Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V10, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

phantomash
post Nov 8 2010, 09:31 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 8 2010, 05:00 PM)
suggestion needed for a temp phone (to use til around mid next year latest)

Brand New Samsung Galaxy 5 (RM699)

or

Second Hand Apple Iphone 3G (NOT 3GS) @ RM8xx)
usage: lotsa SMS...Wifi... pictures..facebook...
n how does the Galaxy 5 handle Angry birds for android with its small reso screen?
base on your usage would recommend you to take galaxy 5,
as your main usage would be sms, there are many choices of keyboards for you to choose from, especially swype brows.gif

other usage that you mentioned, galaxy 5 can handle it well too
as for angry birds, the galaxy 5 is able to play it on qvga resolution.

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Nov 8 2010, 09:16 PM)
angry bird?!
u mean hummingbird on g5?
who says g5 uses hummingbird @ the 1st place =.=

pictures? taking pictures u mean?
if taking pictures both is a not good to go~
ur budget range is?
angry birds is a game bro, don't confuse it with galaxy s's processor tongue.gif
phantomash
post Nov 12 2010, 06:46 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Nikhil17 @ Nov 12 2010, 10:45 AM)
Any Brand
Budget Around 1 Thousand
Touch Screen,3mp camera(5mp preferred)No 2nd hand,No Ap,Screen display must be AWESOMEEEEEE
Bar,Anything
maybe some android phones for you to consider,

Samsung Galaxy 5, HTC Wildfire, CSL Spice Mi300, SE X10 Mini / Mini Pro, Garmin Asus A50, Huawei U8150
phantomash
post Nov 13 2010, 12:25 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(211445 @ Nov 13 2010, 09:13 AM)
wat is price for galaxy s now?....

beside galaxy, wat other ph. that has same condition  as sgs?
HTC Desire, and maybe the upcoming HTC Desire HD
phantomash
post Nov 14 2010, 07:01 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(kevchinyl @ Nov 14 2010, 05:11 PM)
Hmm, Thanks for the tips. If not android based? Leaning towards android because need to use some medical apps. X8 /wildfire camera so so only right?

Thanks, a newbie at touchscreens -Is multitouch that important? The small screen size limits me in what way in terms of usage? Thanks again
multitouch is important for touchscreen phones, wonder why iPhone are so successful?
it is required for many gestures, mostly for pinch to zoom while browsing,
others are like when gaming, some games will require multitouch,
eg. to move left while shooting, etc, so without it you can't play them.
besides that, when typing is also important, so that you can use two fingers to type simultaneously,
not a very significant issue though, since you can just type with 1 finger anyway.

the screen size will affect you when you're typing using the soft keyboard,
imagine typing in such a small screen, it'll be a pain with all the tiny soft (on screen) buttons.
besides that, the resolution will affect apps that are available to you,
not all apps are supported by low resolution, so that might be a downside to you.

for your budget, besides the phone that you've already mentioned,
you can also top up a bit for HTC Aria or Motorola Milestone, both are RM1.3k for AP set.
Otherwise, I agree with ping0613, Wildfire would be your best bet.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 14 2010, 07:04 PM
phantomash
post Nov 15 2010, 09:12 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(kevchinyl @ Nov 15 2010, 04:51 PM)
Thanks for the lesson. The more i learn the more choices i get  rclxub.gif  If i top up to 1300 then Nokia N8 starts to tempt.  Milestone is 1.3k or is it the XT720 that is 1.3k? Top up a bit more past that then looking at HTC desire... Ah well... Still scratching head...

Thanks, but a bit scared of the older symbians.... Keep hearing a lot of bad stories... The apps at the symbian store not that much either right?
you know what? if you can afford a Desire, go for it, currently AP set is only 1.7k, its damn worth it.
It's always being compared to SGS, however it is significantly cheaper than SGS,
being one of the most successful phone from HTC, its guaranteed that you wont regret it.
plus, after you're bored with the default HTC ROM, you can start flashing custom ROMs, and start doing crazy customization on the phone.
I mean, just take a look at the number of custom ROMs that are available for Desire, not counting the future Gingerbread,

still I have to warn you first, there is a known issue of Desire, is that it only supports 2 points multitouch,
meaning you wont get more than 2 points, it wont affect you in daily usage,
however it might cause some problems in gaming.

with all that said, still in the end its your choice.
If you can afford Desire, I would totally recommend it,
otherwise, going for mid end Android phones is not a bad choice too,
or even N8, it has the best camera so far for a smartphone.

QUOTE(ayam1474 @ Nov 15 2010, 08:31 PM)
htc desire ok or not?
let's put it simple, HTC Desire got the "2010 phone of the year" award from T3, so is it ok or not? tongue.gif
phantomash
post Nov 25 2010, 12:31 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(elblink @ Nov 24 2010, 06:55 PM)
Many Thanks!

I'm alright with used phone also that is in good condition.

Will check out N97 mini or N8 or Nokia 5800.

Prefer Nokia more than Sony Ericsson.

Any model from HTC for business use?
Motorola XT720, HTC Aria, Samsung Captivate

QUOTE(holoman @ Nov 24 2010, 07:01 PM)
guys,
i might want to upgrade phone ..
frm 3gs to other phone ..
like to try something new ..
what is the best phone for me ?
for spec,i dont mind,as long as phone is more advance than 3gs

no ip4 pls .. smile.gif
SGS, HTC Desire, Desire Z, Desire HD for Android

or try WP7, HTC HD7, HTC Mozart, HTC Trophy

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 25 2010, 12:31 AM
phantomash
post Nov 27 2010, 01:11 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Nov 27 2010, 11:15 AM)
whats so special with android phone? blink.gif
its like asking whats so special about iOS? sweat.gif

at least you get this Swype

or even Blindtype in the future

this is just a very small part of what android is capable of

basically you need to experience it to know whats so good about it

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 27 2010, 01:11 PM
phantomash
post Nov 27 2010, 01:46 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Nov 27 2010, 01:16 PM)
i see... biggrin.gif  used to win mo edi.. lol..
using android can simply upgrade the version o not?
if you root your phone (what the iphone users call jailbreak)
then you can flash any custom ROM that is built for your phone by custom developers, at anytime / how many times you want to,

otherwise you'll have to wait for the official version, which depends on which brand of android phone that you're buying
you'll need to wait for that brand of android phone to release the upgrade.

but still it depends on which phone you're going for, not every phone gets to upgrade to the latest version, because of hardware limitation
generally the power house like SGS, HTC Desire, Nexus One, Droid X, they will get the latest version of android definitely.
phantomash
post Nov 27 2010, 03:10 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Nov 27 2010, 02:14 PM)
1 question i wana ask, i think that Android is smoother than win mo, how does it stands against iphone? same smooth interface?
smoothness of the interface is quite subjective, different people can have different opinion,
I can't say for other android users too, because different phone might result in different performance
but for HTC Desire, its smooth, for me at least
but IMO iphone is still slightly smoother, because there's only one model,
thus the OS can be very well optimized for the hardware,
but that's just theoretically speaking
phantomash
post Nov 28 2010, 10:45 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(slepth @ Nov 28 2010, 10:21 PM)
Recommend me!

1. Brand = non WinOs hp, adroid phone perhaps
2. Budget = RM1k -1.5K
3. Specs = >4MP, upgradeable storage
4. Type/Size = no clamshell, no keyboard( use touchscreen?)

maybe try Motorola Milestone XT720 (AP), Samsung Captivate, or HTC Aria (AP), Garmin Asus A10,
all of them are Android phones that is within your budget
or you can top up another 100 for HTC Desire AP set

the best display currently in the market is Samsung Galaxy S's Super AMOLED, a better version of AMOLED display
besides it, Apple Iphone 4's Retina display is also one of the best due to its high PPI
and there's also SLCD display that's on HTC Desire, which is on par with AMOLED display

the new type of touchscreen keyboard app,
do you mean Swype?

or BlindType?

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 28 2010, 11:00 PM
phantomash
post Nov 29 2010, 11:29 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(flipoff @ Nov 29 2010, 11:01 PM)
hi i need recommendation between samsung captivate and htc wildfire. can u give me advantage and disadvantages of both phone? smile.gif
Samsung Captivate hands down better,

if you look at the specs, the difference is obvious,
1Ghz processor, SAMOLED display, WVGA (800X480) resolution for the Captivate

basically you're comparing a high end phone with a low end one.
phantomash
post Nov 30 2010, 12:01 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Nov 29 2010, 11:43 PM)
would like to know are there any risk of getting telco locked phone like Samsung Captivate? will there be any chance the phone will locked back or missing of some functions? thank you.
That I do not know, you'll have to ask the seller
I'm not 100% sure about this,
but I think even if (IF) its locked, you can still unlock it,
by debranding and rooting it.

QUOTE(creative zn @ Nov 29 2010, 11:49 PM)
guys, im so torn rite know. i dont know whether to change to N900 (maemo) or Android. rite now use N97. can give some recommendation. below is futures that im looking for that lack in N97.

-i want decent web browser
-i want dedicated instant messenger , like ym, gtalk etc.. if at N97 just got software but it not nice to use and kinda difficult thou.

that all. thanks in advance. smile.gif
both Maemo and Android meets the requirements that you've listed,
but IMO for now I would go for Android,
mainly because the only Maemo OS device now, N900 is using resistive touch screen,
which for me isn't very nice, but that's just me.
phantomash
post Nov 30 2010, 12:40 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(hazelnut58 @ Nov 30 2010, 12:07 AM)
would like to know, wat phone suitable for me
heavy sms, document viewer is important...
camera, got autofocus is enough... and music player sometimes... that's all
what's your budget?
phantomash
post Dec 3 2010, 09:20 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Wilson0011 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:48 PM)
this help me 'alot' instead of 'abit' ,haha, can i play online flash game on Desire HD?
depends on what flash game you're trying to play,
it is possible to load any flash game on the site, however,
if its designed for touch screen phones, then its no problem,
otherwise you may need a physical keyboard and mouse to control, thus making it impossible to play.
phantomash
post Dec 5 2010, 09:05 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Dec 5 2010, 08:54 PM)
just now saw sony x8. i so pening right now, which is the best bang for bucks for phone that is not nokia, under RM1000.

anything will do. please just suggest. smile.gif

i think i need free gps, wifi, video call. the rest i think is just a standard function then its okay.

come across x10 mini, but just now check it out. very2 small. sad.gif

sometimes, i also about all those lg chocolate, samsung etc. Is there any recommendation? thank  sifus. smile.gif
LG Optimus One, MSRP RM899, I think its not available yet but very soon, you can try survey about it

2nd choice maybe Samsung Galaxy 5, RM699
phantomash
post Dec 8 2010, 10:29 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Coisox @ Dec 8 2010, 10:10 AM)
Please advise best <RM1000 phone for me

Important features: Resistive Touchscreen, Accelerometer, QWERTY sms (on screen virtual keyboard also can like N5800), WiFi, Fast screen between apps (open sms fast, open contact fast, etc), browser support youtube, Camera
Less Important: Game, GPRS, Facebook, Twitter or any sosial apps.
Resistive touch screen and under 1k, 5800 seems to be your best choice already
phantomash
post Dec 10 2010, 04:50 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(caroline_gurl @ Dec 10 2010, 01:31 AM)
Hi, I would like to ask about Samsung Galaxy 5 (I5500), how much was it and how was the feedback?

Was considering to buy a phone that have android + touch screen and budget less than 1k.
Any suggestion?
LG Optimus One P500, priced around RM899, not available yet, but very soon
phantomash
post Dec 11 2010, 03:52 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(aj6203 @ Dec 11 2010, 03:31 AM)
Hello guys,

I am looking to get a phone for my mom.Her phone got broken recently. Plus for her birthday as well.

She has been using Samsung for ages and I think I'd like to keep it that way smile.gif

I would like to find a most bang-for the-buck overall Samsung phone below  rm 700.

My main concern is user-friendly, easy to use(intuitive), responsive, and practical interface for an elderly person (any OS will do).

Good multitasking as well as multimedia experience (ie camera, video etc)  is a bonus.

As for the text input, I'd prefer touchscreen and qwerty come together. This is  the first touchscreen phone she'll be using, and touchscreen phones are the in-thing now, so I hope the transition would be easy for her.

If the above reason limits drastically the choices for good Samsung model, full touchscreen capability wouldn't be too bad as long as it works seamlessly. And easy

All suggestions are welcome.

Thank you so much guys.
try Samsung Galaxy 5, retail price RM699 smile.gif
phantomash
post Dec 19 2010, 02:45 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(adrina_rashad @ Dec 18 2010, 09:39 PM)
Hi...I'm planning on replacing my handphone with either X10Mini SE or Nokia X5 or Nokia 5800. Which do u recommend? This is the first time too that I'm considering getting a touch screen or a qwerty.

I wanna phone that is light, has good sound, has wi-fi & user friend. My budget is around RM700-RM800 only. TQ
try Samsung Galaxy 5 RM699, or LG Optimus One P500 RM899
phantomash
post Dec 19 2010, 04:12 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(javeyho @ Dec 19 2010, 03:41 PM)
Dear all,

I'm comparing Iphone 4, with HTC HD7 now. My primary concern is touch screen with big enough screen for me to read e-book and watch video.

any suggestion, or other handphone u recommend? And also u may recommed the Maxis plan. Thanks.
for e book reading, of course HD7 is better for its big screen,
also other phones that you can consider are HTC Desire HD (4.3" screen), and Samsung Nexus S

0.0503sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:10 AM