Personal financial management, V2

poolcarpet
post Feb 26 2013, 09:30 AM

548 posts

I think he also needs to eat, buy clothes, maybe some movies now and then.... don't think RM750 is a lot to spend for 1 month these days.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 26 2013, 09:23 AM)
y balance 950 become can only save 200? where the rest go?
poolcarpet
post Feb 26 2013, 12:03 PM

548 posts

smile.gif Ok, I was hesitant to comment on the initial post, but anyway, from the listing you gave, I think we can clearly see that car is eating up a significant chunk of your income...

RM510 + RM65 + RM80 = RM655 which is 32% of your take home pay.

House Rent seems very low and reasonable, I'm guessing you're renting a room so nothing much to do there.

Hate to say this but the car is really a huge expense, but I guess you're on car loan and maybe hard to do anything about it without suffering significant loss (what car and how long more loan?), but if there is a way to review that expenditure, maybe worth thinking....

The other thing is maybe work out a budget and try to be disciplined in that to try and increase savings from RM200 to more.

e.g. let's say budget RM150 spending money per week, and if you can track down to detailed categories even better, e.g. how much spent on food, entertainment, clothing, etc... but this is easier said that done because I also struggle with keeping track of spending rclxub.gif

"salary = 2000 after minus sosco and epf
car loan = rm510
house rent + parking = rm115+65
car petrol = rm80
utilities = rm80
parents = rm200
balance = rm950"

QUOTE(victor131490 @ Feb 26 2013, 11:55 AM)
you are right. maybe around rm600-rm700 for food. if makan maggi for any 7 days in that month, food expenses maybe only rm500-rm600.  nod.gif
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Feb 26 2013, 12:06 PM
poolcarpet
post Feb 26 2013, 01:13 PM

548 posts

is the interest rate about 3.2%? that works out to RM510 per month for 7 years...

can't do much for the car since you've already committed 7 yrs loan, unless willing to sell (suffer loss) and drive an older car without loan. keep the car as long as you can, maintain it well and don't tie yourself down with another car loan in the future. then you'll have more flexibility in saving/investing.

for budgeting, it may be easier to set weekly budgets first, e.g. as i've said RM150 per week. once you've finished that, no more... so you'll be very careful with the spending early in the week, and towards weekend maybe even end up with cash surplus which you can save smile.gif

QUOTE(victor131490 @ Feb 26 2013, 01:02 PM)
im sharing room with my ex-classmate. just graduated. potong saga. borrow 35k.7 years loan. i also keep tracking, but keep lost track. in the midweek, one or two days missing.
ipoh my hometown, travel from penang. wanted to take bus/train. but when go back, no car to use for visit friend/hang out.  cry.gif
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Feb 26 2013, 01:15 PM
poolcarpet
post Feb 26 2013, 03:39 PM

548 posts

1. 2.8% is not low. It is what the bankers want you to think. After you convert this 2.8% to APR, it's probably around 5.2% pa (in contrast homeloans are about 4.xx% APR at the moment).
2. If you need to lower the installment per month before you feel comfortable it's probably the wrong choice.
3. ZERO installments mean EVEN more money for investments. And you need to get returns MORE THAN 5.2% in order to 'benefit' from the 'low' 2.8%

If you do not understand why 2.8% flat rate (car loan rate) is actually higher, read page 13-8 and 13-12 of this PDF
http://www.ibbm.org.my/pdf/Chap13_amend%20...05%20060205.pdf

If too hard to understand (it was for me), just remember car loan is more expensive that what you think. It's never a good idea to take a 9 year loan for any car, it's financial madness.

What car and price btw?

QUOTE(Twilight Prophet @ Feb 26 2013, 03:23 PM)
Hi all,

I'm about to buy a car and take a car loan. Does it make financial sense to take the maximum tenure available (9 years)?

I know common wisdom has it that you should take a short tenure and pay it off as soon as possible.

But I'm thinking - 9 years means I've to pay more interest but:
1. interest rate is at a historic low of 2.8%. May as well take advantage.
2. lower installments every month hence better cashflow (my career situation is a bit unstable in the short term but I should do well financially in long term)
3. lower installments means I have more money for investments that would likely provide returns above 2.8%

What do you guys think?
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Feb 26 2013, 03:43 PM
poolcarpet
post Feb 26 2013, 03:45 PM

548 posts

It's never too late to start cooking a fresh batch of abalone fried rice... forget about the past, learn from mistake and never repeat it. Many would have learned the same way too (myself too) rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(victor131490 @ Feb 26 2013, 02:03 PM)
should have bought a motor instead. rice already become porridge.
poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 08:21 AM

548 posts

Shariah compliant is for Muslims, as it takes away the concept of conventional interest and uses "profit sharing" instead.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_banking

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 27 2013, 12:36 AM)
I am afraid I have to ask stupid question,

Maybank2u Savers and Maybank2u Savers-i, what's the main different ?

Both are exactly the same except "Shariah-compliant". What does it mean ?
poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 09:26 AM

548 posts

The IBBM pdf explains it all, also do check out your own car hire purchase documents. In one of the documentation (normally the carbon copy one), you will see details of the loan, total amount, and most important of all the APR. That is the true cost of that loan... not the simple flat rate interest.

Very simple scenario you can imagine, if you have RM100,000 and you want to buy a car - they are offering flat rate interest of 2.5%. Sounds like a good deal, instead of paying cash for the car, take the loan and with the RM100k, put in FD earning 3.05% interest. In the end you make money still cause car loan only 2.5% but FD 3.05%, right?

Wrong. If you calculate properly (remember you need to withdraw the loan installment amount from the 100k FD every month to repay the car loan) you will see that you actually lose money so how can that be? It's because the interest rate quoted is not the same (like talking mm vs cm) and the 2.5% is actually about 4.5% APR which is more than the FD 3.05%. (Again, IBBM pdf has all the explanation and details, but for simple quick calculation, flat rate x 1.85 would give you the rough APR.)

Go check out your own car hire purchase documents and you will see. Here's an example... flat rate 4.4% but in actual fact it's actually APR 8.19%

poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 03:46 PM

548 posts

your example is the same thing lah... they offer you loan at 4.xx% (like car loan) but as you've calculated it's effective rate 9.xx%.

same goes for car loan... exact same principle..

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 27 2013, 01:13 PM)
I don't understand what you said lah.

To be more precise, Effective Rate > Flat Rate is due to time value of money.

I have posted a simple illustration below in my previous thread to explain the difference between flat rate and effective rate .

Never trust the bank's marketing pitch
poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 05:18 PM

548 posts

sorry if it's confusing.... just a comparison,

let's say you take RM90k loan for 7 yrs:

1. Scenario 1 - buying a RM100k car, 90% loan at 2.5% flat rate - key in the values into the calculator here:
http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/tools/loan_payment.asp

and you'll get RM1258.93 per month installment

2. Scenario 2 - buying a RM100k property, 90% loan but at 4.68% APR - key in the values into the calculator here:
http://www.simedarbyproperty.com/home_loan_calculator.aspx

and you'll also get RM1258.56 per month installment.

Notice how in both scenarios we are taking RM90k loan, over 7 years, and monthly installment is almost similar?

If you follow the formula in page 13-12 of the IBBM pdf, you'll work out that 2.5% flat rate is equivalent to 4.68% APR.

That 4.68% is the true cost of the car loan at 2.5% flat rate, that's what I'm trying to say.

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 27 2013, 04:07 PM)
I don't know if that the same bacause I do not understand your example rclxub.gif .
poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 07:05 PM

548 posts

Sorry man, I'm not a banker no idea smile.gif Maybe it's easier for most people to understand if it's shown as flat rate. Also looks better from bank's point of view, as most people will think 2.5% is 'lower' than 4% APR for example...

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 27 2013, 06:58 PM)
ya i understand wat u trying to say but wat the reason that make it like dat?
poolcarpet
post Feb 27 2013, 07:11 PM

548 posts

If you use APR method, it's actually interest charged on reducing balance, e.g. 100k loan at 2.5% for 7 years, in the 7th year your loan amount would be must less than 100k, probably RM15k (just simply tembak a value) - yet you are still 'charged' 2.5% of 100k for that final year.

It's just different way of looking at interest, in the end you still pay same amount of interest as you can see/calculate from the car/house loan example above. (calculate payment per month x total months, both same).

And just did some googling and found HLB offering car loan based on BLR!

http://savemoney.my/mach-by-hong-leong-ban...ntrol-car-loan/

"VARIABLE RATE at 6.6% p.a. is approximately 3.5%-3.7% p.a. after converting to FLAT RATE."

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 27 2013, 07:08 PM)
I mean y when calculate for car it so expensive while calculate property it not so expensive.

Flat rate means the interest will be calculate base on the total amount of loan right. while for property it calculate interest based on the outstanding balance.

So when based on total amount of loan means the interest actually go up together with duration of loan?

can explain like dat: hmm.gif
poolcarpet
post Feb 28 2013, 12:20 PM

548 posts

so good to see different approaches and thinking. for me, i think 16 months or even 12 months is way too much. i keep about 3 months only for CRUCIAL xpenses. that means some other luxuries are NOT catered for, e.g. entertainment.

maximize the rest in investment, whether ut or property or shares...

if there is a serious need for more than 3 months then there is still sufficient time to plan.

just my views but i agree everyone will have different planning/requirements.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 28 2013, 11:38 AM)
Yea

Think along this line...every month we receive our NET INCOME, and then we pay our EXPENSES and save the excess.

Thus, when planning for emergency funds, it would be better to have in multiples of net income or monthly expenses rather than gross income.

Like myself I put 12 months worth of net income in FDs, thus theoretically I can be out of job for 12 months without affecting my lifestyle. nod.gif

Any excess cash after that 12 months FDs I park in bond funds which yield above FD rates.
poolcarpet
post Mar 6 2013, 04:53 PM

548 posts

Just curious, what kind of insurance is that RM200 per month??? RM2400 per year?

Again as mentioned for another forum-er before, I think car again take up a huge chunk - RM500+200+50 = RM750. Throw in insurance above and this is already RM1k gone.

RM800 on food & groceries maybe a little too much? RM200 per week? Just for yourself alone???

What is your typical spending on food daily with the RM26?

QUOTE(Agent 592 @ Mar 6 2013, 11:12 AM)
Hey guys, need some help on financial planning, currently I am suffering to save money significant enough to start investing, below's my monthly income statement.

Income
Salary: 2600 (after epf and socso)

Expense
Rental: 700
Car loan: 500
Petrol: 200
Insurance: 250
Toll: 50
Utilities: 100

Balance: 800 for food and groceries

Monthly savings: 100

Can anyone help me to streamline it so that I can have more saving left.  Or any idea to generate more money or save more. Appreciate your help.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Mar 6 2013, 04:54 PM
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 01:48 PM

548 posts

For EPF A/C2 with flexi mortgage, you still can't touch the money right? If you withdraw from A/C2 to reduce homeloan, the exact amount cannot be withdrawn under flexi mortgage, right?

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2013, 07:28 PM)
EPF A/C2 with a Flexi Mortgage lor tongue.gif
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 02:57 PM

548 posts

Ok I know yearly withdrawals definitely cannot, not familiar with monthly withdrawals but I would think EPF might want a statement to proof that the money was used to repay the loan and not for anything else... ? anyway hard to touch EPF $$...

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 11 2013, 02:35 PM)
Monthly withdrawals - can, coz it doesn't even reach your financier, it goes into your "local bank account".
Once there, can put into flexi mortgage to "sit as capital repayment until taken out", thus saving/making the %

Yearly withdrawals - technically cannot coz it goes straight to your financier.
well, heard stories lar but unsure executable or not.

Just a thought
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 11:01 PM

548 posts

fully agreed with the last few posts!! rclxms.gif

sometimes i see how today's parents 'spoil' their kids, i rclxub.gif

all expensive branded stuff, new cars, branded watches, super special birthday celebrations, really doh.gif
poolcarpet
post Mar 12 2013, 07:57 AM

548 posts

It's not THAT long... if you buy new properties. I believe the date is from S&P signing date, and for new properties, it will take around 2-3 years for construction anyway, so it will be maybe 2-3 years after VP.

I believe the rates are 15% within first 2 years, and 10% between year 2-5, and this is charged on the profit (not selling price) and you can also deduct costs associated and RM10k relief. Or if really hit a goldmine property (DPC?) and you want maximum, you can also choose to have once in a lifetime exemption.

Unfortunately RPGT is just the smaller amount associated with selling a property, there are other costs too shocking.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 11 2013, 11:55 PM)
5 years is not a short wait bro doh.gif
poolcarpet
post Mar 12 2013, 01:39 PM

548 posts

There are lots of good spreadsheets out there too, I've used this before:
http://www.simpleplanning.net/

poolcarpet
post Mar 13 2013, 10:24 AM

548 posts

I think there are two school of thoughts on debt repayment.....

1. Pay off the one with highest interest rate
2. Pay off the smaller amount

#1 is very calculative, and aim to reduce the cost of loan
#2 is more human emotions side, as you clear the loan you feel more positive and be encouraged even more to clear the rest

Personal loan 4% pa, should be around 7.xx % effective
CC interest should be around 18% pa?

If so, then you should pay off the CC as soon as possible, and control future spending with the CC. Never carry any CC balances because that is the most expensive form of 'loan'. Once that is settled, tackle the PL.

For ASB, no idea not familiar with that - if you are getting returns higher than the PL/CC (which I doubt so) then NOT a good idea to withdraw to pay off the loan. It's as simple as working out which will give you more 'returns'. If you do withdraw from ASB, then you must be disciplined NOT to take on another PL/CC balance, otherwise it's an endless cycle sad.gif

QUOTE(sidanos @ Mar 13 2013, 10:08 AM)
Hi guys,

Want to ask a question.
I will get my bonus hopefully by  nxt month, expected arnd 5k.
I have debt of cc = 8k
Personal loan = 12k @ 4% p.a.

Which one should I use the bonus money to pay 1st, cc or PL?
Also, I have some investment in ASB, is it better to withdraw the ASB and clear some of my loan?

Thanks in advance.
poolcarpet
post Mar 13 2013, 10:39 AM

548 posts

Here is a way to manage CC spending.... if you have a CC where you can pay online (e.g. maybe same bank), treat the CC like actual money.

1. Make payment using CC
2. Once back at home, login to online banking and make the payment (same amount as charged in #1) to the CC immediately.
3. Repeat this and at the end of the billing cycle, you should have very little or zero balance in the CC.
4. Your 'credit limit' is based on what you have in your bank account, not based on the CC credit limit (which at often times is way too high in my opinion)

Never be tempted to sign on those credit card installment plans (unless 0%, but even that, be very careful with budgeting). I personally only have 1 credit card, that's all - don't want or need so many cards, and also don't want to keep feeding govt RM50 in annual fees..... vmad.gif mad.gif

QUOTE(sidanos @ Mar 13 2013, 10:33 AM)
Thanks for the reply.
I'm cutting down the usage of my CC's. Already cancelled 2 of them.
Another 2 more to go. Really need discipline not to use my CC to buy stuff.
Now I just keep them in my drawer, only have 1 with me in case of emergency and filling up petrol.
The PL was a mistake, should have not taken it. sweat.gif
Now learning to take better care of my finances, and gained alot of knowledge from this thread.
Keep it up guys, you are helping alot of people. thumbup.gif
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Mar 13 2013, 10:40 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0812sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:06 AM