TSarj
post May 14 2005, 01:23 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(amok @ May 14 2005, 01:15 PM)
10kg D.I. how much the cost ar?

Oh thank you for showing the link, sorry, the dual cascade that i meant wasn't fugger's, its this oneVR-Zone DIY Dual Cascade Vapour (they got help form Chill1 and the crew).. biggrin.gif .. yup i'm into diy'ing my own phase cooler (slowly.. very-very slowly biggrin.gif ).. wish me luck. sweat.gif
I got it for RM3.80 per kg.

Good luck on your project! thumbup.gif
c9
post May 14 2005, 01:37 PM

5,824 posts

QUOTE(amok @ May 14 2005, 12:04 PM)
erkkkkk  shocking.gif more than -100C!! the most i can dare is a single phase system.. temp around -25C~-30C..  sweat.gif .. even Fugger's dual stage cascade scares the sh@t out of me (-100C!!).. sigh.. i wish bulkhy can come out of retirement and help me out on this one sweat.gif , neway this is after all about D.I... a little bit off topic ere..so arj wanna start a sub zero club?  Anything that can cool below freezing point can discuss and shared with all thumbup.gif LYN's own Xtreme Cooling!!! yeah thumbup.gif

ON TOPIC: CO2 is poisoneous if the concentration level reaches 5%, symptoms of CO2 poisoning after prolong exposure to a highly concentrated CO2 environment are:

1.  Drowsiness
2.  Vomitting
3.  Discoloration of lips & fingertips
4.  Morning sickness (mebbe i've got mixed up with this one, is it pregnancy or poisoning biggrin.gif )

Remedy, rest in a good ventilated room for 12~16 hrs taking plenty of fluids. If symptoms still exist, go find a bomoh.
1st stage phase change with R22 gas normally can hit around -40C to -50C. Well, it also depends on gas that is being used. And depends on the compressor too. Bulkhy's xillixx able to drop around -47C. Lotsa things need to be done to get a very good phase change systems. Need able to handle load the most efficient. Anyway, a triple stage would cost triple arms and legs. R507, R404 are hell expensive. Expect more than RM500. Bulkhy used to have a plan on building cascade. But he has better things to do, his career. Btw, I'm sure Bulkhy willing to help you out dude. Good luck! thumbup.gif

Still, for short bench. DI and LN2 is the best. Since Winnie/Venice has bugs on subzero temp, DI is the best. So arj, you have hit your wall or you need more DI? wink.gif

This post has been edited by c9: May 14 2005, 01:39 PM
Evogenix
post May 14 2005, 02:23 PM

I Missed LYN Grey Skin T_T
1,809 posts

incressment of 77.78% from dafault clock thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
the result just same like the old days 2.4C from intel that able to clock to 4.2GHz laugh.gif laugh.gif

Evogenix
amok
post May 14 2005, 04:06 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(whistler @ May 14 2005, 01:21 PM)
MOX sells liquid nitrogen, called just now for fun saying i need some ln2 for experiments. they have sales centres throughout msia - http://mox.com.my/contact_us/mox_sales.htm
Lot 13 Jalan 222
46100 Petaling Jaya

Tel: 03-79554233
Fax: 03-7966389/79574434
National Customer Service Centre
Toll Free: 1-800 388 388
they dont rent out dewars (container) so must buy it from them...sizes are 4L or 10L

they said will fax me a quote for the price of dewar and ln2 so dunno the actual price wink.gif

better read this before playing with ln2...
http://www.kimia.gov.my/osha/Issu/isu12004.htm
Hey thanks a lot man.. i think i'll give them a call next week!! It's not for the rig project by the way. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(c9 @ May 14 2005, 01:37 PM)
1st stage phase change with R22 gas normally can hit around -40C to -50C. Well, it also depends on gas that is being used. And depends on the compressor too. Bulkhy's xillixx able to drop around -47C. Lotsa things need to be done to get a very good phase change systems. Need able to handle load the most efficient. Anyway, a triple stage would cost triple arms and legs. R507, R404 are hell expensive. Expect more than RM500. Bulkhy used to have a plan on building cascade. But he has better things to do, his career. Btw, I'm sure Bulkhy willing to help you out dude. Good luck! thumbup.gif

Still, for short bench. DI and LN2 is the best. Since Winnie/Venice has bugs on subzero temp, DI is the best. So arj, you have hit your wall or you need more DI? wink.gif
Sorry arj, had to tumpang your thread again.. yes c9, bulkhy did told me he's willing to help, in fact he even promise a return to the xtreme cooling club thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .. blush.gif , Your xillixx still up and running? I'm not ready for cascading yet, mebbe try out the 1st stage phase first.. one refrigerant equipments and parts supplier in melaka can help me out getting the parts and labour for the kit.. right now still sketching and calculating doh.gif doh.gif .. thank you for the info man/maam.. nice butt by the way, yours drool.gif ?

ionStorm
post May 14 2005, 05:22 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

Note on LN2: Please be extremely careful if you do LN2 experiments. A friend of mine who works for MOX told me one incident with their client. They spilt LN2 on the road but didn't clean it up. A dog came along and licked the LN2. Dog didn't realize what happened until a short while...and then its tongue just broke off and the dog squealed like there was no tommorrow.

Guys...LN2 accidents can happen to us too...and it is NOT funny. You will be utterly horrified for life if you lose your limbs or even part of it...just because you wanted to bench using LN2...
TSarj
post May 14 2005, 05:41 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ May 14 2005, 05:22 PM)
Note on LN2: Please be extremely careful if you do LN2 experiments. A friend of mine who works for MOX told me one incident with their client. They spilt LN2 on the road but didn't clean it up. A dog came along and licked the LN2. Dog didn't realize what happened until a short while...and then its tongue just broke off and the dog squealed like there was no tommorrow.

Guys...LN2 accidents can happen to us too...and it is NOT funny. You will be utterly horrified for life if you lose your limbs or even part of it...just because you wanted to bench using LN2...
Ouch! Pity the dog....

As I said before, I won't be benching with LN2 anytime soon due to the huge risks involved. Having said that, if you completely understand the process and take proper precautions, I don't see any reason why we shouldn't do it.
vickyrao
post May 14 2005, 05:55 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 14 2005, 05:41 PM)
Ouch! Pity the dog....

As I said before, I won't be benching with LN2 anytime soon due to the huge risks involved. Having said that, if you completely understand the process and take  proper precautions, I don't see any reason why we shouldn't do it.
aiman...u crazy fella la...pity the proc la...haih.....btw...can the proc run at -100C ?? jz wondering la...

good luck in ur future oc....btw..when m i seeing u for the z5500?? drool.gif

cant wait for it ady..... whistling.gif
c9
post May 14 2005, 06:56 PM

5,824 posts

amok: Glad to hear that. I would wanna see another extreme cooling expert around here. Anyway, I have retired already. Overclocking seems never ends, wasted lots and lotsa money. tongue.gif My xillixx is in Bulkhy's hand for some mod. Keep us updated dude. wink.gif

arj: Gud luck!! thumbup.gif smile.gif
PCcrazy
post May 15 2005, 02:54 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

For those wanna know more bout what arj is actually doing, this would be a good start

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=gethowto&howtoID=59

To summarize the contents:
1. Background of DI, what is it? why use it?
2. A little bit info bout the container..
3. Insulation techniques, very similar to what arj did..
4. And the fun

Ever wonder how DI is manufactured..
http://www.dryiceinfo.com/mfn.htm

So, enjoy..
Maybe next time, we will see you doing DI benches..
It looks easy to setup, but believe me you will run into all sorts of problem..

Now since u all have read the above given links..
Here comes the quiz for today. laugh.gif Why they call it DI?

Btw, Amok you have my support..
Go for it dude, you have the skills..
amok
post May 15 2005, 10:26 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(c9 @ May 14 2005, 06:56 PM)
amok: Glad to hear that.  I would wanna see another extreme cooling expert around here. Anyway, I have retired already. Overclocking seems never ends, wasted lots and lotsa money. tongue.gif My xillixx is in Bulkhy's hand for some mod.  Keep us updated dude. wink.gif

arj: Gud luck!!  thumbup.gif smile.gif
aiyah don't retire yet lar... sweat.gif sweat.gif , i'm in the process of persuading bulkhy to come out of retirement now you pulak wanna retire doh.gif doh.gif

arj: yes try the LN thumbup.gif thumbup.gif, it'll be m'sia first!! but please has some one around to help you out man..

PCcrazy: hehehe, yes mr. encyclopedia thumbup.gif, i'm sorting out with bulkhy currently, and the soonest mebbe by next month thumbup.gif come lar join phase cooling, i'll bet it'll be more addictive than watercooling..

thank you for the support from ya all. thumbup.gif
TSarj
post May 16 2005, 08:53 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Check out this DI run by the pros ----> http://www.muropaketti.com/3dmark/
Evogenix
post May 16 2005, 09:26 PM

I Missed LYN Grey Skin T_T
1,809 posts

aww.. asus 6800u SLI
they have the 2nd rank in HoF thumbup.gif

Evogenix
neversaydie
post May 17 2005, 08:16 PM

Mazda 6 2.0 Sedan
987 posts

instant contact to liquid nitrogen -> instant frostbite worr..you all want to play with you life possibly arh?
pizzaboy
post May 17 2005, 08:31 PM

9,495 posts

Use gloves lor...
here's a link of the dudes at vrzone playing with ln2.

http://www.vr-zone.com.sg/Shamino/ln2video.wmv

i like the broken beancurd.
PCcrazy
post May 20 2005, 07:36 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

QUOTE(Anwark @ May 18 2005, 10:00 PM)
what will happen if accidently the container drop to  the our body
is there any fast aid to do if it accident contact with our hand
Non prolonged contact with Dry Ice is okay...
It is not hazardous or fatal compare to Liqiud Nitrogen...
LN2 instantaneouss effect is very dangerous... sweat.gif

I got a feeling that DI round 2 is about time brows.gif
amok
post May 20 2005, 10:30 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ May 20 2005, 07:36 AM)
thumbup.gif brows.gif I had to second that.. come on round 2 brows.gif, now that the SLi is in place drool.gif drool.gif
TSarj
post May 20 2005, 02:29 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ May 20 2005, 07:36 AM)
Non prolonged contact with Dry Ice is okay...
It is not hazardous or fatal compare to Liqiud Nitrogen...
LN2 instantaneouss effect is very dangerous... sweat.gif

I had another DI run last night, this time with the FX-55 and got stuck at the 3Ghz mark again! I really don't know what the problem is and I've double checked everything. The contact is good, insulation is good, and I have enough vcore.....
PCcrazy
post May 20 2005, 03:27 PM

Milanista
3,224 posts

Its not good to hear that arj, isnt it a possibility that the culprit was your memory controller. I have notice some forumers at XS lamenting their new FX-55 wouldnt go past some point jus because of that bug.

But no worry, your venice did well though...
Btw this DI test, run on DFI or MSI?
TSarj
post May 20 2005, 07:16 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ May 20 2005, 03:27 PM)
Its not good to hear that arj, isnt it a possibility that the culprit was your memory controller. I have notice some forumers at XS lamenting their new FX-55 wouldnt go past some point jus because of that bug.

But no worry, your venice did well though...
Btw this DI test, run on DFI or MSI?
I used my NEO2 for both DI runs. I don't think the memory controller is the culprit because used high multipliers and low HTT.....
PCcrazy
post May 20 2005, 10:53 PM

Milanista
3,224 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 20 2005, 07:16 PM)
I used my NEO2 for both DI runs. I don't think the memory controller is the culprit because used high multipliers and low HTT.....
Yeah, the FX-55 is not locked upwards laugh.gif
So you can totally eliminate memory out of equations.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:07 PM