Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

LeeChiaHow
post May 26 2011, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ May 26 2011, 11:41 PM)
pergh~ penang??  shakehead.gif  when u wanna drop to kl?
Maybe going down next week,not sure yet
LeeChiaHow
post May 27 2011, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ May 27 2011, 12:26 AM)
Does anyone know where to get feeder lobster?
I am looking for more variety of feeders for my lungfish. I am currently feeding it pellets, feeder fish, goldfish, shirmps, and mystery snails (it's the most interesting when it's eating these).
Feeder crabs will do too.
Feeder crayfish?I also wan biggrin.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 27 2011, 12:55 AM

The common blue crayfish around RM4 for a 3 to 4inch one here
Crabs around RM2.50 each
Only nice if lungfish eat,can hear them crushing the exoskeleton brows.gif

LeeChiaHow
post May 27 2011, 01:31 AM

Penang o.o
WHere'd you get your aba-abas from?I only saw one for sale a few years ago and can't find them now
LeeChiaHow
post May 27 2011, 06:29 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 27 2011, 02:48 AM)
Under RM50 for sure bro. I'm not sure if its still there lah but if I have time tomorrow I may drop by and check it out, let you know.
Under RM50 then cannot be a cuban I think,because cubans go for at least RM300 from what I've heard smile.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 27 2011, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 27 2011, 05:48 PM)
Dear all,

I am intending to rare 2 Arapaimas, start with bout 6 incher?

My question here is how deep a pond do they need when full grown? And will it need net on top to prevent it from jumping ?

Some turtles and other fishes will share the same pond. Intended size of pond is 20ft x 18ft x 5ft. Possible or no go ?

Appreciate your advice. Thanks.
Regards
Arapaima actually don't need very deep water,as long as water depth is 2times the thickness of the fish
Area is more important for them,they should be ok in your pond smile.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 28 2011, 03:00 AM

Not just private fishkeepers,how many public aquariums house their arapaimas in 15k gallon + setups? Maybe a handful of them
Arapaimas actually do quite well in mud ponds without any filtration,so you can try digging one but the visibility will be very bad though :/
LeeChiaHow
post May 28 2011, 03:32 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 28 2011, 03:14 AM)
Actually for public aquariums 15k gallons is nothing really. But if its just purely for Arapaimas then a tad silly lah.

Of course the Arapaima will do well in mud ponds, so do Koi for that matter but how to enjoy the fish? Luckily the pond where my Gars will be joining my RTCs and Sterlets is a continously cycling pond - all natural, no filtration  biggrin.gif
I was thinking a amazon river setup like the one on MFK brows.gif
What the temp. of your pond water? how big are the sterlets,never seen them for sale here for a few years already
LeeChiaHow
post May 28 2011, 04:57 PM

Will sterlets survive in a tank without a chiller but with more air pumps for increased aeration? hmm.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 28 2011, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 28 2011, 06:00 PM)
Ideally they would need colder water, but if you can't incorporate a chiller into your setup then I suppose aeration is the next best thing. My water is already cold naturally which is why I bought the Sterlets. If I couldn't house them properly I wouldn't have taken on the responsibility.
I think I'll still stick with my fishes 1st,too many fish already tongue.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 11:46 AM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 03:42 AM)
Pimpin, thanks for your kind comment. I am just trying to have a nice pond smile.gif How do you make your setup flow naturally ? River waters ? That would be awesome.

Lee, what is MFK and amazon setup like ? Any photos to share ?
Regards
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...+project+starts
LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 03:20 PM)
Impressive...hmmm...unfortunately i wont be able to build that in near future but hopefully one day smile.gif

It is the filteration and water flow system that is puzzling me, building the aquarium is pretty straightforward in comparison.

Does Arapaima jumps alot in shallow water?
They can still jump,but they may not be able to gather enought energy to jump as high if they're kept in deeper water IMO

LeeChiaHow
post May 29 2011, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 10:47 PM)
Isee...i always thought its the other way round. Are feeder fish ok for them for the first 5 years ?
The main diet for both of mine is pellets with mp once every 2 weeks and feeders when I feel like it tongue.gif
Expect very fast growth with feeder fish
LeeChiaHow
post May 30 2011, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 29 2011, 11:27 PM)
I'm guessing market prawns? Anyway, if you do decide to go with live food which I firmly believe in then try to ensure its from a reliable source. I've bought hundreds of feeders from ggMing and not a single one died while in their feeder tank. But once they're in the pond its tilapia all the way. But to me, its important they never ever rely on me to feed them because once they're in the ponds, they'll have to hunt themselves although feeder tilapias will be stocked.
Live food is too expensive over here,I can find any fish farms that sell catfish or tilapia fry
LeeChiaHow
post May 30 2011, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ May 30 2011, 02:23 PM)
Where are you located bro? Live food seems to be the cheapest form of food in my case. Definitely not massivore or whatever premium food.
Penang,tilapia fry cost me 50cents each and catfish fry cost RM1 each and my fish
RM40 worth of tilapia can only last me 1 day but a bag of hikari foodsticks and tetra monster pellets can last me a month smile.gif

Added on May 30, 2011, 3:02 pmforgot to add that I only feed on alternate days,once evry 2 or 3 days for fishes over 30cm
Those under that size get to eat every day,except for my ATFs that get free flow feeders tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LeeChiaHow: May 30 2011, 03:02 PM
LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 12:46 AM

Bro PIMPIN,Cannot buy in bulk,no space to put,unless I put them in the pond at my dads construction site

Bro Eujax,my bigger gigas is in a 6ft by 3 ft fibreglass pond,the smaller gigas is still in a 5ft tank,Gonna transfer them to the concrete pond when they're around 3 ft
LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 01:26 AM

QUOTE(konbawa @ May 31 2011, 01:15 AM)
anyone has any idea how much normally does a flounder cost ya?
izi must live in brackish water?
Those for sale most of the time are freshwater soles(Cynoglossus sp)
some are strictly freshwater,depends on the spcies smile.gif
LeeChiaHow
post May 31 2011, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(einrennima @ May 31 2011, 11:31 AM)
ggMing,
thanx for offering those marvelous fishes  brows.gif
i'll be waiting for red tail payara and arapaima next month...
about the aquascape short course, me and my wife are interested to attend the course, do notify when it will be held k  smile.gif

one more thing, does anyone know what species is this fish?? is it available here?

These are tiny little monster that hides in sand and prey on fishes from below. Not salt water! Max size around 20cm! Guess what are they!
Thalassophryne amazonica I think smile.gif
LeeChiaHow
post Jun 1 2011, 02:19 AM

Only Thalassophryne amazonica are purely freshwater for their genus smile.gif
LeeChiaHow
post Jun 1 2011, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 07:49 PM)
Hi guys, I am suddenly craving for Arapaima! anybody have any photos to share? Would greatly appreciate...

Will try to look for fins & greens this weekend...hope I can find it.
Regards
Mine biggrin.gif
this one's currently around 2ft +-
a smaller one,currently around 35 to 40cm

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0466sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:51 AM