4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Competition Blitzone & Net Master StarCraft 2 Tournament, SC2 [1 vs 1] & [2 vs 2] Tournament

crashtec
post Oct 13 2010, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(Timber2k7 @ Oct 13 2010, 03:07 AM)
nope not a problem, cant say unfair as it takes skill to learn extra races as well!
Is random a race? Cause i've never seen Random during registration.

Its either, chinese, Malay, Indian or Dan Lain-Lain.

kekekeke...

I don't think race change is a problem, though its pretty silly to do random in a 1v1. But perhaps i'll give you a bonus if you win the tourney with Random.

Nandeska
post Oct 14 2010, 02:53 AM

216 posts

the 1st match of the tourney is BO1 or BO3?
TSAuricom
post Oct 14 2010, 05:07 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Oct 14 2010, 02:53 AM)
the 1st match of the tourney is BO1 or BO3?
For both tournaments, its Single Elimination, BO3 all the way.

Map selection is via veto. The process for the map veto is in the R&R.
Holyboyz
post Oct 14 2010, 10:27 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(crashtec @ Oct 13 2010, 12:12 PM)
Is random a race? Cause i've never seen Random during registration.

Its either, chinese, Malay, Indian or Dan Lain-Lain.

kekekeke...

I don't think race change is a problem, though its pretty silly to do random in a 1v1. But perhaps i'll give you a bonus if you win the tourney with Random.
yes random is a proper race, yes people has and can win with random. yes there are pros and cons in playing random.

A player should register his race and stick to it throughout the tourney.some races have grave advantages on diff maps

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Oct 14 2010, 10:28 AM
Instinct
post Oct 14 2010, 07:29 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Oct 14 2010, 10:27 AM)
yes random is a proper race, yes people has and can win with random. yes there are pros and cons in playing random.

A player should register his race and stick to it throughout the tourney.some races have grave advantages on diff maps
Yes, I support this !
crashtec
post Oct 14 2010, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Oct 14 2010, 10:27 AM)

If you think a map is advantages to a particular race, remove it via veto, the reason that format is there is to have as many map choices as possible without comprimising all players ability to win. You must understand that the maps arent fixed and the veto is there for a reason.

Games are also best of 3. If you happen to choose 3 maps that is advantageous to your opponent, that isnt a format flaw, it is your inexperience to choose the right maps.

Please think before posting these things and read the rules and reg before posting about something that is already in it.

Holyboyz
post Oct 15 2010, 10:20 AM

421 posts

@ ^

rules dont state whether changing races in between maps is allowed or not if allowed i dont see the point in the veto system since we can pick races that might have advantages on certain maps eg. i win first round he picks Lost Temple i go yay terren( plz dont bring balance in here im just giving an example) . If not then races are chosen and locked before map veto i dont see the point in allowing us to race switch cuz the only factor here that would enduce one to race switch is that he looks at ur current race and thinks he could do better with another? and in turn u might race switch also because he did?

I dont know i dont think that works, GSL uses the 1 race rules

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=141496

Or u could go for the MLG rule set

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=141054

Where the only the loser gets to race pick but and their races are not revealed on the brackets only when they meet. but this set is to much of a hassle to inforce and its made for an online tourney

I stand that races should be locked

ps:blind pick of races in the MLG format means that player A and B PICKS thier races but is unknow to each other till until the meet ingame but thier races are still locked. the only time they can change is when they lose. but only the loser may change

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Oct 15 2010, 10:22 AM
crashtec
post Oct 15 2010, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Oct 15 2010, 10:20 AM)
@ ^

rules dont state whether changing races in between maps is allowed or not if allowed i dont see the point in the veto system since we can pick races that might have advantages on certain maps eg. i win first round he picks Lost Temple i go yay terren( plz dont bring balance in here im just giving an example) . If not then races are chosen and  locked before map veto i dont see the point in allowing us to race switch cuz the only factor here that would enduce one to race switch is that he looks at ur current race and thinks he could do better with another? and in turn u might race switch also because he did?

I dont know i dont think that works, GSL uses the 1 race rules

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=141496

Or u could go for the MLG rule set

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=141054

Where the only the loser gets to race pick but and their races are not revealed on the brackets only when they meet. but this set is to much of a hassle to inforce and its made for an online tourney

I stand that races should be locked
ps:blind pick of races in the MLG format means that player A and B PICKS thier races but is unknow to each other till until the meet ingame but thier races are still locked. the only time they can change is when they lose. but only the loser may change
GSL RULESET (64 PLAYER PRELIM)

- Maps: 1set : Metalopolis 2set: Scrap Station 3set: Xel'Naga Caverns
This is why they race lock. Maps are locked.
Also, 64 player tournaments are not easy to run, simplifying to lock the maps and races are understandable.

4. Race Selection
A player may switch their race at any point during the tournament

Seriously. ITS EVEN ITS OWN TOPIC.

This post has been edited by crashtec: Oct 15 2010, 01:09 PM
crashtec
post Oct 15 2010, 01:53 PM

Howdy all,

As of 15th October 2010, Merely days after the tournament's opening, the 32 of 32 player slots for the 1v1 Tournament is filled, with 3 (originally 5 - removed 2 due to duplicated applications) players on the waiting list.

The waiting list limit for 1v1 is set at 16. (3 of 16)

The 2v2 Tournament currently has 10 of 16 slots filled. Do remember that you may participate in both tournaments as the events are separate.

Also, if you do not have your own account, blitzone will provide you one (depending on the availability) on the event day.

So send in your registrations ASAP before time runs out!

Regards,

Brian
ESP Crossfire Team
Holyboyz
post Oct 15 2010, 02:37 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(crashtec @ Oct 15 2010, 01:02 PM)
GSL RULESET (64 PLAYER PRELIM)

- Maps: 1set : Metalopolis 2set: Scrap Station 3set: Xel'Naga Caverns
This is why they race lock. Maps are locked.
Also, 64 player tournaments are not easy to run, simplifying to lock the maps and races are understandable.
4. Race Selection

Seriously. ITS EVEN ITS OWN TOPIC.
I know that in the RnR, what query still stands CAN I CHANGE my race after maps are vetoed?

IF YES!! then whats the point if the Veto when someone can just play races specific to a map??

eg.Player A and B Vetoed down to B.sands/Lost temple and scrap sation. First map is Scrapstation so player A goes Zerg he wins and B choses Lost Temple as 2nd map player A proceeds to chose Terran.<< IMO whats the poing of veto

IF NO!! if not then why not just have a fixed race?since the only time we can change is BEFORE maps are vetoed.

and i dont see the point in allowing race change.

PS:WOWOOWOWOW 32 LIAO!!!! LETS GOOOOO!!!!!

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Oct 15 2010, 02:38 PM
crashtec
post Oct 15 2010, 05:05 PM

Geez, why are you so afraid of people changing races prior to a match?
What are you really afraid of? People countering you prior to a match or people countering you in a match?

The point of VETO is to remove a map you dont like. Dont like doesnt mean you cant win. You just dont like the map.

In a competitive sense, it shouldnt matter, because it will still boil down to your individual skill. If its hard, its because you're going against someone who knows the map and his race well.

You see, if you lock the races AND the maps AND if your theory that maps are imba towards certain races then zerg/terran/toss will ALWAYS win certain maps, which in turn mean that one particular race will ALWAYS lose a certain map, which also means that if I as the organizer choose 3 maps on my own and they are all "imba" to zerg - your theory also means that everyone will take zerg and everyone will win? How does that work?

Also :

4. Race Selection

Yes, this means he can swap his race just before the timer hits 3 seconds and turns himself miraculously from a Dan Lain-Lain into a Chinese man. Pun intended.

oh god save me falk.

This post has been edited by crashtec: Oct 15 2010, 05:13 PM
Holyboyz
post Oct 15 2010, 05:14 PM

421 posts

^ that was all i needed

ps: no scare just a query has exp probs like this b4 wananana be confrimes

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Oct 15 2010, 05:16 PM
crashtec
post Oct 15 2010, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Oct 15 2010, 05:14 PM)
^ that was all i needed

ps: no scare just a query has exp probs like this b4 wananana be confrimes
Don... you are a real banananana you know that.

bodo.
TSAuricom
post Oct 15 2010, 10:58 PM

51 posts

Well, Brian basically got the gist of what I would have said.

No PC at home and I didnt feel like typing out a long-winded reply on my mobile device.
joelee90
post Oct 17 2010, 09:39 PM

are there any slots left for 1 v 1 ??
aLertz
post Oct 18 2010, 03:02 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(joelee90 @ Oct 17 2010, 09:39 PM)
are there any slots left for 1 v 1 ??
it's full but u still can reg n will be in waiting list like me =.="
crashtec
post Oct 19 2010, 02:34 AM

QUOTE(aLertz @ Oct 18 2010, 03:02 PM)
it's full but u still can reg n will be in waiting list like me =.="
Hi there!

Yes, you may still register, but you will be put on the waiting list for 1v1. The list isnt long, so dont hesitate to register first.

Armageddon
post Oct 19 2010, 05:51 PM

156 posts

any 2v2 slot available?
jackyflc
post Oct 21 2010, 02:21 AM

180 posts

Registered! If you don't mind me asking, how long is the waiting list?
crashtec
post Oct 21 2010, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(Armageddon @ Oct 19 2010, 05:51 PM)
any 2v2 slot available?
2 more slots available smile.gif

Added on October 21, 2010, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(jackyflc @ Oct 21 2010, 02:21 AM)
Registered! If you don't mind me asking, how long is the waiting list?
Hi jacky, the list is now on its 8 of 16 in waiting. smile.gif

Added on October 25, 2010, 3:12 pmHi ladies!

As of today, the 1v1 registrations are full, with 1 player pulling out. That means with the current registration, a player from the waiting list will replace him.

Also, there are still 3 slots for the 2v2.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by crashtec: Oct 25 2010, 03:12 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0254sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:27 PM