6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

beawolf64
post Jun 8 2012, 03:24 PM

predatory fish "poo" are horrible lol....easy turn up the water chemistry hahaha.....
beawolf64
post Jun 14 2012, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(ggMing @ Jun 13 2012, 06:15 PM)
i will find for it and sorry because i didnt notice it was a faded specimen...
hunting for it now will be harder... tongue.gif

but i do have a faded aba aba now.. trying to grow her up and see if it remain faded...

Added on June 13, 2012, 6:20 pm

ok, actually, the more carbon you use, the faster it will asorb...
as simple as that... =)
and yes, to be safe, best use for a few days and remove it, else, it will leech back to the tank...
i personally like to use Ocean Free's 1kg carbon and pack them in to smaller bags and use when needed...
reason: they sizzle and gets a bit warm when being pre-washed..

the thing about carbon is that they absorb everything... good and bad...
(i might be wrong)  tongue.gif but think about it... what about traces which is beneficial to the fishes and the ecosystem?

i will only use carbon when it is needed in a tank..

Added on June 13, 2012, 6:21 pm

crayfish? i know they work best as scavengers..

Added on June 13, 2012, 6:29 pm

the more nitrification bacteria grows, the faster it will convert ammonia to No2, and No2 to No3...
nitrification bacteria cannot break down No3 and this is when de-nitrification bacteria comes to play..

cultivating loads of de-nitrification bacteria to break down No3 is tricky... the easiest way is to perform water change...

some ways people use to tackle No3 in low stock tanks...

1.using thick fine substrate to create the anaerobic environment (4" at least)
2.using plants like cabomba and hornwort (plants will take No3 as fertilizer)
thanks for the tip's ggming thumbup.gif
beawolf64
post Jul 9 2012, 01:05 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 8 2012, 12:34 PM)
I"m using ehiem lava rock media to lay at bottom of my substrate, lava rock normally is at PH 7. what kind of issue you facing, ph too high or low?
Hi arrow..any advice to do a tank setup that hit lower ph and hardness?been thinking to use ADA Amazonia mix with ADA Malaya plus some easy trimless plant..trying to setup tank for my new coming fish..that fish are so sensitive about water chemistery

Can give some advice about filter medium too...thanks

This post has been edited by beawolf64: Jul 9 2012, 01:06 AM
beawolf64
post Jul 9 2012, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Jul 9 2012, 06:31 AM)
Wah, what fish u getting now?  tongue.gif
laugh.gif nothing special aimank....just Betta Macrostoma only....
beawolf64
post Jul 10 2012, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 9 2012, 09:25 PM)
malaya will lower ph more than amazonia but contain less plant nutrient, filter media can use sera super peat, will lower kh and gh as well.
smile.gif so i already stay in the right way....currently i use sera super peat .....any opinion about mixing amazonia with malaya?is it ok or it will make the water chemistry became worse
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 08:41 AM

QUOTE(ayum_med @ Jul 11 2012, 04:40 AM)
i bought 1 sturgeon from irene aquarium 4 months ago.. doing well but not easy to feed... currently on worms... trying to teach them eating pellet... i also once have paddle fish but really2 hard to get them feed.... mine ate worms only... could not train them to eat pellet at all...they eat plankton in the wild... really2 hard fish to care.. mine  died.... but a very rare fish to have...

i was planning to buy the dragon goby but it also is really hARD TO FEED.... not included in monster fish... can even be kept with small fish like neons bcoz they wont even eat them... able to eat pellet but very2 slow....

Added on July 11, 2012, 4:45 amim new here....im soooooo into exotic fish.... iv e been into this crazy hobby for 7 months.... i have 4 aquariums.... one planted neons aquarium and the other three are exotic fish... i will update on each exotic aquarium later... im really into gars, bichirs, channas, catfish, gobys, cichlids... i even have aba-aba fish...

Added on July 11, 2012, 4:50 am
i once own one.... really2 hard fish to care... not easy to feed... filter feeders... eat plankton and small insects... ikan longkang also can but small one only... mine died for unknown reason... it was 20 cm.... if u want to house them , u really need to have very big aquarium because they will injure their nose if its to small... try and go to the fish shop near the tasik shah alam... they have  2 feet paddlefish at rm500...
hmm.gif why dont you feed them with daphnia or bbs ....?can they work?
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Jul 9 2012, 01:08 PM)
Wow.. Got it from Brunei direct?  brows.gif

So hows ur bleheri ?
my friend try spawn them aimank..

hahah...not from brunei la aimank...sarawak only....brunei mac's cannot trade...unless you can smuggle them lol
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 11 2012, 11:51 AM)
must be those RM50 a 'guli' lava rock, ya those drop PH.
smile.gif normal lfs sell that lava rock?...i think i gonna get those rock.... doh.gif i dont have any idea how its look like lol
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(ayum_med @ Jul 11 2012, 01:10 PM)
yes they can... but paddle fish never stops swimming... so, u need to feed them everyday... not easy to go out and buy food everyday....
my RM1 daphnia always have extra and been thrown away...waste....i only use 10x 5ml stringe to feed all my Wild Betta....Maybe you can constantly feeding them on BBS...just need to hatch is it....RM120-130 pertin maybe can last for a year lol
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(mollymurder @ Jul 11 2012, 05:38 PM)
friend of mine selling bunch of auranti juvi..how much they worth anyway? say rm100 per juvi?

plan to get 5 of em to pair up
he spawn them?
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 05:59 PM

rclxms.gif if he spawn them...very good la..finally malaysia have auranti spawner ...always hear ppl spawn this species from taiwan and german
beawolf64
post Jul 11 2012, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 11 2012, 08:29 PM)
may i know where you get your fresh daphnia? my room daphnia colony all got wipeout months ago.. now dunno where to get them anymore
kok aquarium or jalan pasar luqee
beawolf64
post Jul 25 2012, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 22 2012, 06:17 AM)
can help me identify this 2 fishes? one is chana and one is bichir right?
is it bleheri? coz its blue lol

Those red banding channa look like channa sp. Assam. ..lal cheng if im not mistaken..channa sp Assam look like bleheri but u can differenciate them by the tail..some lfs label sp.Assam as Bleheri..collected near bleheri locality in India..if anyone here interested on channa fish..make sure place your booking before to late...contact bluegrass aquatic on facebook..very2 reliable seller....anyone looking for channa sp. Moonbeam galaxy or Auranti?this is your time..fresh from India..dont ask for channa BARCA if you dont want to spend 10k pertail lol..if you guys looking for Altums Angel,better contact him..he vey gatal tangan on Altum again lol

This post has been edited by beawolf64: Jul 25 2012, 10:31 PM
beawolf64
post Jul 27 2012, 11:21 PM

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Jul 26 2012, 02:06 AM)
Yea got some fishes from them before~ recommended seller.  thumbup.gif
Yeah...very nice and informative guys...but sad,im on the edge of this hobby..maybe will get some Altums,macs and unimaculata then call it a day la..need to focus on family..
beawolf64
post Aug 12 2012, 01:55 AM

QUOTE(aircheh @ Aug 11 2012, 06:09 AM)
can i know the exact location of Kedai Aquarium Double Two? puchong in which area?
Pusat bandar puchong..if im not mistaken la
beawolf64
post Aug 18 2012, 05:29 AM

QUOTE(vic_tan0911 @ Aug 13 2012, 01:44 AM)
anybody know kl where have sell apistogramma 
fire red 
double red
borelli
adoketa
elizabathe
AI got double red
beawolf64
post Aug 23 2012, 07:34 PM

Puchong fishing trip..interesting..maybe after boring with mayan,we can go fishing channa micropeltes in semenyih. smile.gif..got crayfish also....
beawolf64
post Aug 24 2012, 02:40 AM

Beer :Crayfish in semenyih are huge lol..very easy to get one..channa i just catch and release...sebarau,got sport fish. smile.gif.better fish sebarau than channa...semenyih dont have any special betta i think.
Spinner lure?
Tilapia try use netting lure and red dedak bait on the top..

Luqee i also newbie in fishing la hehehe..

Sungai kedah got so many spotted knife fish, 2years ago i manage to catch adult yellow white colour spotted knife fish..maybe cause of mutation..but died on half way to puchong...catching baby local kaloi like catching longkang fish huhuhu

This post has been edited by beawolf64: Aug 24 2012, 02:52 AM
beawolf64
post Sep 14 2012, 04:51 PM

bluegrass aquatic and xian leng have poly ornatipinnis

beawolf64
post Sep 14 2012, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 14 2012, 05:27 PM)
I dealt with arare becoz can cod. a bit hi end price but i consider it as COD cost lor~
At least this
batch of polys arrived breathing.
before this your polyp died during shipping is it?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0521sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:16 AM