Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V10, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

phantomash
post Dec 19 2010, 05:27 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(javeyho @ Dec 19 2010, 04:53 PM)
ths for comment, in term of the bigger screen. all friends recommend me go for iphone, for its apps support. Im still thinking of it, what do u think ?
iPhone's screen has high density of pixels, which makes images looks sharp,
but still, it is a SMALL screen, 3.5" compared to HD7 or Desire HD 4.3" screen.
first you have to determine what kind of apps are you looking for?

if you're looking for games, then yes, iPhone has the best apps,
if you're only looking for ebook reading or video watching,
both WP7 and Android are more than capable of doing so.
plus, its not like WP7 or Android does not have games,
they just doesn't have as much compared to iOS.

MOST people out there will recommend you iPhone,
simply because it is an iPhone, it is the "trend" now.
I'm recommending you based on your stated needs.

phantomash
post Dec 19 2010, 09:43 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 19 2010, 09:34 PM)
no matter what its still too small. For me i use ipad to read stuff.
thanks for sharing,
and I use my 24" LCD monitor to read stuff,
but that's not the point now, isn't it?
people is asking for phone recommendation,
and iPad is not a phone.
phantomash
post Dec 20 2010, 02:08 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Dec 20 2010, 01:30 AM)
Huh? I tot android support flash.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Android do support flash, but officially you need Froyo (Android 2.2) to install Flash 10.1 to support flash.

alternatively for Eclair users (Android 2.1) you can try manually installing Flash 10.1 following this link here
phantomash
post Dec 20 2010, 05:23 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

actually for android there are at least 4 gps application available (there are more but I'm not sure about others),
papago, ndrive, aura, and of course google maps,
google maps does not have offline maps,
so it requires constant internet connection,
the other 3 have maps pre installed,
so at most you only need to party for the initial charge.
phantomash
post Dec 20 2010, 09:15 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(saramelia @ Dec 20 2010, 07:40 PM)
1. ANDROID
2. MOST CHEAPEST I CAN GET smile.gif
3. GOOD CAMERA, GOOD PERFORMANCE, can play game, worth the money!
4. Android style, touch screen?

Thanks smile.gif  rclxm9.gif
consider Samsung Galaxy 5 RM699, CSL Mi300 RM699, or LG Optimus One P500 RM899 smile.gif
phantomash
post Dec 24 2010, 06:58 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(ronkj91 @ Dec 24 2010, 06:31 PM)
naw.its kinda hv smaller screen and lower colour count though.
can consider Acer Liquid Metal, but its a new model and its not available yet, but soon.

Acer Liquid Metal thread for more info: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1651934

This post has been edited by phantomash: Dec 24 2010, 06:59 PM
phantomash
post Dec 25 2010, 01:28 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(djronzai @ Dec 25 2010, 01:17 PM)
budget  : RM1300
OS      : android
(exclude xperia 10, will to add on rm100-200 if needed)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH
HTC Desire AP set RM1.5k,
or within 1.3k, Acer Liquid Metal, Motorola Milestone XT720
phantomash
post Dec 25 2010, 03:35 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Blood.Revenge @ Dec 25 2010, 02:47 PM)
Brand: Any
2. Budget: RM700
3. Specs: Android, Wifi, Gps, Pdf reader, music
4. Type/Size: Any
Samsung Galaxy 5
phantomash
post Jan 1 2011, 01:58 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(jsen58 @ Jan 1 2011, 12:38 PM)
hey guys, htc aria or desire better?
in spec i believe desire is better but also much more expensive...
i prefer original phone...
my usage is mainly for online awhile, facebook awhile, apps awhile sms a lot... camera average. which is more suitable for me?
you can get an AP Desire set, currently priced around RM1.5k

Desire is better than Aria not only in terms of hardware, but also software
800X480 (WVGA) resolution means compatible with 99% of apps out there
and the fast processor will allow you to use them without problem
plus there are plenty of custom ROMs developed for Desire,
though it might not be a factor for you to choose Desire over Aria

Based on your stated usage, HTC Aria should be good enough already
phantomash
post Jan 3 2011, 06:01 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(OH- @ Jan 3 2011, 05:01 PM)
To request recommendation, what u need to post:

1. Brand. - Anything as long as it is android
2. Budget. - >1800
3. Specs. - Good camera, not much texting, more to browsing internet. I love exploring and trying things on phones too.
4. Type/Size. No huge abcde keyboards. (Like blackberry, I don't want.) QWERT Keyboards like Vivaz pro is okay. Slide, multitouch also okay. (Better)
HTC Desire HD if you have the budget for it, otherwise SE X10
phantomash
post Jan 4 2011, 12:59 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(mrlol @ Jan 4 2011, 10:03 AM)
Hello guys,

I need professional recommendation here:

1. Brand: HTC vs Samsung vs Iphone
2. Badget: 2500
3. Specs: smartphone (I'm not sure what im going to do with this phone.. lol.. because this is my 1st time looking for smartphone.. pls recommend generally a good one).
4. Type: Touchscreen

Because there're so many pros and cons regarding all of these phones, and i'm blurred which one is better for me...

currently im using nokia 6680 for more than 7 years.. lol.. i actually dont really care about changing new phone technology, but 7 years of using nokia 6680 is too much.. lol... and this time im going to buy a good and better phone and use it for maybe more than 10years before buying a new phone in the future.... lol.. if that too much, maybe 5years but depends on the badget.. lol....

pls guide me.. thank you.
for your budget, there are plenty of choices for you to consider,

for HTC, you can go for HTC Desire HD on Android, or HTC HD7 or Mozart on WP7
for Samsung, there's Samsung Galaxy S and Nexus S on Android,
for iPhone, well there's only one model

all of them have their own pros and cons, suggest you to do some research on them first
for me or anyone to explain them would be ... a long essay

But just IMO, you should wait for at least another month or two,
this is because by this year, the dual core processor smartphones are coming out already,
first off there's LG Optimus 2X, equipped with Nvidia Tegra2 dual core processor,
once its out, every current top end smartphones will instantly turn into mid end ones laugh.gif
however, if you don't care about having the best performance,
then the current top end smartphones are already good enough.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 4 2011, 01:04 PM
phantomash
post Jan 4 2011, 02:56 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Jan 4 2011, 01:39 PM)
Are there touchscreen Android phones available (without major flaws) for ~RM600-800?
for your budget, maybe Samsung Galaxy 5 (RM650+), or LG Optimus One (RM899)

the flaws are below par camera, and small screen,

if you don't mind then those are good choices
phantomash
post Jan 4 2011, 07:51 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(mrlol @ Jan 4 2011, 04:42 PM)
what would u suggest for me? just one brand pls.. lol

tq
what I suggest could be biased as I personally favor Android more,
thus I would suggest you HTC Desire HD,
but again this is just my own preference smile.gif

phantomash
post Jan 4 2011, 09:59 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(edvin88 @ Jan 4 2011, 09:37 PM)
Any pro help me out plz...
I was thinking of buying wildfire initially..but after went shoppin today...i found out this LG optimus one....seems nice also...infact... the sales guy is saying this LG color is sharper n nicer.... and that it has faster processor & ram(dunno true o not)...
juz dat it has 3MP compared wit wildfire 5MP....
in short...that guy is kinda sayin the LG optimus1 is much worthwhile compared with wildfire... as it is cheaper around 200++....
SO wat u guys think? i kinda dun hav confident in LG phones...i heard alot at HTCs..but LG...worry neh...is it good? >_<
yes, the LG Optimus One is indeed a very good phone,
those points that are mentioned by the sales guy is quite true.
the only let down is as mentioned, the camera,
which actually can still take acceptable photos

WF has its own pros too, such as the track pad, sense UI, better build qualtiy
and also looks better (subjective)

anyway, the LG Optimus One is definitely recommendable

phantomash
post Jan 11 2011, 01:34 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(xclent182 @ Jan 10 2011, 03:26 PM)
hI, Can someone help me

1.brand:nokia,LG,samsung,SE,HTC
2.budget:>RM1500 (or RM>1000 will be better)
3.Specs:camera 5mp or higher,mp3,fm radio
4. Type: full touch screen

tq smile.gif
HTC Desire AP set, there's brown and white available,
but white color model is slightly more expensive

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 11 2011, 01:56 AM
phantomash
post Jan 13 2011, 04:08 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 13 2011, 03:54 AM)
need suggestion to buy a new handphone as a present for my beloved dad. he never use any touchscreen (but love to play iPod Touch games from my lil' bro), so i think anything with physical keypad will do.

budget : max 1.5k.

usage : normal task but enjoyable to use. user not a tech-freak, so simpler OS will do.

i am personally think that Nokia N900 is good for him since it have physical keyboard and simple to use (if you are not willing to tweak or whatsoever). N900 price also quite cheap nowadays..

any suggestion?.... hmm.gif
if Maemo is a simple OS, might as well go with Android happy.gif

IMO go with Aria, if he has not used any touchscreen before,
he should now, try something new
simple phone design and very functional even without any sort of tweaks,
plus there are more games that are available for iOS also available on Android

N900 is nice too, but IMO it is more suitable for tech savvy people

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 13 2011, 04:08 AM
phantomash
post Jan 13 2011, 04:21 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 13 2011, 04:15 AM)
thank you phantomash happy.gif checking Aria nao.

anyway, what is your comment regarding N8 as a choice for my dad? hmm.gif
if you're looking for a phone with great camera, then N8 no doubt.
IMO it has the best camera on a phone so far

if your dad is someone who uses the camera on phone a lot and cares about photo quality,
then you should consider N8 smile.gif otherwise skip it, as the UI isn't very user friendly
phantomash
post Jan 13 2011, 04:38 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 13 2011, 04:30 AM)
bolded matter concern me more..

any other suggestion apart from Aria? the design didn't catch my attention, yet sweat.gif ...
hmm, you can also consider HTC Desire, AP set can be gotten for 1.5k or below
but would that be overkill for your dad? sweat.gif

err, or maybe something lower end,
HTC Wildfire, or LG Optimus One
phantomash
post Jan 13 2011, 07:59 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 13 2011, 06:01 PM)
thank you for both of you. yes font is a important factor too.

i never use X10, but stumble seller that sell less than 1.2k. how good is that hp for my dad usage? i think he will never bother patching or updating the phone.. sweat.gif
err personally wouldn't recommend it as a gift for your dad,
mainly because there's no multi touch on that phone,
so for 1 it definitely hinder gaming, and maybe daily usage in general
plus the stock ui from sony ericsson, media scape causes some lag
not saying that its not a good phone though,
besides the mentioned problems,
it is a good phone, big screen, fast processor, and great camera smile.gif
phantomash
post Jan 16 2011, 09:48 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Dell2011 @ Jan 16 2011, 09:34 AM)
What is the cheapest HTC phone on the market? I am kinda new to phones, Ive had my black n white Nokia for ages, thought I'd get a new phone just for kicks. Is 4G the new thing?if so how much would a 4G HTC cost? Thanks
4G is unavailable on Msia yet,
so there's no "4G HTC", even if there is, it should be above 2k sweat.gif

for cheapest, maybe Wildfire, can get for less than 1k,
but IMO better go for LG Optimus One instead, can get for around 800~900
its has better performance than WF, except maybe not as sleek looking

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0220sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:36 PM