Pls note, Altis 1.8 commands a high road tax of RM 200 plus per year vs RM 90 for City 1.5 per year. Insurance will be slightly cheaper.
+23k for facelifted altis vs city E?
Oct 10 2010, 12:58 PM
9,048 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Pls note, Altis 1.8 commands a high road tax of RM 200 plus per year vs RM 90 for City 1.5 per year. Insurance will be slightly cheaper.
Oct 10 2010, 03:12 PM
180 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Selangor |
bro, wait for the new waja replacement to come out first, then compare the specs and pricing...
Oct 10 2010, 08:11 PM
5,529 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
can compare national car and japanese car?
proton cant even compare with hyundai as they build up at the same time, and see where is hyundai now standing in the world? and where's proton? |
Oct 10 2010, 09:12 PM
3,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(eltaria @ Oct 10 2010, 10:28 AM) Hi guys, just wanted to ask you all, if it's worth paying the extra 23k for an Altis 1.8E vs City E at 90k I already got my Altis 10.5G last week..It should be compareable to other C segment, Civic or Slyphy..Lets look at it in terms of total cost of ownership for ~9 years I guess. I have heard nothing but praise of the reliability of the Altis, and fact that you dont see much Altis going for sale in 2nd hand car shops, seems to show that it's a keeper, that really doesn't give much problems. How about maintenance charges? I can see Honda City's 5 years maintenance costs, but I cant find the same for the Altis. Unexpected service charges? Repair costs? Frequency of repairs? City owners, can share your thoughts, were there any surprises in your ownership? Technology wise, will the dual vvti, 7 speed cvt engine make much difference? Can any Honda/Toyota owners share their thoughts with me? Much appreciated, thanks!!! Plan to buy at year end, for CNY~ City is in same segment with Vios.. Added on October 10, 2010, 9:19 pm QUOTE(Adin @ Oct 10 2010, 10:35 AM) My family member sold the newCity E spec after having it for only 9months..we booked it before it was launched so we got it as first batch.New City? 120ps looks good on paper spec, driving it is not enjoyable because of power delivery isn't that good.. NVH is poor..wind noise, tyre and road noise intrude into cabin. Arrrhh! We expect it to better than national car but a real disappointment. Handling isn't that great despite carrying Honda power of dreams tag..already change 2 different set of aftermarket bling bling rims..upsize to 17" and 16" wider rims...CIVIC is a real contender when talk about handling.. FC? Having more extra gear ratio is only good for "highway cruising", 100kmh @ 2000rpm, 120kmh @ 2500rpm.. To thread starter, either consider Civic 1.8 or similar segment, it make difference.. Added on October 10, 2010, 9:21 pm QUOTE(Adin @ Oct 10 2010, 10:43 AM) Refer my above posting, all this point justify to get C segment rather than B segment. CityE is not cheap too..where Slyphy comes very close in terms or pricetag, huge discount given by Nissan, up to rm8k off the pricetag.. Added on October 10, 2010, 9:35 pm QUOTE(ilnerodiablo @ Oct 10 2010, 11:16 AM) sylphy Slyphy..yes, it drive better.it is the better drive, even if the looks is uninspiring. altis? hermmm.. looks wise, nothing special. interior is boring as hell, typical unker toyota type. city's much more inspiring. might need to consider that as the interior is the part that you will spend staring at most of the time in the car. or if u can stretch ur budget, might as well beli civic. or if dynamic capabilities is your priority, ford focus st 2.0 diesel, if u can afford the depreciation. CITY? Drive quality? Grip is so-so only eventhough it is fit with 185/55, 16inchers wheelie. CITY is typical plastiky design, aircond fan and temperature dial knob, headunit console and gearshift knob..Inspiring? Hmm..personal preference. FORD FOCUS TDCi is different segment leh Added on October 10, 2010, 9:38 pm QUOTE(wong ching ku @ Oct 10 2010, 03:12 PM) Do you realize what thread starter is looking for...?He/She is looking for non national made..it is obvious and not that hard to tell a person what a person want. I am just speaking from a perspective of a sales person..haha This post has been edited by ralf: Oct 10 2010, 09:38 PM |
Oct 10 2010, 10:36 PM
385 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(Adin @ Oct 10 2010, 10:35 AM) QUOTE(Adin @ Oct 10 2010, 10:43 AM) Your two posts show you are so immature when giving comment on some car. My question is why are you trying to bash on some car?Honestly, I am 22 year old today and I am driving a Toyota Corolla Altis. What is the reason for you to say the Corolla Altis is an "uncle" type of car? You can do some modification in order to make the Corolla Altis looks much more better, or just leave it be original type. I am not trying to bash Honda, but I can honestly tell you some "real" facts here: Toyota - More reliable - Easy to maintain - Easy to repair - Mechanic loves Toyota engine - High resale value Honda - Better interior and exterior design - Need proper handling and maintenance - Comfort, NHV lose to most of Toyota cars - High resale value Comments above are taken from popular car workshop in Penang, they are M Power and Beng San tyre workshop. Salesman also do recommend other people to buy Toyota due to the reliability of the car. Honda cars failed them a lot, so most of the salesman nowadays are using Toyota car for long running. One of the mechanic from M Power (the person who did the spring change for me) also saying that he prefer to repair Toyota engines. Conclusion, money is yours so just go for the car you like. People at the outside can simply bash to say something bad of a car brand, why take it seriously or influence by them? If you really have RM23,000 extra budget and you think you are able to afford for Corolla Altis, then it has no harm to go for it since it is a real comfortable and reliable car. It's all up to you, make the right choice. |
Oct 10 2010, 11:42 PM
246 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Labuan |
Gonna get my new 2.0v altis very soon @ RM82k!
BTW, I'm from Labuan, so no argue for me to get it, heheeeee |
Oct 11 2010, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(donmou @ Oct 10 2010, 11:42 PM) Gonna get my new 2.0v altis very soon @ RM82k! Nice, I hope you enjoy it.BTW, I'm from Labuan, so no argue for me to get it, heheeeee Dual VVT-i 2.0L with 7-speed CVT-i gear box, it should be performed extremely great on highway cruising, comfort and low fuel consumption. |
Oct 11 2010, 08:52 AM
Oct 11 2010, 08:58 AM
1,040 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(oec88 @ Oct 10 2010, 10:36 PM) Toyota - More reliable - Easy to maintain - Easy to repair - Mechanic loves Toyota engine - High resale value Honda - Better interior and exterior design - Need proper handling and maintenance - Comfort, NHV lose to most of Toyota cars - High resale value Comments above are taken from popular car workshop in Penang, they are M Power and Beng San tyre workshop. Salesman also do recommend other people to buy Toyota due to the reliability of the car. Honda cars failed them a lot, so most of the salesman nowadays are using Toyota car for long running. One of the mechanic from M Power (the person who did the spring change for me) also saying that he prefer to repair Toyota engines. I'm doing a pure, logical mathematical/numbers comparison. And thus, I'm looking at it in terms of 'total cost of ownership, in say 9 years time' As i said, if it can save me a few trips less to the workshop for unexpected repairs, that few trips and the inconvenience from that may just save enough for me to be able to justify forking out more money now. Both cars are pretty even for me in terms of looks and acceptability (city wins with its interior), just doing some finer number crunching now. My points at the moment is. Yes i'm paying 23k more, but if it'll save me a few workshop trips LESS. (Save, ~5k) Bigger reliable car that I know can last me long time, so I don't need to sell the City E, and get hit with depreciation (Save another 10-20k) Just check 2nd hand car dealers, Altis are rare, if there's one on sale, it'll usually be picked up fast!! Just wanted to know more from those who have owned an Altis or the new City, to see if my line of thoughts are ok. |
Oct 11 2010, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(eltaria @ Oct 11 2010, 08:58 AM) Hi, actually, this is the consideration for me as well. Rare but the resale value is remain good, same goes to City. Anyway, what will happen tomorrow, no one know about it. Just test drive both car, choose the right one for yourself.I'm doing a pure, logical mathematical/numbers comparison. And thus, I'm looking at it in terms of 'total cost of ownership, in say 9 years time' As i said, if it can save me a few trips less to the workshop for unexpected repairs, that few trips and the inconvenience from that may just save enough for me to be able to justify forking out more money now. Both cars are pretty even for me in terms of looks and acceptability (city wins with its interior), just doing some finer number crunching now. My points at the moment is. Yes i'm paying 23k more, but if it'll save me a few workshop trips LESS. (Save, ~5k) Bigger reliable car that I know can last me long time, so I don't need to sell the City E, and get hit with depreciation (Save another 10-20k) Just check 2nd hand car dealers, Altis are rare, if there's one on sale, it'll usually be picked up fast!! Just wanted to know more from those who have owned an Altis or the new City, to see if my line of thoughts are ok. |
Oct 11 2010, 09:47 AM
109 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Today, 00:01 AM |
Oct 11 2010, 09:54 AM
3,785 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(oec88 @ Oct 10 2010, 10:36 PM) Your two posts show you are so immature when giving comment on some car. My question is why are you trying to bash on some car? car workshops tell you to go for toyotas merely because they have less electronics as compared to honda and they are easier for "them" to fix... it's all about making money... more electronics means more machinery which these shops cannot afford... so you will need to always go back to the authorize service centre... Honestly, I am 22 year old today and I am driving a Toyota Corolla Altis. What is the reason for you to say the Corolla Altis is an "uncle" type of car? You can do some modification in order to make the Corolla Altis looks much more better, or just leave it be original type. I am not trying to bash Honda, but I can honestly tell you some "real" facts here: Toyota - More reliable - Easy to maintain - Easy to repair - Mechanic loves Toyota engine - High resale value Honda - Better interior and exterior design - Need proper handling and maintenance - Comfort, NHV lose to most of Toyota cars - High resale value Comments above are taken from popular car workshop in Penang, they are M Power and Beng San tyre workshop. Salesman also do recommend other people to buy Toyota due to the reliability of the car. Honda cars failed them a lot, so most of the salesman nowadays are using Toyota car for long running. One of the mechanic from M Power (the person who did the spring change for me) also saying that he prefer to repair Toyota engines. Conclusion, money is yours so just go for the car you like. People at the outside can simply bash to say something bad of a car brand, why take it seriously or influence by them? If you really have RM23,000 extra budget and you think you are able to afford for Corolla Altis, then it has no harm to go for it since it is a real comfortable and reliable car. It's all up to you, make the right choice. car workshop will give you shitty comments on new benz and bmw because they are fully electronic and you need expensive machinery and software to do diagnosis, etc... electronic parts failing at 2 years lar, 10k to replace some circuit board lar... best you go for old benz/bmw, less problem, easy to fix and maintain, yeah right... |
Oct 11 2010, 04:34 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 11 2010, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(xin @ Oct 11 2010, 04:34 PM) 1.8 use 4speed auto onli .. if wan buy ALtis dun get the lowest spec la .. Brother, don't provide misleading info.ya for the high spec 2.0 130k plus i htink 1.8 comes with S-CVTi..2.0 having paddle shift. 1.8L 60kmh, engine just tick over 1k rpm, it is 1050rpm 70kmh @ 1.2krpm 80kmh @ 1.4krpm 100kmh @ 1.8krpm |
Oct 12 2010, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:54 AM) car workshops tell you to go for toyotas merely because they have less electronics as compared to honda and they are easier for "them" to fix... it's all about making money... more electronics means more machinery which these shops cannot afford... so you will need to always go back to the authorize service centre... You got some points there but again I am not only got the information from the workshop, even from the public folks.car workshop will give you shitty comments on new benz and bmw because they are fully electronic and you need expensive machinery and software to do diagnosis, etc... electronic parts failing at 2 years lar, 10k to replace some circuit board lar... best you go for old benz/bmw, less problem, easy to fix and maintain, yeah right... |
Oct 12 2010, 02:09 AM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Perth, Western Australia |
my ratings of cars i like...below RM150k :
1st. Altis 2.0S or 2.0G 2nd. Nissan Sylphy 2.0 3rd. Forte 2.0 SX 4th. Civic 2.0 5th. Chevrolet Cruze Why Altis?? 1st. I owned a Toyota AE101(old model Corolla)...still regularly service at Toyota SC without fail...maintenance cheap, reliability, Spacious, reliable(new engine...dual vvti - powerful and reliable) ...gearbox 7spd....in malaysia..dun think we nid 7 speed(except in HW)...the only drawback....over kill price...to T&H brands...especially Hondas. 2nd. Sylphy....Heard the new engine came with incredible FC and maintenance is way cheaper....thus parts also not hard 2 find. only drawbacks is 2nd hand value not as good as T&H 3rd. Forte 2.0SX......Full of useful gadgets, high tech, safety features...really love it..spacious, reliable and fun 2 drive...Maintenance not bad for a Korean(cheaper than Hondas) the drawbacks : Parts(well, now ald ok....but not all parts) and 2nd hand value 4th. Civic 2.0....Nice interior....the meter....digitalize...that's the only pros in the car i seen....maintenance..expensive, parts(easy 2 find...but i think also expensive)...NVH SUCKS!!!!!! Worse than any other cars i've listed.... 5th. Chev Cruze.....kinda big and spacious....but other than that dunno....might b same pros and cons with Forte coz is American-Korean. |
Oct 12 2010, 06:54 AM
3,785 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(xin @ Oct 11 2010, 04:34 PM) 1.8 use 4speed auto onli .. if wan buy ALtis dun get the lowest spec la .. 4 speed auto is for 1.6 lar dude... the rest are cvtsya for the high spec 2.0 130k plus i htink Added on October 12, 2010, 6:57 am QUOTE(oec88 @ Oct 12 2010, 12:19 AM) You got some points there but again I am not only got the information from the workshop, even from the public folks. well... some times people tell things from what they heard instead of what they experienced anyway, japs are good cars This post has been edited by kenji1903: Oct 12 2010, 06:57 AM |
Oct 12 2010, 12:29 PM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If pure numbers is what you are looking from as well as the total cost of ownership, get the City and use the extra cash as a downpayment for your new home.
Cars will generally depreciate in value over time. Properties especially nowadays (don't count in the bubble) will generally appreciate. Your RM23k downpayment might even provide with you with 100% returns. If all you want is a means to get you from point A to point B, get which ever is more economical. The City as well as the Civic (I own a Civic) has very poor noise insulation. I used to own a Vios as well so the cost of maintenance for both the Vios and Civic are very much similar (if sent to those Authorised Honda/Toyota dealers) except maybe I am paying RM50-RM70 more with the Civic. |
Oct 12 2010, 12:33 PM
26 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(XionCity @ Oct 12 2010, 02:09 AM) my ratings of cars i like...below RM150k : Why all jap... no love for Conti? the VW 1.4TSI.1st. Altis 2.0S or 2.0G 2nd. Nissan Sylphy 2.0 3rd. Forte 2.0 SX 4th. Civic 2.0 5th. Chevrolet Cruze Why Altis?? 1st. I owned a Toyota AE101(old model Corolla)...still regularly service at Toyota SC without fail...maintenance cheap, reliability, Spacious, reliable(new engine...dual vvti - powerful and reliable) ...gearbox 7spd....in malaysia..dun think we nid 7 speed(except in HW)...the only drawback....over kill price...to T&H brands...especially Hondas. 2nd. Sylphy....Heard the new engine came with incredible FC and maintenance is way cheaper....thus parts also not hard 2 find. only drawbacks is 2nd hand value not as good as T&H 3rd. Forte 2.0SX......Full of useful gadgets, high tech, safety features...really love it..spacious, reliable and fun 2 drive...Maintenance not bad for a Korean(cheaper than Hondas) the drawbacks : Parts(well, now ald ok....but not all parts) and 2nd hand value 4th. Civic 2.0....Nice interior....the meter....digitalize...that's the only pros in the car i seen....maintenance..expensive, parts(easy 2 find...but i think also expensive)...NVH SUCKS!!!!!! Worse than any other cars i've listed.... 5th. Chev Cruze.....kinda big and spacious....but other than that dunno....might b same pros and cons with Forte coz is American-Korean. |
Oct 12 2010, 12:50 PM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:08 PM |