BLACKBERRY PLAYBOOK, Official Playbook Discussion Thread

bennike129
post Jan 15 2011, 03:48 PM

Love WL <3
2,455 posts

QUOTE(sidious @ Jan 15 2011, 02:50 PM)
The PlayBook is so cool! Was contemplating on getting the Samsung Tab, but now i'd rather wait and get this awesome device!

Cant wait for it to hit the Malaysian shores, wanna test it out, get a feel of it.
samsung ?? nahhh
playbook man !
poyo
post Jan 15 2011, 07:28 PM

278 posts

Why? Because one of the major reasons I bought my BB 9780, is for me to be able to open, login, and add / edit details on a HTTPS website that currently can be be 100% accessed via IE [ yes, I've tried it via Firefox since 4 years ago and I can open + login, but I can't add / edit details, view certain pages etc ].

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 7 2011, 07:47 PM)
Why need Internet Explorer when RIM got it own webkit browser that perform like Desktop??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

For phone feature, dont think it will have like at this moment. It even dont come with 3G connection. Purely wifi now.
But it got a 4G variant specifically for US Sprint.. I dont think Malaysia will get 4G soon.

About BIS, so far RIM design it to use with another BB phone for BBM, calanders, Emails.
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 15 2011, 09:29 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then it is perfect Smartphone from BlackBerry...
poyo
post Jan 15 2011, 10:55 PM

278 posts

Eeerrr no, not yet as the native browser in the 9780 cannot open the https website that I need to access at least thrice daily... I hope the upcoming Playbook can open it... I seriously hope so.
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 15 2011, 10:56 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Supposed can, it is using latest technologies...
DrizzyDrake
post Jan 16 2011, 12:46 AM

180 posts

what are https web anyways?
anyone care to explain? smile.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 12:47 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

His company server...
bennike129
post Jan 16 2011, 12:48 AM

Love WL <3
2,455 posts

QUOTE(DrizzyDrake @ Jan 16 2011, 12:46 AM)
what are https web anyways?
anyone care to explain? smile.gif
HTTPS are secure website.
Usually used for website that involve online payments, purchases and important data informations.

Maybank, Paypal, etc
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 12:55 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That why "poyo" cant access via 9780...
poyo
post Jan 16 2011, 01:40 PM

278 posts

Yep, secure company website. Sad to say that for a premier worldwide company, they can't be bothered to contact RIM and RIM to assist.

Anyone can confirm whether the upcoming Playbook will have Internet Explorer, as that's the only browser whereby I can do a proper 100% login, view and edit information in a https website?

TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 04:13 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I will get you more info on this, stay tune...
ffrulz
post Jan 16 2011, 06:49 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

QUOTE(poyo @ Jan 16 2011, 01:40 PM)
Yep, secure company website. Sad to say that for a premier worldwide company, they can't be bothered to contact RIM and RIM to assist.

Anyone can confirm whether the upcoming Playbook will have Internet Explorer, as that's the only browser whereby I can do a proper 100% login, view and edit information in a https website?
Definitely no IE for PlayBook. IE is a Microsoft Product. It'll most likely use the Webkit Browser which should also support the HTTPS protocol. I would find it weird if they implement support for HTML5 and Adobe Flash but they never implement HTTPS or other protocols like FTP even if HTML5 is not a protocol but a web design language.
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 07:25 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Lets wait for full review...
kapultek
post Jan 16 2011, 08:18 PM

1,376 posts

When can get the review
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 09:58 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I mean wait for review on Apps running on Playbook... Coming soon...
DarkNite
post Jan 16 2011, 10:15 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Ya, it would be nice is can trade/view online the stock/share market
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 16 2011, 10:17 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

IMO I think it can handle online share market stuff...
poyo
post Jan 17 2011, 12:20 PM

278 posts

Not even IE emulators of some sort meh? Aiyaiyai! But yeah, if the Playbook do not support HTTPS, then I will not buy it.

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Jan 16 2011, 06:49 PM)
Definitely no IE for PlayBook. IE is a Microsoft Product. It'll most likely use the Webkit Browser which should also support the HTTPS protocol. I would find it weird if they implement support for HTML5 and Adobe Flash but they never implement HTTPS or other protocols like FTP even if HTML5 is not a protocol but a web design language.
dicksonbell, do find out and post here your findings bro! Mucha thanks!
TSdicksonbell
post Jan 17 2011, 02:22 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Dont worry I will be update the latest new on this here soon... Still awaiting HTTPS/FTP/HTML5 and IE confirmation on Playbook...
kapultek
post Jan 17 2011, 05:24 PM

1,376 posts

I tested samsung tab quite good also

177 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0338sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:39 PM