Personal financial management, V2
l3g3nd1314
Mar 1 2011, 10:57 PM

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ Feb 28 2011, 01:06 PM) Hi Guys, I am getting my bonus soon and is currently planning to use the money for investment. (Money help find more money). I assume my bonus to be around 8k. I would sincerely appreciate if you guys help and suggest the best investments (based on your personal experience) there is currently in the market. I am a old school type of investor very conservative and skeptical thus I also appreciate if you guys can share the pro's & cons for investment that you suggest. Thanks in advance for helping out & sharing your opinions and ideas. Put half into mutual fund, then another half to shares (if you got keep an eye on the stock market). Otherwise, save most of them mutual fund.
diamondclow
Mar 3 2011, 06:23 PM

Hello all, Maybe this is my first step into managing my money because before this I didn't save any money from my monthly salary. I just turn 23yo this year and my monthly salary around RM2.2k Maybe I can list down some details below for you guys to refer: Salary : RM2.2k Commitment : RM500-600 (for now, may increase later on) Loan : PTPTN loan RM15k Food : RM400 Petrol/Phone : RM150 (no car) Entertainment: RM100 Others : RM200 Self Development : RM350 Commitment towards family, I help settle all monthly bills and maybe house rent later. But I feel so burden because I don't have any saving, no car, no house. I also don't have ASB saving  Please enlighten me. TQ
SUSMNet
Mar 3 2011, 07:34 PM
wat is self development?
u mean go clubing?
diamondclow
Mar 4 2011, 12:27 AM

i mean getting my professional certificate in IT industry..
lonely_dream
Mar 4 2011, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(diamondclow @ Mar 3 2011, 06:23 PM) Hello all, Maybe this is my first step into managing my money because before this I didn't save any money from my monthly salary. I just turn 23yo this year and my monthly salary around RM2.2k Maybe I can list down some details below for you guys to refer: Salary : RM2.2k Commitment : RM500-600 (for now, may increase later on) Loan : PTPTN loan RM15k Food : RM400 Petrol/Phone : RM150 (no car) Entertainment: RM100 Others : RM200 Self Development : RM350 Commitment towards family, I help settle all monthly bills and maybe house rent later. But I feel so burden because I don't have any saving, no car, no house. I also don't have ASB saving  Please enlighten me. TQ Find some part-time job.. Ur case is similiar with most of the fresh grads,so don't be so sad.
diamondclow
Mar 4 2011, 12:48 PM

i'm working on rotation shift and part time work doesn't suit my schedule... but i'm trying to run a freelance services (if i'm able to find free time between my shift)
for my commitment, i'm staying with my family and later on, i'll need to pay for house rent too (that's why i'm stating that there will be chances for my commitment to increase +RM700)
should i buy house instead renting for another 10 years? with my salary, is it possible?
alexkos
Mar 6 2011, 02:42 PM
is education a choice? invest in it, get a master, gaji naik =D
diamondclow
Mar 6 2011, 08:44 PM

i don't think master in IT do anything good... i want to further until degree and top-up with professional cert.. but that is my 5 years plan
solemn_86
Mar 15 2011, 10:42 AM

Hi all, seems this topic is stagnant for a while so I bumped it and in need of advice INCOME: Salary : RM 2385 Others : RM 900 LIABILITIES: Study Loan : PTPTN loan RM50k (need advice the most on how to settle fast  ) Car Loan: RM 500 p/m (Viva 7 years, petrol is managed by my family) Food : RM 500 Rent : RM 220 Phone (Maxis prepaid): RM 30 p/m Entertainment (UNIFI): RM 150 (VIP5) Games (PS3) : RM 300 SAVINGS: ASB : RM 13000 as of now (I'm saving RM1000 p/m) Cash in hand : zilch So I'm left with RM 585 every month, give and take a hundred or two. Please advice on how to minimize liabilities (especially that PTPTN  ) Thank you very much
zenwell
Mar 15 2011, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(solemn_86 @ Mar 15 2011, 10:42 AM) Hi all, seems this topic is stagnant for a while so I bumped it and in need of advice INCOME: Salary : RM 2385 Others : RM 900 LIABILITIES: Study Loan : PTPTN loan RM50k (need advice the most on how to settle fast  ) Car Loan: RM 500 p/m (Viva 7 years, petrol is managed by my family) Food : RM 500 Rent : RM 220 Phone (Maxis prepaid): RM 30 p/m Entertainment (UNIFI): RM 150 (VIP5) Games (PS3) : RM 300 SAVINGS: ASB : RM 13000 as of now (I'm saving RM1000 p/m) Cash in hand : zilch So I'm left with RM 585 every month, give and take a hundred or two. Please advice on how to minimize liabilities (especially that PTPTN  ) Thank you very much Cut the games and put the RM300 towards settling your ptptn loan. for ASB maybe after you've saved an amount that you feel comfortable, start throwing the monthly rm1000 into your ptptn loan. just my suggestion.
solemn_86
Mar 15 2011, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 15 2011, 11:06 AM) Cut the games and put the RM300 towards settling your ptptn loan. for ASB maybe after you've saved an amount that you feel comfortable, start throwing the monthly rm1000 into your ptptn loan. just my suggestion. Ok thanks, a bit extreme but maybe workable
gark
Mar 15 2011, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(solemn_86 @ Mar 15 2011, 10:42 AM) So I'm left with RM 585 every month, give and take a hundred or two. Please advice on how to minimize liabilities (especially that PTPTNÂ  ) Don't worry on the PTPTN loan as the interest rate is low, just pay the minimum amount like RM 50 per month. Continue to invest in ASB until you hit max 200K, then only put your money in the PTPTN loan and/or other investments. Consider putting more into ASB (the maximum you can afford) until you have maxed it, the sooner the better then let it breed until you retire. This post has been edited by gark: Mar 15 2011, 05:46 PM
iStevei
Mar 15 2011, 06:57 PM

Basically i also dump alot of money into PTPTN. Hope to clear it in 2-3 yrs time. As i still learning to invest, its best to clear all the outstanding loan first. Of cos if any investment gives higher interest than ur loan then concentrate on ur investment first.
solemn_86
Mar 16 2011, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 15 2011, 05:45 PM) Don't worry on the PTPTN loan as the interest rate is low, just pay the minimum amount like RM 50 per month. Continue to invest in ASB until you hit max 200K, then only put your money in the PTPTN loan and/or other investments. Consider putting more into ASB (the maximum you can afford) until you have maxed it, the sooner the better then let it breed until you retire.  Thanks, I think so too because the dividend for ASB is 7%-8% (depends)  I hope that along the years I'll be able to max my ASB and at the same time, settle my PTPTN
wpq8355
Mar 16 2011, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(diamondclow @ Mar 4 2011, 12:27 AM) i mean getting my professional certificate in IT industry.. work with IT training provider. free development on certification track. save lots of RM. theory become practical. and less time spend to achieve it
shamsul_LP
Mar 16 2011, 06:10 PM
Hi all, i also want some advice from sifu2 here..i'm 25 this year...want a tip for saving & living INCOME: Salary : RM 2500 Others : RM 600 LIABILITIES: PTPTN :RM 180 p/m (15years, loan RM28k) Car : RM 770 p/m (9 years, loan RM65k) Food & Petrol & etc : RM400 - RM500 Phone : RM 30 p/m TOTAL : 1480 SAVINGS: ASB : I'm saving RM1000 p/m left : 2500+600-1480-1000 ~ RM620 So I'm left with RM 600 A month...how to improve my financial management...any advise?
fahrur_07
Mar 16 2011, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Mar 16 2011, 06:10 PM) Hi all, i also want some advice from sifu2 here..i'm 25 this year...want a tip for saving & living INCOME: Salary : RM 2500 Others : RM 600 LIABILITIES: PTPTN :RM 180 p/m (15years, loan RM28k) Car : RM 770 p/m (9 years, loan RM65k) Food & Petrol & etc : RM400 - RM500 Phone : RM 30 p/m TOTAL : 1480 SAVINGS: ASB : I'm saving RM1000 p/m left : 2500+600-1480-1000 ~ RM620 So I'm left with RM 600 A month...how to improve my financial management...any advise? instead of deposit 1k per month to ASB why dont you take ASB loan? i take rm100k asb loan, after i calculate, the dividend that i get can cover all the monthly installment that i pay for last year
Kellermann
Mar 16 2011, 10:26 PM
hi all...for those who work far away from parent..how many time do guys 'balik kampung'?...i'm working in KL and travel back to Penang every month...so i have to spend at least RM200 for toll and fuel..
SUSDavid83
Mar 16 2011, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(Kellermann @ Mar 16 2011, 10:26 PM) hi all...for those who work far away from parent..how many time do guys 'balik kampung'?...i'm working in KL and travel back to Penang every month...so i have to spend at least RM200 for toll and fuel.. I'm in the same shoe as you but I only go back when there's a public holiday. Sometime, I car pool while other time, I'll skip the highway and use trunk roads for certain stretches.
fahrur_07
Mar 16 2011, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(Kellermann @ Mar 16 2011, 10:26 PM) hi all...for those who work far away from parent..how many time do guys 'balik kampung'?...i'm working in KL and travel back to Penang every month...so i have to spend at least RM200 for toll and fuel.. take a bus to balik kampung at kampung,use ur parent car if needed