nissan latio sport versus honda city versus vios

TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:03 PM, updated 16y ago

i'm having a headache in buying a new car.I was wondering which of these cars is much worth to buy and wat r the + and - of them.Hope to hear from any of u guys tht r on9 nw. thanks. blush.gif Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
ray6369
post Oct 7 2010, 10:05 PM

453 posts

vios has low fuel consumption.

thats all i know. XD
TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:09 PM

hahaha.thanks.at least it helps me a bit. thanks!
mADmAN
post Oct 7 2010, 10:09 PM

10,530 posts

add to your headache....

Kia Forte.

Segment C car at Segment B prices thumbup.gif
TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 7 2010, 11:09 PM)
add to your headache....

Kia Forte.

thanks! but how's the fuel consumption of it?? blush.gif
yeowa
post Oct 7 2010, 10:16 PM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

I am not that good in car. I am doing comparison between honda city, kia forte n ford fiesta.

Based on ur 3 choice, I hv ruled out vios as my friend who used to work for toyota says city is better than vios due to the city engine is newer. Vios hv some unsolved problem like the belting. I might be wrong though, still learning. Latio hatchback is nicer but is more expensive than city. Nissan hc the lower resale value than city n vios but if u like a car, I don't think resale value is a problem as u will want to drive long term.

Here's my topic for your reference. smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1587900&hl=
TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(yeowa @ Oct 7 2010, 11:16 PM)
I am not that good in car. I am doing comparison between honda city, kia  forte n ford fiesta.

Based on ur 3 choice, I hv ruled out vios as my friend who used to work for toyota says city is better than vios due to the city engine is newer. Vios hv some unsolved problem like the belting. I might be wrong though, still learning. Latio hatchback is nicer but is more expensive than city. Nissan hc the lower resale value than city n vios but if u like a car, I don't think resale value is a problem as u will want to drive long term.

Here's my topic for your reference. smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1587900&hl=
thx!! ur comment helps me a lot! i'm new to cars too. blush.gif one more thing, do v have to pay for any of the test drives v request frm all car companies?

This post has been edited by kamloong88: Oct 7 2010, 10:20 PM
yeowa
post Oct 7 2010, 10:26 PM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

no need to pay for test drive. Just hv to call n make appointment or some can just walk in and arrange. I think call is better to ensure u can test the car u want maybe on the same day? smile.gif just test out the 3 u r considering. Just as long u feel comfortable with it u should go for the car. smile.gif
TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(yeowa @ Oct 7 2010, 11:26 PM)
no need to pay for test drive. Just hv to call n make appointment or some can just walk in and arrange. I think call is better to ensure u can test the car u want maybe on the same day? smile.gif just test out the 3 u r considering. Just as long u feel comfortable with it u should go for the car. smile.gif
ooo..... nod.gif thank u thank u thank u
statikinetic
post Oct 7 2010, 10:35 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

I had the same issue and I ended up with the Latio sports after some homework. But the Latio sports has to have the bodykit with the large spoiler, or the car looks weird.
TSkamloong88
post Oct 7 2010, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
I had the same issue and I ended up with the Latio sports after some homework. But the Latio sports has to have the bodykit with the large spoiler, or the car looks weird.
yessss.my girl friend n I are confuse between getting a latio sport or a city coz the latio sport is quite pricy compare to the sedan city and vios... cry.gif so, how's the fc?? is it slightly higher than the vios n city or the other way around? sweat.gif
statikinetic
post Oct 7 2010, 11:23 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

I didn't notice any big gaps between the 3 in terms of FC, so that was good enough for me. FC largely depends on your driving style, and mine usually is to go very very fast.

The main difference is in terms of a sedan, the City beats the Vios until you take price into account. The Latio is a hatchback, so it loses out in terms of bootspace but in terms of interior space, it claws some back.

All in all, when you look at all 3 cars, which one catches your eye most? Thats probably the one you'll end up buying.
theanswer
post Oct 7 2010, 11:47 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 7 2010, 10:09 PM)
add to your headache....

Kia Forte.

can i add chevy cruze? tongue.gif

Added on October 7, 2010, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(kamloong88 @ Oct 7 2010, 10:42 PM)
yessss.my girl friend n I are confuse between getting a latio sport or a city coz the latio sport is quite pricy compare to the sedan city and vios... cry.gif so, how's the fc?? is it slightly higher than the vios n city or the other way around? sweat.gif
i think latio has the most comfortable and nice interior. unless u get vios trd(which i think overpriced)..the trd interior look a bit nicer than vios J. ahh if u got budget, go for latio sport. (i'm biased towards hatch car..hehehe rclxms.gif )

This post has been edited by theanswer: Oct 7 2010, 11:49 PM
Taipan052
post Oct 7 2010, 11:49 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Oct 7 2010, 11:47 PM)
can i add chevy cruze?  tongue.gif
LOL. how about waja impianku (lancer rebadge)
rclxms.gif

choon hon
post Oct 8 2010, 12:53 AM

174 posts

Haha last time i used to be in the same condition like u but after so many choices like Vios TRD, City Espec , Suzuki SX4 hatchback , Latio sport and forte , i still go for City. Well i think overall the 3cars u're comparing now is roughly the same. Go test drive those 3cars that u've sorted out and i'd bet u will know which is your fav...
hush_puppies
post Oct 8 2010, 01:45 AM

60 posts

if u look for FC, no doubt go for Vios
if u look for stunning outlook and new gadgets, no doubt go for NHC
if u look for comfortable and quiet cabin, no doubt go for Latio

so which u look for?
dvinez
post Oct 8 2010, 10:09 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

u already class your preference by the picture
statikinetic
post Oct 8 2010, 10:19 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(hush_puppies @ Oct 8 2010, 01:45 AM)
if u look for FC, no doubt go for Vios
if u look for stunning outlook and new gadgets, no doubt go for NHC
if u look for comfortable and quiet cabin, no doubt go for Latio

so which u look for?
I dispute the statement that the Vios is tops in the FC department. We did tests on all 3 cars and the results say otherwise.
Mavik
post Oct 8 2010, 11:18 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I like the looks of the City best and the paddle shifters on the City still drives me towards that car.

Maybe its because I have a Vios and I know all the small little problems and issues that come with it tongue.gif
kenji1903
post Oct 8 2010, 11:24 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2010, 11:18 AM)
I like the looks of the City best and the paddle shifters on the City still drives me towards that car.

Maybe its because I have a Vios and I know all the small little problems and issues that come with it tongue.gif
what problems withe the vios? kindly share cos planning to buy one next year
lunateck
post Oct 8 2010, 11:35 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 8 2010, 10:19 AM)
I dispute the statement that the Vios is tops in the FC department. We did tests on all 3 cars and the results say otherwise.
I would say it's less or more about the same. It all depends on your foot and what kind of petrol you pump. So I guess TS need not worry about FC since they are about the same. If want lowest FC, go for a bicycle, jokes aside. Just follow your instinct and choose the one you like.
Deja Vu
post Oct 8 2010, 11:47 AM

1,863 posts

TS,
Firstly test drive all 3 of the cars. All are equally gd by todays standard with each focussing on different areas to capture d market.

City
+ most modern design (inside n out) but is subjective
+ 5-spd auto gear box more suited for long highway cruise
+ best driving involvement of d 3 (stock form) although still so-so even compared even to Proton
+ biggest boot here
- so-so fc in urban driving
- rather numb steering
- so-so pickup (no playing wit paddle shifts)
- suspension a bit firm

Vios
+ most balance in terms comfort and sport of d 3
+ used prices
+ most eager feeling engine response
+ fc in city driving but closely matched by Latio (due to gearing although its just 4 but properly aligned to suit urban driving)
- sound insulation (engine still buzzy at highway speeds)
- dugong looks (subjective)

Latio Sport
+ most comfortable
+ biggest interior space (rear seats can slide fwd and bwd)
- subjective exterior looks
- rather plain interior design also d dark grey theme inside is way better than d beige in d saloon variant
- amusing choice to use "Sport" in d name when its just looks

This post has been edited by Deja Vu: Oct 8 2010, 11:48 AM
hush_puppies
post Oct 8 2010, 11:57 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 8 2010, 10:19 AM)
oh mind to share ur result? but reading from forum that majority claim that Vios has the incredible FC if compare to same segment car..
kenji1903
post Oct 8 2010, 01:50 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(hush_puppies @ Oct 8 2010, 11:57 AM)
oh mind to share ur result? but reading from forum that majority claim that Vios has the incredible FC if compare to same segment car..
FC vios wins the new city... cannot beat the old one... my wife's VTEC 08 can go 550km, 70% city, 30% highway...
i heard idsi at least 600km...
statikinetic
post Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(hush_puppies @ Oct 8 2010, 11:57 AM)
Our result shows that neither car consistently put up a clear margin when it comes to FC. We found that the drivers were the main factors in FC variation. There may be a difference in the FC of all 3 cars, but not enough of a margin for it to be used as a selling point. I'd say in terms of FC, you would be fine with any of these models. Of course with the City if you keep using the VTEC to kick you car to speed and expect to have good FC, it's a bit unrealistic isn't it?

On the forums, I take all claims with a pinch of salt. I've tried and do not find an incredible FC by the Vios compared to the other two, and have the conclusion that this misconception is put out by Vios drivers.

This post has been edited by statikinetic: Oct 8 2010, 02:16 PM
Taipan052
post Oct 8 2010, 03:15 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM)
Our result shows that neither car consistently put up a clear margin when it comes to FC. We found that the drivers were the main factors in FC variation. There may be a difference in the FC of all 3 cars, but not enough of a margin for it to be used as a selling point. I'd say in terms of FC, you would be fine with any of these models. Of course with the City if you keep using the VTEC to kick you car to speed and expect to have good FC, it's a bit unrealistic isn't it?

On the forums, I take all claims with a pinch of salt. I've tried and do not find an incredible FC by the Vios compared to the other two, and have the conclusion that this misconception is put out by Vios drivers.
definitely true. only vios owner tend to compare and make such claim.
dunno why..

This post has been edited by Taipan052: Oct 8 2010, 03:15 PM
moyong
post Oct 8 2010, 03:44 PM

Fish
751 posts

lolz.... i may use this thread to help decide.

let me add a question. For Latio Hatchback, how much does it cost to add the optional body kit (assuming the car doesn't come with the spoiler and kit)
statikinetic
post Oct 8 2010, 03:57 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Oct 8 2010, 03:44 PM)
lolz.... i may use this thread to help decide.

let me add a question. For Latio Hatchback, how much does it cost to add the optional body kit (assuming the car doesn't come with the spoiler and kit)
It's free, you can get the SA to throw it in for you.

moyong
post Oct 8 2010, 04:14 PM

Fish
751 posts

ah thanks. well to help compile info. Here are the pricing info (extracted from their relevant websites)

kenji1903
post Oct 8 2010, 04:23 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Oct 8 2010, 04:14 PM)
ah thanks. well to help compile info. Here are the pricing info (extracted from their relevant websites)

the honda is before insurance is it? so cheap one?
the vios like non-metalic paint price?
SUSkevin23
post Oct 8 2010, 05:12 PM

1,803 posts

Vios has brilliant FC.I can simply thrash the car kau kau and still get 500km for a full tank of petrol

While on the other hand,the NHC you can get good FC but you have to drive alot on highway or very jaga ur foot.MEans more troublesome to get good FC lah.No matter how hard i tried,I can never get 450km on a full tank.

Latio FC cannot fight Vios but beats City FC.

Vios pickup is brilliant.So easy and relax pickup.Very good car to drive in town and on highway.

City pickup is shit.And I mean it,the pickup for the CITY is nonexistent.Its rough and jerky early on.Once you get to about 60km/h then your ok.Above 100km/h then you can feel the surge of power.But the power only last a while.

Latio pickup is better than city ,but somehow the engine feels too "SOFT" for my liking.I think due to CVT transmission.

Ohyea,I am a CITY owner,but I feel the VIOS even though is dugonglike,still is the car which is more balanced overall.

City only excels in HIGH SPEED,and my high speed is defined as more than 100km/h

Below that,its pretty boring and mundane.Stepping on the accelerator from say 80km/h gives a big growl like you woke a fat lazy kid sleeping and ask him to work.Thats how driving the CITY feels.

If i had a chance to buy again,i will definately take the VIOS anytime.

Ohyea,mind you HONDA servicing and parts costs a bomb

This post has been edited by kevin23: Oct 8 2010, 05:20 PM
dstl1128
post Oct 8 2010, 05:16 PM

4,464 posts

Latio in Malaysia don't have CVT. Well, the Singapore's Latio do have.
lunateck
post Oct 8 2010, 05:21 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Oct 8 2010, 05:12 PM)
Vios has brilliant FC.I can simply thrash the car kau kau and still get 500km for a full tank of petrol

While on the other hand,the NHC you can get good FC but you have to drive alot on highway or very jaga ur foot.MEans more troublesome to get good FC lah.No matter how hard i tried,I can never get 450km on a full tank.

Latio FC cannot fight Vios but beats City FC.

Vios pickup is brilliant.So easy and relax pickup.Very good car to drive in town and on highway.

City pickup is shit.And I mean it,the pickup for the CITY is nonexistent.Its rough and jerky early on.Once you get to about 60km/h then your ok.Above 100km/h then you can feel the surge of power.But the power only last a while.

Latio pickup is better than city ,but somehow the engine feels too "SOFT" for my liking.I think due to CVT transmission.

Honestly,if i were to choose between these 3 ,I wont buy any of these.
Coz the smart vtec always open la, that's y u won't get good fc. Like statikinetic, it's all up to the driver. One thing to add is, do you know City's ECU remembers how you like to drive your car OVER THE TIME? If you like to tekan kau2 to open vtec, it remembers that so that next time you no need tekan kau2 for vtec to open. And somehow, your city's FC does say something about your driving... hehehehe..

Well again, it might be H's fault by tuning the ECU to remember driver's habit.

This post has been edited by lunateck: Oct 8 2010, 05:25 PM
SUSkevin23
post Oct 8 2010, 05:36 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(lunateck @ Oct 8 2010, 05:21 PM)
Coz the smart vtec always open la, that's y u won't get good fc. Like statikinetic, it's all up to the driver. One thing to add is, do you know City's ECU remembers how you like to drive your car OVER THE TIME? If you like to tekan kau2 to open vtec, it remembers that so that next time you no need tekan kau2 for vtec to open. And somehow, your city's FC does say something about your driving... hehehehe..

Well again, it might be H's fault by tuning the ECU to remember driver's habit.
Thats absolutely bullocks.I have resetted the ECU countless times.After that I drive 70km/h everywhere I go.Even by doing that,I cannot get 400+km per tank.Come on lah,I have been with the car almost 2 years already.I know how the car reacts,how it drives.

Its not that the VTEC open all the time lah,its bcuz of the engine .Thats how the engine is designed to work.No matter how slow you drive,no matter how u jaga ur foot,its damn hard to get 400+ per tank in the NHC.Tried it a million times.

SO now ,i dont bother already.Anyway,petrol can claim so who cares.
lunateck
post Oct 8 2010, 05:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Oct 8 2010, 05:36 PM)
Thats absolutely bullocks.I have resetted the ECU countless times.After that I drive 70km/h everywhere I go.Even by doing that,I cannot get 400+km per tank.Come on lah,I have been with the car almost 2 years already.I know how the car reacts,how it drives.

Its not that the VTEC open all the time lah,its bcuz of the engine .Thats how the engine is designed to work.No matter how slow you drive,no matter how u jaga ur foot,its damn hard to get 400+ per tank in the NHC.Tried it a million times.

Well, your car acts absolutely weird then. 400+ is damn easy to get on these types of cars, regardless of brand. May i know what's your % mix of city, highway, jam?
hush_puppies
post Oct 8 2010, 05:53 PM

60 posts

weird too..i am driving NHC and 80% urban drive. from the 1st day getting car till now nearly 1 and half years, avg FC is 13km/l++ max ever reached 17km/l on highway drive.

as what lunatech said, getting 400+ is damn easy. what i dont like about NHC is the NVH. how i wish it could on par with nissan latio. the tyre and road noise is really irritating.

abt acceleration, indeed NHC is so much poor on this due to it's weird gear ratio setting and the weight of the car.

bro kevin, have u checked properly what's ur car problem with SC?
moyong
post Oct 8 2010, 11:04 PM

Fish
751 posts

just went to have a look at 2 cars and here are some comments on the interior

City : Futuristic Panel which is nice however the seating at the back is kinda tight (just my opinion)

Latio: Really spacious interior drool.gif very comfortable and the black colour seats accent the car well especially if it is white ^^

Didn't manage to get in vios as the sales office was closed sad.gif

statikinetic
post Oct 8 2010, 11:16 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Oct 8 2010, 05:36 PM)

400+ per tank should be easily achievable for all cars under this segment. Even I can get 400+ with my Latio with my heavy on the pedal driving style. Get it checked out.

Dear moyong,

The space sealed the deal for me. If you go for white, here's a tip. The darker the window tinting, the better it looks. brows.gif
lunateck
post Oct 8 2010, 11:30 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 8 2010, 11:16 PM)
400+ per tank should be easily achievable for all cars under this segment. Even I can get 400+ with my Latio with my heavy on the pedal driving style. Get it checked out.

Dear moyong,

The space sealed the deal for me. If you go for white, here's a tip. The darker the window tinting, the better it looks.  brows.gif
Vios space is bigger than City, initial feeling. Din really do any detail comparison.

Today i saw a matt black colored audi a4 (b8) with chrome window seal (hard to describe) and matt dark grey rim (maybe din wash.. lol). Damn nice.

Oh yea, every car looks good with the darkest window tinting.. rclxms.gif
ahsam1212
post Oct 9 2010, 01:00 AM

178 posts

Why not put latio sedan into your choice of cars? Sedan is cheaper too.
masz94
post Oct 9 2010, 04:19 AM

Latio sedan rear is weird. Same goes to the SX4.
BTW the Latio hatch & SX4 hatch is prettier than the sedan. (don't know why) sweat.gif sweat.gif
my 10 cent.
Vios interior is to drab when compared to City and Latio.

This post has been edited by masz94: Oct 9 2010, 04:20 AM
moyong
post Oct 9 2010, 10:50 AM

Fish
751 posts

Dear moyong,

The space sealed the deal for me. If you go for white, here's a tip. The darker the window tinting, the better it looks. brows.gif

glad you finally made your choice

ya the space inside Latio is really spacious. White with fully bodykit + dark tinting = drool.gif

too bad this car over my budget sad.gif i'm considering to get myself the Kia Forte since it's the same price as Vios G spec but looks way sportier ^^.

do you have any comments on this car that you may like to share? (good or bad it doesn't matter)

This post has been edited by moyong: Oct 9 2010, 10:51 AM
Human Nature
post Oct 9 2010, 12:01 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Oct 9 2010, 10:50 AM)
glad you finally made your choice

ya the space inside Latio is really spacious. White with fully bodykit + dark tinting = drool.gif

too bad this car over my budget sad.gif i'm considering to get myself the Kia Forte since it's the same price as Vios G spec but looks way sportier ^^.

do you have any comments on this car that you may like to share? (good or bad it doesn't matter)
i dunno if red is offered as one of the colour choices, but forte is sizzling red is hot biggrin.gif
TSkamloong88
post Oct 10 2010, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2010, 12:18 PM)

wat r the problems u're currently facing wif ur vios? its the new or old vios? please do share wif us
ralf
post Oct 10 2010, 09:40 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

All this b segment. No doubt, i will go for Latio Sport.. notworthy.gif or Vios..
TSkamloong88
post Oct 10 2010, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(ralf @ Oct 10 2010, 10:40 PM)
All this b segment. No doubt, i will go for Latio Sport.. notworthy.gif or Vios..
why not city hmm.gif
ralf
post Oct 10 2010, 09:56 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(kamloong88 @ Oct 10 2010, 09:53 PM)
why not city hmm.gif
Refer my reply here..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1594099/+20

I know a lots of young chap prefer CITY... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Smaller displacement engine having 5 speed..errr? Let's say drive at 110kmh, overtaking is needed..engine revv harder and it require kickdown to 4th speed before accelerate to get away..annoying hearing the engine boominess and jerky gear change..Thus a 4speeder VIOS cruise happily and get away.
Ride is quite stiff for CITY..

This post has been edited by ralf: Oct 10 2010, 10:03 PM
myboo_1988
post Oct 11 2010, 06:58 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

someone calling me? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by myboo_1988: Oct 11 2010, 07:05 PM
TSkamloong88
post Oct 14 2010, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Oct 11 2010, 07:58 PM)
someone calling me? tongue.gif
is this ur car?? well,it looks a lot more better than i thought! drool.gif

0.0287sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:03 PM