Personal financial management, V2
poolcarpet
Mar 13 2013, 10:58 AM
Last time, I called up the bank and asked them to reduce the limit. They almost couldn't understand or process that request....  then they asked how much to reduce to? I said reduce to the minimum... then they said are you certain? If you reduce it, and next time you want to increase it, it will be very difficult - have to ask for approval, this lah, that lah - and I told them no issues, if they won't increase limit should I need it in the future, I'll cancel the card and apply another bank's card  Very quickly they reduced to the minimum QUOTE(sidanos @ Mar 13 2013, 10:54 AM) Agreed. Last time when I got my first cc, limit was at 5k. Mentality that time was that I have extra 5k in hand. This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Mar 13 2013, 10:58 AM
poolcarpet
Mar 13 2013, 02:14 PM
sorry i meant the govt tax RM50... now many cards without annual fee, and definitely many will look for these without annual fee. the banks should be paying US instead to use their cards! QUOTE(Materazzi @ Mar 13 2013, 02:06 PM)
poolcarpet
Mar 14 2013, 12:37 PM
of course your car situation is different, it's a NEED, not a WANT right? the danger of credit card is that with the insane credit limit, a lot of people will justify a WANT to become a NEED. e.g. the LV bag that you mentioned, is that a NEED or a WANT? does anyone ever NEED an LV bag?  keeping cash in box, tracking in excel, paying off via online banking are just methods to check spending via credit, not to overspend. everyone will have own methods and thinking and it's good to share out different ideas. i agree with you that if one has discipline, then there is no need to track but honestly speaking, how many of us have bought something we WANT but do not NEED? I can honestly put my hands up high to that question. We are only human. This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Mar 14 2013, 12:40 PM
poolcarpet
Mar 17 2013, 07:03 PM
Can always consider REITs right? QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 17 2013, 05:55 PM) +100 If you don't even have the money to pay as downpayment and monthly cash flow to pay for the instalment, how to buy a property? Furthermore, on a moral standpoint, it is wrong to invest in properties. People need homes to live in, as a shelter, while those people with excess wealth are growing their already abundant wealth further by speculating and pumping up property prices.