4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Personal financial management, V2

kinwing
post May 23 2011, 03:08 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 23 2011, 09:44 AM)
Wait till U settle down with yr hot woman and start production  tongue.gif. Them kids cost a bomb (long run).. but the heart seems to win every time i start my Excel. Irrational feelings vs. Logic - irrational feelings win hands down  tongue.gif
My budget of RM8K for 6 months in Ipoh was for single man only lah, as you can see the expenses were so low that not even take into account dating expenses. I just can't imagine the expenses of getting marry with kids, at least not at this moment.
kinwing
post May 26 2011, 03:25 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(JerryTeh @ May 26 2011, 12:23 PM)
WOW..... no entertainment/shopping/any doodads?

I want go ipoh sell insurance liao....
@jerry

Entertainment? Yamcha, dota, movie with friends everyweek are not expensive anyway. Don't like go night club, bar message or spa, so entertainment budget is well controlled brows.gif

By the way, why go Ipoh to sell insurance.
kinwing
post May 26 2011, 03:28 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 26 2011, 01:37 PM)
y u use streamyx rm100?

use p1 rm49

u can save 50% already
if p1 RM49 is as good as and as fast as streamyx RM100, can consider also, but I am not aware p1 RM49 is that good.
kinwing
post Nov 2 2011, 09:35 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(MSS @ Nov 1 2011, 11:45 PM)
Monthly RM3000.00
Loan RM1000 (car & house) end 2017/2018
Family RM1000
Credit Card RM500
For me only RM500 (saving, gadget and etc).
Saving (RM0)

Now, thinking want to buy property.
Invest in property more good I think.
What do you think?.
You pay your family RM1,000 each month, so do your family cook for you then? Anyway, you still at least need to budget for your lunch expenses if you are eating outside during working hour. Nowadays in KL, the rate for lunch is at least RM6 (without beverage drink), so you got at least 20 working days so you need to budget RM120 for your lunch each month.

I think RM500 for credit card payment each month is a lot with your salary scale, are you going to pay off the credit card debt soon?

By the way, I don't see you list out any insurance plan?

How about the spending on car such as petrol, toll, maintainence, insurance etc, have you counted these expenses into the loan which amounted to RM1,000?

What kind of gadget that cost you to spend RM500 each month until the circumstance that you can't save a sen? I think you should try to save to settle your credit card debt first.

The storm of financial crisis is coming on the way, so I wish you good luck that you won't out of job anytime soon.
kinwing
post Nov 8 2011, 12:28 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Nov 7 2011, 10:03 AM)
And many will blare the real estate problem wont happen to Malaysia one... I wonder how long can the gravy train last n where exactly the funding come from in recent budget. I see plenty of forummer indicate they have more than 1 housing loan that exceed their income/repayment ratio. Yes I know u can leverage...but overgearing is risky...yes no risk no gain. Either we have LOTS of undeclared income entrepreneurs or plenty of people like to boast their multiple loan liability profile and if indeed they afford many property with limited fixed income they start to sound a lot like politician that only say a quarter truth to make themselves look good.
Looking at the current real estate situation most Malaysian is like buying with little concern on long term yield but just speculate on capital gain only n genuine house buyer for own stay ended up funding the 1st tier speculator.
Obviously above is generalization n there are exception but at the current rate, it's very unnerving as a rakyat. All it take is a small calamity n the chain reaction will start.
Property price did collapse by more than half during the great Asia financial crisis in Hong Kong, and it took 10 years to recover. A lot of Hong Kee were paying huge sum of housing mortgage but with a property that only worth half of the mortgage, so they lost millions. Now Hong Kong is facing the same situation that its property market's price would be going down by 30% to 40% in the coming years after such a steep rally in price. Would this situation happen to Malaysia's property market as well and those who over-leverage into properties could be whacked gaogao.
kinwing
post Dec 8 2011, 10:26 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(vivo1314 @ Dec 7 2011, 01:39 AM)
Hi there, just hope to get some advise on my financial managment.

23years old, male, KL.
Just graduate diploma in business admin(segi),
Currently working as marketing executive in financial training company,
Just started 2 months ++, previously studying and working temporary and part time job

Petrol -270/mth
Food - 150(22wrking days)
HLA saving plan- 435.50(HLA cash builder premium-92.93), (rider critical illness waiver premium-1.32), (builder two-341.25)
Handphone - 200(internet+call+sms+iphone)
Family - 300
Epf - (350-390)
Pcb - (30-50)
Others variable -450

Salary - (RM 2700-3000)depends on working allwnces
Saving - (550-850)

I actually owns an internet website/fb selling things, but am hardly doing it now. Trying to think some sort of a way bcos i wanted to buy house, car, saving for business and marriage. Am still a newbie in property, investment or shares. I am lucky that i am staying with family that i do not need to pay for any house rental, car loan or house loan. But i wish to own a car, house, business and marries before 29-30years old.

Dear sifuss, please advise:) thank you!
According to what you have provided, I assume your monthly spending is about RM1.8k (no include EPF), so I recommand you to save an amount that at least cover your 6-month expenses, i.e. RM11k.

You also mentioned your range of savings is 550 to 850, so I take the average of this range and assume you will save RM700 per month. With a saving of RM700 per month, you need to save 16 to 17 months in order to accumulate enough emergency fund of RM11k.

After achieving your emergency funds target, you can plan to save for the downpayment of a new car. Assuming you will buy a new brand Myvi which will cost you around RM50k and the first downpayment will be at least 10% of the total cost, i.e. RM5K. Assume that you still save the same amount of RM700 per month, then you will need to save another 7 months in order to pay for the car's downpayment (if your salary increase so you could save more then it will be better). So assume that you start to save next year when you are 24, you will be able to own a car when you are 26.

I also recommand you take a 5-year car loan and you will need to pay a monthly installment of RM800 or above (including other cost of owning a car). You should also try work hard to be promoted, get more salary increment and bonuses, otherwise you could not save more in this 5 years after paying off your car loan.

After paying off your car loan, you will be around 31, and it will be the time for you to think about having your own house and getting marry. I believe the price of the most affordable house in KL will be at least RM400k to RM600K or above. So at that time you either should have enough savings of RM100k in order to pay for the downpayment and renovation of the house and also have a salary that allow you to pay for a 30-year mortgage installment which will cost you about RM1k or above each month, or else you have to save another few more years. Of course, if your future wife could share the cost of the house, that will make your life easier.

Added on December 8, 2011, 10:29 am
QUOTE(kinwing @ Dec 8 2011, 10:26 AM)
According to what you have provided, I assume your monthly spending is about RM1.8k (no include EPF), so I recommand you to save an amount that at least cover your 6-month expenses, i.e. RM11k.

You also mentioned your range of savings is 550 to 850, so I take the average of this range and assume you will save RM700 per month. With a saving of RM700 per month, you need to save 16 to 17 months in order to accumulate enough emergency fund of RM11k.

After achieving your emergency funds target, you can plan to save for the downpayment of a new car. Assuming you will buy a new brand Myvi which will cost you around RM50k and the first downpayment will be at least 10% of the total cost, i.e. RM5K. Assume that you still save the same amount of RM700 per month, then you will need to save another 7 months in order to pay for the car's downpayment (if your salary increase so you could save more then it will be better). So assume that you start to save next year when you are 24, you will be able to own a car when you are 26.

I also recommand you take a 5-year car loan and you will need to pay a monthly installment of RM800 or above (including other cost of owning a car). You should also try work hard to be promoted, get more salary increment and bonuses, otherwise you could not save more in this 5 years after paying off your car loan.

After paying off your car loan, you will be around 31, and it will be the time for you to think about having your own house and getting marry. I believe the price of the most affordable house in KL will be at least RM400k to RM600K or above. So at that time you either should have enough savings of RM100k in order to pay for the downpayment and renovation of the house and also have a salary that allow you to pay for a 30-year mortgage installment which will cost you about RM1k or above each month, or else you have to save another few more years. Of course, if your future wife  could share the cost of the house, that will make your life easier.
By the way, forget to ask you that do you have any knowledge about investment, if you do then I can advice you start to look out for good investment opportunities to grow you wealth. Only relying on savings is not enough.

This post has been edited by kinwing: Dec 8 2011, 10:29 AM
kinwing
post Mar 6 2012, 12:22 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(perspex @ Mar 5 2012, 12:14 PM)
hi there, i would like to give you a suggestion that take a saving plan from insurance company especially for you at aged 25. With the return is slightly higher than you put in bank and easy to withdraw out. You can contact me for more info if you are keen.
Why you are digging old topic? By the way, I hope you are not an insurance agent trying hard to promote your products here.
kinwing
post Mar 9 2012, 12:40 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(pipking @ Mar 8 2012, 10:47 PM)
Need advice !

Income in RM:
Monthly Salary = 6,700 after all deductions
Rental Income = 500
Part time = 550

Expenses in RM:
Food = 600
Transport = 300
Entertainment = 100
Phone Bills = 100
Electric & Water = 100
Insurance = 200
Streamyx = 110
Give Parents = 500
MORTGAGE = Paid Off
CAR = Paid Off
Credit Card = Paid Off

Asset
Saving = 10,000
House = 200,000
Car = 5,000
Stock = 10,000
KWSP = 150,000

Liability
Zero

Extremely Frugal Guy here, when can I retire ?
Let me do a simple math for your retirement plan with some simple assumptions:

- Monthly income = 6,700+500+550 = 7,750
- Monthly expenses = 600+300+100+100+100+200+110+500 = 2,110
- Monthly savings = 5,640
- Yearly savings = 5,640 * 12 = 67,680
- Assuming you invest all savings into stock markets of which can reward you 6% return every year (same as the rate of return of EPF)
- Current equity portfolio = 10,000 (also assume this equity portfolio will grow by 6% every year)
- Since you want to retire earlier, so KWSP is not very important to consider as you cannot touch this money before the statutory retirement at age 55
- Saving 10,000 will not take into consider for retirement, instead I put this as an emergency fund
- Your yearly expenses will be inflated 3% each year

9 years later
- Your yearly expenses = (2,110*12)*(1+0.03)^(6.25) = 30,457.65
- So you need a portfolio size with a return 6% return to support your retirement expenses at 6.25 years later = 30,457.65/0.06 = 507,627.46
- Your portfolio size at year 6.25 = {67,680*[(1+0.06)^(6.25)-1]/0.06}+{10,000*(1+0.06)^(6.25)} = 509,962.37 > 507.627.46
- With a portfolio size of 509,962.37, this will generate an annual income of 30,597.74 (=509,962.37*0.06) which would be able to cover the inflation-adjusted living expenses of 30,457.65 at year 6.25

Conclusion is that you would be able to retire 6.25 years later if you can meet the assumptions stated above. Good luck smile.gif .

Note: Sorry for the previous wrong calculation. Have ractified the numbers tongue.gif .

This post has been edited by kinwing: Mar 14 2012, 10:21 AM
kinwing
post Mar 9 2012, 12:56 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 9 2012, 09:42 AM)
Whoa... 35 only?  notworthy.gif
U the Sifu leh, can save 70%+/- of yr net income (excluding asset returns). I can only hit about 46%+/-, thus i need another 8 yrs +/- to be "free" and have great options  sweat.gif

BTW, it's not just about the millions we have/hold in assets, it's also our ability to keep/not spend crazily, that affects our personal economy.
Thus, a person with $4M, with yearly expenses of $500K, will destroy that accumulation easily within 10 years, EXCLUDING inflation tongue.gif

Bro, being frugal is good, just ensure yr physical and mental health + relationships are as strong as your financials too.
Just sharing an experience - a relationship that soured nuked my net worth when i was younger and dumber. I was "supposed to be" financially free in 2012 / 2013 before the nuke  cry.gif
Hi munkeong,

If you have RM4 million portfolio that reward you an inflation adjusted return of more than 12.5% every year, spending RM500k should not be a problem lah.
kinwing
post Mar 9 2012, 04:38 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 9 2012, 01:01 PM)
True, but can get 12.5% inflation adjusted returns on average, every year boh?  brows.gif
That's like 12.5%+3%inflation (minimum) = 15.5% average return pa?  Whoa...
Pls correct if i'm mistaken ar with the above calc., me maths aint me strong point tongue.gif = just simple logic & Excel

Get 8%pa inflation adjusted returns also dang good liao (assuming inflation is 3% to 6%pa) for an average Joe like me.
8% inflation adjusted returns are achievable through investing KLCI Index Fund. Indeed, there are quite a number of equity funds can give you return of more than 10% to 15% one, not to mention certain specific good companies' shares can have annual compounded return up to 20%.

If really cannot achieve a 12.5% inflation adjusted annual return to preserve the purchasing power of the RM4 million portfolio, then don't spend that much up to RM500K, simple as that.

This post has been edited by kinwing: Mar 9 2012, 04:40 PM
kinwing
post Mar 25 2012, 01:18 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(va1kyr13 @ Mar 23 2012, 02:17 PM)
speaking of the risk, i also aware of that. But in this program, the risk are low cause of the plan made by the company CEO. It secure even the world economic are bad. Maybe this is kind of new investment product that you never come across before. Well if you really want to know, you can meet with me.  I want you just hear or know what the plan made so far. And give you opinion after hearing one of our seminar.
No sales man talk here please.

"It secure even the world economic are bad" which mean the product involves derivatives or it is hedge fund type. If you really want to introduce the product, please bump in the fund management thread and show us what is the product there.

If you do not know how to introduce the financial product in words, this indicates you yourself are not knowing what you are investing. Or just ask the CEO to give you the product brochure and scan it to show us. Secret PM or meeting are not welcome here as this indicates the so-called low risk high return product is not genuine.

By the way, you claim the product generates 15% pa so can double the wealth of the investors in every "7 years", I think you are wrong as 15% pa will provide more than double the wealth to investors in 7 years. In view of this, I do not trust your words here with your poor understanding over the invetment return.

Added on March 25, 2012, 1:20 pmIn addition, you have a new ID just talk about the financial product, and this is another red flag to me also

This post has been edited by kinwing: Mar 25 2012, 01:20 PM
kinwing
post Apr 11 2012, 03:50 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 11 2012, 02:26 PM)
No advisor here per se but a calculative bugger tongue.gif. Hey, get ye hands off me money! laugh.gif
BTW, being er.. suckered by insurances with participating / whole life is one of my main reasons for learning PFP (Personal Financial Planning) and bouncing ideas/experiences in forums.

-------------
Just to share my experience with "whole life" vs term life, both 3Ds (death, disease, disability) from the same insurance company, Prudential. Please note - not against Prudential or any other insurance companies, they are there for a reason AND BUSINESS.

1. 1999 - bought a $150K coverage 3D "whole life" participating insurance from Prudential.
Monthly premium $300

2. 2001 - as my ex did not want to work anymore (ie. no salary/income), i had to cover more in case i kick the bucket ahead of time.
The extra to cover was $750K. I checked with my PRU agent my options and the most cost effective was term life, $310

3. Imagine if i did the "whole life" to cover $750K, what would my additional premium be monthly?
Simple calculation is $750K/$150K *$300 = approximately $1,500 extra per month
VS
$310 for term up to 55.
------------

Another experience - AIA. Bought when i was 19 going to 20 (1992)
1. "Forced savings" - what to do, younger & stupider + sold by a relative.
2. Was given the hoo hah about 6%pa returns, critical year 10th or 11th year and i won't need to pay liao.
3. 12 years down the road, when i called AIA to inquire about "needing or not needing" to continue monthly payment, i was told i need to continue paying.
Ok... how long more? AIA said 5 years.
Ok... 5 years more then for sure i don't need to pay anymore right? The sum is big enough to generate $xxx based on y%pa to cover?
No - not for sure.
Hello...?! This was during a bull run in the 1990s (pre 1997/1998) for those who are too young to know. FD was hitting 12%pa!
and my "investment" didn't even hit 6%pa? Wonder fool - the fool being me. Forced savings / investing my arse
-------------

a. Thus, which would a logical human being choose to use for covering / transferring risk - term or whole life/participating?
Mind U, the main idea is risk management for me, NOT transferring $ / inheritance by-passing taxes and stuff like the super-rich.

b. When i reach retirement age, why the heck would i want life insurance as i DON'T have a working income?
My plan is to be self insured by then as generally, all the premiums paid if i continued on will be as good as self-insuring + insurance companies expenses & profits

c. SKY 1809, for a person stating that most of the posting shared here (mind U, it's our POVs and opinions, not 100% gospel truths) are "Most likely it is to cover up their inadequate knowledge in this area", please share your calculations & reasoning lar.
+Stating items like "dunno when will die" and other stuff is not a good enough reason for me to pay 5X more for coverage than required. I'd rather take that $ and invest it myself.
+BTW, do U actually know how insurance works and that insurance companies are in it for a profit?
+Actuarial science and probabilities - at the end of the day, all the insurance premiums we pay are, at the end of the, nearly / actually self insuring AND the insurance companies' profits and operation costs.
+Are U the super rich portion of the rakyat that actually uses insurance as a savings and transfer of wealth vehicle?
+I think U are smarter than the average Joe since U seem to be active in the Stocks topic - have U actually sat down and calculated the costs of term insurance (say a block of years up to 55 or 60) VS cost of participating/whole life insurance? Take the cost difference and compound them at 6%pa only (bond funds - simple) and...?
+Given limited resources for average Joes like me (of course others may be playing at another level lar, like U), i need to allocate my resources AND be able to have enough coverage to transfer risks that i cannot absorb for now... UNTIL i build up my pile of assets. So, do U mean that term insurance is not good for that? Why? Coz it is "gone" and "wasted" unlike "cash balance" participating/whole life insurances?
+Do U know the ridiculous amount of % they give us for the first 5 years for our "investment"/"participating" portion of our premium?

Again, i've no bone to pick with U but the way U state things like "dunno how long will live / die" and thus "insure like heck"?
Using Steve Jobs as an example? U gotta kidding me dude - that fler can MORE THAN SELF INSURE.  doh.gif
Bottom line, in my opinion, experience and actual execution - term insurance, IN GENERAL, is the best bang for the buck to cover average Joes like me.

Share your real numbers and experience - pls dont use dunno when kaput and stuff. Those sounds like FUD (Fear, Uncertainty, Denial) - where super sales people use to CONvince when logic can't prevail. Mind U - i'm not assuming you're an insurance agent yar. I just want to know why / where U coming from, thus expand/learn from your experiences/views - not just the example U already gave notworthy.gif

Agree to what munkeong mentioned nod.gif
kinwing
post Apr 19 2012, 10:43 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 19 2012, 08:00 AM)
Style mau, menang (financial freedom) tak mau mar.
To some, muka is a high priority - it's their life, their choices.

Perhaps it's to "get a girl"? Still in that stage of mentality and willing.
Hhehe speaking from RECENT enough personal experience where a woman i was after asked me to buy/upgrade to a "better" (read HIGHER BRANDED) car since i can afford to and because she wants "her parents to think higher of me". <claps hands and summons> NEXT!  tongue.gif
True. I don't have a car and so I have no girl friend also. Nowadays hard to get date without a car sweat.gif .

This post has been edited by kinwing: Apr 19 2012, 10:44 AM
kinwing
post Apr 19 2012, 12:58 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 19 2012, 11:11 AM)
Well, considering your returns on investments thus far (last we ding-donged tongue.gif), U'll have more than necessary to provide, care for and grow a good family soon enough (ie at a young age) notworthy.gif Then it is U that will be choosy IF U wish tongue.gif

Build it, and they will come <'ala field of dreams> laugh.gif
Recently I have changed new job with 70% salary increment. So finally I plan to go own a car and told my friends about my plan and also want to ask for their opinion on what type of cars I should buy. However, their first thought are "Bro, you are going after hot chicks with your car!?" doh.gif
kinwing
post Apr 19 2012, 04:25 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 19 2012, 01:18 PM)
Congrats KinWing  rclxms.gif - give value, get value
Cocky a bit lar with your buddies - "No lar, not going after hot chicks. I just want one to be able to outrun them - so many chasing me"  laugh.gif

BTW, on cars - i'm sure U'll be analyzing them for cost vs functionality vs maybe.. hotness hehe tongue.gif
Can share share here - part of personal financial mgt mar selecting a car right?
IMHO, other than homes, cars are the biggest $ outflow - lump sum + maintenance

Me - i'm too close to the motor industry to comment too much sweat.gif, ppl may accuse me of having too much vested interest even when i personally think buying cars every 5 years is nuts  blush.gif
Agree that main financial commitment for 3 main purchases in our life, i.e. education, car and house (some may think life insurance).

Initially I plan to buy a new car, most probably Myvi will do and thus my budget should be around RM55,000.

However, after thinking twice, I think I just want to avoid the most depreciating period of a car which happens in the 1st few years. So I change my mind to buy a 2nd hand car of which age of 3 to 4.

Then I come to know a lady friend who wants to sell her KIA Pikanto which she bought 2 years ago. Now she is planning to trade it for a Volkswagen Beetle (Don't think she is nuts as she said she is doing sales so need to meet client with a more prestige car, good reason? Anyway, I think she is making good money from her job so this affords her to buy a good car), so I asked her to consider selling her car to me as I know ladies normally take good care of their cars.

However I do not know about the price for 2/3-year KIA Pikanto, not sure if munkeong you have any information since you mentioned you are close to motor industry smile.gif ?

Once I decided to buy the car, I will pay 20% downpayment and the remaining will be financed by a car loan and I hope to get the longest possible car repayment tenure. As far to what I know, 2nd car loan will not get to the tenure of repayment up to 9-year, most probably the longest will be 5-year.
kinwing
post Apr 19 2012, 06:30 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 19 2012, 04:40 PM)
Hi KinWing.
Just as a simple comparison, try this http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/Buy/BasicSearch.aspx for prices of models/years
I'll go poke my colleague in Sales for KIA Picanto's asking price - 2 to 3 years old = 2009-2010 registration, right? I'll PM U - else mods may not like us turning this thread / topic to a car price only topic heheh.

BTW, U may want to note that the cost of repairs and maintenance for a 2nd hand "small" car (picanto, myvi, kancil, viva, i10, etc) VS a 2nd hand "compact sedan" (wira, waja, sephia), the cost similar, thus, U may want to think about a "compact sedan" IF U do groceries shopping once in 2 to 3 weeks (bulk purchase) + want a nice back seat brows.gif
er... my bad ar - i'm assuming U will drive it until it disintegrates, not "upgrading" every 5 years.
That website is great, thanks for your information. Have search on KIA Pikanto and came out three 6 to 7-year Pikanto with a price at RM17,000 to RM18,000. Not sure how much the price for 3-year Pikanto? Thanks mungkeong if you could PM the price smile.gif .

I have not been driving for 12 years since I bang my daddy's car in an accident. So I do not know what would be the maintainance cost and not even aware there is such difference costs for different sizes of cars.

Yes, I will buy another new car for quite sometimes, not because I do not want to change car frequently but that could be because the car won't wear off so fast as I am not going to drive it frequently. I will still take public transport to work (maybe will drive to work if know that day I will work late). I will only use the car if I am going out to meet friends and there is where my buddies keep assuming I buying cars because I want to meet hot chicks. Aiyo, hot chicks will not want to bother to ride on Pikantos lah, come one doh.gif .
kinwing
post Apr 20 2012, 09:24 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 19 2012, 11:53 PM)
Been a long follower of this awesome thread, started working 8 months ago.

Not married, living with my parents, while the house is taken care of by my dad, i'm just paying for the bills and any loose payments. Parents said do not require me to give money to them yet as they are still capable of taking care of themself.

No properties, no stocks , only RM8000 in the bank.

Salary :RM6200 nett

Fixed Expenses:
Car: RM650 (2nd hand Persona for 5 years, 4 half years to go)
Study Loan: RM1710 (250k study loan)
Electric Bill : ~RM220
Astro: RM164
Water: RM20 (living in an apartment, water is regulated by the apt )
Streamyx : RM135
Insurance : RM550 (Life Insurance 500k) Medical Card (RM120)
Ipad Installment : RM161 (5 Months to go)
Petrol : RM350 ( to get to my workplace, 100km to and fro)
Toll: RM100

Total ~RM4250

Left RM1950 for food/entertainment/date.

Will be my first month next month paying for the life insurance RM550. Have managed to save at least RM1000 per month before that , now the goal is to try to save RM1000 minimum even after paying the RM550.

Been binging a lot on food , as me and my gf are both food enthusiasts we tend to spend a lot on food, when we go out. Trying to reduce it to a minimum!

Gameplan:
1) Reduce expenses, esp misc expenses like eating out, cutting down the snowflake/chatime/starbucks.
2) Save RM20000 and put it in FD. Once i have that will start thinking of investing.

Should i let my 8k just sit here and accumulate for emergency funds or do you guys have better advice for that small chuck of money.

Trying hard to save at least 30% per month. My study loan is a big killer, but what to do haih!
Last time I used to have half of your salary but I was still able to save 35% to 40%, i.e. around RM1,300 to RM1,600. So I think you should at least aim to save RM1,500 or above.

Emergency fund means it is for emergency purpose and should be put in the most liquid form of asset, i.e. FD. Since you plan to put RM20,000 in FD, now you will have another RM12,000 to go. Once you set up the RM20k emergency fund, then only you start to think about investment in order to look for higher return.
kinwing
post Apr 20 2012, 10:15 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 20 2012, 09:56 AM)
You want to buy a car but you're not using it frequently quite defeat the purpose of buying one at the same time. If you are not relying on the car, do you really need it? If any one of your friends are staying nearby, perhaps you can car pool on them. Not a need to be shy, friends understand and what you can do to repay them is just a small meal treat!
I am now 29, close my thirty liao. After working for 6.5 years and save enough, I think it's time for me to have a car, and with that I don't have to trouble my friends and I can go wherever and anytime I want to go out to meet friends.

In addition, after taking into consider that if I am going to buy a car at RM40k and I will pay 20% downpayment for it and the remaining take bank loan with repayment tenure of 5 years, I will still be able to save at least 30% of my salary. So owning a budget car won't cost too much to me anyway.
kinwing
post Dec 17 2012, 10:32 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Dec 15 2012, 06:00 PM)
need advise as this will be my first salary... so need to have a good start..

just start working in government. salary per month is rm 3700.

payment for my motorcycle = rm 230/month (still got 1 year left)
payment for fuel = rm350/month
food + etc = rm 300

this is my current way of using money...

i plan to upgrade my bike due to my workplace is far ( 80km one way).. maybe cost about 24k
secondly, i need plan to have family in 1 year and half or 2 year

any recommandation?? i plan to have some investment also but still not sure which is better
Why not considering to move and stay nearer to your work station? You can always rent a place nearer to your company. Travelling 160km everyday will cost you a lot of money, not mentioning the time spent. In addition, it is not safe to ride bike for 160km everyday to work.
kinwing
post Dec 17 2012, 10:44 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(supamachine @ Dec 11 2012, 10:36 PM)
Hello fellow LYN,

I am currently 23 and I have 9k liquidity. 4k in savings and 5k in Public Mutual. Every month I deduct 300 and purchase the same fund for dollar cost averaging (DCA) method and plan to continue for 5 years. I foresee salary increment of at least 300. Before un-planning anything for this 300 and let it go to my expenses column, I wish to use it for another investment portfolio. I am wondering should I opt for another UT fund, or invest in some other form (I am looking at PRS or REIT).

I also target to achieve 30k by Q42013. However, I do not know what are the methods that I should try.

Seeking advise from fellow members that hope for better financial management.

Thank you.
What is your current salary per year (including bonus) and how much you will save per year?

Assuming your current investment portfolio of 9k will have a return of 5% and assuming you will save all the 300 increment per month, you will at least have 13k but short off 17k to ahieve your target of having 30k.

Unless your can save 1.3k per month currently and also find other investment tool that can generate higher return, otherwise you may not be able to ahieve your target by 4Q2013. Good luck.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0796sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:42 PM