Photography Latest News Nikon D7000, Nikon

Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 10:34 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

Pls. help me to check whether my eyes is correct? Is my camera facing a front focus issue? I need to calibrate lens or body focus mechanism? I've no knowledge for this

Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 10:36 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:18 AM)
Thanks~
I also heard from the a shop making claims that other shop selling cheaper could be giving non-genuine battery. Any idea? I think it's possible but I'm not sure, if they do that, if Nikon Malaysia found out they will be in trouble right?
I think better if we check on the battery if possible.
Is there non-genuine battery other than those 3rd party ones? Huh.... mine is polished black in color, looks nice =)

Added on November 15, 2010, 10:37 am
QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 10:36 AM)
^
Please upload full size and not using LYN upload.
How to upload without using LYN? Flicker?

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 15 2010, 10:37 AM
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 10:50 AM

1,333 posts

Here you go, can u see the image turns out to be not sharp? 1st shot was indoor less lighting, 2nd shot was under bright sunlight.

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 15 2010, 10:52 AM
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 11:19 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 15 2010, 11:17 AM)
Looks front focus 2mm. Then again, when you compare against the D5000 did you use single point AF or using all the AF points (ala area mode).
I seldom use area mode, I mostly choose single point n focus on eyes, this D7000 looks like the face being photoshop, lol..... the face looks so smooth, haha... being blurred

Can I know how is the process of having my D7000 calibrated? Nikon BTS do this? Need my warranty card and stuff? Will they need chop and date for my warranty card? I don want the card to be filled cry.gif

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 15 2010, 11:21 AM
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 11:23 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 15 2010, 11:21 AM)
Weird, my friend's D7000 is sharp even when using the 18-105. When fitting on my 70200 and 85 really killer! Damn love the focusing speed as well.
Haaiz.... really ka?? Then I felt much better, means is my cam prob, not D7000 prob which can't be save..... I really love the focusing speed!!
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 01:38 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 01:27 PM)
IIRC, the card need to be filled to send it for calibration wink.gif
I called, they said just need receipt, i say my card is unfilled, they said the wont touch it, hope so la..... haha
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 01:42 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 01:40 PM)
eh ? Weird. But good for you biggrin.gif
I go try see how 1st, lol..... hope wat they say is true =p
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 06:58 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Nov 15 2010, 06:49 PM)
front focus issue...

i tot shop suppose to offer 1 to 1 warranty for 1 week? hmm.gif
y dont u call the shop, who knows maybe ur lucky enuf to get 1 to 1 exchange. however, most of d time its subject to stock availability.
Hahaa.... tat's the main prob!! No stock..... The 1st box I open, the body skipped the time and date setting, so I rejected it assuming it being used dy! This 1 I get they took it frm other branch shop. Virgin new...... but after return home got image turns out to me not sharp..... Sad.....
Kent3888
post Nov 15 2010, 07:25 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 15 2010, 07:19 PM)
Anyways, that chart do a few more times to confirm. Because your angle might be wrong. That time I thought my 50mm and 85mm got focusing problem, but turned out it was my problem instead.
Pls. help me verify is this considered front focus? Shot again with tripod and wireless remote. ISO200. When I zoom in, non of the numbers are sharp in focus rclxub.gif I wanna bang wall now......

P/S: I swear I focus on the phrase, "Focus Here" in the middle...

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 15 2010, 07:27 PM
Kent3888
post Nov 16 2010, 10:03 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 16 2010, 09:48 AM)
Make sure you get a brand new unit, a 100% new unit will prompt for the time and date during first time starting up.
True.... The 1st unit I got is without the language, time zome, date and time settings. So I requested them to get me a new one, since I've paid then check, they go to other shop and pull stock frm there.

Added on November 16, 2010, 10:05 am
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Nov 16 2010, 10:02 AM)
after play with the demo set .... notice the picture display is sharper compare to with D90....

i think this D7000 weak point still on the video recording on focusing ... i think this part i can use my HD video cam sure will out perform any DSLR camera video function...
I think DSLR video is indeed very nice. Especially the blurred out background when u take a single person's video. D7000 has no weak point now, hahaa... oni my unit got focus prob, going to fix it soon.

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 16 2010, 10:05 AM
Kent3888
post Nov 16 2010, 11:19 AM

1,333 posts

I think D7000@iso6400 is much better then D3000@iso1600, it's not usable at all!! hahaa.....
Kent3888
post Nov 16 2010, 11:37 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 16 2010, 11:22 AM)
Haven't been shooting at 6400 ISO on D7000, maybe tonight really give it a test run. Hehe, yesterday the owner didn't want to lemme use cause she was so busy shooting T_T.
I'm so sad... till now also haven really shoot properly icon_question.gif , tonight will try to post some after servicing sad.gif
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 01:31 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(pr0nstar @ Nov 16 2010, 08:52 PM)

Added on November 16, 2010, 8:58 pm

It does look like you have a front focus of about 1 to 2mm. But could you check with one or two more lenses? It could be the lenses that are calibrated wrong, not the body. Its not always the body that is front/back focusing.

Also, check if the D7000 has a AF fine tune adjustment? If you can use that, then no need to send back. Save you the trouble... There is a tolerance in the AF calibration, and even if you do send back, they might correct it for this particular lens for you just to shut you up, but in the future you might have problems with other lenses as well. Be sure to make sure that its the body 100%. What I mean is that it might come back worse than it is now.
Thanks, I've went to Nikon today, they r all filled up with jobs till next Monday, I don't wanna leave my cam there, I oso found out that, my warranty card will be filled once sending in for warranty. Anyway they also told me that apart frm warranty, faster options is I can complain to the shop to replace me a new one, I've called, but unfortunately no stock. No waiting for them to stock in n exchange, I cant accept the fact to claim warranty with just 2 days old. Makes me really pissed off....
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 11:48 AM

1,333 posts

Lemme share some of my first shot, my fren's super cute daughter biggrin.gif

ISO 800

ISO 1600

ISO3200

Shot taken at Normal Quality JPEG, forgotten to change after Nikon reset them. Pic 2 & 3 resize to smaller

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 17 2010, 11:51 AM
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 02:24 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 17 2010, 01:35 PM)
If you shot at dark room, the picture started become grainy around > 1000 iso. Now I know why dxomark stated 1100++ iso. You can see how bad it is by just zooming a little from the camera itself when reviewing the photo.
What's the aperture? When you zoom in the picture for ISO1600 and ISO3200, how's the noise like when preview from the camera (zoom in)?
Under sufficient lighting, it seems much more usable than insufficient or very low light...  hmm.gif
Shot at F2, lens is 35mm. The noise level is very low, I mean at iso 3200, looks like D5k iso 800, haven really tested yet....

QUOTE(adriancs @ Nov 17 2010, 01:52 PM)
Very nice pics. And nice little girl too! Here's a small tip. Use your popup flash, set it to slow sync and -2EV to add a nice little reflection glow in the eyes. Makes the subject look more lively.
I dont wanna flash coz I don wanna hurt the little girl and wanna take some natural(candid) pics of her not purposed portraits..... If the background has nice lighting den I will set it for slow sync =)

Added on November 17, 2010, 2:26 pmOh ya, haha.... how to crop 100% using photoshop(I tried but cant find the 100% or 4R size crop for photo printing) or any other easy method? Btw my shots are at Normal JPEG and size priority compress set default by the cam. Forgot to change them after sending in my body for medical check up, they reset it.

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 17 2010, 02:29 PM
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 02:31 PM

1,333 posts

One question here, should higher or lower megapixels get sharper image??

i.e should D5k 12MP get sharper pics or D7k 16MP get sharper pics both set at iso200??

Appreciate ur professional answers
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 06:39 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(maikel @ Nov 17 2010, 06:04 PM)
Bought D7000 today at Nikon Alamanda.

1. Body + extended warranty (1 + 2)
2. AF-S DX 35MM F1.8G lens
3. 4GB memory
4. Tripod
5. Bag
6. Vitacon UV filter
7. Lenspen

All for RM5260

Entertained by salesman name Ehsan. Very good guy
Wow.... a bit pricey, this makes the lens cost around 1k?? How much it cost for the extended 2 years warranty?
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 06:57 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Nov 17 2010, 06:42 PM)
hey guys, im now deciding whether to get a 35mm or 50mm...any comments on it?
Base on ur own preference, if u want it as ur normal walk around lens den take the 35, much easier to take group pics n stuff if u wanna take more portraits den take the 50mm, better if the 50mm 1.4G, =) U can try out with kit lens at 35mm and 50mm and try shooting

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 17 2010, 06:46 PM)
Believe me, after 2 weeks you wont bother to use back D3000 anymore. Capturing using D7000 will seem much easier than D3000 lol.
Changing WB, ISO etc are just clicks away. Just like D90 XD

But D7000 is using a different dial la.
Wat u mean D7000 using diff dial? hmm.gif Both nearly the same rite
Kent3888
post Nov 17 2010, 07:45 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(ccf1286 @ Nov 17 2010, 07:39 PM)
A S M P mode, quite easy to use...what i mean, at least i understand the basic skill of using A,S,M...which I learn from my D3000!

But, when come to D7000...wow...exposure also many setting...AF setting...different from D3000

I just want to shoot at my son face..but, the focus point very hard to aim at eyes...seems running here and there..! why?
This u muz read the manual under focus section clearly! haha... below the button where u press to remove the lens, there is a button to change focus settings, hold in while turning the front and rear command dial to change the focus preference! If u wanna focus eyes, change it to AF-S, means single point, then u select single point, not auto!! then u can focus on the eyes =) Hope this helps...

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0338sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:44 PM