but an indoor tank is damn cool hey,its the showcase of the room.
An outdoor pond is prolly alot of work but finding the right location is another thing babe. And too much sun, then you'd have an algae problem, but certainly looking forward to the day i can throw critters in and my monsters will devour them up! lol
Owh yeah ar.. Too much sun would be a problem. Make the pond beside a big shady tree perhaps?
Yea exactly, and imagine if u can get arapaimas as well. That would be my dream dude. Haha
anyone can suggest me any LFS selling various type of channa?
Sg Buloh? I remembered their shop is lot 62 or something, same row as the nurseries. Nearby kota damansara exit. They have a channa bleheri, channa panaw and another one i dunno what species.
Arapaimas? wut ? are you opening a paypond fishing lake? haha ! those things are massive! no bangau would dare lepak around the pond with these things ard...
btw can you find the big bad boy temensis around in KL ? they've successfully invited themselves in Singapore
But arapaimas would be cool what! Just fence the lake la to avoid any kids being feeders.
Yea, found quite a few. Theres one at Bdr Utama Centrepoint, around 11 inches. And one shop at Seri Kembangan(Equine Park) have an aquarium full of em!
Btw temensis are peacock bass right? Was referring to that. Hehe
This post has been edited by aimank_88: Jan 26 2012, 11:33 PM
Here is my grow out pond for now. The final home has been completed 40'x30'x8' I estimate however nowhere near ready for occupation because I want a couple of rainy seasons to pass before I'm confident the riverbank will hold the water weight. Then I'll drain the pond (now mud) to line it with HDPE pond liner and the filtration of the already clear river water will be purely mechanical filtration in what I estimate is 8'x10'x4' pond which will contain brushes and sponges. Should result in a fairly clear pond despite everything being natural (ie: no pumps etc). However, would need to run a few more PVC pipes upriver (now 1.5km upstream to supply enough water pressure and also add more bottom drains but that'll come with the HDPE pond liner. All this will happen probably next year depending on how fast fishes grow and of course monsoon season timing. For now, the growout pond which uses river water cycled 24/7 using natural water pressure and no filtration whatsoever. That Gar is about 3' long and the Arapaima not far behind in terms of size however since it lost its mate, I notice a drop in appetite which I hope won't impact growth.
Another picture of the latest addition to my pond which really was a rescue when the owner could not maintain the fish so I took him in. Second Gar I've rescued in this way. If there are owners out there who are out of their depth (not that I'm a pro or whatever but I'll do my best) let me know and I'll take in your fish but don't expect me to buy them and house them for life - sorry but I'm doing most a favour to be honest.
Yes, this is the staple diet of the monsters. Some people buy these to keep but mine end up as food.
The river which provides the water for the three ponds I have at this particular house.
Cool! Where's ur house? Janda baik? Ur really lucky.
This post has been edited by aimank_88: Jan 27 2012, 01:14 PM
Thanks bro, yes its in Janda Baik. We're pretty much where the river begins to join civilization meaning no other properties upriver besides us. The river runs for approximately 200m through the property, initially was a stream as deep as your knees/calves but we've deepened it to 8-12ft depending on which stretch of the river.
Wow that was just a wild guess. Haha. Wait, does ur house have durian trees? Coz Ive been to an open house in Janda Baik and they kinda like have a pond too.
get it from my fren...but earlier today sighted sturgeon at Alive Aquarium jln pasar...they got 2 sturgeon selling at rm45/pc. but 1 of it looks like dying...so hurry up buddy..get yours today...hahahaha they also got 2pc lemon grass pleco L200 selling at rm150/pc.size range 2"-3" and few other small pleco(looks like the Gold Royal pleco L-027) but not very sure. go check it out!
not rare at all..the first two, spoonbill(locally call it as duck head patin) and acipenser (known as sturgeon fish, now quick widely breed for human consumption)..they are of china fish..the sturgeon was china's protected species, china's national fish..but some fish farmer successfully breed em there and now so darn many..until recent years, some taiwanese bring this sturgeon to malaysia..at the beginning was a pain in the ass to breed sturgeon due to incompatible climax as they strieve in colder water below 28C..so the taiwanese started breedin them at a hill..and they slowly bring them lower from uphill down to lower stream..and eventually the sturgeon was successfully breed to adapt to our climax here..
Wow nice info!
But ive never seen the spoonbill tho. Anyone knows any LFS that has it?
SpoonBill. One of the prehistorical fish. A true monster fish. They are like sharks, they move and circle for thier whole life. Never stopping. You will need a huge tank with round edges or u will notice the snout tip will be hurt due to impact on the glass edges. They are like whale shark, as in the wild they feed on plankton and tiny water creatures. As from the ur picture, you can see he is opening it's mouth. Sucking all the things in his way and trap them in his "web filter" features. So as far as i know, only one farm in malaysia is breeding this fish. And only the spoonbill from them can survive and grow to 3-5 feet. As fishes from the farm are trained to feed on pellets. Unlike those which our LFS imports...Feeding will be a problem if you get what i mean. They are cold water fishes. And scaless too. So basically these fish are a good challenge.
Do you know which farm and where can i get? Dunno why all of a sudden really interested in the spoonbill.
QUOTE(fkhton @ Mar 21 2012, 10:06 PM)
Hai, I just want to check any body know / seen small spotted arowana in PJ/KL area? Not pearl arowana which always seen.
Small spotted arowana as in yellowtail/green? Ive seen one in Sg Buloh, at the nursery area near Kota Dsara exit, and one at D'Strand Kota Dsara, Sunway Giza there. And two months ago at a LFS otw to U8 Mall at Bkt Jelutong. Dunno if its still there.
This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 21 2012, 10:39 PM
No, I think what you say is the yellow tail or green arowana, what I mention is spotted arowana from Australia, did the shop you mention name/ label it as spotted arowana? As I know, the spotted arowana with the head shape a bit difference than normal arowana.
Owh no, it was labelled yellow tail/green. Not spotted.
Added on March 23, 2012, 9:00 pmsharing my 6footer..got this tank from 1 guy for free since he wanted to clear his house.he gave me the tank,sump,piping and stand. the condition of the tank 5/10..got some scratches on display tank(previously it was a marine tank so maybe the owner want to clear all the dirt and salt on the tank with a sharp material or maybe sand paper. look at the pic below and you know the condition.
after lots of work..here you go..75% done!
its still open for new ideas..give some comment guys! thanx!
Cool! I like the Nat Geo sticker. With HD.
Add a small cave or something for the RTC. Just an idea. Did that for mine, he seems to love it.
This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 23 2012, 11:13 PM
Thx. Just a simple setup compared to all u sifus..
QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 24 2012, 11:13 AM)
its a Pet Lovers Centre,Ikano..well nice cave and tank u have dude...well im looking for a cave thats looks like a dog house..hahahahaha whats your tank blueprint dude?
Dog house??! Never seen one before tho..
Blueprint as in size? Assuming its size my tank is 4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft. Hehe. Thinking of changing to a 6ft by next year once they've got bigger..
This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 25 2012, 02:07 AM
My 5 Footer from some time ago !! All have since moved to an earth pond !!
Theres Gar , Dorado , Arowana ....etc
Hey was just wondering, on the pic of the aquarium, the small fish on the right with sort of red/orange + black stripes is called what? Silver body. Saw it before at a LFS but it was labelled as Phoenix. ?