you see,today i happen to chance upon plathydoras costatus.what you guy think about it?
is it rare?i though of getting it..it's merely 1.5 inches.
think it a good deal or should i just get an mature adult?
Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums
Nov 27 2010, 02:59 PM
9 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
ok minor interruption here
you see,today i happen to chance upon plathydoras costatus.what you guy think about it? is it rare?i though of getting it..it's merely 1.5 inches. think it a good deal or should i just get an mature adult? |
Nov 28 2010, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(konbawa @ Nov 28 2010, 01:53 AM) /\/\ yea, tat only booth tat r selling abit-outrageous fish like scat, moray eel, archer fish some wolffish and dono wat ciclid. de price is quite cheap for instance the eel is rm1-rm2 per head. Cheap fish,eh?I'm surprise that there are such booth in there.As i know it's not cheap to set up both there,especially place like klcc(evidence by the entry fee of rm5,should be free by right!!)in fact, they got more weird fish selling but sold off like pipe fish for rm1.50-2.50 per ekor. and some puffer fish. sadly, those interesting one been sold off. Konbawa bro,maybe you can try to get they shop number or address or something. when aquafair is done.you could drop by their place and get the cheap stuff I surmise that they have plenty of cheap fish to go around. by the way,what eel costing 1-2 ringgit,what type?the one you get beside the river?or perhaps fire eel AKA IKAN TILAN? |
Nov 28 2010, 02:42 AM
QUOTE(ivanchua @ Nov 28 2010, 12:14 AM) That depends but I like to keep my fish from young. Good deal like how much? so how rare is this little fellow?i tot to add this fish to my tank(planning to demote my pleco to other tank)btw, he's talking about raphael catfish, i had to google myself. lol I'm so glad I didn't make a trip down there just for THAT. I somehow knew it'd be more of koi, goldfish, discus etc fair by looking at the past fair photos. Did you get a good deal on the fishes that you bought? i hear from bensow, that this guy is a BIT slow on the side of growth, if don't mind keeping it with you for next 20 +yrs just nice since it cheap like around rm 5(the shop proprieter with the look of surprise when i ask what kind of fish is this and what is maximal length this fish will eventually attain,he took few second to adjust the imaginary size of the catfish between his left and right palm) |
Nov 29 2010, 12:25 PM
[quote=khairulanuar,Nov 29 2010, 11:18 AM]
nice fish..i have 2 of them...mix them with my Chromobotia macracanthus,Apteronotus leptorhynchus, and Toxotes jaculatrix Ahhh.... finally someone finally deigned to reply to my msg.So,bro how big is your fishes? i read somewhere ,that it is almost similar to P. armatulus.Can you tell them apart when they're just mere hatchling?The term Rapheal catfish,which species does it refer to ...armatulus or costatus?.costatus is the rarer one,though i finally decided to get one....i'm fine with the slow growth that all...hehe anyway,you did mention archer fish...how's that sniper? i heard it's from mangrove habitat... Can you even put it along with other freshwater tankmate? |
Nov 29 2010, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Nov 29 2010, 01:04 PM) my fish still small...last time got size about7-8".but it already R.I.P icic....your adult catfish probably passed away because of old age.about the term Raphael catfish is referring to armatulus or costatus? ermmm actually im not expert in this archer fish.is rarely i can see them sniping yup i put them with my other freshwater tankmates! so what fish next? |
Nov 29 2010, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Nov 29 2010, 02:37 PM) im waiting for Exodon (Bucktooth tetra) to available again...hehehe currently i have: redtail barracuda, redtail payara, polypterus, Jardini, Distichodus, Leporinus fasciatus, Indo Tiger, Nothern Thai tiger, black ghost knife, brown ghost knife, clown loach, raphael catfish, and archer fish. i thinks that enough for now... |
Nov 29 2010, 09:14 PM
Dec 1 2010, 01:01 AM
Dec 1 2010, 01:16 AM
Dec 1 2010, 03:25 AM
QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 1 2010, 02:18 AM) ok here is a map: you're miss the most important thing,though.http://maps.google.com.my/maps?f=q&source=...6,0.005284&z=18 ALIVE AQUARIUM- beside liching aquarium opposite liching aquarium will be many pasar malam type fish shops.... Jalan pasar baru... The operating hour of the Alive lfs. It's going to be weird to find out that the shop you intend to go to are closed (rollershutter in front of your eye). anyway,wouldn't it be better if on the elected day,you trip should coinciding with the FLEA fish market hours.True,you might not find quality stuff like in established but who knowssss.....they might have CONTRABAND STUFF hidden(it's a joy of having a good surprise,like opening a box of chocolate,not knowing the content). maybe they have Fish with a lot of teeth to show!!! |
Dec 1 2010, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Dec 1 2010, 09:20 AM) last time going there.they still have freshwater dorados... How about Aquatic International sdn bhd?what type of fish do they stocked?anyone been there?Added on December 1, 2010, 9:22 am the shop- only close in monday Added on December 1, 2010, 9:29 am there is some lfs i know selling some interesting fish...Alive Aquarium at JLN PASAR. Irene Aquarium SEKSYEN 16 PJ. Xian Leng SEKSYEN 2, SHAH ALAM. one shop at SELAYANG..but forget the name. AI fishes rival that of xian leng in shah alam,that's what i heard.but i am not sure they have exotic fishes btw,i have heard that you need to pay to enter xian leng shah alam.is that true? |
Dec 1 2010, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Dec 1 2010, 10:04 AM) never been to AI....my friends said there have many type of cichilds..but have some cool fish also..like tiger fish(Datnoids)... this is the SLS new website -- www.sls2u.comyou dont have pay anything to enter the xian leng bro... 1 more LFS...SLS at ARA DAMANSARA Added on December 1, 2010, 10:18 am QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 1 2010, 10:14 AM) if anyone is interested in paying AI a visit, here's the coordinate101° 32.913'E 3° 8.668'N This post has been edited by Rainman84: Dec 1 2010, 10:18 AM |
Dec 1 2010, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 1 2010, 07:11 PM) Those are the shops I'm referring to. Those pasar malam roadside shops where the fish are subjected not only to the heat but also traffic fumes, etc. I wish there was something that could be done to stop this but they'd just move on and sell somewhere else. Who want to be "Pejuang kebebasan binatang "?Pimpin...there's only one path.....bro engkau kena la sapu semualepas tu kita korang share binatang hahahaha Added on December 1, 2010, 10:15 pm QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 1 2010, 09:53 PM) Who want to be "Pejuang kebebasan binatang "?Pimpin...there's only one path.....bro engkau kena la sapu semua Anyway,i'm jesting.no harm done,eh?lepas tu kita korang share binatang hahahaha This post has been edited by Rainman84: Dec 1 2010, 10:15 PM |
Dec 18 2010, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 18 2010, 09:53 PM) wow ..big pond.I am just curious, if you were to place big gar in those pond..the only thing you get to see are its upper portion of its body.i have the opinion that you should brick up and place thicked glass/fibreglass on one side.this way..you can enjoy the sight of gar slither through water.to top that up...you get to increase the depth. |
Dec 20 2010, 06:43 PM
@ivanchua
chill bro....people are just voicing their opinion after putting your pond pic ,i did some calculation based on my observation(simple math...i am long away from high school..lol).Fact is ,the calculation doesn't add up(the calculation was based on my estimation on the height of the pond which is about 8 feet, from there i did give my best estimation of the width and length). based on you claim so far...i attribute the error to the angle of the photograph. also it is possible,you didn't factor in actual size(after putting brick and thick layer of cement on both the 4 side and bottom) just my 2 cents Added on December 20, 2010, 6:53 pm@ggming, about the ikan puyu..lol you should have been warned by pimpin(whack him!) if you must know,i used to have 45cm length chinese soft-shelled turtle.it was kept with ikan puyu you know how good appetite the turtle have! it love flesh(i mean meat ,not another flesh) the puyu survive along with the turtle, of course the former passed away from 'kebuluran' coz all food is eaten by the turtle. haha This post has been edited by Rainman84: Dec 20 2010, 06:53 PM |
Dec 20 2010, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 20 2010, 07:04 PM) If it was 8 feet deep, it would have to be something like 40'x20' to get just over 38k gallons UK but 47k gallons US. It's really no point trying to guess the dimensions based on the photograph. I'm pretty sure ivanchua won't mind sharing dimensions and also whether he means imperial or US gallons. like any fish, they are produce eggs..a lot too...but given that most of local fish are omnivore..they are not picky eater.But Rainman84 does have a valid point regarding the actual volume. When people build a pond say 6ft deep, the water level isn't 6ft because you wouldn't fill it to the brim right? This is something I've always wondered about because personally, when I calculate I always subtract about 0.5' or so for height of pond. As for width, do you measure from edges of the pond or the inside edges of the pond? This is a general question though; not about ivanchua's pond but just what is the generally accepted way of measuring. Added on December 20, 2010, 7:09 pm Hahahah but there's nothing but puyu in that one pond. I have no idea how many there are; do they multiply like rabbits? Put in a few thousand fry a few years ago. Personally, I haven't caught anything from that pond as I'm not into fishing all that much. few thousand in a pond is too tight for comfort..yeah they'll savor the egg akin to caviar. they are called climbing perch(armed with spike allow it TRAVEL by land)so i am not sure how many you have left in there.usually people who rear puyu in a container keep it in such a way that the rim of the vessel and water level >30cm(juara lompat tinggi) |
Dec 21 2010, 05:18 PM
hi guys, i went to gerik,up north 2 days back.i did get the opportunity to visit lfs there.
nothing much, same old stuff(aro,kelah,gourami.etc) what do interest me was that they have electric catfish 3-4 inches ,price was quoted for rm20. they also have snapping turtle doing my bits trying to resuscitate this thread |
Dec 21 2010, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 21 2010, 06:51 PM) I saw a couple of electric catfish for sale at that pet shop near Fatty Crab. Can't remember the name of the store but it looks like its a warehouse. Was under RM50 if I'm not mistaken - wasn't really paying attention. They did have a couple of alligator gars though. where is the lfs?where is fatty crab?I was looking for a kitten wow..cat eh...what's gonna happen to the fishes? Added on December 21, 2010, 7:19 pm QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 21 2010, 06:43 PM) i would have gotten the fish..but it was not possible as i am heading to Cameron Highland.poor guy sitting(he was basically sitting on it's butt and staring into my face) all alone in a fish bowl by the way,i didn't see any petshop in Tanah Rata,Cameron highland only a lot of chick This post has been edited by Rainman84: Dec 21 2010, 07:19 PM |
Dec 21 2010, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 21 2010, 10:48 PM) Fatty Crab is Taman Megah or something? Next exit on LDP after SS2 heading towards Sunway. My family members are all cat lovers and its been about 1.5 years since my Mum's 13 year old Persian died. Since her birthday coming up, thought we'd get her a replacement since enough time has passed. |
Dec 23 2010, 10:58 AM
| Change to: | 0.0536sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:35 AM |