5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V5, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 01:40 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I like the idea of Tango app. Since it's cross platform, I can predict high adoption like whatsapp. Only if they resolve issue with every phone of every platform, and have a fantastic contacts system like whatsapp. Currently they seem to be hindered with the contacts system.

Btw guys, is there a quick way to type a comma (,) on the Samsung keyboard, without going to the symbol page? It's a disadvantage compared to swype.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 01:50 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Lol.. Guys, don't flash your Galaxy S with Captivate ROM which I mentioned earlier. Putting that wrong firmware can boot but causes lots of problem to the phone due to hardware incompatibility. The worse part, that person haven't patched his bootloader to allow 3 button recovery and he couldn't flash to original ROM. Lol-ness at XDA-developers.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 3 2010, 01:51 AM
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 02:25 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(matsuru @ Oct 3 2010, 02:14 AM)
Guys,  some enquiries.  hmm.gif

My SGS with stock firmware + voodoo lagfix. Recently this happen to me 2 times.

Suddenly my phone feels very hot on the top part. Not long after that my phone run out of battery in 3 to 4 hours. I have to recharge the battery from 0% and restart. After that found out chompsms lost its theme and batterystats lost its setting. Have to reset the settings.

Anyone experience this before?

I tried reset the batterystats. The 1st time. This happen again the 2nd time just now. Did batterystats reset again. Hopefully it will resolve the problem.

Thanks for reading. smile.gif
Just my 2 cents... Sounds like the CPU does not enter sleep mode and is being used to 100% cpu time thus heating up and draining the battery. It can be caused by some bad program or conflicts. Does it happen before you used voodoo?

mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 02:14 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Whatsapp does not use much power too.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 03:43 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Whatsapp is giving 1 year free account for those who install their beta app.

Btw, you guys should look at Tango for internet video call, as alternative for Skype.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 04:36 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Oct 3 2010, 04:07 PM)
I was beta testing Whatsapp for them since they were in development stage n my account info show validity till 2020! Dunno is true onot haha
Wah, this is melebih-lebih. 2020, you don't have to buy the app anymore.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 08:47 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(chunpang @ Oct 3 2010, 08:24 PM)
I just realised WhatsApp can't work with Advanced Task Killer installed.

Anybody know how to work around it?

Is Advanced Task Killer advantageous to you? For me I don't feel the need for it.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 09:41 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

No regrets. I won't even trade my SGS for iPhone 4/HTC desire, because of my personal preference.

But.. GPS is garbage. I started Papago when I left home at Puchong. Can't get a fix. All the way until Jalan Imbi in KL, it suddenly detected my location. Then in less than 5 seconds, it lost signal again.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 10:06 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 3 2010, 09:47 PM)
It's difficult to get a lock in the city centre, even with external BT GPS mouse. Mainly at Dang Wangi area, I can't even get a lock at all with my GPS mouse sad.gif.
I started my journey in Puchong. No skyscrapers. Just my house.

I used 3 GPS device to date: Holux M1000B, HTC Touch Diamond, SGS.

Best accuracy and fastest lock time: HTC Touch Diamond. Locks in several seconds upon cold start, never skipped to to another road. Lag is very minor.

Worst: SGS. No lock. When there is lock, there is no accuracy. Lags badly too, my car moved 20 seconds, then it only started showing speed.
mengsuan
post Oct 3 2010, 10:52 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 3 2010, 10:47 PM)
Seriously? I never trusted internal GPS that comes with phones and what not.

You using Garmin for the HTC Touch Diamond, right?

If you do, have you tried setting the GPS location to "on GPS location" (somewhere along the line), instead of "on road"?
I'm not very sure which settings you're referring to.

I still had the Holux bluetooth GPS mouse when I have Diamond. On the same diamond, I compared its internal GPS receiver and Holux external receiver. The internal receiver wins.

Oh yes, I had N82 GPS experience. It is terrible too. At the same time in the same car, Diamond started navigation in less than 30 seconds while the N82 took 5 minutes to find its location. By time the N82 starts navigating, I already manage to send my friend to his doorstep.

Since all the devices I had, have somewhat good GPS accuracy. SGS is incomparable.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 3 2010, 10:54 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 11:55 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Actually PDA gadgets brought these in as AP unit. We cannot know if it actually came from US and has got JM1 by default. Don't be too sure that someone has flashed the firmware yet.

I'm sorry to say, having an opened box for AP set is very normal.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 11:56 AM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 12:03 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Only SME (Samsung Malaysia Electronics) is the official distro. Any other, it is AP.

8GB = confirmed AP.

My bet is, there is nothing hanky panky about your unit. It isn't messed up, it isn't demo unit. They did use it to show to customers because these phones are what they have. Every AP phone end up the same fate like yours. They sell you your phone, they take another phone and put it for next customer's demo.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 12:04 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 12:06 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Yes. Only 16GB.
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 12:11 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Let me survey around where JM1 is intended to be.

Edit: A quick search shows JM1 is official firmware for UK

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 12:12 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 03:41 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

A review from my personal perspective: http://mengsuan.blogspot.com/2010/09/samsu...000-review.html
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 05:56 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Oct 4 2010, 05:24 PM)
hi guys...do u all hav any problem wen download the mms? cos everytime maxis send me free MMS, i click the download n it show "downloading.." after an hour still "downloading.."

actually wat had happen on it??

ps. i using the default messaging app
Did you set up Maxis APN?

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 05:56 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 07:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I made a mention about RFS in my review. What is the acronym for Samsung RFS?

Reiser FS: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReiserFS or
Robust FS: http://movitool.ntd.homelinux.org/trac/movitool/wiki/RFS

Nvm, found http://www.samsung.com/global/business/sem...ationNotes.html
It is RobustFS

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 07:53 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 07:38 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Oct 4 2010, 07:36 PM)
thx it works for me

btw why the battery life so short?
I need to recharge everyday
wink.gif
At least you don't have to recharge twice a day. It has been long I used a phone that doesn't need additional battery to last for 1 day. wink.gif
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 07:50 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Oct 4 2010, 07:46 PM)
maybe because I'm connected to internet 24/7
dunno how to disable the internet connected when I dun need it
Battery life is awesome! I have animated wallpaper, Facebook and Twitter retrieving updates and feeds every 30 minutes, Hotmail sync every 1 hour, WhatsApp push messaging always available. By end of the day, I usually have 70% to 85% of remaining power. By any chance I have lots of SMS and phone call, the lowest I ever had is 60% after a day

I wrote this, I always keep myself connected to internet.
mengsuan
post Oct 4 2010, 08:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Haha, I have no reason to lie. Today I didn't touch the phone much. I unplugged from charger at 11am. I just check the battery level, 95%.

Only 1 phone call (loudspeaker) for ~3 minutes, 1 SMS sent, 1 SMS received. Feeds as usual, no one talked to me in whatsapp, email notified me once in a while but I read using computer.

Just 5% usage. Fair enough right?

Btw, I don't use task manager. I used advanced task manager last time and my battery is left 33% by end of the day.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 4 2010, 08:39 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:57 AM