Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V10, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

phantomash
post Jan 16 2011, 09:20 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Dell2011 @ Jan 16 2011, 03:26 PM)
Aw thanks phantomash and wuwah. Wow...2k for a bloody phone :|...whats the world coming to....The laptop I am trying to get at the end of this month is just 3k.    All I do on my cel is text and call. but the Android phones look so sweeet. Would you be able to quote me a price on the cheapest Android phone in Malaysia? smile.gif thank you
because when you pay 2k for a phone, that phone is basically your palm sized net book,
most top end Android phone have a 1Ghz single core processor under the hood,
so you can basically do whatever a net book can do, and more, on that small device,
so its worth the money.
phantomash
post Jan 17 2011, 06:26 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Onso @ Jan 17 2011, 01:31 PM)
Well, looking at the Nexus S I have here, it's not really a Netbook, and the ability to do what a netbook can do is really questionable. Depends on what you want to do.

My 2cents? It's a mini 4" screen computer that just so happens to make calls, but don't ever think you can do the same things a normal pc can do.
yea, but the point I'm trying to say is that its not just a phone for the 2k you're paying, that's all

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 17 2011, 06:32 PM
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 11:16 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Huey_nee @ Jan 20 2011, 11:08 AM)
1. Brand: Samsung Galaxy 3 or LG Optimus One
2. Budget: Below RM1k or much less
3. Specs: normal surf net function, downloadable games...
4. Type/Size: no specific.

Maxis has offer for SG3 for only rm388, and I read around, some saying that LG optimus one is a better choice. Need advice please...
yes Optimus One is better simply because it comes pre-loaded with Android 2.2 Froyo
for your usage, both should serve you just fine.
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 12:07 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:55 AM)
1. Brand : Reliable
2. Budget : Rmxxx
3. Specs : Wifi , 3G , Touch Screen ONLY , Extra is not really needed
4.. Exception : Nokia 5230 , 5800 XM
Nokia X6?
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 03:43 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(kzflame @ Jan 20 2011, 03:05 PM)
could LG Optimus One be rooted?
yes
phantomash
post Jan 21 2011, 10:34 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Getz @ Jan 21 2011, 09:02 AM)
Brand: HTC & Samsung
Touch Screen Type
Use for email, social networking, a bit browsing and take a picture and light gaming
Budget: 1500 (max 1600)

Please recommend me one or two model
HTC Desire AP set, RM1.5k or below
phantomash
post Jan 22 2011, 08:13 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(woonyoung91 @ Jan 22 2011, 01:04 AM)
Thx bro for the fast reply.
Nexus S
- Samsung/Google hardware looks really crappy lol, cheap plastic feeling
- is it viable to import it myself, or i seen irwan(forumer) selling for approx 2.4k, another point is that the burden for warranty purposes, hard to claim need send to overseas.

DHD
- The screen is S-lcd or TFT? Not sure as i seen some sites stating either of the two.
- Should i get with digi or purchase @lowyat though reseller.

In general, my budget is roughly 1.5k++, can top up to +- 2k if it fits the purpose.
Anyway should i wait for the tegra dual core to be launch in msia? or hold on to DHD/Nexus s first and then sell it when dual core phones arrives?
DHD screen is TFT, take a look at the real life unit, it might not be as significantly bad as you thought.
DZ is a good choice too, if you want the physical qwerty, definitely get it.
also you might want to take a look at Desire as well since its well within your budget. AP set can be gotten for 1.5k or below.
although Desire is a slightly older model, its as capable as DHD.
except lower internal storage (not a problem actually), lower mp camera, and non aluminum unibody,
and of course smaller screen, but crispier display, since it has the same res as DHD hence higher PPI.

dual core phones will arrive around Q3, so its quite a long wait.

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Jan 22 2011, 01:24 AM)
need comments from sifus.
CSL MI300 or LG Optimus One?
although CSL Mi300 is not bad, but O1 is definitely better.

QUOTE(The Apocalypse @ Jan 22 2011, 03:39 AM)
N8 or Galaxy S?

N8 - RM1500
Galaxy - $600+
if you want a phone with great camera get N8, else Galaxy S

QUOTE(priaozawa @ Jan 22 2011, 03:42 AM)
around 1.3k...mostly use for gaming and surfing....
can consider Motorola XT720 as well

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 22 2011, 08:24 AM
phantomash
post Jan 22 2011, 09:05 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Jan 22 2011, 08:58 AM)
Better in which area? mind share?
cos now in dilemma,don't know which one to get.
mainly Android version, a very significant factor to consider when getting an Android phone.
Mi300 comes with 1.6, is upgradable to 2.1,
although it has custom 2.2, but its not as stable compared to official ones.
while O1 comes with 2.2 pre-loaded.

besides that O1 has double as much RAM, 512MB is on par with many top end ones.
also I like O1 phone design better, but this is subjective. tongue.gif
phantomash
post Jan 22 2011, 06:30 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Jan 22 2011, 04:00 PM)
guys, i really need your help..
i want to buy a phone for my father..
he dont like touch screen.. so, with budget of RM1300- RM1500..
what phone can you suggest me to buy? need phone that can use to browse internet.. not just able to browse, need something that have much better view for internet browsing..
but touch screen phones gives the best internet browsing experience sweat.gif
phantomash
post Jan 22 2011, 11:52 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Jan 22 2011, 10:03 PM)
sorry, i mean .. err, how bout HTC product? any recommendation?

edited: again sorry, i think i move to other section.. i just realize got thread for pda.. thank you..
HTC product? by PDA do you mean smart phones? or tablet?

where is the PDA thread that you mentioned? mind providing the link?
phantomash
post Jan 23 2011, 01:10 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Jan 23 2011, 12:54 PM)
already 2.1. it is very worth the price rclxms.gif u get 8mp hd record camera, 4" screen.
the downside of X10 so far is, stuck on 2.1 (till now, forever 2.1), screen is 64k colours, although it is actually 16m ready, no multitouch. for the last two, lets hope SE will provide an updates on them (multitouch thingy pending)
can enable multitouch already on the X10,
not officially from SE though,
you need to root your phone
and flash the custom kernel which enables multitouch
(dual touch actually but its good enough)
phantomash
post Jan 23 2011, 03:46 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 23 2011, 02:52 PM)
Try to avoid rooting/flashing. Other than voiding the warranty, you might risk running to other trouble if you do not know how to flash it properly.  wink.gif
actually rooting is good, the only problem is that it will void your warranty,
however most phone can unroot it back when its time to claim warranty.

rooting just grants you the admin authority to your phone,
meaning you're getting what you're supposed to get in the first place.
it lets you do much more things with your phone.
and if you follow the guide for rooting, the chance of bricking your device by rooting is slim, near impossible.

phantomash
post Jan 23 2011, 08:01 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Jan 23 2011, 02:19 PM)
^ ya, ya. X10 got some quite a number of custom rom rite? I'm not quite familiar with android terms laugh.gif  certain software limitation can be enabled with them hmm.gif  just the official updates is slow (well, thats SE.. sweat.gif )
kernel is more like the central part of a ROM, but not the ROM itself,
think of it like ROM = whole computer, kernel = processor alone,
not exactly the perfect example, but you should get the idea. laugh.gif
phantomash
post Jan 24 2011, 12:03 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(priaozawa @ Jan 23 2011, 10:45 PM)
what is the different between htc desire ori set and ap set?
-price and function =P
are you asking or are you answering?
the difference is warranty
phantomash
post Jan 25 2011, 01:47 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(fitzhex @ Jan 25 2011, 10:36 AM)
can recommend me a phone that have a nice camera? if can, the os i want is android or win mo.. dont want symbian..
if you can't wait and have to get the phone now, then consider SE X10

otherwise checkout SE Arc, its not available yet and the price is unknown
but it should have the best camera among android phones once its released.
phantomash
post Jan 29 2011, 10:54 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 29 2011, 09:56 PM)
Thanks for the link. Looks like one of the main reason for staying with Nokia is fading..

My uncle say the SE phones are power hungry phones, is that true?
too generalized, I think this only applies to the android ones of SE

to be fair, any smartphone will be power hungry,
due to the high speed processor and all sorts of connections
most smartphones requires 1 charge per day (yes even iphone),
at most it can only last 3 or 4 days if you use it very sparingly
phantomash
post Jan 30 2011, 09:44 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(touya @ Jan 30 2011, 09:39 PM)
i want to buy a hp as a birthday gift for my father. He is using Nokia 5280 Music Xpress (i am kind of forget is 5580 or 5280, but it is the music Xpress with the touch screen) now.

then its better for you to wait until its near your father's birthday and ask again, because new phones are all coming very soon.

Samsung and HTC will announce their new phone on February at the upcoming Mobile World Congress.

for now maybe check out LG Optimus 2X
phantomash
post Feb 8 2011, 07:39 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(meergee @ Feb 8 2011, 05:29 PM)
erm.ok then. sad.gif

Added on February 8, 2011, 5:36 pm
x8 multitouch phone or not?
x8 have no multitouch
phantomash
post Feb 20 2011, 02:55 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Feb 20 2011, 12:24 AM)
rm 1500 the most. but i think i'll go buy for around 1.3k only.

+im aiming for phones that support good gps software, okay okay camera + sleek design tongue.gif . with that low budget. rclxms.gif  prefer HTC, but any brand are welcome to suggest as i dont know much on current phones.
I don't think you can get Nexus One for 1.5k unless you're looking for 2nd hand unit

if you prefer HTC, for 1.5k you can get either Desire AP set or T-Mobile G2 aka Desire Z which is also an AP set

otherwise you can refer to 41LY45, those are good choices as well

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0519sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:35 PM