RTS War40K: Dawn of War Winter Assault / Dark Crusade, Official Dawn of War, M'sia Thread

Ctrl-Alt
post Aug 25 2006, 12:08 PM

194 posts

quick one fellas, coming from someone who pontengs DoW classes...*smirk*
anyone encounter any problems patching to 1.51?
i got this crap message that says:
"Patching error: The patching system detects that critical game files have been modified. Files are either missing, have been moved, or were modified. Uninstall and reinstall Dawn of War, then try again."

ok, so i thought i really had messed up DoW somewhere, and i complied with the message and went for a re-install.
bloody chaos gods, the same result occurred each time, it is either blaming the file corrupted or the critical files were modified...

i've tried re-install for about 4 times, with nada result...

this is puzzling as after each re-installation, i just keep patching up the game in sequential order, till it reaches 1.50. without doing anything else.

checked on relic forums as well, couple of guys has this problem but no conclusive solutions were offered yet...

anyone here has any ideas?

This post has been edited by Ctrl-Alt: Aug 25 2006, 12:13 PM
Ctrl-Alt
post Aug 25 2006, 12:21 PM

194 posts

UGPM? speak normal gothic larh, i am no imperium slut. tried both downloading the patches from given links and online at gamespy...same.
ruling out these faults:
1. disk space - still has 7.8GBs
2. virus/spyware/chaos scums - did a scan and all came clean
3. windows??? nah unlikely, i ain't gonna reinstall the whole of windows just to make the Emperor feel pleased...
Ctrl-Alt
post Aug 27 2006, 06:04 PM

194 posts

Hehe, not messed up lah Redeye, it was the same problem posted a couple of pages back.
Re-cap of problem:
Can install DoW and upgrade till 1.30 w.o problems.
Can install WA and upgrade for 1.40.
Quirky problems arises once you try to upgrade to 1.41 and beyond.
The patch for 1.41 which you have downloaded previously and worked, will not work for this installation, DoW will accuse it of corruption, and hence you will have to re-download and patch, which it will work, and the same issue occurs to 1.50.
The Warboss of the problem is that 1.51 patch. It will happily patch and you can see the progress bar moving....and wham, it gives the Patching Error message (see my previous post) ... and it demands a re-install.
Download another 1.51 patch will not work, as it keeps insisting some grot has modified, moved or made the critical file missing.

I also tried patching in safe mode, no luck.
I'm beginning to hear voices of DoTA gods calling to me.
Let me exhaust all options before asking for the Space Marines to drop for assistance, eh?
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 3 2006, 12:33 AM

194 posts

Any bulk ordering for Dark Crusade?
If there is one........ by the CHaosGodz, I'M IN!!!
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 4 2006, 11:31 AM

194 posts

Releasing next month.
US - early OCT
EURO - end OCT
AUS - OCT
Here - no idea.
Go see Gamespot.com

Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 6 2006, 01:59 PM

194 posts

And if SM or Chaos doesn't want to build commanders at all? Plus IG has that Vindicaire sniper guy. Does this guy get counted as a commander too?
Eldar commander gets advantage due to mind war. And she also gets to sneak into webways.
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 15 2006, 12:42 AM

194 posts

This game is esoteric enjoyment.
Who really cares if your ranking is at 1000 or 1800, it's just numbers and another face behind the screen. Meh...
Taking things too darn seriously is path to Chaos.
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 15 2006, 12:48 AM

194 posts

Well i just got raped in a 4 v 4, but it is still some orgasmic clicking and maneuvering.
Hell, it took 80 minutes of rapage. Lots and lots of tanks, T3 warriors and some Relic-spawned units.
SM-SM-ELDAR-CHAOS mirror... GG and peace all around.
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 15 2006, 01:06 AM

194 posts

Zoiks, i didnt save it, how do ya playback the temp.rec file which wasn't saved?
Can't view it from the playback even though i've re-named it...
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 17 2006, 06:04 PM

194 posts

Waba, were you experimenting with hero-less builds again...for Chaos hmm?
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 17 2006, 06:29 PM

194 posts

You Mad Scientist! i have fallen victim to A-P B.O back in ver. 1.3 map Tainted Pair. SMs seem to be able to pull it off better. That guy has 3 squads, 6-5-8 member each (est.) vs my 1 Lord, 2 CSMs (8-7 member, est.), he just danced and FF on the CSMs...
but that map has plenty of holes with -ve cover ... tongue.gif ... those were the days... cheers!

This post has been edited by Ctrl-Alt: Sep 17 2006, 06:30 PM
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 18 2006, 09:45 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Sep 18 2006, 05:21 PM)
DC Bulk Order List
============
1. TheNameX
2. johnnycp (1 copy)
3. Waba (2 copies)
4. Hunt (100 copies. LOL j/k)

1 COPY PLEASE!

This post has been edited by Ctrl-Alt: Sep 18 2006, 09:45 PM
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 26 2006, 10:10 AM

194 posts

Chaos Lord Waba,
Which would you prefer to use to thrash a base guarded by Turrets and Tanks (Anni-Pred & Leman Russ); Upgraded PSMs or Oblits? You can attach commander to them.
And reason for your preference..?

Thrash base = whack his buildings till they fall.

Yours truly,
De Heretic
Ctrl-Alt
post Sep 28 2006, 01:57 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Waba @ Sep 26 2006, 10:23 AM)
being chaos and letting ur opponent get those in 1v1 is grim news ><

Max population power jogging Obliterators with chaos rounds Predators are ur best options. Throw in horros too if u are low in req and infantry resistance of ur opponent is not as strong. PSM are more for anti infantry, if the SM player spam whirlwinds they are gonna die.
No worries, it's 3v3. So...DOTA-like. Huhuhu, I've got teammates (IG & SM) who are unwilling to attack, therefore it rests upon me to sow...chaos...
Opponents captured Crits early to force Take-n-Hold vic...
Grade C- game it was, Eldar was a leaver, after getting pounded by IG grenades, leaving his IG-SM friends to hold fort.
As usual enemy SM was massing Dreads, Assault Termies, enemy IG was going LR and Kasrkin, and I need things that can hit hard and run faster than them!
I tested waters with oblits...failed.
I went CL attached PSMs after that, 3 squads. Charged in to pawn SM Orbital building first to prevent more DS shit. Boy do they hit fast and hard...
While my allies engaged the core of their combined tanks-termie force, i went building bashing... replay later, my monitor got zapped by Zeus.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0601sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:57 AM