Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V6, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 23 2010, 10:34 AM

1,693 posts

for new purchase, i think most new monitor comes with at least hd ready are compatible with ps3. so less likely ppl will buy a incompatible one..
for old models, if cannot use, means cannot use...no way to get ard also...

wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 23 2010, 11:10 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(bc_low @ Sep 23 2010, 10:56 AM)
Well even if it's usable now maybe Sony will put another firmware to block any other HDMI signal and u will only use PS3 on a Sony Bravia, just like how they force u to use only dualshock 3 with the latest firmware
use only ds3 is very reasonable, when we bought the console, it actually means we bought the console and the controller..
both are sony very own trademark product, which without any of two it cannot function
by using any other knockoff, sony has and right to block the usage
jailbreak ur ps3, sony has the right to lock ur device and banned for online play
tat's the t&c we agreed wat...
but block on any other monitor than sony bravia...u knew it wont be tat case...

Added on September 23, 2010, 11:12 am
QUOTE(peinsama @ Sep 23 2010, 11:10 AM)
Ssup,

If i bought PS3, once i reached home, i believed i have to update to the newest firmware by myself instead of doing it at Sony branch (where i purchased)? Or perhaps i can ask them to update for me on the spot, then for future updates i will do it myself.

Any ideas guys?
go home update will do la...
all u have to do is to have a internet connection, and 1st time set up it will ask u to check for update
or else, u can always go to setting and update system..

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Sep 23 2010, 11:12 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 23 2010, 03:06 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(TakeruKimura @ Sep 23 2010, 02:39 PM)
about the lcd that ps3 cant use, i think i got 1. HP LP2465. coz i using it now. only show blank screen even it said the dvi port is active.
u sure ur setting is correct? quite sure this 24" is good for ps3...

Added on September 23, 2010, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 23 2010, 02:49 PM)
it is HDCP?  hmm.gif
no, no hdcp..

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Sep 23 2010, 03:11 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 23 2010, 03:25 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Sep 23 2010, 03:23 PM)
No hdcp = no picture for ps3.
if u use hdmi/dvi cable
using av>dvi converter box instead...
bit expensive la...but tat hp is 2006 model...bo bian...
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 23 2010, 03:36 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(TakeruKimura @ Sep 23 2010, 03:34 PM)
u mean tv tuner? i got one of those., but havent try. kinda waste when i know my lcd can't be use for ps3
cos hdcp support hdmi and dvi
so by using av as the output, u should be fine...i guess?
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 24 2010, 01:01 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(TakeruKimura @ Sep 24 2010, 05:22 AM)
tv tuner works! even though the pic kinda ::sigh::, better than dont have any pic
cos av cable cant deliver hd picture...
so u are seeing SD image instead...
yea, better than no image at all...
i use to use a normal TV to play it..i know the pain notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 24 2010, 06:32 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Sep 24 2010, 02:50 PM)
You should invest in a HD tv if you want to use your ps3 capabilities to it fullest.
a full HD monitor will do, if u dont really need TV size...
a 24" can dutifully serve ur purpose~ i am using one now

wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 25 2010, 09:07 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Sep 25 2010, 09:01 PM)
anything can do.....even RM10 also works! thumbup.gif
RM10...
where u buy sia....i cant find any under RM23....
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 27 2010, 09:19 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Sep 27 2010, 09:06 AM)
yesterday i downloaded Lara Croft demo which is 2.3Gb and i don't have any problems. i think your internet connection got problem.
which country psn u download the demo? fun?
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 27 2010, 02:27 PM

1,693 posts

i think if ur controller can use under firmware 3.50.,.then it should be original...
latest firmware block even authorize 3rd party usb by sony...so fake controllers are really hard to get pass it..
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 28 2010, 03:12 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(kakuta @ Sep 28 2010, 02:07 PM)
yeah but what does the sticker looks like haha
besides, if there's a choice of 160gb and 320gb, 160gb RM1040 and 320gb RM1110,which will you get ?
is the extra 160gb worth the extra RM70? or should i just get a 500gb hdd?
how much is 1 500gb hdd btw?
and anywhere to suggest where to get a hdmi cable cheaply?
160gb is more than enough..
if scare, then 320gb..
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 5 2010, 12:35 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Oct 5 2010, 12:32 PM)
ic but why seller claim it's working on PS3?
cos HDCP only limited to hdmi or dvi or dp output...
if using only analog, like the one comes with out system, it can hook up with any tv and ps3 Will have image...
but, using such cable, i dunno will it work or not...
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 5 2010, 02:58 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Oct 5 2010, 02:46 PM)
if you have a job, you won't disgrace yourself by not buying a hdtv & saying cable is cheaper. if you are a school boy, then no need to talk anymore... whistling.gif
be fair....i use 24" monitor becos HDTV is expensive
and if the cable works, which we dunno, it would be even cheaper...
whether you have a job or not, as long as u are not rich until u do not need to do anything
cheaper is always better...
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 5 2010, 04:42 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Oct 5 2010, 04:30 PM)
anyone found this selling at local market?price? hmm.gif

if got, i also want...
where do u got the item info?
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 5 2010, 05:12 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Oct 5 2010, 04:58 PM)
yes bro..but to price..i rather get it from epay..thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
wanttobuylaptop....so how?want to join me?i think i'm getting the one with remote control  brows.gif
the ebay is it same as the one listed in garage sales?
takut beli ka ebay also...
i gotten too many counterfeit item in ebay b4..
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 8 2010, 11:51 AM

1,693 posts

just one thing...
the output quality have nothing to do with the cable...no matter monster or not, u get the same output quality..
but then, length is an issue la....
my 23rm cable do 1080p just fine
@tiraevo, the guy tell u monster = 1080p.. please let all ppl know he's a liar ok?
wanttobuylaptop
post Oct 8 2010, 02:34 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(hewtwok @ Oct 8 2010, 01:50 PM)
buy ps3 slim from sonystyle/sony centre or buy from outsider shop is safer? (both My set)
definitely sonystyle/center...

0.0396sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:28 AM