The previous rims were much better looking. Big mistake changing them.
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2011, 11:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Jan 3 2011, 11:28 AM)
When owner is trying to convert their ride to a more sporty look, this is their preference. Some people prefer to maintain the executive look while some other will prefer to more to sporty look. Cheapo or no cheapo is in your mindset, when your mindset is cheapo, then everything for you will be cheapo.
Aiya..this is a forum where everybody shares THEIR opinion. We are not talking about other opinions. When i share im sharing MY opinion. Whether you choose to accept or otherwise, its your personal choice. But that doesnt mean that i cannot voice out MY opinion. Im not saying that he MUST CHANGE BACK to the original rims am i?

Added on January 3, 2011, 11:39 am
QUOTE(feelfree @ Jan 3 2011, 11:28 AM)
When owner is trying to convert their ride to a more sporty look, this is their preference. Some people prefer to maintain the executive look while some other will prefer to more to sporty look. Cheapo or no cheapo is in your mindset, when your mindset is cheapo, then everything for you will be cheapo.
Aiya..this is a forum where everybody shares THEIR opinion. We are not talking about other opinions. When i share im sharing MY opinion. Whether you choose to accept or otherwise, its your personal choice. But that doesnt mean that i cannot voice out MY opinion. Im not saying that he MUST CHANGE BACK to the original rims am i?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 3 2011, 11:39 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0348sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:14 PM