Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V6, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(munzamir @ Nov 28 2010, 10:16 AM) sjn, the YES package comes with a USB Router ke? if yes, kinda good, but the YES rate is mahal lah.. whoever got streamyx, better stay with it.. don't think so..maksud aku beli router yg support USB modem tu..at least tak payah susah2 nak ICS @ on pc / laptop semata2 utk online PS3
CrossFirE
Nov 28 2010, 12:12 PM
hey guys, i want to ask. i have these 2 hardware.. can i play ps3 using this 2 hardware? Thanks! here is the pictures.  Sonic Gear Ego3  DELL S2209W
vivakarna
Nov 28 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Nov 28 2010, 10:30 AM) don't think so..maksud aku beli router yg support USB modem tu..at least tak payah susah2 nak ICS @ on pc / laptop semata2 utk online PS3 lets say, i buy the the usb and direct connect to the ps3..can it connect? and can 3g router support 4g? me on networking is very sak..haha! Added on November 28, 2010, 2:06 pmQUOTE(CrossFirE @ Nov 28 2010, 12:12 PM) hey guys, i want to ask. i have these 2 hardware.. can i play ps3 using this 2 hardware? Thanks! here is the pictures.  Sonic Gear Ego3  DELL S2209W yes you can..for more in depth explaination, you can read the first page of this thread, very helpful. This post has been edited by vivakarna: Nov 28 2010, 02:06 PM
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 28 2010, 02:01 PM) lets say, i buy the the usb and direct connect to the ps3..can it connect? and can 3g router support 4g? me on networking is very sak..haha! afaik should be no problem since router act as a internet server..but IF the protocol is different direct connect?i don't think so since PS3 should install the modem driver 1st to recognize the modem
victor2212
Nov 28 2010, 04:45 PM
Do 320gb slim my set ps3, from sony centre come with free hdmi cable in the package or got to buy seperate
mingxhin
Nov 28 2010, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Nov 28 2010, 04:45 PM) Do 320gb slim my set ps3, from sony centre come with free hdmi cable in the package or got to buy seperate As far as i know, all ps3 sets do not come with HDMI cable
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(mingxhin @ Nov 28 2010, 04:55 PM) As far as i know, all ps3 sets do not come with HDMI cable yes..unless promotion or given by the shop This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Nov 28 2010, 05:03 PM
CrossFirE
Nov 28 2010, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(victor2212 @ Nov 28 2010, 04:45 PM) Do 320gb slim my set ps3, from sony centre come with free hdmi cable in the package or got to buy seperate why not buy outside? i think is the same and they do give you HDMI cable right? if you want to buy from sony center, i think you want it to be installment payment then.
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Nov 28 2010, 06:17 PM) why not buy outside? i think is the same and they do give you HDMI cable right? if you want to buy from sony center, i think you want it to be installment payment then. afaik most of the shop got stock for SG set instead of MY..OR maybe he want a secure source for local MY set
WhiteBalance
Nov 28 2010, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 24 2010, 07:17 PM) An improper shutdown, which prompted a default reset to the display settings. Just set it back to 1080p under Display Settings then. ok i done this thing..after that now i realise i cant go online. i cannot sign in etc. i use streamyx(wired) before this got no prob.... and it keep asking me PPoe username bla bla bla. i'm so curious what happen now.help me how to set up
eetfukouijaaa
Nov 28 2010, 07:14 PM
If I'm buying the Black Ops dlc codes (just the dlc codes) from the prestige ed, (R4) will it be compatible to my R1 copy of Black Ops? Coming from the GameFAQS forums. I know you have to create an AUS/NZ account to redeem it but can it play with my game? lol thanks
I've been rummaging through out the internet and the closest answer I can find for this is :-
is the DLC account or region locked? gaminguru Posted 11/17/2010 3:12:21 AM I got the prestige ed as a bday gift. the prob is, it is R4 region. i know i can create a AUS account n dl the zombie maps n avatar outfit.
The question is, can i switch back to my asia account n access those DLC in the game i dled using a R4 AUS account? CassyChan Posted 11/17/2010 3:23:53 AM If it's a redeemable code afaik you can just use it on your regular account. It's not account locked but it's more than likely going to be region locked, ie the US version DLC won't work with the EU copy of the game and vice versa.
dark_heart07
Nov 28 2010, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(WhiteBalance @ Nov 28 2010, 06:29 PM) ok i done this thing..after that now i realise i cant go online. i cannot sign in etc. i use streamyx(wired) before this got no prob.... and it keep asking me PPoe username bla bla bla. i'm so curious what happen now.help me how to set up  right now u are using wired or wireless???
guarayakha
Nov 28 2010, 07:24 PM
Usually it's region locked only, so all you have to be sure is that you redeem the code from the PSN of the same region as your copy of the game.
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(WhiteBalance @ Nov 28 2010, 06:29 PM) ok i done this thing..after that now i realise i cant go online. i cannot sign in etc. i use streamyx(wired) before this got no prob.... and it keep asking me PPoe username bla bla bla. i'm so curious what happen now.help me how to set up  how's u connect u'r PS3 to the internet?direct to modem or using a router?
vivakarna
Nov 28 2010, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Nov 28 2010, 03:58 PM) afaik should be no problem since router act as a internet server..but IF the protocol is different direct connect?i don't think so since PS3 should install the modem driver 1st to recognize the modem  thank you. so the best solution is to buy the 3g modem router or connect it with pc la?
sjn hassan
Nov 28 2010, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 28 2010, 07:25 PM) thank you. so the best solution is to buy the 3g modem router or connect it with pc la? using a router is the best solution compare to use an ICS via a pc..but just make sure the USB 3G router can be use with 4G modem..even imho it's just a same thing..the different only speed+company
eetfukouijaaa
Nov 29 2010, 05:29 AM
QUOTE(guarayakha @ Nov 28 2010, 07:24 PM) Usually it's region locked only, so all you have to be sure is that you redeem the code from the PSN of the same region as your copy of the game. So R4 dlc won't work on a R1 copy of the game? Hey guys if I buy a dlc from the black ops r4 prestige edition will it work with my r1 version of black ops? i know you have to make an AU/nz account to redeem it though. but is compatible with my r1 copy?
lopak
Nov 29 2010, 06:23 AM

QUOTE(eetfukouijaaa @ Nov 29 2010, 05:29 AM) So R4 dlc won't work on a R1 copy of the game? Hey guys if I buy a dlc from the black ops r4 prestige edition will it work with my r1 version of black ops? i know you have to make an AU/nz account to redeem it though. but is compatible with my r1 copy? dlc for EU and NA games are not compatible.R4 are with EU region of games. so the answer is NO.
hewtwok
Nov 29 2010, 09:10 AM
is it safe to leave the plug connected (power switch off) all the time? will thunder also spoilt ps3 even though its plug switch off?
eetfukouijaaa
Nov 29 2010, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(lopak @ Nov 29 2010, 06:23 AM) dlc for EU and NA games are not compatible.R4 are with EU region of games. so the answer is NO. Oh alright! Thanks lol you saved me RM30