13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

- Alienware Mothership v6 -, The poisons are getting stronger!

TSMr.Docter
post Oct 2 2010, 05:18 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Oct 2 2010, 03:41 AM)
the original soundriver that comes with it..i think i haven update it b4
PM brows.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 2 2010, 09:11 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Oct 2 2010, 08:50 PM)
yahoo just bought m15x at lowyat . price a bit expensive but i managed to get the free alien bag smile.gif .. man so hard to find alienware alien bag free . all give the blue targus or belkin bag . got the alien cap also inside the big box so nice biggrin.gif . but battery i cannot get 9 cell battery which is sad sad.gif . hopefully things will be great with this laptop . man a big jump from netbook to alienware lulz laugh.gif .. glad to join u guys alienwaring lulz tongue.gif
congrats!

how much is your Alienware and what specs? i guess it is ready unit, so how many warranty left?
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 2 2010, 10:53 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

+1 for GTX285M SLi eventho it slightly lower performance then HD5870 CF.
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 3 2010, 12:41 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(wingedman @ Oct 3 2010, 11:48 AM)
Hi guys, I'm in the market for a new gaming laptop and I wanna ask you gurus for some opinions.

I know Dell was trying to downplay its XPS line as the gaming line, but when I did some online comparisons I found I could actually get an XPS with very similar specs to the M15x with just a Studio XPS16.

Both have:

Intel® Core™ i7-740QM (1.73GHz, 4Core/8Threads, turbo boost up to 2.93Ghz, 6M cache
8GB (4GBx2) 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
1GB DDR3 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5730
640GB SATA HD-- XPS is 5400RPM while M15x is 7200RPM

The only other difference is the screen, I guess: M15x 15.6 " Full HD (1080p) WLED (1920 x 1080) Display with TrueLife™ vs XPS' 16.0"UltraSharp™ Full High Definition (1080p) RGBLED Display with TrueLife™

But the price difference is like RM1.3k! That's an Apple-like premium right there. Perhaps for the cooling system?

Also, would it be better to buy direct from Dell or reseller? Thanks guys
you pay extra for Alienware name (software, Alienware FX etc) , material used, efficient cooling system and upgradibility as well.

don't gaming using laptop that not build for gaming. you will slowly decrease your laptop's lifespan.
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 3 2010, 08:10 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

lk_chin, i got few ideas for your problems but will post tonight.

too tired today sad.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 4 2010, 09:24 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Oct 3 2010, 08:28 PM)
ok looking forward to it thxs ; )

Added on October 3, 2010, 8:28 pm
i tried but seem like same @@
hi lk_chin,

sorry for the late reply. damn busy with new department sweat.gif

anyway, did you ever perform clean uninstallation of your GPU driver? i mean after proper uninstall, clean all the leftover data or files; then reinstall a latest driver provided from Dell website.

then after that, try to google this software "nHancer". its free software, that you can use to control advance setting that related to GPU. IF ATi card cannot be use together with that software, you need to dig deeper. i think i did heard someone use that software using ATi card.

with that nHancer, you can set the setting to utilize CrossFire for programme that you need to use it. i use it A LOT for games that cannot support SLi in default smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 5 2010, 11:51 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(raven143 @ Oct 5 2010, 11:06 AM)
is it possible combination of SSD and HD for m11x? btw, m11x + Razer Orochi = heaven
there is only one slot of HDD for M11x, so no. its either HDD, or SSD. or both = Seagate Momentus biggrin.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 6 2010, 11:26 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Oct 6 2010, 10:04 AM)
Windows boot also noticeably faster than 7200rpm hdd's  rclxms.gif
still don't talk about 7200rpm Raid-0 tongue.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 6 2010, 11:43 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 6 2010, 11:27 AM)
Mr.Docter, what's the boot time you getting?
never set time, but roughly quite fast. did used 5400RPM and 7200RPM before, so i did feel the different.

/will set time for the next booting, but don't know when. i seldom shut down my Alienware here. its been a month already tongue.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 6 2010, 02:32 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

M17x-R2 with i7-740QM and GTX285M SLi is under construction right now brows.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 6 2010, 02:55 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Oct 6 2010, 02:46 PM)
Woah!
Upgrading!  rclxms.gif
not mine wor, but its for one of my customer laugh.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 7 2010, 01:42 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(JustinLFJ @ Oct 6 2010, 10:48 PM)
Its selling like hotcakes, even i got one  brows.gif
Kave is the best 5.1 gaming headphone i ever use. tried Razer, the one with 7.1 Simulated, but still prefer Kave eventho Razer is bit lighter.

use Kave with Creative X-Fi and there goes your ears, sneeking and hearing footstep during spawnkilling lol.

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Oct 7 2010, 12:10 AM)
mY FRIEND DO BUY THE MOMENTUS HDD, what i had tested is, "DISSAPOINTED"
From the review is good, but in real time use, sad!!, i rather buy a normal 7200RPM 1. RM500 i save the money go for SSD much more better.
Im waiting for intel put in SandForce, then i will upgrade My SSD to Another lvl of SSD
how long is your duration of review? reach one day?

if you understand how Momentus XT works, you know that you have to use it for quite some times before its cached everything. review that for at least one week and share with us back the result.

ask Astria, he'd use it long enough to provide a review for us wink.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 7 2010, 02:31 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Oct 7 2010, 01:55 AM)
ooo, i think not long enough for the duration, only 2 days nia
i see. Astria did mentioned the same thing like what you said too during first few days. but now the speed of common used programme are already noticeably faster.

yet still cannot compare with your SSD lah sweat.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 7 2010, 05:34 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 6 2010, 03:22 PM)
Mr.Doc

Can't wait for the 400 Series to come to Alienware ler... how? Any news?
Normally wait for the US Guys to self mod but I haven't heard any news of GPU's from NVidia for sale....
Julchin,

since we already reaches Q4 2010, why don't you relax for a a minutes while waiting Q1 2011? i know you are eager to modding your M15x, again tongue.gif

and yeah, i also didn't hear any rumors about GTX400M Series into Alienware, yet. who knows, Dell Alienware always good in making surprise for their fan laugh.gif

QUOTE(AlexAw @ Oct 7 2010, 04:56 PM)
How much would it roughly cost to upgrade from Single Graphic Card to Duo Graphic Card ?
mind sharing your details of Alienware?
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 7 2010, 06:04 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 7 2010, 05:38 PM)
Wonder why now got 3 weeks delay notice on M15x on Dell website....
waiting new hardware to come?

/finger-crossed cool2.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 7 2010, 09:58 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 7 2010, 06:19 PM)
I think modding a bit far fetched for me this time. If the new 17" is power packed I'll consider getting an M17x
niceee rclxms.gif

lets wait to see what Alienware have for us in Q1 2011 wub.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 8 2010, 08:32 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(AlexAw @ Oct 8 2010, 07:49 AM)
I'm ending up getting a M15X .

Anybody upgraded their HD5850 graphics card ?

How much does it cost ?
your question is too general. you mean upgraded HD5850 to which model?

you can upgrade it to GTX260M and HD5870 as well.

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 8 2010, 06:21 PM)
Whats the resale value for a i7 820QM? Thinking of the possibility of letting mine go....
you mean only the processor?

if yes, the best way i can think is compare the price with eBay. you might want to quote slightly lower than what mentioned there since yours is almost a year aged smile.gif

QUOTE(casperito @ Oct 8 2010, 08:03 PM)
my m11x-R2 is on its way... can't wait for it...
by the way, do anyone have any idea where to get this

http://www.mobileedge.com/alienware-m11x-n...ok-sleeve.html#

???
your link is broken sweat.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 8 2010, 08:40 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

^ its 403 Forbidden in my place. maybe something wrong my with internet connection sad.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 8 2010, 08:48 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

thanks Lee laugh.gif

last time i checked, Dell still not intended to import that into Malaysia. maybe we need help from importer service from Garage Sales. bulking will be better smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Oct 9 2010, 01:01 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Oct 8 2010, 11:49 PM)
Sifu putochip or Mr doctor, m17x can upgrade to NV 400 series GC?
only applicable for R2 version with newer mobo compared to mine, R1, theoretically.

but technically as well explained by Grease, its quite impossible since the power requirement just insufficient to be feed with current PSU.

not worth it if you ask me. i prefer to buy the whole new unit for myself.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:19 PM