123 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V6, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

nwk
post Sep 27 2010, 09:33 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 27 2010, 09:31 AM)
get PS2 instead. Until kiamat also never have to update.
better still, don't play games at all. don't need to update until you die.
stormaker
post Sep 27 2010, 12:36 PM

3,130 posts

I think it's now time for me to upgrade my PS3 Slim's 120GB HDD to 500GB. So, WD Scorpio Blue, WD5000BEVT (5400rpm, 8MB buffer) still the best choice out there, n won't cause any problem ? sweat.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 01:03 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(Orain @ Sep 27 2010, 12:02 AM)
can somebody help me?i just bought a ps3.how to make sure that my ds3 is ori???

Things to watch out for:

* an overall poor build quality. This was the first thing I noticed. It was either that Sony had let their quality control go or this was a relatively good fake.
* rough edges on the joins of the controller shell. Run your finger over them comparing it to the smooth real ones.
* raised rectangle area where the controller number LEDs are contained. The gap between the LEDs and the controller is also approximately double.
* hard to press L3 and R3 when at full extension.
* dual shock joysticks are stiffer.
* button labels outlines are noticeably thicker (such as on X, O, etc) and on close inspection, quite average quality.
* buttons are also taller, the Playstation button especially sticks out a lot. If you run your finger over real one it feels like a smooth bump, while the fake juts out.
* printed labels like ‘Sony’ and ‘Dual Shock 3’ are slightly off colour and not in the correct position.
* if you shake the controller you can hear the parts ‘ticking’ around inside.
* you can feel a screw underneath the real label. It’s approximately in the bottom centre.

what i can confirm is that there is no screw underneath the real label but there is a ticking sound when i shake my controller.so is it ori or not?does all ori controller doesnt produce the ticking sound when we shake it?
that's why we always tell potential buyer to get a SEALED box..just to prevent un-ethical seller to replace the DS3

just show us the pics bro
avengers88
post Sep 27 2010, 01:51 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

When i bought mine , its not sealed also . Just need to take out from the box only =.= ! But i think the seller also wan to look inside la whether the condition is Okay or not .. Especially those from Singapore ..
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 27 2010, 02:27 PM

1,693 posts

i think if ur controller can use under firmware 3.50.,.then it should be original...
latest firmware block even authorize 3rd party usb by sony...so fake controllers are really hard to get pass it..
SSJBen
post Sep 27 2010, 04:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:51 PM)
When i bought mine , its not sealed also . Just need to take out from the box only =.= ! But i think the seller also wan to look inside la whether the condition is Okay or not .. Especially those from Singapore ..
DS3 that comes with the PS3 ARE NEVER sealed.
So you are on the right track.

Some things that I have to make clear of though:

- If the paint color on the wodings (SONY, START, SELECT) are a little lighter than it was before... this is infact a very minor aesthetic change.
Sony wants the white controller to look a little more "icey", if you get what I mean. So this doesn't mean the controller is fake.

- The PS button looks darker than it was before. Now I don't know why it is darker, but again this doesn't proove that it is fake.

But right now, a few things you have to look at for is:

- The sticker on the back.
Now, no matter how good the counterfeits are the one thing they can never get correct is the sticker at the back.
Take good close look at the barcode, if they aren't digital black ink you know its fake.
Take a good close look at the sticker, it should be alligned PERFECTLY in propotion to the box.
And finally if you have a magnifying glass, look REALLY REALLY closely at the edge of the sticker, you should be able to see an underlayer of another piece there.
This signifies the sticker is original, once peeled it CANNOT be sticked back on as the barcode will be teared off.

- Open up the controller.
The sure fire way to see if its fake or real.
Unlike back in the PS1 and PS2 days, DS3 counterfeits are in such quality that even on the inside it is hard to distinguish the fake and the real.
But there are somethings to look out for. Check the vibration motors, if they aren't labeled that they're from Immersion (the same company that sued and later made an alliance with Sony), you can tell they're fake.
Look for the wordings IMI. If you don't see it, don't fret.
The next thing to look at is the soldering points on the board, if they aren't clean... you know something ain't right.
Then the battery of course, most if not all counterfeit DS3s uses refurbished batteries in which case they won't last long at a full charge.

And finally the motion controller on the DS3, it should be made by Toshiba and no one else... unless Sony changed to a different manufacturer (which I don't think they did).

Might want to add it to the front page shah. smile.gif
nwk
post Sep 27 2010, 04:12 PM

256 posts

If you don't want to go thru all the hassle of looking for those signs ben mentioned, always buy your ps3 accessories from sony style or sony centres.

This post has been edited by nwk: Sep 27 2010, 04:12 PM
Deswin
post Sep 27 2010, 04:55 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

i newly bought by DS3.. when i pair it with my ps3, 2 lights blinking at the port indicator.. normally is 1 light blink.. what does it mean?

Added on September 27, 2010, 5:27 pmhttp://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-3-Updates/Firmware-3-50-killed-my-Dualshock-3/td-p/46197801/page/2

came across this

This post has been edited by Deswin: Sep 27 2010, 05:27 PM
kakuta
post Sep 27 2010, 05:27 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 27 2010, 05:04 PM)
DS3 that comes with the PS3 ARE NEVER sealed.
So you are on the right track.

huh?why isn't it sealed? i mean isn't it a standard set that x1 DS3 is included in PS3?
SSJBen
post Sep 27 2010, 05:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kakuta @ Sep 27 2010, 05:27 PM)
huh?why isn't it sealed? i mean isn't it a standard set that x1 DS3 is included in PS3?
The DS3 that comes with a PS3 is just in a plastic.
Not in a sealed box.

I'm not talking about the PS3 box being not sealead.
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 06:05 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:51 PM)
seller may open the sealed in front of u. at least they can prove all those things in the box are comes from Sony..that's what Sony Center did when i bought mine
kakuta
post Sep 27 2010, 07:01 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 27 2010, 06:35 PM)
The DS3 that comes with a PS3 is just in a plastic.
Not in a sealed box.

I'm not talking about the PS3 box being not sealead.
yeah but the ds3 is not together in the sealed box?
dark_heart07
post Sep 27 2010, 07:05 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(kakuta @ Sep 27 2010, 07:01 PM)
yeah but the ds3 is not together in the sealed box?
the ds3 was inside the sealed ps3 box and the controller itself wrapped in plastic bag.
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 07:23 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Sep 27 2010, 07:05 PM)
the ds3 was inside the sealed ps3 box and the controller itself wrapped in plastic bag.
that's why la bro..to be safe don't ever get a PS3 with sealed broken unless with reliable seller
SSJBen
post Sep 27 2010, 07:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

White, Red and black DS3s are the ones with the most counterfeits on the market.
With white leading followed by black and red.

If you really are super-paranoid, get a silver or blue.
Theres been seemingly nearly zero reports (atleast from my side) about fake silver DS3s.
kobe8byrant
post Sep 27 2010, 07:41 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Are there counterfeit move navigation controllers?

Reason I ask is because I went to a shop in Sg Wang and they were selling them without a box for RM 80. Many of them were bare without boxes. Didn't dare to ask why were they in such a condition.
SSJBen
post Sep 27 2010, 08:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 27 2010, 07:41 PM)
Are there counterfeit move navigation controllers?

Reason I ask is because I went to a shop in Sg Wang and they were selling them without a box for RM 80. Many of them were bare without boxes. Didn't dare to ask why were they in such a condition.
Navigation controller?
Can't confirm yet, but chances are there is.

The Nav controller is way too easy to counterfeit.
But then again on the Nav case, because it doesn't have any features at all... it isn't really too big of an issue.
Deswin
post Sep 27 2010, 08:06 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

i newly bought by DS3.. when i pair it with my ps3, 2 lights blinking at the port indicator.. normally is 1 light blink.. what does it mean?
dark_heart07
post Sep 27 2010, 08:26 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Deswin @ Sep 27 2010, 08:06 PM)
which number????can pair or not?if can try press the home button for 2-3 sec and set ur controller number.....
Deswin
post Sep 27 2010, 08:30 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

yea it can pair but when unplug it then cant used d.. seems that many pp got ths problem after updating 3.50

http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlaySta...3/td-p/46197801

any idea how could i solve it?

123 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1178sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:58 PM